سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2023 - 2028)

يتم تقسيم سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي حسب التطبيق (الاختبار السريري ، واختبار تعاطي المخدرات ، والتطبيقات الأخرى) ، والتقنية (مقايسة ساندويتش ، والمقايسة التنافسية ، والمقايسة المتعددة) ، والمنتج (قارئات وأطقم وكواشف التدفق الجانبي) ، والمستخدم النهائي (المنزل) الرعاية والمستشفيات والعيادات والمستخدمون النهائيون الآخرون) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) لجميع القطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

لمحة سريعة عن سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي

lateral flow assay market analysis
Study Period: 2019-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.42 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

من المتوقع أن يسجل سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي معدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 5.42٪ خلال فترة التوقعات ، بإيرادات تبلغ 8،490.75 مليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2021 ، ومن المتوقع أن تصل إلى 12198.84 مليون دولار أمريكي بحلول عام 2027.

كان لوباء COVID-19 تأثير إيجابي على السوق. بدلاً من إرسال عينات المريض إلى المختبر ، يمكن أن يكون استخدام مجموعات اختبار التدفق الجانبي مناسبًا لأنها أصغر حجمًا وقابلة للحمل ويمكن التحكم فيها بأقل قدر من التدريب. وهذا يجعلها جذابة للنشر خارج مرافق الرعاية الصحية ، في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل ، أو في البلدان التي تطبق برامج فحص جماعي للسكان. على الرغم من أنها أقل دقة من اختبارات تفاعل البوليميراز المتسلسل ، إلا أن تكلفتها المنخفضة وسرعتها وسهولة استخدامها تجعل اختبارات التدفق الجانبي جذابة بشكل خاص للبلدان التي ليس لديها مرافق مختبرية واسعة النطاق أو عاملين صحيين مدربين لإجراء اختبارات تفاعل البوليميراز المتسلسل بسهولة لفحص COVID-19. تستخدم بعض البلدان ، مثل سلوفاكيا والمملكة المتحدة ، على نطاق واسع اختبارات التدفق الجانبي كوسيلة لبرامج الفحص الشامل. علي سبيل المثال،

العامل الرئيسي الذي يقود نمو سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي هو المعدل العالمي المتزايد للأمراض المعدية وفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية والسرطان في جميع أنحاء العالم ، والتي تتطلب طرقًا تشخيصية جديدة للعلاج الفعال لإنهاء معدل الوفيات المتزايد. على سبيل المثال ، وفقًا لتقرير منظمة الصحة العالمية الصادر في نوفمبر 2021 بشأن فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز ، كان هناك حوالي 37.7 مليون شخص حول العالم مصابون بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في عام 2020 ، منهم 25.4 مليونًا يقيمون في المنطقة الأفريقية التابعة لمنظمة الصحة العالمية. وفقًا للتقرير نفسه ، في عام 2020 ، تم تشخيص إصابة حوالي 1.5 مليون شخص بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في جميع أنحاء العالم. وبالتالي ، من المتوقع أن يؤدي ارتفاع معدل انتشار فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية إلى زيادة الطلب على اختبارات التشخيص الفعالة والدقيقة من أجل التشخيصات الفعالة والمبكرة لفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ، والتي من المتوقع أن تدفع نمو السوق لأنها توفر تشخيصات دقيقة.

