全球基于订阅的游戏市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

全球基于订阅的游戏市场按类型(控制台游戏、基于 PC 的游戏和移动游戏)和地理划分。

市场快照

Global Subscription-Based Gaming  Market Overview
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: Asia-Pacific
CAGR: 10.68 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

预计 2021 年全球基于订阅的游戏市场价值为 78.2 亿美元,预计到 2027 年将达到 147.1 亿美元,在 2022-2027 年的预测期内复合年增长率为 10.68%。

  • 游戏行业的持续技术进步正在推动该行业的发展。订阅服务对访问游戏库收取固定费用,对市场做出了重大贡献。
  • 预计 5G 的发布和无限数据计划的出现也将成为帮助全球基于订阅的云游戏成功的关键因素,因为当今大多数游戏玩家更喜欢在他们的移动设备上玩游戏。此外,不断增加的服务和对 5G 基础设施的投资对于这一成功至关重要。据爱立信称,预计到 2025 年,亚太地区的 5G 移动用户数量将达到 15.45 亿左右。
  • 5G 演进还鼓励市场提供商构思基于订阅的云游戏解决方案。例如,2021 年 11 月,微软为 Xbox Series X/S 推出了 Xbox Cloud Gaming 测试版,该服务将在平板电脑、PC 和智能手机上推出。此外,该公司计划宣布 Xbox Cloud Gaming 整合电视和流媒体棒(如 Roku)的计划。
  • 在市场上运营的服务提供商数量不断增加,因此创造了一个竞争空间,供应商被迫以可能无法长期持续的亏损为消费者提供利益。此外,一旦服务提供商通过提高所提供服务的价格将商业计划转向盈利,消费者可能会转向以具有竞争力的价格提供类似服务的新参与者。这种情况正在挑战服务提供商的增长。
  • 随着 COVID-19 的爆发,市场正在见证积极的增长和在线多人游戏的日益普及,因为由于政府实施封锁,人们呆在家里的时间最长。根据印度广播观众研究委员会 (BARC) 的报告,在大流行期间,印度游戏用户每周平均花费的时间增加了 44%。在 COVID-19 大流行期间,时间从大流行前的 2 小时 31 分钟增加到每周 3 小时 38 分钟。

报告范围

该研究跟踪了对基于订阅的游戏市场的需求,该市场正在成为控制台和基于云的游戏供应商的可行收入来源。考虑到其运营模式,基于云的游戏收入也被纳入市场规模调整活动。全球基于订阅的游戏市场按类型(控制台游戏、基于 PC 的游戏和移动游戏)和地理划分。

By Gaming Type (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)
Console Gaming
PC-based Gaming
Mobile Gaming
By Geography (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

移动游戏推动市场增长

  • 手机游戏最近已超越主机游戏和 PC 游戏,成为全球最受欢迎的游戏形式。移动游戏增长的几个因素之一是它的可用性。几乎每个人都有一部安装了游戏的智能手机。此外,AR、VR、云游戏和5G等各种技术进步和改进对手机游戏的需求不断增长。考虑到手游行业主要依赖新技术,这种趋势并不意外。市场的其他趋势包括超休闲游戏类型的兴起。
  • 由于其身临其境的互动技术,AR 正成为移动游戏的完美选择。此外,手机游戏是应用商店中最著名的 AR 类别。除了之前发布的 AR 手机游戏(如 Pokémon Go 和 Ingress)仍然很有名,全球市场上的供应商正在为该类型添加许多新的游戏,如 Minecraft Earth 和 Harry Potter: Wizards Unite。
  • 在 2020 年和 2021 年期间,移动游戏开发领域发生了许多变化。因此,游戏品牌在广告投入上投入更多,以吸引更多用户并占据足够的市场份额。但是,降低开发过程成本的一种有效方法是进行早期 CTR(点击率)测试。如果一个人在手机游戏行业的超休闲游戏领域尤其如此。
  • 此外,由于手机游戏市场的原因,为游戏机和 PC 开发游戏的大公司也会在手机版中发布他们的游戏。2020 年玩得最多的手机游戏是 PUBG Mobile。特许经营向移动游戏的过渡是无缝的,结果也相当不错。尽管该游戏因其中国血统而在印度遭到强烈反对,但它重新命名为在印度市场上很容易被接受。
  • 手游创作者最应该做的就是适应新的变化,改进用户获取方式。苹果新的 IDFA(Identifier for Advertisers)策略将继续对移动游戏广告产生重大影响。定向广告变得更加艰难,这对用户获取和货币化产生了直接影响。2022 年,营销创意将变得比以往任何时候都更加重要。这就是移动游戏发行商应该投资的东西,并弄清楚如何让他们的广告脱颖而出。
Global subscription-based gaming

