Markt für Erythropoetin-Stimulationsmittel – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Erythropoietin-stimulierende Wirkstoffe ist nach Typ (Epoetin Alfa, Epoetin Beta, Darbepoetin Alfa und andere Typen), Anwendung (Krebs, Nierenerkrankungen, antiretrovirale Behandlung, neurale Erkrankungen und andere Anwendungen) und Geografie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

erythropoietin stimulating agents market share
Study Period: 2018-2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 8.6 %
erythropoietin stimulating agents market major players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Erythropoietin-stimulierende Wirkstoffe (ESAs) wurde im Jahr 2020 auf etwa 8.223 Millionen USD geschätzt und wird voraussichtlich einen Umsatz von 13.436 Millionen USD im Jahr 2026 mit einer CAGR von 8,6 % im Prognosezeitraum verzeichnen.

Laut einer im American Journal of Kidney Disease, 2020, veröffentlichten Forschungsstudie sollten bei Patienten mit COVID-19 mit oder ohne akuter Nierenschädigung (AKI) und Anämie ESAs in der Therapie vermieden werden, da dies bei diesen Patienten unwahrscheinlich ist eine wirksame Reaktion auf ESAs aufgrund der Entzündung aufbauen. Daher wird erwartet, dass die Risiken im Zusammenhang mit ESA-Behandlungen den potenziellen Nutzen überwiegen. Daher wird erwartet, dass die COVID-19-Pandemie das untersuchte Marktwachstum während der Pandemie stark beeinträchtigen wird.

Der ESA-Markt wird von einer steigenden Zahl von Patienten mit Anämie, zunehmenden Anwendungen bei HIV-Infektionen und Nierenerkrankungen im Endstadium, Thromboserisiken während Operationen und reiner Erythrozytenaplasie angetrieben.

Anämie war in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine der schwerwiegenden ernährungsbedingten Krankheiten und ist der Hauptgrund für erhöhte Morbidität und Mortalität, insbesondere in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen. Laut einem in PLoS One, 2019, veröffentlichten Forschungsartikel betrifft Anämie schätzungsweise fast 1,62 Milliarden Menschen weltweit, und die Prävalenz von Anämie wurde in Äthiopien mit 41,1 % festgestellt. Darüber hinaus wird Indien laut Lancet Global Health, 2019, schätzungsweise für fast ein Viertel der weltweiten Anämiefälle verantwortlich sein. Eisenmangelanämie tritt häufig bei Kindern und Frauen auf und ist mit sensorischen, motorischen, kognitiven, sprachlichen und sozioemotionalen Defiziten verbunden. Daher sind die frühzeitige Erkennung und Einleitung wirksamer Behandlungsstrategien in den frühen Stadien der Anämie sehr wichtig, insbesondere bei Säuglingen.

Andere Ursachen für Anämie sind Parasiteninfektionen wie Ascaris, Bilharziose und Hakenwürmer, die die Hämoglobin (Hb)-Konzentration im Blut senken können, zusammen mit starkem Blutverlust während der Menstruation bei Frauen.

Darüber hinaus wurde gemäß dem Bericht des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) aus dem Jahr 2019 geschätzt, dass etwa 37 Millionen (15 %) der erwachsenen Bevölkerung in den Vereinigten Staaten an einer chronischen Nierenerkrankung (CKD) litten, die den Schweregrad der Anämie erhöht . Mit zunehmender Zahl der von Anämie betroffenen Menschen steigt daher auch die Nachfrage nach Erythropoetin-stimulierenden Mitteln (die die Produktion von mehr roten Blutkörperchen stimulieren). Daher wird erwartet, dass die oben genannten Faktoren das Marktwachstum im Prognosezeitraum ankurbeln werden. Es wird jedoch erwartet, dass strenge behördliche Richtlinien zur Erlangung von Produktzulassungen und die nachteiligen Nebenwirkungen von ESAs das Marktwachstum behindern.

Umfang des Berichts

Gemäß dem Umfang des Berichts ähneln ESAs Erythropoietin, da sie das Wachstum von roten Blutkörperchen stimulieren. ESAs sind für die Behandlung von Anämie aufgrund von chronischem Nierenversagen, Chemotherapie und HIV sowie für die Behandlung von reduzierten roten Blutkörperchen während kritischer chirurgischer Eingriffe zugelassen. Der Markt für Erythropoietin-Stimulanzien ist nach Typ, Anwendung und Geografie unterteilt. Nach Typen wird der Markt in Epoetin alfa, Epoetin beta, Darbepoetin alfa und andere Typen unterteilt. Nach Anwendung wird der Markt in Krebs, Nierenerkrankungen, antiretrovirale Behandlung, neurale Erkrankungen und andere Anwendungen unterteilt. Geografisch ist der Markt in Nordamerika, Europa, den asiatisch-pazifischen Raum, den Nahen Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika unterteilt. Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

