Indien Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der indische Markt für Ophthalmologiegeräte ist nach Gerät (chirurgisches Gerät, Diagnose- und Überwachungsgerät und Sehhilfe) unterteilt. Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

CAGR
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 7.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Es wird erwartet, dass der indische Markt für Ophthalmologiegeräte im Prognosezeitraum mit einer CAGR von 7,3 % wachsen wird. 

Die COVID-19-Pandemie ist ein beispielloses Gesundheitsproblem und hat jeden Sektor auf unterschiedliche Weise betroffen. Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) hat die Pandemie als Problem der öffentlichen Gesundheit gewarnt. In Indien sahen die meisten Augenärzte die Patienten nicht, da die Regierung während der Pandemie eine landesweite Sperrung verhängte. Dies ist auf das hohe Übertragungsrisiko von SARS-CoV-2 bei ophthalmologischen Eingriffen zurückzuführen. Im Dezember 2020 veröffentlichte das Ministerium für Gesundheit und Familienfürsorge (MoHFW) der indischen Regierung Richtlinien zur Minimierung der COVD-19-Infektion bei Augenärzten, Augenassistenten/-technikern, Krankenschwestern, Hilfspersonal, Patienten und ihren Begleitern. Darüber hinaus sollten gemäß diesen Richtlinien augenärztliche Einrichtungen in Sicherheitszonen geschlossen bleiben, und nur außerhalb der Sicherheitszonen durften geöffnet werden. Dies wirkte sich erheblich auf die Nachfrage nach ophthalmologischen Verfahren und Geräten im Land aus. Mit der Verfügbarkeit von Impfstoffen und der Aufhebung des Lockdowns im Land wird jedoch erwartet, dass der Patientenzustrom in ophthalmologische Zentren zunehmen wird.

Ophthalmologische Erkrankungen in Indien nehmen zu. Laut den Statistiken der HelpMeSee India Foundation für 2021 trägt Katarakt zu 66,2 % der Gesamtblindheit bei Menschen zwischen 50 und 90 Jahren bei. Laut den Statistiken von 2019 der Initiative AgeingAsia.org von HelpAge International und den Mitgliedern im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum sind mehr als 139 Millionen Menschen in Indien über 60 Jahre alt und machen 10 % der Gesamtbevölkerung des Landes aus. Darüber hinaus wird laut einer 2019 veröffentlichten Studie des LV Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI), Hyderabad, erwartet, dass bis zum Jahr 2030 erstaunliche 275 Millionen Menschen vom Trockenen Auge betroffen sein werden. Die Hochrechnung basiert auf den aktuellen Inzidenzraten von 45 % der städtischen Bevölkerung des Landes. In Indien gibt es eine erhebliche und wachsende Belastung durch mittelschwere Sehbehinderung.

Darüber hinaus wird gemäß den Statistiken des indischen Ministeriums für Statistik und Programmimplementierung (MoSPI) für 2021 die Zahl der Frauen und Männer in der älteren Bevölkerung voraussichtlich 100,9 Millionen bzw. 92,9 Millionen im Jahr 2031 erreichen. Ein solcher erwarteter Anstieg der Wachstumsrate spiegelt die zunehmende Anzahl von Kataraktoperationen wider, die pro Jahr durchgeführt werden, was wiederum auf die steigende Nachfrage nach ophthalmologischen Geräten im Land hinweist. Laut der HelpMeSee Foundation war Indien beispielsweise erfolgreich bei der Steigerung seiner Kataraktoperationsrate (CSR), dh der Anzahl der durchgeführten Kataraktoperationen pro Million pro Jahr. Laut den Statistiken der HelpMeSee Foundation für 2019 wurden in Indien im Jahr 2019 fast 8.000 Kataraktoperationen durchgeführt, eine Steigerung gegenüber 6.000 Kataraktoperationen im Jahr 2012.

Daher wird erwartet, dass aufgrund der zunehmenden Kataraktbelastung im Land zusammen mit der wachsenden geriatrischen Bevölkerung und dem technologischen Fortschritt der Markt in Indien führend sein wird. Der Mangel an qualifizierten Fachleuten und das mangelnde Bewusstsein für augenbedingte Erkrankungen werden jedoch den Markt zurückdrängen.

