欧洲汽车租赁市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

欧洲汽车租赁市场按应用类型(休闲/旅游和商务)、预订类型(在线和离线)、租赁长度类型(短期和长期)和地理(德国、英国、法国、意大利)细分、西班牙和欧洲其他地区)。此外,该报告还提供了上述所有细分市场的欧洲汽车租赁市场价值(十亿美元)的市场规模和预测。

市场快照

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Bar Graph
Study Period: 2018-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Europe
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: >11 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020 年欧洲汽车租赁市场价值超过 120 亿美元,预计到 2026 年价值将超过 200 亿美元,在预测期内的复合年增长率超过 11%。

最近的 COVID-19 扰乱了市场增长。由于封锁和旅行限制,对汽车租赁的需求有所下降。因此,汽车租赁收入从 2019 年的 168.94 亿美元下降到 2020 年的 80.72 亿美元。这一趋势也出现在商用车租赁领域。

然而,在意大利、法国、英国、西班牙等国家爆发严重的 COVID-19 大流行之后,欧洲汽车租赁市场正在呈现出不错的复苏。

推动乘用车租赁市场增长的一些主要因素是旅游业的增长(导致每月访问该地区的游客人数增加)和该地区不断增长的商机。

在预测期内,欧洲地区商业活动的增加和物流部门的增长预计将有助于欧洲商用车市场的增长。

在预测期内,短期租赁可能会继续增长,因为它通过在短时间内为工作提供合适的卡车来帮助欧洲企业满足季节性需求的高峰和低谷,而不会受到任何处罚或承诺。由于互联网和智能手机普及率的提高,该地区的在线销售渠道也有所增加。

报告范围

车辆租赁公司主要为需要临时车辆的人提供服务,例如,没有自己的汽车的人、出城的旅行者,或正在等待维修或保险赔偿的损坏或毁坏车辆的所有者。此外,随着物流业的发展和新兴电子商务公司的兴起,租赁是减少购买送货车辆初始投资的最佳解决方案。

欧洲汽车租赁市场已按应用类型、预订类型、租赁长度类型和地理位置进行了细分。按应用类型,市场已细分为休闲/旅游和商务。按预订类型,市场分为线上和线下。按长度类型,市场分为短期和长期。按地域划分,市场已细分为德国、英国、法国、意大利、西班牙和欧洲其他地区。

该报告还涵盖了上述地区欧洲汽车租赁市场的市场规模和预测。对于每个细分市场,市场规模都是根据价值(十亿美元)进行的。

By Application Type
Leisure/Tourism
Business
By Booking Type
Offline
Online
By Rental Length Type
Short-term
Long-term
By Geography
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

现有参与者的扩张战略正在推动市场增长

由于商业和教育旅游的增加,尤其是在中欧和东欧地区,预计欧洲汽车租赁市场将呈现健康的增长速度。此外,东欧和南欧国家在交通和商业基础设施发展方面投入了大量资金,这吸引了来自世界各地的高管、投资者和专业人士。这一因素正在推动该地区的汽车租赁需求。

许多市场参与者正在见证与知名航空公司的合作,直接在机场提供汽车租赁服务。例如,2020 年 1 月,瑞安航空与 Rentalcars.com 合作,整合了整个航空公司的汽车租赁平台,以提供更多的汽车租赁预订。

2020 年 1 月,WeShare 宣布了在欧洲 7 个新城市的扩张计划。WeShare 计划在布拉格、汉堡、马德里、巴黎、慕尼黑和布达佩斯提供 8,400 辆电动汽车。WeShare 正在布拉格和布达佩斯与斯柯达服务合作,而大众汽车预计将在德国、西班牙、意大利和法国提供 e-Golf1 和其他车辆。

2019 年 12 月,Europcar Mobility Group 子公司 Ubeeqo 的用户数较月平均增长 70%,预订量较 2019 年 11 月增长 60%。Ubeeqo 的往返模式帮助该品牌的活跃客户群增加了 53 %。伦敦、巴黎和巴塞罗那对 Ubeeqo 的增长贡献最大。2020 年 6 月,Ubeeqo 通过提供其汽车俱乐部车队,重新开始了在伦敦的汽车租赁业务。

一项调查显示,近 30% 的欧洲人可能会避免乘坐公共交通工具出行。由于封锁为公路旅行、住宿等带来了新的热情,预计汽车租赁市场将见证有组织和本地无组织租赁网络的健康增长。

