Рынок офтальмологических устройств Индии — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Рынок офтальмологических устройств в Индии сегментирован по устройствам (хирургические устройства, устройства для диагностики и мониторинга и средства для ухода за зрением). Отчет предлагает стоимость (в миллионах долларов США) для вышеуказанных сегментов.

Обзор рынка

CAGR
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 7.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Ожидается, что рынок офтальмологических устройств в Индии вырастет в среднем на 7,3% в течение прогнозируемого периода. 

Пандемия COVID-19 представляет собой беспрецедентную проблему для здоровья и по-разному затронула каждый сектор. Всемирная организация здравоохранения (ВОЗ) назвала пандемию проблемой общественного здравоохранения. В Индии большинство офтальмологов не принимали пациентов, поскольку во время пандемии правительство ввело общенациональный карантин. Это можно объяснить высоким риском передачи SARS-CoV-2 во время офтальмологических процедур. В декабре 2020 года Министерство здравоохранения и благосостояния семьи (MoHFW) правительства Индии выпустило рекомендации по минимизации заражения COVD-19 среди офтальмологов, офтальмологических помощников / техников, медсестер, вспомогательного персонала, пациентов и их сопровождающих. Кроме того, в соответствии с этими инструкциями офтальмологические учреждения в зонах содержания должны были оставаться закрытыми, а открываться разрешалось только за пределами зоны содержания. Это существенно повлияло на спрос на офтальмологические процедуры и устройства в стране. Однако с появлением вакцин и снятием карантина в стране ожидается увеличение притока пациентов в офтальмологические центры.

Заболеваний, связанных с офтальмологией, в Индии становится все больше. Согласно статистике фонда HelpMeSee India за 2021 год, катаракта является причиной 66,2% общей слепоты у людей в возрасте от 50 до 90 лет. Согласно статистике за 2019 год, подготовленной инициативой AgeingAsia.org HelpAge International и ее членами в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе, более 139 миллионов человек в Индии старше 60 лет, что составляет 10% от общей численности населения страны. Кроме того, согласно исследованию, проведенному LV Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI), Хайдарабад, опубликованному в 2019 году, к 2030 году ожидается, что ошеломляющие 275 миллионов человек будут страдать от синдрома сухого глаза. Прогноз основан на текущих показателях заболеваемости 45% городского населения страны. В Индии наблюдается значительное и растущее бремя умеренных нарушений зрения.

Кроме того, согласно статистическим данным Министерства статистики и реализации программ (MoSPI) Индии за 2021 год, число женщин и мужчин в пожилом населении, по прогнозам, достигнет 100,9 миллиона и 92,9 миллиона человек в 2031 году соответственно. Такое ожидаемое увеличение темпов роста отражает увеличение количества операций по удалению катаракты, выполняемых в год, что, в свою очередь, свидетельствует о растущем спросе на офтальмологические устройства в стране. Например, по данным Фонда HelpMeSee, Индия успешно увеличила частоту операций по удалению катаракты (CSR), т. е. количество операций по удалению катаракты, выполняемых на миллион в год. Согласно статистике HelpMeSee Foundation за 2019 год, в 2019 году в Индии было проведено около 8000 операций по удалению катаракты, что больше, чем 6000 операций по удалению катаракты в 2012 году.

Таким образом, из-за растущего бремени катаракты в стране, наряду с растущим гериатрическим населением, ожидается, что технологические достижения лидируют на рынке Индии. Тем не менее, нехватка квалифицированных специалистов и недостаточная осведомленность о заболеваниях глаз вновь вернут рынок.

Объем отчета

Согласно объему отчета, офтальмологические устройства — это медицинские устройства, используемые для выявления и лечения глазных дефектов или недостатков и глазных заболеваний. Офтальмологические устройства предназначены для диагностики, хирургии и коррекции зрения. Эти устройства постоянно приобретают все большее значение и распространение из-за высокой распространенности различных офтальмологических заболеваний, таких как глаукома, катаракта и другие проблемы, связанные со зрением. Рынок офтальмологических устройств в Индии сегментирован по устройствам (хирургические устройства, устройства для диагностики и мониторинга и средства для ухода за зрением). Отчет предлагает стоимость (в миллионах долларов США) для вышеуказанных сегментов.

By Devices
Surgical Devices
Glaucoma Surgery Devices
Cataract Surgery Devices
Refractive Surgery Devices
Other Surgical Devices
Diagnostic and Monitoring Device
Autorefractors and Keratometers
Corneal Topography Systems
Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems
Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices
Vision Care
Spectacles
Contact Lens

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Ожидается, что сегмент устройств для хирургии глаукомы будет занимать наибольшую долю рынка

Приборы для хирургии глаукомы используются при лечении глаукомы. Расстройство глаукомы характеризуется прогрессирующим и необратимым повреждением зрительного нерва и является основной причиной необратимой слепоты в Индии.

