Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen ist nach Materialtyp (Kunststoff und Papier), Anwendung (Lebensmittel, Getränke, Pharmazeutika, Körperpflege/Haushaltspflege) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

Biodegradable Packaging Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: 6.35 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 81,70 Milliarden USD geschätzt, und es wird erwartet, dass er bis 2026 118,85 Milliarden USD erreichen wird, was einer CAGR von 6,35 % im Zeitraum 2021-2026 entspricht. Der globale Markt für umweltfreundliche Lebensmittelverpackungen verzeichnete im Jahr 2020 eine gestiegene Nachfrage und wird sich voraussichtlich 2021 verlangsamen. Der Nachfrageanstieg ist hauptsächlich auf die gestiegene Nachfrage nach verpackten Lebensmitteln auf der ganzen Welt während der Coronavirus-Pandemie zurückzuführen. Darüber hinaus funktionierten die Lebensmittelherstellung und damit verbundene Dienstleistungen während der Sperrung weiter, da sie als wesentliche Dienstleistungen angesehen wurden. Darüber hinaus haben einige Unternehmen verschiedene Strategien zur Bewältigung dieser Krise entwickelt.

  • Die biologisch abbaubaren Verpackungslösungen finden aufgrund ihrer geringen Umweltbelastung, des wachsenden Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit, der staatlichen Betonung eines effizienten Verpackungsmanagements und des steigenden Verbraucherbewusstseins in Verbindung mit einem zunehmenden Verbot von Kunststoff zunehmend Anwendung in der Verpackung. Laut European Bioplastics (Association of Bioplastics) steigt die weltweite Produktionskapazität für Biokunststoffe von rund 2,11 Millionen Tonnen im Jahr 2019 auf etwa 2,43 Millionen Tonnen im Jahr 2024.
  • Angesichts des weltweit zunehmenden Verpackungsabfalls stellen sich Regierungen auf der ganzen Welt auf alternative Quellen wie biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen ein. Die Vereinigten Staaten stellen nur 4 % der Weltbevölkerung und erzeugen 12 % des globalen kommunalen Festabfalls (MSW). Es wird auch angegeben, dass die Vereinigten Staaten etwa 106,2 kg Plastikmüll pro Person und Jahr produzieren. (Quelle: US-Umweltschutzbehörde (EPA)).
  • Gemäß dem US Plastic Waste Reduction and Recycling Act zielt die Regierung darauf ab, Kunststoffabfälle zu reduzieren, die Forschung und Technologien für die Recyclinginfrastruktur zu fördern und die Führung der USA bei der Entwicklung nationaler und internationaler Standards sicherzustellen. Mit dem Gesetz zur weiteren Erforschung von Mikroplastik besteht die Möglichkeit, dass in den USA ansässige Verpackungsunternehmen in Zukunft strengere Vorschriften für die Kunststoffherstellung sehen werden.
  • Darüber hinaus haben biobasierte Materialien mehrere potenzielle Vorteile für Treibhausgasbilanzen und andere Umweltauswirkungen über den gesamten Lebenszyklus und bei der Nutzung erneuerbarer statt endlicher Ressourcen. Es ist beabsichtigt, dass die Verwendung von biologisch abbaubaren Materialien zur Nachhaltigkeit und Reduzierung der Umweltauswirkungen im Zusammenhang mit der Entsorgung von Polymeren auf Ölbasis beiträgt.

Umfang des Berichts

Biologisch abbaubar bezieht sich auf die Fähigkeit von Materialien, sich zu zersetzen und in die Natur zurückzukehren. Damit Verpackungsprodukte oder -materialien als biologisch abbaubar gelten, müssen sie innerhalb kurzer Zeit nach der Entsorgung, typischerweise innerhalb eines Jahres oder weniger, vollständig in natürliche Elemente zerlegt und abgebaut werden. Der nach Materialtyp untersuchte Markt ist in Kunststoff und Papier unterteilt. Das Kunststoffsegment ist weiter unterteilt in stärkebasierte, zellulosebasierte, PLA, PHA, PHB und andere biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffe. Zu den von der Marktstudie abgedeckten Anwendungen gehören Anwendungen in der Lebensmittel-, Getränke-, Pharma-, Haushalts- und Körperpflegeindustrie. Sekundärverpackungsanwendungen für elektronische Produkte wurden ebenfalls als Teil der Studie unter dem Segment „Sonstige Anwendungen“ betrachtet.