COVID-19 大流行的爆发导致本已陷入困境的汽车和汽车租赁行业出现负增长。此外,疫情导致封锁和停工,从而停止了汽车租赁业务的需求。然而,由于汽车租赁公司恢复购买汽车,预计汽车租赁市场在预测期内将出现可观的增长。

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Key Trends

法国是欧洲领先的汽车租赁市场

法国是该地区最大的汽车租赁市场,对汽车、休闲和旅游目的的需求不断增加。该市场多年来不断发展,成为该地区最发达的市场之一。根据与 CNPA(法国汽车及相关活动行业协会的汽车租赁分会)的新闻发布会,该地区的汽车租赁交易数量一直在增加。在地理上 COVID-19 大流行爆发的高峰期,法国汽车租赁市场受到了严重影响。在经济放缓期间,许多主要的汽车租赁企业都在努力创收。大众汽车正在与总部位于巴黎的 Europcar Mobility Group 就收购汽车租赁业务进行谈判。

在 COVID-19 之前,仅乘用车租赁市场就在该国创造了 16.99 亿美元的收入。主要是通过旅游。随着该国旅游增长率每年超过 5%,预计将在预测期内推动法国租赁市场的增长。

然而,由于有利的商业和交通生态系统,法国也是少数几个汽车租赁市场蓬勃发展的国家之一。因此,Ubeeqo 决定在 2020 年将其巴黎车队增加到 1000 辆。

Hertz 和 Europcar 等公司已经启动了多项计划来促进该国的市场。例如,2019年9月,赫兹为游客推出了“Voyage a la Francaise”自驾区域感官之旅。

随着物流部门的封锁和其他旅行限制的减少和增加,预计法国的汽车租赁市场在预测期内将以高速增长。

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Growth Rate By Region

竞争格局

欧洲汽车租赁市场得到整合,由主要参与者主导,如 Avis Budget Group Inc.、Enterprise Holdings Inc.、Europcar、The Hertz Corporation 和 SIXT SE。

2013年,欧洲汽车租赁市场的龙头企业Europcar迈出了一大步,推出了一个新品牌——InterRent,并与美国汽车租赁商Advantage建立了合作关系。该公司还战略收购了专门从事汽车共享的法国初创公司 Ubeeqo 的多数股权。

该地区的汽车租赁市场经历了大量的并购,使前五名的参与者成为汽车租赁市场的重要贡献者。大多数大型美国租赁公司在整个欧洲市场都有业务。这些公司是该地区需求最大的公司之一,因为它们遍布欧洲,并且几乎在所有地区都有现成的车辆。

竞争格局

欧洲汽车租赁市场得到整合,由主要参与者主导,如 Avis Budget Group Inc.、Enterprise Holdings Inc.、Europcar、The Hertz Corporation 和 SIXT SE。

2013年,欧洲汽车租赁市场的龙头企业Europcar迈出了一大步,推出了一个新品牌——InterRent,并与美国汽车租赁商Advantage建立了合作关系。该公司还战略收购了专门从事汽车共享的法国初创公司 Ubeeqo 的多数股权。

该地区的汽车租赁市场经历了大量的并购,使前五名的参与者成为汽车租赁市场的重要贡献者。大多数大型美国租赁公司在整个欧洲市场都有业务。这些公司是该地区需求最大的公司之一,因为它们遍布欧洲,并且几乎在所有地区都有现成的车辆。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application Type

      1. 5.1.1 Leisure/Tourism

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Booking Type

      1. 5.2.1 Offline

      2. 5.2.2 Online

    3. 5.3 By Rental Length Type

      1. 5.3.1 Short-term

      2. 5.3.2 Long-term

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Germany

      2. 5.4.2 United Kingdom

      3. 5.4.3 France

      4. 5.4.4 Italy

      5. 5.4.5 Spain

      6. 5.4.6 Rest of Europe

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 Advantage OPCO LLC

      2. 6.2.2 Avis Budget Group Inc.

      3. 6.2.3 Enterprise Holdings Inc.

      4. 6.2.4 Europcar International

      5. 6.2.5 The Hertz Corporation

      6. 6.2.6 InterRent Car Rental

      7. 6.2.7 Peugeot Open-Europe

      8. 6.2.8 SIXT SE

      9. 6.2.9 Thrifty Car Rental Inc.