Согласно статистике HelpMeSee Foundation за 2021 год, 5,80% населения Индии страдают глаукомой. Таким образом, число пациентов в Индии, страдающих глаукомой, увеличивается с ростом населения. Такие пациенты подвергаются хирургическому вмешательству для лечения глаукомы, что способствует росту спроса на хирургические устройства для лечения глаукомы, включая дренажные устройства для глаукомы. Дренажные устройства для глаукомы являются наиболее часто используемыми хирургическими вмешательствами второй линии при глаукоме.

Кроме того, внедрение микроинвазивной хирургии глаукомы (MIGS) позволило улучшить ведение пациентов с легкой и умеренной глаукомой. Область MIGS быстро расширилась за последнее десятилетие благодаря способности хирургов-офтальмологов адаптировать хирургические подходы. Это увеличило использование хирургических устройств MIGS в Индии. Устройства MIGS обеспечивают сокращение времени операции, более короткие периоды восстановления, доступность и низкий риск послеоперационных осложнений.

Более того, в настоящее время селективная лазерная трабекулопластика (СЛТ) и аргоновая лазерная трабекулопластика (АЛТ) являются наиболее предпочтительными процедурами глаукомы в Индии, что указывает на постоянный спрос на устройства для хирургии глаукомы, используемые в этих процедурах в стране. Таким образом, повышенный спрос на устройства для хирургии глаукомы из-за вышеупомянутых факторов, вероятно, будет способствовать росту рынка.

Ophthalmology Devices Market

Конкурентная среда

Индийский рынок офтальмологических устройств отличается высокой конкуренцией и состоит из ряда крупных игроков. Такие компании, как Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson и Carl Zeiss Meditec AG, среди прочих, владеют значительной долей рынка офтальмологических устройств. В последнее время на рынке происходят различные события. 

Конкурентная среда

Индийский рынок офтальмологических устройств отличается высокой конкуренцией и состоит из ряда крупных игроков. Такие компании, как Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson и Carl Zeiss Meditec AG, среди прочих, владеют значительной долей рынка офтальмологических устройств. В последнее время на рынке происходят различные события. 

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Growth in Cataract Volume

      2. 4.2.2 Technological Advancements in the Field of Ophthalmology

      3. 4.2.3 Rising Geriatric Population

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Shortage of Skilled Professionals

      2. 4.3.2 Low Awareness About Eye-related Diseases

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value - USD Million)

    1. 5.1 By Devices

      1. 5.1.1 Surgical Devices

        1. 5.1.1.1 Glaucoma Surgery Devices

        2. 5.1.1.2 Cataract Surgery Devices

        3. 5.1.1.3 Refractive Surgery Devices

        4. 5.1.1.4 Other Surgical Devices

      2. 5.1.2 Diagnostic and Monitoring Device

        1. 5.1.2.1 Autorefractors and Keratometers

        2. 5.1.2.2 Corneal Topography Systems

        3. 5.1.2.3 Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems

        4. 5.1.2.4 Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices

      3. 5.1.3 Vision Care

        1. 5.1.3.1 Spectacles

        2. 5.1.3.2 Contact Lens

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Alcon Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Bausch & Lomb Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Carl Zeiss Meditec AG

      4. 6.1.4 Essilor International SA

      5. 6.1.5 Hoya Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 J&J Vision Care

      7. 6.1.7 Nidek Co. Ltd

      8. 6.1.8 Topcon Corporation

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market is growing at a CAGR of 7.3% over the next 5 years.

Alcon, Bosch & Lomb, Carl Zeiss Meditec, Topcon Corporation, J&J Vision Care are the major companies operating in India Ophthalmology Devices Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

India Ophthalmology Devices Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market is segmented by Device (Surgical Device, Diagnostic and Monitoring Device, and Vision Care). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

CAGR
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 7.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Indian ophthalmology devices market is expected to register a CAGR of 7.3% during the forecast period, 2022 - 2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic is an unprecedented health concern and has affected every sector in different ways. The World Health Organization (WHO) alerted the pandemic as a public health issue. In India, most ophthalmologists were not seeing the patients as the government imposed a nationwide lockdown during the pandemic. This can be attributed to the high risk of transmission of SARS-CoV-2 during ophthalmic procedures. In December 2020, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW), the Government of India, released guidelines to minimize COVID-19 infection among the Ophthalmologist, Ophthalmic assistants/technicians, nurses, support staff, patients, and their attendants. In addition, according to these guidelines, eye care facilities in containment zones were to remain closed, and only outside containment zone were allowed to open. This significantly impacted the demand for ophthalmic procedures and devices in the country. However, with the availability of vaccines and the upliftment of lockdown in the country, the patient inflow in ophthalmic centers is anticipated to increase.

Ophthalmology-based diseases in India are increasing. According to the statistics by the National Blindness and Visual Impairment Survey 2015-2019, cataract contributes to 66.2% of overall blindness in people above 50 years of age. As per the 2019 statistics by the AgeingAsia.org initiative of HelpAge International and the members in the Asia-Pacific, more than 139 million people in India are above 60 years and comprise 10% of the country’s total population. Furthermore, as per a study done by L V Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI), Hyderabad, published in 2019, by the year 2030, a staggering 275 million people are expected to be affected by dry eye disease. The projection is based on the current incidence rates of 45% of the country’s urban population. There is a significant and growing burden of moderate visual impairment in India.