Umfang des Berichts

Ophthalmologische Geräte im Sinne des Berichts sind Medizinprodukte, die zur Erkennung und Behandlung von Augenfehlern oder -mängeln und Augenerkrankungen verwendet werden. Die ophthalmologischen Geräte sind für diagnostische, chirurgische und Sehkorrekturzwecke konzipiert. Diese Geräte gewinnen aufgrund der hohen Prävalenz verschiedener Augenerkrankungen wie Glaukom, Katarakt und anderer sehbezogener Probleme kontinuierlich an Bedeutung und Akzeptanz. Der indische Markt für Ophthalmologiegeräte ist nach Gerät (chirurgisches Gerät, Diagnose- und Überwachungsgerät und Sehhilfe) unterteilt. Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Das Segment Geräte für die Glaukomchirurgie wird voraussichtlich den größten Marktanteil halten

Geräte für die Glaukomchirurgie werden bei der Behandlung von Glaukomerkrankungen eingesetzt. Die Glaukomerkrankung ist durch fortschreitende und irreversible Schädigung des Sehnervs gekennzeichnet und ist die Hauptursache für irreversible Erblindung in Indien.

Laut der Statistik 2021 der HelpMeSee Foundation sind 5,80 % der Bevölkerung in Indien von einer Glaukomerkrankung betroffen. So steigt mit der wachsenden Bevölkerung die Zahl der an Glaukom erkrankten Patienten in Indien. Solche Patienten werden zur Glaukombehandlung operiert und tragen zur steigenden Nachfrage nach Glaukom-Chirurgiegeräten, einschließlich Glaukom-Drainagegeräten, bei. Glaukom-Drainagegeräte sind die am häufigsten verwendeten chirurgischen Eingriffe der zweiten Wahl bei Glaukom.

Darüber hinaus hat die Einführung der mikroinvasiven Glaukomchirurgie (MIGS) eine verbesserte Behandlung von Patienten mit leichtem bis mittelschwerem Glaukom ermöglicht. Das Gebiet der MIGS hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren aufgrund der Fähigkeit von Augenchirurgen, chirurgische Ansätze maßzuschneidern, schnell erweitert. Dies hat die Verwendung von MIGS-Chirurgiegeräten in Indien verstärkt. MIGS-Geräte bieten kürzere Operationszeiten, kürzere Erholungszeiten, Erschwinglichkeit und ein geringes Risiko postoperativer Komplikationen.

Darüber hinaus sind derzeit die selektive Laser-Trabekuloplastik (SLT) und die Argon-Laser-Trabekuloplastik (ALT) die allgemein bevorzugten Glaukomverfahren in Indien, was auf eine beständige Nachfrage nach Geräten für die Glaukomchirurgie hinweist, die bei diesen Verfahren im Land verwendet werden. Daher dürfte die erhöhte Nachfrage nach Geräten für die Glaukomchirurgie aufgrund der oben genannten Faktoren das Wachstum des Marktes ankurbeln.

Ophthalmology Devices Market

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der indische Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte ist hart umkämpft und besteht aus einer Reihe von Hauptakteuren. Unternehmen wie unter anderem Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson und die Carl Zeiss Meditec AG halten beträchtliche Marktanteile auf dem Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte. In letzter Zeit haben verschiedene Entwicklungen auf dem Markt stattgefunden. 

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der indische Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte ist hart umkämpft und besteht aus einer Reihe von Hauptakteuren. Unternehmen wie unter anderem Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson und die Carl Zeiss Meditec AG halten beträchtliche Marktanteile auf dem Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte. In letzter Zeit haben verschiedene Entwicklungen auf dem Markt stattgefunden. 

Table of Contents

  1. 1. EINLEITUNG

    1. 1.1 Studienannahmen und Marktdefinition

      1. 1.2 Umfang der Studie

      2. 2. FORSCHUNGSMETHODIK

        1. 3. ZUSAMMENFASSUNG

          1. 4. MARKTDYNAMIK

            1. 4.1 Marktübersicht

              1. 4.2 Marktführer

                1. 4.2.1 Wachstum des Kataraktvolumens

                  1. 4.2.2 Technologische Fortschritte auf dem Gebiet der Augenheilkunde

                    1. 4.2.3 Steigende geriatrische Bevölkerung

                    2. 4.3 Marktbeschränkungen

                      1. 4.3.1 Fachkräftemangel

                        1. 4.3.2 Geringes Bewusstsein für Augenkrankheiten

                        2. 4.4 Porters Fünf-Kräfte-Analyse

                          1. 4.4.1 Bedrohung durch Neueinsteiger

                            1. 4.4.2 Verhandlungsmacht von Käufern/Verbrauchern

                              1. 4.4.3 Verhandlungsmacht der Lieferanten

                                1. 4.4.4 Bedrohung durch Ersatzprodukte

                                  1. 4.4.5 Wettberbsintensität

                                2. 5. MARKTSEGMENTIERUNG (Marktgröße nach Wert - Mio. USD)