亚太地区市场增长最快

  • 亚太地区由中国、日本、印度、韩国等组成,拥有强大的消费基础,从而为市场做出贡献。中国是亚洲最重要的经济体之一,技术使用量不断增加。重要的游戏驱动因素包括不断增长的出口以及新游戏和游戏机的持续创新。中国是亚太地区与新冠病毒相关的游戏业务大幅增长的国家之一。游戏业务发生了根本性的变化,公司开始使用基于云的游戏和离线游戏提供一致的乐趣。数以亿计的人,尤其是在中国这样的新兴国家,往往会被移动娱乐所吸引。
  • 此外,监管在中国移动游戏业务发展到目前状态之前发挥了至关重要的作用。中国国务院发布的一项法案限制了在中国发布的视频游戏内容,并对全国的网吧和游戏厅进行了限制。但是,该法案还禁止在中国大陆制造、进口和销售大多数视频游戏和街机设备。此外,2021 年 8 月,中国政府对未成年人玩电子游戏的最长时间实施了规定。根据这些新规定,允许儿童和青少年在周末和节假日每天玩 1 小时的游戏,并在上学日完全禁止在线游戏。
  • 该国还见证了市场上的并购。例如,2021 年 7 月,腾讯收购了英国视频游戏开发商 Sumo Group 的多数股权。通过此次收购,公司打算开发 Sumo 集团的专业知识并增加资源,以加速公司在英国地区和全球的发展。
  • 此外,2021年12月,腾讯收购了Left 4 Dead和Back 4 Blood游戏的开发商Turtle Rock Studios及其母公司Slamfire Inc。此次收购扩大了腾讯游戏的全球影响力和对游戏开发的深入了解。进入 Turtle Rock Studios 开发新游戏。
Subscription-based gaming market

竞争格局

全球基于订阅的游戏市场竞争相当激烈,少数主要供应商占据主要市场份额,各种公司正在区域范围内竞争以获得市场份额。预计市场上的供应商将激烈竞争以获得大型项目,但在本地领域,预计较小的供应商将在市场上占据主导地位。提供捆绑订阅的主要供应商预计将获得更高的采用份额他们的服务和降低风险的能力。

  • 2022 年 3 月 - Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation) 使 Xbox Game Pass 游戏能够在 Valve 的便携式游戏平台上流式传输。Microsoft 已与 Valve 合作,在 Steam 平台上通过 Cloud Gaming 提供这些游戏。
  • 2022 年 3 月 - PlayStation Now(索尼公司)宣布《暗影战士 3》、《孤岛危机重制版》、《Relicta》和《小鸡警察》——把它涂成红色!都将在 PlayNow 上供订阅者使用。

竞争格局

全球基于订阅的游戏市场竞争相当激烈,少数主要供应商占据主要市场份额,各种公司正在区域范围内竞争以获得市场份额。预计市场上的供应商将激烈竞争以获得大型项目,但在本地领域,预计较小的供应商将在市场上占据主导地位。提供捆绑订阅的主要供应商预计将获得更高的采用份额他们的服务和降低风险的能力。