Furthermore, as per the 2021 statistics by the Ministry of Statistics and Program Implementation (MoSPI), India, the number of females and males in the elderly population is projected to reach 100.9 million and 92.9 million in 2031, respectively. Such an anticipated increase in the growth rate reflects the increasing number of cataract surgeries performed per year that, in turn, indicates the rising demand for ophthalmic devices in the country. For instance, as per the Union Helath Minister of the country, the country requires 49 lakh surgeries to clear the backlog of blindness due to cataract and 53.63 lakh surgeries are needed to clear the backlog of severe visual impairment due to cataract.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, ophthalmic devices are medical devices used in the identification and treatment of ocular defects or deficiencies and eye disorders. The ophthalmic devices are designed for diagnostics, surgical, and vision correction purposes. These devices are continuously gaining increased importance and adoption due to the high prevalence of various ophthalmic diseases, such as glaucoma, cataract, and other vision-related issues. The Indian ophthalmology devices market is segmented by device (surgical device, diagnostic and monitoring device, and vision care). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Devices
Surgical Devices
Glaucoma Surgery Devices
Cataract Surgery Devices
Refractive Surgery Devices
Other Surgical Devices
Diagnostic and Monitoring Device
Autorefractors and Keratometers
Corneal Topography Systems
Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems
Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices
Vision Care
Spectacles
Contact Lens

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Glaucoma Surgery Devices Segment is Expected to Hold the Largest Share in the Market

Glaucoma surgery devices are used in the treatment of glaucoma disorder. Glaucoma disorder is characterized by progressive and irreversible damage to the optic nerve and is the leading cause of irreversible blindness in India.

According to the Government of India, 2019, glaucoma is the leading cause of irreversible blindness with at least 12 million people affected and nearly 1.2 million people blind from the disease. More than 90 percent of cases of glaucoma remain undiagnosed in the community. Thus, the number of patients in India suffering from glaucoma is increasing with the growing population. Such patients undergo surgery to treat glaucoma and are contributing to the rising demand for glaucoma surgical devices, including glaucoma drainage devices. Glaucoma drainage devices are the most used second-line surgical interventions for glaucoma.

In addition, the introduction of micro-invasive glaucoma surgery (MIGS) has allowed for improved management of patients with mild to moderate glaucoma. The field of MIGS has expanded rapidly in the last decade, owing to the ability of ophthalmic surgeons to tailor surgical approaches. This has augmented the usage of MIGS surgery devices in India. MIGS devices provide reduced surgery time, shorter recovery periods, affordability, and a low risk of post-surgical complications.

Moreover, presently, Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) and Argon Laser Trabeculoplasty (ALT) are the commonly preferred glaucoma procedures in India, indicating a consistent demand for glaucoma surgery devices used in these procedures in the country. Thus, the increased demand for glaucoma surgery devices owing to the aforementioned factors is likely to boost the market’s growth.

Ophthalmology Devices Market

Competitive Landscape

The Indian ophthalmic device market is highly competitive, and it consists of a number of major players. Companies, such as Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson, and Carl Zeiss Meditec AG, among others, hold substantial market shares in the ophthalmic device market. Recently, various developments have been taking place in the market.

Recent Developments

  • In January 2022, Alcon launched the presbyopia-correcting intraocular lens (PC-IOL) with wavefront-shaping technology, the AcrySof IQ Vivity IOL (Vivity), in India.
  • In October 2021, Ramkrishna Netralaya launched istent and istent inject by Glaukos in India. This is the smallest medical device known to be implanted in the human body.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Growth in Cataract Volume

      2. 4.2.2 Technological Advancements in the Field of Ophthalmology

      3. 4.2.3 Rising Geriatric Population

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Shortage of Skilled Professionals

      2. 4.3.2 Low Awareness About Eye-related Diseases

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value - USD Million)

    1. 5.1 By Devices

      1. 5.1.1 Surgical Devices

        1. 5.1.1.1 Glaucoma Surgery Devices

        2. 5.1.1.2 Cataract Surgery Devices

        3. 5.1.1.3 Refractive Surgery Devices

        4. 5.1.1.4 Other Surgical Devices

      2. 5.1.2 Diagnostic and Monitoring Device

        1. 5.1.2.1 Autorefractors and Keratometers

        2. 5.1.2.2 Corneal Topography Systems

        3. 5.1.2.3 Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems

        4. 5.1.2.4 Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices

      3. 5.1.3 Vision Care

        1. 5.1.3.1 Spectacles

        2. 5.1.3.2 Contact Lens

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Alcon Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Bausch & Lomb Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Carl Zeiss Meditec AG

      4. 6.1.4 Essilor International SA

      5. 6.1.5 Hoya Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 J&J Vision Care

      7. 6.1.7 Nidek Co. Ltd

      8. 6.1.8 Topcon Corporation

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market is growing at a CAGR of 7.3% over the next 5 years.

Alcon, Bosch & Lomb, Carl Zeiss Meditec, Topcon Corporation, J&J Vision Care are the major companies operating in India Ophthalmology Devices Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!