علاوة على ذلك ، أدت التطورات التكنولوجية في مجال فحوصات التدفق الجانبي (LFA) أيضًا إلى تعزيز نمو السوق. في السنوات الأخيرة ، تضمنت التطورات الرئيسية في تطوير LFA تقنيات جديدة لتحسين الإشارات ، واستخدام تسميات جديدة ، وأنظمة قياس كمية محسنة ، واكتشاف متزامن. تم استخدام بعض التقنيات الجديدة لتعزيز الإشارة من جزيئات الذهب النانوية (الجسيمات النانوية الغروية). مع التقدم التكنولوجي ، اعتمدت GNPs تقنية تحسين الفضة أو مجموعات من GNPs مع إنزيم (مثل الفجل البيروكسيديز) ، مما يؤدي إلى تضخيم محفز للإشارة. على سبيل المثال ، في يونيو 2021 ، أطلقت شركة Novacyt اختبارين للتدفق الجانبي لمستضد COVID-19 يسمى PathFlow COVID-19 Rapid Antigen Pro و PathFlow COVID-19 Rapid Antigen.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تساهم زيادة مشاركة الحكومة للسيطرة على تفشي الأمراض المعدية وزيادة برامج التوعية حول انتشار العدوى والتشخيص والوقاية ، إلى جانب إطلاق أنظمة التشخيص في أماكن الرعاية المنزلية ، في نمو السوق العالمي خلال فترة التوقعات. ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تؤدي عوامل مثل التأخير في الموافقات على المنتج بسبب السياسات التنظيمية الصارمة والنتائج الخاطئة للاختبار إلى إعاقة نمو السوق المدروس خلال فترة التنبؤ.

نطاق التقرير

وفقًا لنطاق التقرير ، فإن فحوصات التدفق الجانبي ، والتي يشار إليها أيضًا باسم فحوصات الكروماتوغرافي المناعي للتدفق الجانبي ، هي أجهزة قائمة على السليلوز تُستخدم للكشف عن وجود مادة تحليلية مستهدفة في العينة دون الحاجة إلى معدات متخصصة ومكلفة ورعاية صحية عالية المهارة المهنيين لعملهم. لقد اكتسبوا قوة جذب كبيرة في أماكن الرعاية المنزلية ، مما أدى إلى تأجيج السوق.

يتم تقسيم سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي حسب التطبيق (الاختبار السريري ، اختبار تعاطي المخدرات ، والتطبيقات الأخرى) ، والتقنية (مقايسة الساندويتش ، والمقايسة التنافسية ، والمقايسة المتعددة) ، والمنتج (أجهزة قراءة ومجموعات التدفق الجانبي والكواشف) ، والمستخدم النهائي (المنزل الرعاية والمستشفيات والعيادات والمستخدمين النهائيين الآخرين) والجغرافيا (أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية). يغطي تقرير السوق أيضًا أحجام واتجاهات السوق المقدرة لـ 17 دولة مختلفة عبر المناطق الرئيسية على مستوى العالم. يقدم التقرير القيمة (بالمليون دولار أمريكي) لجميع القطاعات المذكورة أعلاه.

Application
Clinical Testing
Pregnancy Testing
Influenza Testing
Tuberculosis
D-Dimer Testing
Other Clinical Testings
Drug Abuse Testing
Other Applications
Technique
Sandwich Assay
Competitive Assay
Multiplex Assay
Product
Lateral Flow Readers
Digital/Mobile Readers
Benchtop Readers
Kits and Reagents
End User
Home Care
Hospitals and Clinics
Other End Users
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

من المتوقع أن يحتفظ قطاع الاختبار السريري بأكبر حصة سوقية في سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي

من المتوقع أن يحتفظ قطاع الاختبارات السريرية بأكبر حصة سوقية في سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي نظرًا لأهميته في تحديد الأمراض واكتشافها. مع ارتفاع معدل الإصابة بالأمراض المعدية والحالات الطبية الأخرى ، من المتوقع أن يزداد الطلب على هذه المقايسات ، مما يؤدي إلى نمو القطاع. على سبيل المثال ، وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية ، تقرير السل العالمي 2020 ، مات ما يقرب من 1.4 مليون شخص بسبب الأمراض المرتبطة بالسل في عام 2019 ، وأصيب ما يقرب من 10 ملايين شخص بالسل في عام 2019. ومن ثم ، من المتوقع أن يؤدي العبء المتزايد لمرض السل إلى زيادة انتشار المرض. الحاجة إلى تشخيصات سريعة وبأسعار معقولة ، خاصة في البلدان النامية ، مما يساعد في نمو السوق المدروسة.