Material Type
Plastic
Starch-Based Plastics
Cellulose-Based Plastics
Polylactic Acid (PLA)
Poly-3-Hydroxybutyrate (PHB)
Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)
Other Plastics
Paper
Kraft Paper
Flexible Paper
Corrugated Fiberboard
Boxboard
Application
Food Packaging
Beverage Packaging
Pharmaceutical Packaging
Personal/Homecare Packaging
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Rest of Asia Pacific
Rest of the World
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Die Getränkeverpackung wird voraussichtlich eine der wichtigsten Anwendungen sein

  • Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen im Getränkesektor wird voraussichtlich wachsen, da die Nachfrage nach abgefülltem Wasser und alkoholfreien Getränken nicht nachlässt. Die Nachfrage nach abgefülltem Wasser wird der Neigung der Verbraucher zugeschrieben, speziell hochwertiges Trinkwasser zu verlangen, der Angst vor Krankheiten als Folge des Trinkens von verschmutztem Leitungswasser und der einfachen Tragbarkeit und Bequemlichkeit von abgefülltem Wasser
  • Darüber hinaus bevorzugen Menschen in mehreren Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern abgefülltes Wasser, und es gibt auch einen neueren Gesundheitstrend, Wasser anstelle von Erfrischungsgetränken zu konsumieren. Zum Beispiel erklärte die International Bottled Water Association (IBWA), dass Amerikaner abgefülltes Wasser gegenüber anderen abgepackten Getränken bevorzugen, nachdem sie 2018 13,8 Milliarden Gallonen davon konsumiert hatten. Das geht aus einer neuen nationalen Umfrage hervor, die online von The Harris Poll im Auftrag von International Bottled durchgeführt wurde Water Association (IBWA) erwarten mehr als 9 von 10 Amerikanern, dass Wasser in Flaschen überall dort erhältlich ist, wo andere Getränke verkauft werden
  • Nach Angaben des Environmental Audit Committee werden allein im Vereinigten Königreich jeden Tag schätzungsweise 700.000 Flaschen weggeworfen. Solche Statistiken zeigen den dringenden Bedarf an biologisch abbaubaren Verpackungslösungen für Getränke.
  • Unternehmen auf dem Getränkemarkt wie PepsiCo verwenden recycelbare PET-Flaschen für ihre Getränke. Die recycelbaren PET-Flaschen von PepsiCo machen 30 % des Verpackungsvolumens in Nordamerika und 7 % weltweit aus. Hohe Recycling- und Herstellungskosten dürften jedoch die Praxis der Verwendung von recycelbarem PET für Getränkeverpackungen in Entwicklungsländern wie Indien einschränken. Beispielsweise trat PepsiCo im Juli 2020 dem Konsortium globaler Konsumgüterunternehmen, darunter Unilever, bei, um die weltweit erste recycelbare Papierflasche weiterzuentwickeln und zu skalieren, die ursprünglich von Diageo und Pilot Lite entwickelt wurde.
Biodegradable Packaging Market Share

Es wird erwartet, dass die Vereinigten Staaten weltweit einen großen Marktanteil halten werden