  • 2022 年 3 月 - Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation) 使 Xbox Game Pass 游戏能够在 Valve 的便携式游戏平台上流式传输。Microsoft 已与 Valve 合作,在 Steam 平台上通过 Cloud Gaming 提供这些游戏。
  • 2022 年 3 月 - PlayStation Now(索尼公司)宣布《暗影战士 3》、《孤岛危机重制版》、《Relicta》和《小鸡警察》——把它涂成红色!都将在 PlayNow 上供订阅者使用。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Ecosystem Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers (Recent move toward bundling of services and device-agnostic capabilities|| Subscription-based model provides higher flexibility to users)

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges (High dependence on local landscape for ensuring availability of services| Relatively lower awareness and lack of penetration in the mobile segment)

    3. 5.3 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

    4. 5.4 Recent collaborations and partnerships in the Subscription-based Gaming model

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Gaming Type (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)

      1. 6.1.1 Console Gaming

      2. 6.1.2 PC-based Gaming

      3. 6.1.3 Mobile Gaming

    2. 6.2 By Geography (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)

      1. 6.2.1 North America

      2. 6.2.2 Europe

      3. 6.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.2.4 Rest of the World

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation)

      2. 7.1.2 PlayStation Now (Sony Corporation)

      3. 7.1.3 Apple Arcade (Apple Inc.)

      4. 7.1.4 Nintendo Switch Online (Nintendo Co. Ltd)

      5. 7.1.5 EA Play (Electronic Arts Inc.)

      6. 7.1.6 Google Play Pass (Google LLC)

      7. 7.1.7 Humble Bundle Inc.

      8. 7.1.8 GeForce Now (NVIDIA)

      9. 7.1.9 Uplay Pass (Ubisoft)

      10. 7.1.10 Amazon Luna (Amazon Inc.)

      11. 7.1.11 Tencent​ Holdings Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Epic games Inc.

      13. 7.1.13 Prime Gaming (Amazon Inc.)

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS AND MARKET OUTLOOK

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market is growing at a CAGR of 10.68% over the next 5 years.

Asia-Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia-Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation), PlayStation Now (Sony Corporation), Apple Arcade (Apple Inc.), Nintendo Switch Online (Nintendo Co. Ltd), EA Play (Electronic Arts Inc.) are the major companies operating in Global Subscription-based Gaming Market .

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Global Subscription-based Gaming Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market is segmented by Type (Console Gaming, PC-based Gaming and Mobile Gaming) and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Subscription Based Gaming Market Size
Study Period: 2020-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia-Pacific
Largest Market: Asia-Pacific
CAGR: 10.68 %
Subscription Based Gaming Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global subscription-based gaming market was estimated to be valued at USD 7.82 billion in 2021, and it is expected to reach USD 14.71 billion by 2027, registering a CAGR of 10.68% over the forecast period 2022 - 2027.

  • Continuous technological advancements in the gaming industry are propelling the industry's growth. Subscription services, which charge a regular fee for access to a game library, are significantly contributing to the market.
  • The release of 5G and the emergence of unlimited data plans are also expected to be key factors aiding the success of subscription-based cloud gaming across the world, as most gamers today prefer playing games on their mobile devices. In addition, the increasing services and investments into 5G infrastructure are vital toward this success. According to Ericsson, the number of 5G mobile subscriptions in the Asia-Pacific region is anticipated to reach around 1,545 million by 2025.
  • 5G evolution has also encouraged market providers to ideate subscription-based cloud gaming solutions. For instance, in November 2021, Microsoft launched the beta version of Xbox Cloud Gaming for Xbox Series X/S, and the services are set to be rolled out for tablets, PCs, and Smartphones. Further, the company plans to announce its plans for Xbox Cloud Gaming's integration of TV and streaming sticks such as Roku.
  • The Increasing number of service providers operating in markets is increasing at a rapid rate, thus creating a competitive space where vendors are forced to offer benefits to consumers at a loss that may not be sustainable over a long period. Also, once the service provider switches the business plan to turn toward profitability by increasing the prices of the services offered, the consumers may switch to newer players who are offering similar services at competitive prices. Such scenarios are challenging the growth of the service providers.
  • With the outbreak of COVID-19, the market is witnessing positive growth and the increasing popularity of online multiplayer games, as people stay at home for a maximum time due to lockdowns being imposed by the government. According to the Broadcast Audience Research Council India (BARC) report, the average time spent by gaming users per week in India increased by 44% during the pandemic. The time increased to 3 Hours 38 minutes per week during the COVID-19 pandemic from 2 hours 31 minutes pre-pandemic.