يعود الطلب المتزايد على هذا القطاع إلى الزيادة في الموافقات الجديدة لأجهزة الاختبار الذاتي ، مثل Atomo HIV Self-Test و TRUSTline HIV-Ab / Ag 4th Gen Rapid Test و Dr Trust Hiv Sure وغيرها ، التي تم تطويرها في السنوات الأخيرة. تساعد أجهزة ومجموعات الاختبار الذاتي المرضى في ضمان التشخيص المبكر والراحة المعززة وسهولة الاستخدام ، والتي من المحتمل أن تغذي السوق.

علاوة على ذلك ، زاد جائحة COVID-19 بشكل كبير من عمليات الإطلاق والبحوث في مجال الاختبارات السريرية ، مما عزز نمو القطاع. على سبيل المثال ، في سبتمبر 2020 ، أطلقت شركة Roche اختبار مستضد سريع SARS-CoV-2 للأسواق التي تقبل علامة CE. يُستخدم اختبار المستضد السريع SARS-CoV-2 في إعدادات نقطة الرعاية لكل من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الأعراض وغير المصحوبين بأعراض.

lateral flow assay market share

تهيمن أمريكا الشمالية على السوق ، ومن المتوقع أن تفعل الشيء نفسه خلال فترة التنبؤ

من المتوقع أن تهيمن أمريكا الشمالية على السوق الكلي لفحص التدفق الجانبي طوال فترة التنبؤ ، بسبب ارتفاع معدل الإصابة بأمراض معدية ومزمنة مختلفة ، مثل مرض لايم والسل ، وزيادة معدل الوفيات المرتبطة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز في منطقة. في أمريكا الشمالية ، من المتوقع أن تمتلك الولايات المتحدة أكبر حصة في السوق نظرًا لوجود مجموعة كبيرة من المرضى والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف مع زيادة الدخل المتاح.

وفقًا لتقرير وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية بالولايات المتحدة ، الذي نُشر في يناير 2020 ، تم تشخيص إصابة حوالي 37832 شخصًا في الولايات المتحدة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في عام 2018 ، ولا يزال هناك 38000 إصابة جديدة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في الولايات المتحدة. تم الإبلاغ أيضًا عن انتشار سريع للعديد من الأمراض المعدية مثل التهاب السحايا والتهابات المسالك البولية ، مما يستلزم التشخيص الفوري ، وبالتالي زيادة الطلب على أجهزة اختبار التشخيص السريع وتغذية نمو السوق. علاوة على ذلك ، تشير التقديرات إلى أن زيادة معدل اعتماد البنية التحتية المتقدمة ، وحجم مراكز التشخيص ، وزيادة الوعي بين الناس سيعزز السوق في المنطقة ، مما يساهم في حصتها البارزة من عائدات السوق العالمية خلال فترة التوقعات.

علاوة على ذلك ، ضرب الوباء المنطقة بشدة وأجبر الحكومة على تنفيذ برامج الفحص الشامل ، مما أدى إلى نمو السوق في المنطقة. في عام 2020 ، عززت مختبرات أبوت إنتاجها من مجموعات اختبار فيروس كورونا ، بما في ذلك أداة جديدة يمكن أن تتيح الفحص الشامل لـ COVID-19. أعلنت الشركة أنها تقوم بتطوير الاختبار التشخيصي الرابع لفيروس كورونا: اختبار "التدفق الجانبي" للدم الذي يمكن أن يوفر اختبارًا جماعيًا لعامة السكان ، والذي من المتوقع أن يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على السوق في المنطقة.

lateral flow assay market trends

مشهد تنافسي

يعتبر سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي منافسًا معتدلًا ويتكون من العديد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. تقوم بعض الشركات بتوسيع مراكزها في السوق من خلال تبني استراتيجيات مختلفة ، مثل عمليات الدمج والاستحواذ ، بينما يقوم البعض الآخر بتطوير طرق اختبار جديدة للتشخيص وإدخال منتجات جديدة للاحتفاظ بحصصهم في السوق. على سبيل المثال ، في فبراير 2019 ، أعلنت شركة Abbott عن توفر أحدث اختبار تشخيصي سريع للإنفلونزا (RIDT) ، BinaxNOW Influenza A & B Card 2 ، والذي تم منحه بموجب تعديلات التحسينات المخبرية السريرية (CLIA) من قبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) للكشف السريع عن فيروس الأنفلونزا ، مما يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على السوق. بعض الشركات التي تهيمن حاليًا على السوق هي أبوت لابوراتوريز ، وهولوجيك إنك ، وكويديل كوربوريشن ، وبركين إلمير إنك ، وبيومريوكس إس إيه.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. Quidel Corporation