  • In den Vereinigten Staaten wird erwartet, dass das steigende Bewusstsein der Verbraucher und günstige Vorschriften der Regierung die Nachfrage nach biologisch abbaubaren Verpackungen im Prognosezeitraum ankurbeln werden. Nach Angaben der United States Environmental Protection Agency erzeugen die Vereinigten Staaten jedes Jahr fast 80 Millionen Tonnen Verpackungsabfall. Etwa die Hälfte des Verpackungsabfalls in den USA stammt von Lebensmitteln und Getränken. Die Agentur erwähnte, dass die Lebensmittelkonzerne wie Nestlé und Unilever den Großteil des Plastikmülls erzeugen.
  • In Anbetracht dieses Problems und unter dem Druck der Verbraucher haben sich mehrere dieser Unternehmen kürzlich verpflichtet, die Umweltauswirkungen ihrer Verpackungen zu reduzieren. Viele kleinere Unternehmen in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie tun dasselbe, und einige von ihnen sind seit Jahren Vorreiter bei der Verpackung innovativer Lösungen. Der Food Tank hebt 16 Lebensmittel- und Getränkeunternehmen hervor, um die verschiedenen Ansätze der Branche für nachhaltige Verpackungen zu präsentieren.
  • Beispielsweise wurden für die vegetarischen Fleischalternativen von No Evil Foods kompostierbare Verpackungen von Kraftpak hergestellt und mit Tinte auf Pflanzenbasis bedruckt. Kraftpak ist eine biologisch abbaubare, ungebleichte Kartonversiegelung mit wasserlöslichen Klebstoffen. Die Verpackung entfaltet sich wie Origami, um die Entfaltung von Metzgerpapier nachzuahmen. Zuvor verwendete No Evil Foods Metzgerpapier mit nicht biologisch abbaubarem Aufkleber, was es schwierig machte, das Metzgerpapier zu kompostieren. Kraftpak ist auch für das Recycling zertifiziert.
Biodegradable Map.png

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen ist stark fragmentiert. Der untersuchte Markt umfasst Amcor Limited, Sealed Air Corporation, Mondi Group PLC und Tetra Pak International SA. Mehrere regionale Unternehmen in Ländern wie Indien versuchen ebenfalls, Marktanteile zu gewinnen. Die Eintrittsbarrieren sind niedrig, was zum Aufkommen kleinerer Akteure führt und die Wettbewerbsrivalität weiter verstärkt.

  • Juni 2021 – Tetra Pak schließt sich mit der FINISH Society, einer bekannten Nichtregierungsorganisation für die Entsorgung fester Abfälle, zusammen, um die Sammlung gebrauchter Kartonverpackungen in Udaipur, Rajasthan, Indien, zu verstärken. Als Teil der Zusammenarbeit wird die FINISH Society mit der Municipal Corporation of Udaipur zusammenarbeiten, um gebrauchte Saft-/Milchpackungen aus den Sortierzentren der Corporation zurückzugewinnen, die dann zum nächsten Recycler geleitet werden. Tetra Pak und FINISH Society werden sich auch darauf konzentrieren, das Bewusstsein der Abfallsammler-Community für ihren Wert zu schärfen, wenn sie gebrauchte Getränkekartons sammeln und an einen Recycler verkaufen.

Hauptakteure

  1. Mondi Group

  2. Elevate Packaging inc.

  3. Mondi group

  4. AMCOR PLC

  5. TETRA PAK INTERNATIONAL SA

Biodegradable Packaging Market Analysis

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen ist stark fragmentiert. Der untersuchte Markt umfasst Amcor Limited, Sealed Air Corporation, Mondi Group PLC und Tetra Pak International SA. Mehrere regionale Unternehmen in Ländern wie Indien versuchen ebenfalls, Marktanteile zu gewinnen. Die Eintrittsbarrieren sind niedrig, was zum Aufkommen kleinerer Akteure führt und die Wettbewerbsrivalität weiter verstärkt.