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market market is studied from 2018 - 2027.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is growing at a CAGR of >11% over the next 5 years.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is valued at 12 Billion USD in 2018.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is valued at 20 Billion USD in 2027.

Europe is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Europe holds highest share in 2021.

Avis Budget Group Inc., SIXT SE, Enterprise Holdings Inc., Europcar International, The Hertz Corporation are the major companies operating in Europe Vehicle Rental Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Europe Vehicle Rental Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is segmented by Application Type (Leisure/Tourism and Business), Booking Type (Online and Offline), Rental Length Type (Short-term and Long-term), and Geography (Germany, United Kingdom, France, Italy, Spain, and Rest of Europe). Additionally, the report offers market size and forecast for Europe Vehicle Rental Market in value (USD billion) for all the segments mentioned above.

Market Snapshot

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Bar Graph
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Europe
Largest Market: Europe
CAGR: >11 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The European vehicle rental market was valued at over USD 12 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach a value of over USD 20 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of more than 11% during the forecast period.

Recent COVID-19 has disrupted the market growth. With lockdowns and travel restrictions, the demand for vehicle rentals has declined. As a result, from USD 16,894 million car rental revenue in 2019, the revenue declined to USD 8,072 million in 2020. This trend is seen in the commercial vehicle rental segment as well.

However, the European vehicle rental market is displaying a decent recovery post severe COVID-19 pandemic outbreaks in countries, such as Italy, France, United Kingdom, Spain, etc.

Some of the major factors driving the growth of the passenger car rental market are the growth in the tourism industry (resulting in an increase in the number of tourists visiting the region per month) and growing business opportunities in the region.

The rise in commercial activities in the European region and the increasing logistics sector are expected to help the commercial vehicle market growth in Europe during the forecast period.

Short-term leasing is likely to continue to grow during the forecast period, as it helps European businesses meet the peaks and troughs of seasonal demand by providing suitable trucks for the job at short notice, without any penalties or commitments. This region has also seen an increase in online sales channels owing to increasing internet and smartphone penetration.

Scope of the Report

Vehicle rental agencies primarily serve people who require a temporary vehicle, for example, those who do not own their car, travelers who are out of town, or owners of damaged or destroyed vehicles who are awaiting repair or insurance compensation. In addition, with the increasing logistics sector and emerging new e-commerce companies, rentals serve as the best solution to reduce their initial investment into buying delivery vehicles.

The European vehicle rental market has been segmented by application type, booking type, rental length type, and geography. By application type, the market has been segmented into leisure/tourism and Business. By booking type, the market has been segmented into online and offline. By length type, the market has been segmented into short-term and long-term. By geography, the market has been segmented into Germany, the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Spain, and the Rest of Europe.

The report also covers the market size and forecast for the European vehicle rental market across the regions mentioned. For each segment, the market sizing has been done in terms of value (USD billion).

By Application Type
Leisure/Tourism
Business
By Booking Type
Offline
Online
By Rental Length Type
Short-term
Long-term
By Geography
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Expansion Strategy by Existing Players is Driving the Market Growth

The European vehicle rental market is expected to exhibit a healthy growth rate due to increased business and educational tourism, especially in the central and eastern European regions. Additionally, the Eastern and Southern European countries are significantly spending on transport and business infrastructure development, which is attracting executives, investors, and professionals from across the world. This factor is driving the demand for car rental in the region.

Many market players are witnessing tie-ups with prominent airlines to provide vehicle rental services directly at the airport. For example, in January 2020, Ryanair partnered with Rentalcars.com and integrated the car rental platform across the airline to provide an increased number of car rental bookings.

In January 2020, WeShare announced its expansion plans in the 7 new cities across Europe. WeShare plans to provide a fleet of 8,400 electric vehicles across Prague, Hamburg, Madrid, Paris, Munich, and Budapest. WeShare is partnering with Skoda services in Prague and Budapest, while Volkswagen is expected to provide e-Golf1 and other vehicles in Germany, Spain, Italy, and France.

In December 2019, the Europcar Mobility Group subsidiary Ubeeqo recorded a 70% growth in users compared to the monthly average and a 60% increase in reservations compared to November 2019. The round trip model of Ubeeqo has helped boost the brand's active customer base by 53%. London, Paris, and Barcelona contributed the most to the growth of Ubeeqo. In June 2020, Ubeeqo restarted its vehicle renting operations in London by making its fleet of car club vehicles available.