                                  1. 5.1 Nach Geräten

                                    1. 5.1.1 Chirurgische Geräte

                                      1. 5.1.1.1 Geräte für die Glaukomchirurgie

                                        1. 5.1.1.2 Geräte für die Kataraktchirurgie

                                          1. 5.1.1.3 Geräte für die refraktive Chirurgie

                                            1. 5.1.1.4 Andere chirurgische Geräte

                                            2. 5.1.2 Diagnose- und Überwachungsgerät

                                              1. 5.1.2.1 Autorefraktoren und Keratometer

                                                1. 5.1.2.2 Hornhaut-Topographie-Systeme

                                                  1. 5.1.2.3 Ophthalmologische Ultraschall-Bildgebungssysteme

                                                    1. 5.1.2.4 Andere Diagnose- und Überwachungsgeräte

                                                    2. 5.1.3 Augenpflege

                                                      1. 5.1.3.1 Brille

                                                        1. 5.1.3.2 Kontaktlinse

                                                    3. 6. WETTBEWERBSLANDSCHAFT

                                                      1. 6.1 Unternehmensprofile

                                                        1. 6.1.1 Alcon Inc.

                                                          1. 6.1.2 Bausch & Lomb Inc.

                                                            1. 6.1.3 Carl Zeiss Meditec AG

                                                              1. 6.1.4 Essilor International S.A.

                                                                1. 6.1.5 Hoya Corporation

                                                                  1. 6.1.6 J&J Vision Care

                                                                    1. 6.1.7 Nidek Co. Ltd

                                                                      1. 6.1.8 Topcon Corporation

                                                                    2. 7. MARKTCHANCEN UND ZUKÜNFTIGE TRENDS

                                                                      **Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

                                                                      You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                                      Frequently Asked Questions

                                                                      Der indische Markt für Ophthalmologiegeräte wird von 2019 bis 2027 untersucht.

                                                                      Der indische Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 7,3 %.

                                                                      Alcon, Bosch & Lomb, Carl Zeiss Meditec, Topcon Corporation, J&J Vision Care sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem indischen Markt für ophthalmologische Geräte tätig sind.

                                                                      80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                                      Please enter a valid email id!

                                                                      Please enter a valid message!

India Ophthalmology Devices Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market is segmented by Device (Surgical Device, Diagnostic and Monitoring Device, and Vision Care). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

CAGR
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 7.3 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Indian ophthalmology devices market is expected to register a CAGR of 7.3% during the forecast period, 2022 - 2027.

The COVID-19 pandemic is an unprecedented health concern and has affected every sector in different ways. The World Health Organization (WHO) alerted the pandemic as a public health issue. In India, most ophthalmologists were not seeing the patients as the government imposed a nationwide lockdown during the pandemic. This can be attributed to the high risk of transmission of SARS-CoV-2 during ophthalmic procedures. In December 2020, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW), the Government of India, released guidelines to minimize COVID-19 infection among the Ophthalmologist, Ophthalmic assistants/technicians, nurses, support staff, patients, and their attendants. In addition, according to these guidelines, eye care facilities in containment zones were to remain closed, and only outside containment zone were allowed to open. This significantly impacted the demand for ophthalmic procedures and devices in the country. However, with the availability of vaccines and the upliftment of lockdown in the country, the patient inflow in ophthalmic centers is anticipated to increase.

Ophthalmology-based diseases in India are increasing. According to the statistics by the National Blindness and Visual Impairment Survey 2015-2019, cataract contributes to 66.2% of overall blindness in people above 50 years of age. As per the 2019 statistics by the AgeingAsia.org initiative of HelpAge International and the members in the Asia-Pacific, more than 139 million people in India are above 60 years and comprise 10% of the country’s total population. Furthermore, as per a study done by L V Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI), Hyderabad, published in 2019, by the year 2030, a staggering 275 million people are expected to be affected by dry eye disease. The projection is based on the current incidence rates of 45% of the country’s urban population. There is a significant and growing burden of moderate visual impairment in India.