  2. Hologic Inc

  3. bioMérieux SA

  4. Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc)

  5. PerkinElmer Inc

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Quidel Corporation Hologic Inc bioMérieux SA Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc) PerkinElmer Inc

مشهد تنافسي

يعتبر سوق مقايسة التدفق الجانبي منافسًا معتدلًا ويتكون من العديد من اللاعبين الرئيسيين. تقوم بعض الشركات بتوسيع مراكزها في السوق من خلال تبني استراتيجيات مختلفة ، مثل عمليات الدمج والاستحواذ ، بينما يقوم البعض الآخر بتطوير طرق اختبار جديدة للتشخيص وإدخال منتجات جديدة للاحتفاظ بحصصهم في السوق. على سبيل المثال ، في فبراير 2019 ، أعلنت شركة Abbott عن توفر أحدث اختبار تشخيصي سريع للإنفلونزا (RIDT) ، BinaxNOW Influenza A & B Card 2 ، والذي تم منحه بموجب تعديلات التحسينات المخبرية السريرية (CLIA) من قبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) للكشف السريع عن فيروس الأنفلونزا ، مما يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على السوق. بعض الشركات التي تهيمن حاليًا على السوق هي أبوت لابوراتوريز ، وهولوجيك إنك ، وكويديل كوربوريشن ، وبركين إلمير إنك ، وبيومريوكس إس إيه.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increased Demand for Point-of-care Testing with Technological Advancements

      2. 4.2.2 Rise in Adoption of Home-based Devices, along with Global Incidence of Infectious Diseases

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent and Tedious Regulatory Framework that Delays the Approval of Products

      2. 4.3.2 Risk of False Results and Reluctance Toward these Products among the People in Emerging Nations

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 Application

      1. 5.1.1 Clinical Testing

        1. 5.1.1.1 Pregnancy Testing

        2. 5.1.1.2 Influenza Testing

        3. 5.1.1.3 Tuberculosis

        4. 5.1.1.4 D-Dimer Testing

        5. 5.1.1.5 Other Clinical Testings

      2. 5.1.2 Drug Abuse Testing

      3. 5.1.3 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 Technique

      1. 5.2.1 Sandwich Assay

      2. 5.2.2 Competitive Assay

      3. 5.2.3 Multiplex Assay

    3. 5.3 Product

      1. 5.3.1 Lateral Flow Readers

        1. 5.3.1.1 Digital/Mobile Readers

        2. 5.3.1.2 Benchtop Readers

      2. 5.3.2 Kits and Reagents

    4. 5.4 End User

      1. 5.4.1 Home Care

      2. 5.4.2 Hospitals and Clinics

      3. 5.4.3 Other End Users

    5. 5.5 Geography

      1. 5.5.1 North America

        1. 5.5.1.1 United States

        2. 5.5.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.5.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.5.2 Europe

        1. 5.5.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.5.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.5.2.3 France

        4. 5.5.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.5.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.5.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.5.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.5.3.1 China

        2. 5.5.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.5.3.3 India

        4. 5.5.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.5.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.5.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.5.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.5.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.5.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.5.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.5.5 South America

        1. 5.5.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.5.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.5.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 PerkinElmer Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Merck KGaA

      3. 6.1.3 QIAGEN NV

      4. 6.1.4 Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc.)

      5. 6.1.5 Quidel Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 Hologic Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 bioMerieux SA

      9. 6.1.9 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      10. 6.1.10 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 Abcam PLC

      12. 6.1.12 Danaher Corporation

      13. 6.1.13 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

      14. 6.1.14 Siemens AG

      15. 6.1.15 Chembio Diagnostic Systems Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي من 2018 إلى 2028.