A survey revealed that nearly 30% of Europeans may avoid public transport for travel. Since the lockdown has generated new enthusiasm for road trips, staycations, etc., the car rental market is expected to witness a healthy increase at both organized and locally-based unorganized rental networks.

The outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic resulted in the negative growth of the already struggling automotive and vehicle rental industry. Moreover, the outbreak has resulted in lockdowns and shutdowns, thereby halting the demand in the vehicle rental business. However, the vehicle rental market is expected to witness decent growth during the forecast period owing to the resuming of car purchases by car rental companies.

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Key Trends

France is Leading European Vehicle Rental Market

France is the largest market for vehicle rental in the region, with increased demand for vehicles, for leisure and tourism purposes. The market has evolved over the years to emerge as one of the most developed markets in the region. According to a press conference with CNPA, (the car rental branch of the trade association of cars and related activities, in France), the number of car rental transactions has been increasing in the region. The French vehicle rental market witnessed a severe impact during the peak of the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak in the geography. Many major car rental businesses struggled to generate revenue during the slowdown. Volkswagen is in talks with Paris-based Europcar Mobility Group for the acquisition of the rental car business.

Before COVID-19, the passenger vehicle rental market alone generated USD 1,699 million in revenue in the country. Mainly through tourism. With the tourism rate growing more than 5% per annum in the country, it is expected to drive the rental market growth in France during the forecasted period.

However, France is also one of the few countries where the car rental market is booming owing to a favorable business and transportation ecosystem. As a result, Ubeeqo decided its Paris fleet to 1000 cars in 2020.

Companies such as Hertz and Europcar have launched several programs to boost the market in the country. For instance, in September 2019, Hertz launched “Voyage a la Francaise” self-driving regional sensorial tours for tourists.

With lockdown and other travel restrictions reducing and increase in the logistics sector, the vehicle rental market in France is expected to grow at a high rate during the forecast period.

Europe Vehicle Rental Market Growth Rate By Region

Competitive Landscape

The European vehicle rental market is consolidated, dominated by major players, like Avis Budget Group Inc., Enterprise Holdings Inc., Europcar, The Hertz Corporation, and SIXT SE.

Europcar, a leading player in the European vehicle rental market, made a major move by launching a new brand – InterRent in 2013, and entered into a partnership with the US car rental provider, Advantage. The company also made a strategic acquisition of a majority stake in Ubeeqo, a French startup, specializing in car sharing.

The vehicle rental market in the region has undergone a lot of mergers and acquisitions, making the top-five players a significant contributor in the vehicle rental market. Most of the big-time US rental agencies have their presence in the market throughout Europe. These companies are among the most demanded ones in the region, due to their presence throughout Europe, and readily available vehicles, in nearly all the areas.

Recent Developments

In November 2020, Europcar announced it recently signed a partnership to charge its electric vehicles with European smart charging provider, NewMotion, from January 2021.

In January 2020, Yandex, a Russian car rental company, announced the launch of its services in the European region.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Drivers

    2. 4.2 Market Restraints

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application Type

      1. 5.1.1 Leisure/Tourism

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Booking Type

      1. 5.2.1 Offline

      2. 5.2.2 Online

    3. 5.3 By Rental Length Type

      1. 5.3.1 Short-term

      2. 5.3.2 Long-term

    4. 5.4 By Geography

      1. 5.4.1 Germany

      2. 5.4.2 United Kingdom

      3. 5.4.3 France

      4. 5.4.4 Italy

      5. 5.4.5 Spain

      6. 5.4.6 Rest of Europe

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Vendor Market Share

    2. 6.2 Company Profiles*

      1. 6.2.1 Advantage OPCO LLC

      2. 6.2.2 Avis Budget Group Inc.

      3. 6.2.3 Enterprise Holdings Inc.

      4. 6.2.4 Europcar International

      5. 6.2.5 The Hertz Corporation

      6. 6.2.6 InterRent Car Rental

      7. 6.2.7 Peugeot Open-Europe

      8. 6.2.8 SIXT SE

      9. 6.2.9 Thrifty Car Rental Inc.

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is growing at a CAGR of >11% over the next 5 years.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is valued at 12 Billion USD in 2018.

The Europe Vehicle Rental Market is valued at 20 Billion USD in 2026.

Europe is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Europe holds highest share in 2020.

Avis Budget Group Inc., SIXT SE, Enterprise Holdings Inc., Europcar International, The Hertz Corporation are the major companies operating in Europe Vehicle Rental Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!