Furthermore, as per the 2021 statistics by the Ministry of Statistics and Program Implementation (MoSPI), India, the number of females and males in the elderly population is projected to reach 100.9 million and 92.9 million in 2031, respectively. Such an anticipated increase in the growth rate reflects the increasing number of cataract surgeries performed per year that, in turn, indicates the rising demand for ophthalmic devices in the country. For instance, as per the Union Helath Minister of the country, the country requires 49 lakh surgeries to clear the backlog of blindness due to cataract and 53.63 lakh surgeries are needed to clear the backlog of severe visual impairment due to cataract.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, ophthalmic devices are medical devices used in the identification and treatment of ocular defects or deficiencies and eye disorders. The ophthalmic devices are designed for diagnostics, surgical, and vision correction purposes. These devices are continuously gaining increased importance and adoption due to the high prevalence of various ophthalmic diseases, such as glaucoma, cataract, and other vision-related issues. The Indian ophthalmology devices market is segmented by device (surgical device, diagnostic and monitoring device, and vision care). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Devices
Surgical Devices
Glaucoma Surgery Devices
Cataract Surgery Devices
Refractive Surgery Devices
Other Surgical Devices
Diagnostic and Monitoring Device
Autorefractors and Keratometers
Corneal Topography Systems
Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems
Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices
Vision Care
Spectacles
Contact Lens

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Glaucoma Surgery Devices Segment is Expected to Hold the Largest Share in the Market

Glaucoma surgery devices are used in the treatment of glaucoma disorder. Glaucoma disorder is characterized by progressive and irreversible damage to the optic nerve and is the leading cause of irreversible blindness in India.

According to the Government of India, 2019, glaucoma is the leading cause of irreversible blindness with at least 12 million people affected and nearly 1.2 million people blind from the disease. More than 90 percent of cases of glaucoma remain undiagnosed in the community. Thus, the number of patients in India suffering from glaucoma is increasing with the growing population. Such patients undergo surgery to treat glaucoma and are contributing to the rising demand for glaucoma surgical devices, including glaucoma drainage devices. Glaucoma drainage devices are the most used second-line surgical interventions for glaucoma.

In addition, the introduction of micro-invasive glaucoma surgery (MIGS) has allowed for improved management of patients with mild to moderate glaucoma. The field of MIGS has expanded rapidly in the last decade, owing to the ability of ophthalmic surgeons to tailor surgical approaches. This has augmented the usage of MIGS surgery devices in India. MIGS devices provide reduced surgery time, shorter recovery periods, affordability, and a low risk of post-surgical complications.

Moreover, presently, Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) and Argon Laser Trabeculoplasty (ALT) are the commonly preferred glaucoma procedures in India, indicating a consistent demand for glaucoma surgery devices used in these procedures in the country. Thus, the increased demand for glaucoma surgery devices owing to the aforementioned factors is likely to boost the market’s growth.

Ophthalmology Devices Market

Competitive Landscape

The Indian ophthalmic device market is highly competitive, and it consists of a number of major players. Companies, such as Alcon Inc., Bausch & Lomb Inc., Johnson & Johnson, and Carl Zeiss Meditec AG, among others, hold substantial market shares in the ophthalmic device market. Recently, various developments have been taking place in the market.

Recent Developments

  • In January 2022, Alcon launched the presbyopia-correcting intraocular lens (PC-IOL) with wavefront-shaping technology, the AcrySof IQ Vivity IOL (Vivity), in India.
  • In October 2021, Ramkrishna Netralaya launched istent and istent inject by Glaukos in India. This is the smallest medical device known to be implanted in the human body.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Growth in Cataract Volume

      2. 4.2.2 Technological Advancements in the Field of Ophthalmology

      3. 4.2.3 Rising Geriatric Population

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Shortage of Skilled Professionals

      2. 4.3.2 Low Awareness About Eye-related Diseases

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value - USD Million)

    1. 5.1 By Devices

      1. 5.1.1 Surgical Devices

        1. 5.1.1.1 Glaucoma Surgery Devices

        2. 5.1.1.2 Cataract Surgery Devices

        3. 5.1.1.3 Refractive Surgery Devices

        4. 5.1.1.4 Other Surgical Devices

      2. 5.1.2 Diagnostic and Monitoring Device

        1. 5.1.2.1 Autorefractors and Keratometers

        2. 5.1.2.2 Corneal Topography Systems

        3. 5.1.2.3 Ophthalmic Ultrasound Imaging Systems

        4. 5.1.2.4 Other Diagnostic and Monitoring Devices

      3. 5.1.3 Vision Care

        1. 5.1.3.1 Spectacles

        2. 5.1.3.2 Contact Lens

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Alcon Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Bausch & Lomb Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Carl Zeiss Meditec AG

      4. 6.1.4 Essilor International SA

      5. 6.1.5 Hoya Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 J&J Vision Care

      7. 6.1.7 Nidek Co. Ltd

      8. 6.1.8 Topcon Corporation

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The India Ophthalmology Devices Market is growing at a CAGR of 7.3% over the next 5 years.

Alcon, Bosch & Lomb, Carl Zeiss Meditec, Topcon Corporation, J&J Vision Care are the major companies operating in India Ophthalmology Devices Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!