  • Juni 2021 – Tetra Pak schließt sich mit der FINISH Society, einer bekannten Nichtregierungsorganisation für die Entsorgung fester Abfälle, zusammen, um die Sammlung gebrauchter Kartonverpackungen in Udaipur, Rajasthan, Indien, zu verstärken. Als Teil der Zusammenarbeit wird die FINISH Society mit der Municipal Corporation of Udaipur zusammenarbeiten, um gebrauchte Saft-/Milchpackungen aus den Sortierzentren der Corporation zurückzugewinnen, die dann zum nächsten Recycler geleitet werden. Tetra Pak und FINISH Society werden sich auch darauf konzentrieren, das Bewusstsein der Abfallsammler-Community für ihren Wert zu schärfen, wenn sie gebrauchte Getränkekartons sammeln und an einen Recycler verkaufen.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Demand For Sustainable Products By Consumers And Brands

      2. 4.2.2 Stringent Government Regulations

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Growing investments for Recyclable Packaging Solutions

      2. 4.3.2 Lack of Supply of Bio-plastics and Related Materials

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    6. 4.6 Technology Snapshot

    7. 4.7 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Industry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Plastic

        1. 5.1.1.1 Starch-Based Plastics

        2. 5.1.1.2 Cellulose-Based Plastics

        3. 5.1.1.3 Polylactic Acid (PLA)

        4. 5.1.1.4 Poly-3-Hydroxybutyrate (PHB)

        5. 5.1.1.5 Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)

        6. 5.1.1.6 Other Plastics

      2. 5.1.2 Paper

        1. 5.1.2.1 Kraft Paper

        2. 5.1.2.2 Flexible Paper

        3. 5.1.2.3 Corrugated Fiberboard

        4. 5.1.2.4 Boxboard

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Food Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Beverage Packaging

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmaceutical Packaging

      4. 5.2.4 Personal/Homecare Packaging

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.3.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 India

        3. 5.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 Latin America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.1.1 Tetra Pak International SA

      2. 6.1.2 Amcor PLC

      3. 6.1.3 Mondi Group

      4. 6.1.4 Imex Packaging

      5. 6.1.5 Elevate Packaging Inc.

      6. 6.1.6 Kruger Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Biopak PTY LTD (Duni Group)

      8. 6.1.8 Smurfit Kappa Group PLC

      9. 6.1.9 Berkley International Packaging Limited ​

      10. 6.1.10 Greenpack Limited

      11. 6.1.11 International Paper Company

      12. 6.1.12 Ranpak Holding Corporation

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 6,35 %.

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen wird 2018 auf 89 Milliarden USD geschätzt.

Der Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen wird im Jahr 2026 auf 118 Milliarden USD geschätzt.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Europa hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Mondi Group, Elevate Packaging Inc. , Mondi Group, AMCOR PLC, TETRA PAK INTERNATIONAL SA sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für biologisch abbaubare Verpackungen tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

BESTSELLER

Biodegradable Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Biodegradable Packaging Market is segmented by Material Type (Plastics and Paper), Application (Food, Beverage, Pharmaceutical, Personal/Homecare), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Biodegradable Packaging Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: 6.35 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Biodegradable Packaging Market was valued at USD 81.70 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 118.85 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 6.35% during the period, 2021-2026. The global environment-friendly food packaging market witnessed increased demand in 2020 and is anticipated to slow down in 2021. The increase in demand is majorly attributed to the increased demand for packaged food across the globe during the coronavirus pandemic. Moreover, food manufacturing and related services continued to function during the lockdown as it was considered essential services. In addition to that, some companies have adopted various strategies to overcome this crisis.

  • The biodegradable packaging solutions are finding increasing application in packaging due to their low environmental impact, growing focus on sustainability, government emphasis on efficient packaging management, and rising consumer awareness coupled with an increasing ban on plastic. According to European bioplastics (Association of Bioplastics), global bioplastics production capacity increases from around 2.11 million tons in 2019 to approximately 2.43 million metric tons in 2024.
  • With the increasing packaging waste generated worldwide, governments across the globe are adapting to alternative sources such as biodegradable packaging. The United States is only 4% of the world’s population and generates 12% of global Municipality Solid Waste (MSW). It is also stated that the United States produces about 106.2 kg of plastic waste per person per year. (source: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)).
  • According to US Plastic Waste Reduction and Recycling Act, the government aims to reduce plastic waste, encourage research into and technologies for recycling infrastructure, and ensure US leadership in national and international standards development. With the act conducting further research into microplastics, there is a possibility that US-based packaging companies may see stricter regulations concerning plastic manufacturing in the future.
  • Furthermore, bio-based materials have several potential benefits for greenhouse gas balances and other environmental impacts over the whole life cycles and in the use of renewable rather than finite resources. It is intended that the use of biodegradable materials will contribute to sustainability and reduction in the environmental impact associated with the disposal of oil-based polymers.