By Type
Epoetin Alfa
Epoetin Beta
Darbepoetin Alfa
Other Types
By Application
Cancer
Renal Disorders
Anti-retroviral Treatment
Neural Diseases
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States (By Type and By Application)
Canada (By Type and By Application)
Mexico (By Type and By Application)
Europe
Germany (By Type and By Application)
United Kingdom (By Type and By Application)
France (By Type and By Application)
Italy (By Type and By Application)
Spain (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Europe (By Type and By Application)
Asia-Pacific
China (By Type and By Application)
Japan (By Type and By Application)
India (By Type and By Application)
Australia (By Type and By Application)
South Korea (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Type and By Application)
Middle East and Africa
GCC (By Type and By Application)
South Africa (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Middle East and Africa (By Type and By Application)
South America
Brazil (By Type and By Application)
Argentina (By Type and By Application)
Rest of South America (By Type and By Application)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Es wird erwartet, dass Krebsanwendung den Markt im Prognosezeitraum dominieren wird

Anämie wird bei der Mehrheit der Patienten beobachtet, die sich einer Krebsbehandlung unterziehen, was das Wachstum dieses Segments im Prognosezeitraum voraussichtlich vorantreiben wird. Die Schwere der Erkrankung bei den Patienten hängt von der Art der verwendeten Chemotherapie, der Art und dem Stadium der Neoplasie und den Patientenmerkmalen ab. Eine schwere Anämie, insbesondere bei Kindern und älteren Menschen, kann zu Müdigkeit, Schwäche und Depressionen führen, die die Lebensqualität von Krebspatienten stark einschränken.

Außerdem beeinträchtigt Anämie die Wirksamkeit von Krebstherapien. Mehrere Forschungsstudien und klinische Studien haben gezeigt, dass die Behandlung von Anämie, die mit verschiedenen Krebsarten einhergeht, mit Erythropoietin das klinische Ergebnis dieser Patienten verbessern kann. Erythropoietin wirkt gegen zwei Hauptursachen der Anämie bei Krebspatienten, die sich einer Chemotherapie unterziehen, nämlich gegen Myelosuppression und endogenen Erythropoietinmangel. Patienten, bei denen eine krebsbedingte Anämie diagnostiziert wurde, wird höchstwahrscheinlich Erythropoietin in Form von Epoetin alfa und Epoetin beta verschrieben. Zu den am häufigsten verschriebenen Produkten gehören Procrit, Epogen und NeoRecormon.

Laut einem im Lancet, 2020, veröffentlichten Forschungsartikel wurde kein direkter Zusammenhang gefunden, der besagt, dass Krebspatienten unter zytotoxischer Chemotherapie oder einer anderen Krebsbehandlung ein höheres Sterberisiko durch COVID-19 haben als diejenigen, die keine aktive Behandlung erhalten . Daher wird erwartet, dass COVID-19 die Sterblichkeitsrate von Krebspatienten unter Chemotherapie nicht beeinflusst, was wiederum das Segmentwachstum während der Pandemie nicht beeinträchtigen darf. Aufgrund der vorübergehenden Verschiebung elektiver Operationen während COVID-19 werden Krebsbehandlungen jedoch teilweise reduziert.

Laut Globocan 2020 wurde die Inzidenz neuer Krebsfälle im Jahr 2020 auf 19.292.789 geschätzt, mit fast 9.958.133 Todesfällen aufgrund von Krebs weltweit. Darüber hinaus wird die neue Krebsinzidenz laut International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) bis 2040 weltweit auf 30,2 Millionen geschätzt. Da die sich schnell teilenden Krebszellen eine große Menge Eisen für ihre DNA-Replikation, ihr Wachstum und ihren Metastasierungsprozess verbrauchen, wird bei Krebspatienten immer eine schwere Anämie diagnostiziert. Mit der Zunahme der Zahl der Krebspatienten und Chemotherapieverfahren wird daher erwartet, dass der Markt für Erythropoietin-Stimulanzien im Prognosezeitraum wachsen wird.

erythropoietin stimulating agents market trends

Es wird erwartet, dass Nordamerika im Prognosezeitraum den größten Marktanteil halten wird

Der Markt für Erythropoetin-stimulierende Wirkstoffe in Nordamerika wird aufgrund des hohen Auftretens verschiedener Erkrankungen, die schließlich Anämie in der Region verursachen, auf den größten Anteil geschätzt.

Laut der American Society of Hematology, 2020, können Patienten, die eine aktive Behandlung für aplastische Anämie erhalten, eine Immunsuppression erfahren, die das Risiko einer Infektion durch COVID-19 und damit verbundener Komplikationen während der Pandemie erhöht. Darüber hinaus kann die Krankenhauseinweisung von Patienten zur Verabreichung von Anti-Thymozytenglobulin (ATG) zur Behandlung der aplastischen Anämie angesichts der mangelnden Verfügbarkeit von Betten und des Risikos einer Exposition gegenüber COVID-19-Patienten problematisch sein. Daher wird erwartet, dass sich die Pandemiesituation auf die Behandlungsverfahren für Anämie auswirkt, was sich wiederum auf das Wachstum dieses regionalen Marktes auswirkt.