Scope of the Report

The study tracks the demand for the subscription-based gaming market, which is emerging as a viable source of revenue for console & cloud-based gaming vendors. Cloud-based gaming revenues are also factored into the market sizing exercise considering their mode of operation.​The Global subscription-based gaming Market is segmented by Type (Console Gaming, PC-based Gaming, and Mobile Gaming ) and Geography.

By Gaming Type (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)
Console Gaming
PC-based Gaming
Mobile Gaming
By Geography (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Mobile gaming to Drive the Market Growth

  • Mobile gaming has recently surpassed console and PC gaming as the most popular form of gaming worldwide. One of several factors for the growth of mobile gaming is its availability; almost everyone has a smartphone with games installed on it. Moreover, the increasing demand for mobile games results from various technological advancements and improvements such as AR, VR, cloud gaming, and 5G. This trend is not unexpected, considering the mobile game industry mainly relies on new technology. Other trends in the market include the rise of the hyper-casual game genre.
  • AR is becoming perfect for mobile gaming owing to its immersive and interactive technology. Moreover, mobile games are the most famous AR category in app stores. Apart from previously released AR mobile games, which are still famous, such as Pokémon Go and Ingress, many new additions to the genre are being made by vendors in the global market, such as Minecraft Earth and Harry Potter: Wizards Unite.
  • Over the course of 2020 and 2021, many changes occurred in the mobile game development sector. Consequently, game brands have spent more on advertising investment to attract more users and corner sufficient market share. However, one effective way to reduce the cost of the development process is to conduct an early CTR (click-through rate) test. This is especially true if one is in the hyper-casual game sector of the mobile game industry.
  • Moreover, large companies that develop games for consoles and PCs also publish their games in the Mobile version due to the mobile games market. The most played mobile game of the year 2020 was PUBG Mobile. The franchise's transition into mobile gaming was seamless, and the results were also quite good. Although the game faced backlash in India because of its Chinese roots, it rebranded itself to be readily accepted in the Indian market.
  • The most crucial thing that mobile game creators should do is adapt to the new changes and improve their user acquisition approaches. Apple's new IDFA (Identifier for Advertisers) strategy will continue to have a significant influence on mobile game advertising. Targeted advertising has become much tougher, which has a direct impact on user acquisition and monetization. In 2022, marketing creatives will become more important than ever before. This is what mobile game publishers should invest in and figure out how to make their ads stand out.
Subscription Based Gaming Market Share

Asia Pacific to Account for Highest Market Growth

  • The Asia Pacific region consists of China, Japan, India, South Korea, and so on, which have strong consumer bases, thereby contributing to the market. China is one of Asia's most important economies, with increasing technological usage. Significant gaming drivers include rising exports and ongoing innovation in new games and consoles. China is one of the countries in the Asia Pacific region that has seen a major Covid-related surge in its gaming businesses. The gaming business had a fundamental change, and companies started providing a consistent level of pleasure using cloud-based and offline games. Hundreds of millions of people, particularly in rising nations like China, will tend to be attracted to on-the-go entertainment.
  • Moreover, regulation played a crucial part in developing China's mobile gaming business before it reached its current state. A bill issued by the Chinese State Council restricted video game content published in China and set limitations on internet cafés and arcades across the country. However, this bill also prohibits the manufacture, import, and sale of most video games and arcade devices in mainland China. Also, in August 2021, the Chinese government-imposed regulations on the maximum time minors can play video games. Under these new regulations, Children and Teenagers are permitted 1 hour of gaming per day on weekends and holidays and are completely banned from online gaming on school days.
  • The country also witnessed mergers and acquisitions in the market. For instance, in July 2021, Tencent acquired a majority stake in British video game developer Sumo Group. With this acquisition, the company intends to develop expertise and increase resources in the Sumo Group to accelerate the growth of the company in the region of the United Kingdom and across the world.
  • Further, in December 2021, Tencent acquired Turtle Rock Studios, the developer of Left 4 Dead and Back 4 Blood games, and its parent company Slamfire Inc. This acquisition expands the global reach and deep knowledge of the game development of Tencent Games to be incorporated into Turtle Rock Studios to develop new games.
Subscription Based Gaming Market Analysis