Scope of the Report

Biodegradable refers to the ability of materials to break down and return to nature. In order for packaging products or materials to qualify as biodegradable, they must completely break down and decompose into natural elements within a short time after disposal, typically in a year or less. The market studied by material type is segmented as plastic and paper. The plastics segment is further segmented as starch-based, cellulose-based, PLA, PHA, PHB, and other biodegradable plastics. The applications covered under the market study include applications in the food, beverage, pharmaceutical, home care, and personal care industries. Secondary packaging applications for electronic products have also been considered as a part of the study under the other applications segment.

Material Type
Plastic
Starch-Based Plastics
Cellulose-Based Plastics
Polylactic Acid (PLA)
Poly-3-Hydroxybutyrate (PHB)
Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)
Other Plastics
Paper
Kraft Paper
Flexible Paper
Corrugated Fiberboard
Boxboard
Application
Food Packaging
Beverage Packaging
Pharmaceutical Packaging
Personal/Homecare Packaging
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
France
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Rest of Asia Pacific
Rest of the World
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Beverage Packaging is Expected to be One of the Most Significant Applications

  • The market for biodegradable packaging in the beverage sector is anticipated to witness growth with the never-ending demand for bottled water and non-alcoholic beverages. The demand for bottled water is credited to consumers' propensity for specifically demanding high-quality drinking water, the fear of diseases as an aftermath of drinking polluted tap water, and the ease of portability and convenience provided by bottled water.​
  • Further, in several developed and developing economies, people favor bottled water, and also there has been a recent health trend to consume water instead of soft drinks. For instance, the International Bottled Water Association (IBWA) stated that Americans favor bottled water over other packaged beverages, after consuming 13.8 billion gallons of it in 2018. According to a new national survey conducted online by The Harris Poll on behalf of the International Bottled Water Association (IBWA), more than 9 in 10 Americans expect bottled water to be available wherever other drinks are sold.​
  • According to the Environmental Audit Committee, an estimated 700,000 bottles are being littered every day in the United Kingdom alone. Such statistics indicate the severe need for biodegradable packaging solutions for beverages.
  • Companies in the beverages market, such as PepsiCo, have been using recyclable PET bottles for their beverages. PepsiCo's recyclable PET bottles account for 30% of packaging volume in North America and 7% globally. However, high recycling and manufacturing costs are likely to restrain the practice of using recyclable PET for beverage packaging across developing economies, such as India. For instance, In July 2020, PepsiCo joined the consortium of global consumer goods companies, including Unilever, to further develop and scale the world’s first recyclable paper bottle, initially developed by Diageo and Pilot Lite.
Biodegradable Packaging Market Share

United States is Expected to Hold Major Market Share Globally

  • In the United States, the rising awareness among the consumers and favorable regulations from the government is anticipated to drive the demand for biodegradable packaging during the forecast period. According to the United States Environmental Protection Agency, United States generates almost 80 million metric tons of packaging waste each year. About half of the packaging waste in the US comes from food and beverage products. The agency mentioned that the food corporations like Nestle and Unilever generate the majority of plastic waste.
  • Recognizing this issue and under pressure from consumers, several of these corporations have recently pledged to reduce the environmental impact of their packaging. Many smaller companies in the food and beverage industry are doing the same, and some of them have been at the forefront of packaging innovative solutions for the years. The Food Tank highlights 16 food and beverage companies towards exhibiting the industry’s various approaches to sustainable packaging.
  • For instance, No Evil Foods’ vegetarian meat alternatives have produced compostable packaging made by Kraftpak and printed with plant-based ink. Kraftpak is a biodegradable, unbleached carton board sealing with water-soluble adhesives. The packaging unfolds like origami to mimic the unfolding of butcher paper. Previously, No Evil Foods used butcher paper with non-biodegradable sticker, making it challenging towards composting the butcher paper. Kraftpak is also certified for recycling.
Biodegradable Map.png

Competitive Landscape

The biodegradable packaging market is highly fragmented. The market studied comprises Amcor Limited, Sealed Air Corporation, Mondi Group PLC, and Tetra Pak International SA. Several regional firms in countries, such as India, are also trying to gain market share. Barriers to entry are low, resulting in the advent of smaller players, further increasing competitive rivalry.