ينمو سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ 5.42٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

تقدر قيمة سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي بـ 8491 مليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2018.

تقدر قيمة سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي بـ 12199 مليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2028.

تنمو منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأعلى معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال الفترة 2018-2028.

تمتلك أمريكا الشمالية أعلى حصة في عام 2021.

Quidel Corporation و Hologic Inc و bioMérieux SA و Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc) و PerkinElmer Inc هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في سوق فحص التدفق الجانبي.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Lateral Flow Assay Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Lateral Flow Assay Market is segmented by Application (Clinical Testing, Drug Abuse Testing, and Other Applications), Technique (Sandwich Assay, Competitive Assay, and Multiplex Assay), Product (Lateral Flow Readers and Kits and Reagents), End User (Home Care, Hospitals and Clinics, and Other End Users), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for all the above segments.

Lateral Flow Assay Market Snapshot

lateral flow assay market share
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.42 %
lateral flow assay market major players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The lateral flow assay market is projected to register a CAGR of 5.42% over the forecast period, with a revenue of USD 8,490.75 million in 2021, and it is expected to reach USD 12,198.84 million by 2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic had a positive impact on the market. Instead of sending patient samples to the laboratory, the usage of lateral flow test kits can be convenient as they are smaller, portable, and can be controlled with minimal training. This makes them attractive for deployment outside of healthcare facilities, in low- and middle-income countries, or for countries rolling out mass population screening programs. Even though they are less accurate than PCR tests, their low cost, speed, and ease of use make lateral flow tests particularly attractive to countries that do not have extensive laboratory facilities or trained health workers to easily conduct PCR tests for COVID-19 screening. Some countries, such as Slovakia and the United Kingdom, are extensively using lateral flow tests as a means of mass screening programs. For example, the British government has been monitoring the use of the Innova SARS-CoV-2 Antigen Rapid Qualitative Test in Liverpool, which currently has high COVID-19 rates, and it plans to roll it out nationwide.

The major factor driving the growth of the lateral flow assay market is the growing global rate of infectious diseases, HIV, and cancer around the world, which require new diagnostic methods of effective treatment to end the growing mortality rate. For instance, according to the November 2021 report of the World Health Organization (WHO) on HIV/AIDS, about 37.7 million people around the world were living with HIV in 2020, of which 25.4 million were residing in the WHO African region. As per the same report, in 2020, about 1.5 million people were diagnosed with HIV around the world. Thus, the high prevalence of HIV is expected to drive the demand for effective and precise diagnostics tests for the efficient and early diagnostics of HIV, which is anticipated to drive the market growth as they provide accurate diagnostics.

Further, technological advancements in the field of lateral flow assays (LFA) have also boosted the market growth. In recent years, major advances in LFA development have included novel signal enhancement techniques, the use of new labels, improved quantification systems, and simultaneous detection. Some new techniques have been used to enhance the signal from gold nanoparticles (colloidal nanoparticles). With the advancement in technology, GNPs have adopted silver enhancement technology or combinations of GNPs with an enzyme (such as horseradish peroxidase), which results in catalytic amplification of the signal. For instance, in June 2021, Novacyt launched two COVID-19 antigen lateral flow tests called PathFlow COVID-19 Rapid Antigen Pro and PathFlow COVID-19 Rapid Antigen.

Additionally, increased participation of the government to control the outbreaks of infectious diseases and the increasing awareness programs about the spread of infections, diagnosis, and prevention, along with the launch of diagnosis systems at home care settings, are expected to contribute to the growth of the global market during the forecast period. However, factors such as delays in product approvals due to stringent regulatory policies and false results from the test are expected to impede the growth of the studied market over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, lateral flow assays, also referred to as lateral flow immunochromatographic assays, are cellulose-based devices used to detect the presence of a target analyte in the sample without the need for specialized and costly equipment and highly skilled healthcare professionals for their operation. They gained significant traction in home care settings, thereby fuelling the market.