Competitive Landscape

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market is considerably competitive, with few major vendors occupying a major market share, and various companies are competing on a regional scale to gain market share. Vendors in the market are expected to compete intensely for gaining large-scale projects, but in local space, smaller vendors are expected to hold prominence over the market.​ Major vendors that offer bundled subscriptions are expected to command a higher share of the adoption for their services and the ability to mitigate the risk.

  • March 2022- Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation) enabled Xbox Game Pass titles to be streamed on Valve's portable gaming platform. Microsoft has partnered with Valve to make the titles available via Cloud Gaming on the Steam Deck.
  • March 2022- PlayStation Now (Sony Corporation) announced Shadow Warrior 3, Crysis Remastered, Relicta, and Chicken Police – Paint It Red! will all be available on PlayNow for subscribers.

Recent Development

  • March 2022- The Nintendo Switch Online (Nintendo Co. Ltd) announced new additions that include three Sega Genesis games. Light Crusader, Super Fantasy Zone, and Alien Soldier are among the most recent additions.
  • March 2022 - Google Play Pass (Google LLC) is rolling out to Android devices in India and will offer a high-quality and curated collection of 1000+ titles across 41 categories from developers across 59 countries, including India.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Ecosystem Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers (Recent move toward bundling of services and device-agnostic capabilities|| Subscription-based model provides higher flexibility to users)

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges (High dependence on local landscape for ensuring availability of services| Relatively lower awareness and lack of penetration in the mobile segment)

    3. 5.3 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

    4. 5.4 Recent collaborations and partnerships in the Subscription-based Gaming model

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Gaming Type (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)

      1. 6.1.1 Console Gaming

      2. 6.1.2 PC-based Gaming

      3. 6.1.3 Mobile Gaming

    2. 6.2 By Geography (Trends, Revenue for the period of 2020-2027 & Market Outlook)

      1. 6.2.1 North America

      2. 6.2.2 Europe

      3. 6.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 6.2.4 Rest of the World

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation)

      2. 7.1.2 PlayStation Now (Sony Corporation)

      3. 7.1.3 Apple Arcade (Apple Inc.)

      4. 7.1.4 Nintendo Switch Online (Nintendo Co. Ltd)

      5. 7.1.5 EA Play (Electronic Arts Inc.)

      6. 7.1.6 Google Play Pass (Google LLC)

      7. 7.1.7 Humble Bundle Inc.

      8. 7.1.8 GeForce Now (NVIDIA)

      9. 7.1.9 Uplay Pass (Ubisoft)

      10. 7.1.10 Amazon Luna (Amazon Inc.)

      11. 7.1.11 Tencent​ Holdings Ltd

      12. 7.1.12 Epic games Inc.

      13. 7.1.13 Prime Gaming (Amazon Inc.)

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS AND MARKET OUTLOOK

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market market is studied from 2020 - 2027.

The Global Subscription-based Gaming Market is growing at a CAGR of 10.68% over the next 5 years.

Asia-Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia-Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Xbox (Game Pass) (Microsoft Corporation), PlayStation Now (Sony Corporation), Apple Arcade (Apple Inc.), Nintendo Switch Online (Nintendo Co. Ltd), EA Play (Electronic Arts Inc.) are the major companies operating in Global Subscription-based Gaming Market .

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!