  • June 2021 - Tetra Pak tied up with FINISH Society, a well-known solid waste management NGO, to increase collection of used carton packages in Udaipur, Rajasthan, India. As part of the collaborative effort, FINISH Society will be working with the Municipal Corporation of Udaipur to recover used packs of juice/ milk from the corporation’s sorting centers, which will then be channelized to the nearest recycler. Tetra Pak and FINISH Society will also focus on raising awareness among the waste-picker community about their value from collecting used beverage cartons and selling them to a recycler.

Recent Developments

  • February 2021 - Mondi Group expanded its release liner range with launch of two new paper-based sustainable EverLiner products - EverLiner Labelite and EverLiner M R, which are created using recycled and lightweight materials. They provide more sustainable solutions in a range of applications.
  • September 2020 - Amcor PLC developed the first recyclable flexible retort pouch. The technical breakthrough will allow the recycling of high-performance packaging for consumer products such as ready-meals, pre-cooked soups, baby foods, and wet pet food, further improving the environmental footprint of packaging up to 60%.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Demand For Sustainable Products By Consumers And Brands

      2. 4.2.2 Stringent Government Regulations

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Growing investments for Recyclable Packaging Solutions

      2. 4.3.2 Lack of Supply of Bio-plastics and Related Materials

    4. 4.4 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    6. 4.6 Technology Snapshot

    7. 4.7 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Industry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Material Type

      1. 5.1.1 Plastic

        1. 5.1.1.1 Starch-Based Plastics

        2. 5.1.1.2 Cellulose-Based Plastics

        3. 5.1.1.3 Polylactic Acid (PLA)

        4. 5.1.1.4 Poly-3-Hydroxybutyrate (PHB)

        5. 5.1.1.5 Polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA)

        6. 5.1.1.6 Other Plastics

      2. 5.1.2 Paper

        1. 5.1.2.1 Kraft Paper

        2. 5.1.2.2 Flexible Paper

        3. 5.1.2.3 Corrugated Fiberboard

        4. 5.1.2.4 Boxboard

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Food Packaging

      2. 5.2.2 Beverage Packaging

      3. 5.2.3 Pharmaceutical Packaging

      4. 5.2.4 Personal/Homecare Packaging

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.3.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.3.2.3 France

        4. 5.3.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 India

        3. 5.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of the World

        1. 5.3.4.1 Latin America

        2. 5.3.4.2 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.1.1 Tetra Pak International SA

      2. 6.1.2 Amcor PLC

      3. 6.1.3 Mondi Group

      4. 6.1.4 Imex Packaging

      5. 6.1.5 Elevate Packaging Inc.

      6. 6.1.6 Kruger Inc.

      7. 6.1.7 Biopak PTY LTD (Duni Group)

      8. 6.1.8 Smurfit Kappa Group PLC

      9. 6.1.9 Berkley International Packaging Limited ​

      10. 6.1.10 Greenpack Limited

      11. 6.1.11 International Paper Company

      12. 6.1.12 Ranpak Holding Corporation

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Biodegradable Packaging Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Biodegradable Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.35% over the next 5 years.

The Biodegradable Packaging Market is valued at 89 Billion USD in 2018.

The Biodegradable Packaging Market is valued at 118 Billion USD in 2026.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Europe holds highest share in 2020.

Mondi Group , Elevate Packaging inc. , Mondi group , AMCOR PLC , TETRA PAK INTERNATIONAL SA are the major companies operating in Biodegradable Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!