The lateral flow assay market is segmented by application (clinical testing, drug abuse testing, and other applications), technique (sandwich assay, competitive assay, and multiplex assay), product (lateral flow readers and kits and reagents), end user (home care, hospitals and clinics, and other end users), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The market report also covers the estimated market sizes and trends for 17 different countries across major regions globally. The report offers the value (in USD million) for all the above segments.

Application
Clinical Testing
Pregnancy Testing
Influenza Testing
Tuberculosis
D-Dimer Testing
Other Clinical Testings
Drug Abuse Testing
Other Applications
Technique
Sandwich Assay
Competitive Assay
Multiplex Assay
Product
Lateral Flow Readers
Digital/Mobile Readers
Benchtop Readers
Kits and Reagents
End User
Home Care
Hospitals and Clinics
Other End Users
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
India
Australia
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Middle-East and Africa
GCC
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Clinical Testing Segment is Expected to Hold the Largest Market Share in the Lateral Flow Assay Market

The clinical testing segment is anticipated to hold the largest market share in the lateral flow assay market due to its importance in the identification and detection of diseases. With the rise in the incidence of infectious diseases and other medical conditions, the demand for these assays is expected to increase, driving the segment's growth. For instance, according to the World Health Organization, Global Tuberculosis Report 2020, approximately 1.4 million people died from tuberculosis-related illnesses in 2019, and nearly 10 million individuals developed tuberculosis in 2019. Hence, the growing burden of tuberculosis is expected to drive the need for rapid and affordable diagnostics, especially in developing countries, which aids in the growth of the studied market.

The increased demand for the segment is due to an increase in the new approvals of self-test devices, such as Atomo HIV Self-Test, TRUSTline HIV-Ab/Ag 4th Gen Rapid Test, Dr Trust Hiv Sure, and others, developed in recent years. These self-test devices and kits help the patients in assurance, earlier diagnosis, enhanced convenience, and ease of use, which are likely to fuel the market.

Further, the COVID-19 pandemic has drastically increased launches and research in the field of clinical testing, bolstering the segment growth. For instance, in September 2020, Roche launched a SARS-CoV-2 Rapid Antigen Test for markets accepting the CE Mark. The SARS-CoV-2 Rapid Antigen Test is for use in point-of-care settings for both symptomatic and asymptomatic people.

lateral flow assay market forecast

North America Dominates the Market, and It is Expected to do the Same During the Forecast Period

North America is expected to dominate the overall lateral flow assay market throughout the forecast period, owing to a rise in the incidence of various infectious and chronic diseases, such as Lyme disease and tuberculosis, and an increased mortality rate associated with HIV/AIDS in the region. In North America, the United States is anticipated to hold the largest market share due to the presence of a high patient pool and affordability with increasing disposable income.

As per the United States Department of Health & Human Services report, published in January 2020, about 37,832 people in the United States were diagnosed with HIV in 2018, and 38,000 new HIV infections still occur in the United States. It has also been reported that there is a rapid spread of various infectious diseases such as meningitis and urinary tract infections, necessitating immediate diagnosis, thereby increasing the demand for fast diagnostic test devices and fueling the market growth. Furthermore, the increased adoption rate of advanced infrastructure, the volume of diagnostic centers, and the rise in awareness among people are estimated to boost the market in the region, contributing to its outstanding share of the global market revenue during the forecast period.

Furthermore, the pandemic hit the region very hard and forced the government to implement mass screening programs, boosting the market growth in the region. In 2020, Abbott Laboratories ramped up its production of coronavirus test kits, including a new tool that could enable mass COVID-19 screening. The company has announced that it is developing the fourth diagnostic test for the coronavirus: A “lateral flow” blood test that could provide mass testing to the general population, which is further expected to positively impact the market in the region.

lateral flow assay market analysis

Competitive Landscape

The lateral flow assay market is moderately competitive and consists of several major players. Some of the companies are expanding their market positions by adopting various strategies, such as mergers and acquisitions, while others are developing new test methods for diagnosis and introducing new products to retain their market shares. For instance, in February 2019, Abbott announced the availability of its latest rapid influenza diagnostic test (RIDT), BinaxNOW Influenza A & B Card 2, which was granted under the Clinical Laboratory Improvements Amendments (CLIA) by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for rapid detection of influenza virus, positively impacting the market. Some of the companies currently dominating the market are Abbott Laboratories, Hologic Inc., Quidel Corporation, PerkinElmer Inc., and bioMerieux SA.

Recent Developments

  • In December 2021, Eurofins Technologies launched its RapidScan ST5-W lateral flow reader, which is built for field and in-process testing applications requiring qualitative to semi-quantitative test results.
  • In January 2021, Abbott announced that it had received CE Mark for two new uses of its Panbio COVID-19 Ag Rapid Test Device to detect the SARS-CoV-2 virus for asymptomatic screening and self-administered sample collection with a nasal swab.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increased Demand for Point-of-care Testing with Technological Advancements

      2. 4.2.2 Rise in Adoption of Home-based Devices, along with Global Incidence of Infectious Diseases

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent and Tedious Regulatory Framework that Delays the Approval of Products

      2. 4.3.2 Risk of False Results and Reluctance Toward these Products among the People in Emerging Nations

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value – USD million)

    1. 5.1 Application

      1. 5.1.1 Clinical Testing

        1. 5.1.1.1 Pregnancy Testing

        2. 5.1.1.2 Influenza Testing

        3. 5.1.1.3 Tuberculosis

        4. 5.1.1.4 D-Dimer Testing

        5. 5.1.1.5 Other Clinical Testings

      2. 5.1.2 Drug Abuse Testing

      3. 5.1.3 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 Technique

      1. 5.2.1 Sandwich Assay

      2. 5.2.2 Competitive Assay

      3. 5.2.3 Multiplex Assay

    3. 5.3 Product

      1. 5.3.1 Lateral Flow Readers

        1. 5.3.1.1 Digital/Mobile Readers

        2. 5.3.1.2 Benchtop Readers

      2. 5.3.2 Kits and Reagents

    4. 5.4 End User

      1. 5.4.1 Home Care

      2. 5.4.2 Hospitals and Clinics

      3. 5.4.3 Other End Users

    5. 5.5 Geography

      1. 5.5.1 North America

        1. 5.5.1.1 United States

        2. 5.5.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.5.1.3 Mexico

      2. 5.5.2 Europe

        1. 5.5.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.5.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.5.2.3 France

        4. 5.5.2.4 Italy

        5. 5.5.2.5 Spain

        6. 5.5.2.6 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.5.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.5.3.1 China

        2. 5.5.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.5.3.3 India

        4. 5.5.3.4 Australia

        5. 5.5.3.5 South Korea

        6. 5.5.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.5.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.5.4.1 GCC

        2. 5.5.4.2 South Africa

        3. 5.5.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

      5. 5.5.5 South America

        1. 5.5.5.1 Brazil

        2. 5.5.5.2 Argentina

        3. 5.5.5.3 Rest of South America

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 PerkinElmer Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Merck KGaA

      3. 6.1.3 QIAGEN NV

      4. 6.1.4 Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc.)

      5. 6.1.5 Quidel Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 Hologic Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 bioMerieux SA

      9. 6.1.9 Becton, Dickinson and Company

      10. 6.1.10 Bio-Rad Laboratories Inc.

      11. 6.1.11 Abcam PLC

      12. 6.1.12 Danaher Corporation

      13. 6.1.13 F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG

      14. 6.1.14 Siemens AG

      15. 6.1.15 Chembio Diagnostic Systems Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Lateral Flow Assay Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Lateral Flow Assay Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.42% over the next 5 years.

The Lateral Flow Assay Market is valued at 8491 Million USD in 2019.

The Lateral Flow Assay Market is valued at 12199 Million USD in 2027.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

Quidel Corporation, Hologic Inc, bioMérieux SA, Abbott Laboratories (Alere Inc), PerkinElmer Inc are the major companies operating in Lateral Flow Assay Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!