ESAs wurden erfolgreich bei der Behandlung verschiedener chronischer Krankheiten wie chronischer Nierenerkrankung (CKD), Krebs, Nerven- und HIV-Infektionen eingesetzt. Erwachsene mit Diabetes oder Bluthochdruck sind anfällig für CNE. Laut dem National Diabetes Statistics Report 2020 der Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) hatten 34,2 Millionen Menschen jeden Alters, was 10,5 % der amerikanischen Bevölkerung entspricht, im Jahr 2018 Diabetes. Daher steigt die Zahl der Menschen an hohes Risiko für CKD, wird der Markt für ESAs in dieser Region voraussichtlich erheblich wachsen.

In der nordamerikanischen Region halten die Vereinigten Staaten den größten Marktanteil. Laut GLOBOCON 2020 wurden in den Vereinigten Staaten im Jahr 2020 2.281.658 neue Krebsfälle diagnostiziert, mit 612.390 Todesfällen. Unter allen Krebsarten hatte Brustkrebs mit 253.465 Fällen die höchste Inzidenzrate, gefolgt von Lunge (227.875), Prostata (209.512) und Dickdarm (101.809) im Jahr 2020 in den Vereinigten Staaten. Die hohe Krebsinzidenz führt zu einer Nachfrage nach ESAs, um anämische Zustände bei Zielpatienten zu minimieren, was wiederum das Marktwachstum in der Region im Prognosezeitraum ankurbeln dürfte.

erythropoietin stimulating agents market growth

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der ESA-Markt ist hart umkämpft und umfasst globale und lokale Unternehmen. Einige der Hauptakteure auf dem Markt sind Amgen, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson, F. Hoffmann La Roche und Pfizer Inc. Zahlreiche pharmazeutische Hersteller ergreifen Initiativen zur Entwicklung und Herstellung von ESAs nach Ablauf von Patenten und entwickeln verschiedene strategische Allianzen wie Akquisitionen und Kooperationen, um das Produktportfolio weltweit zu erweitern.

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der ESA-Markt ist hart umkämpft und umfasst globale und lokale Unternehmen. Einige der Hauptakteure auf dem Markt sind Amgen, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson, F. Hoffmann La Roche und Pfizer Inc. Zahlreiche pharmazeutische Hersteller ergreifen Initiativen zur Entwicklung und Herstellung von ESAs nach Ablauf von Patenten und entwickeln verschiedene strategische Allianzen wie Akquisitionen und Kooperationen, um das Produktportfolio weltweit zu erweitern.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Disease Burden of Anemia

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Applications in HIV Infections and End-stage Renal Disorder

      3. 4.2.3 Risks of Thrombosis, during Surgeries, and Pure Red Cell Aplasia

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent Regulatory Guidelines

      2. 4.3.2 Adverse Side Effects

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Epoetin Alfa

      2. 5.1.2 Epoetin Beta

      3. 5.1.3 Darbepoetin Alfa

      4. 5.1.4 Other Types

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Cancer

      2. 5.2.2 Renal Disorders

      3. 5.2.3 Anti-retroviral Treatment

      4. 5.2.4 Neural Diseases

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico (By Type and By Application)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.2.3 France (By Type and By Application)

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy (By Type and By Application)

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain (By Type and By Application)

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe (By Type and By Application)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.3.3 India (By Type and By Application)

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia (By Type and By Application)

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea (By Type and By Application)

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Type and By Application)

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa (By Type and By Application)

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America (By Type and By Application)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Amgen Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 BioSidus

      3. 6.1.3 Biocon Limited

      4. 6.1.4 Celltrion Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Intas Pharmaceuticals Ltd

      7. 6.1.7 Johnson and Johnson

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Thermo Fisher Scientific

      11. 6.1.11 LG Lifesciences, Ltd

      12. 6.1.12 Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd

      13. 6.1.13 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      14. 6.1.14 Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Ltd

      15. 6.1.15 Celon Laboratories Pvt Ltd

      16. 6.1.16 Lupin Pharma

      17. 6.1.17 Nanogen Pharmaceutical Biotechnology

      18. 6.1.18 Novartis AG(Sandoz)

      19. 6.1.19 Probiomed S.A. de C.V.

      20. 6.1.20 Panacea Biotec Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der globale Markt für Erythropoietin-Stimulationsmittel wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der globale Markt für Erythropoietin-Stimulationsmittel wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 8,6 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Amgen Inc., F. Hoffmann La Roche Ltd, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson, Pfizer Inc. sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem globalen Markt für Erythropoietin-Stimulationsmittel tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)

The Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market is segmented by Type (Epoetin Alfa, Epoetin Beta, Darbepoetin Alfa, And Other Types), Application (Cancer, Renal Disorders, Anti-retroviral Treatment, Neural Diseases, and Other Applications), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Size

Single User License
Team License
Corporate License
Book before:
erythropoietin stimulating agents market analysis
share button
Study Period 2019 - 2029
Base Year For Estimation 2023
CAGR 8.60 %
Fastest Growing Market Asia Pacific
Largest Market North America
Market Concentration Low

Major Players

erythropoietin stimulating agents market major players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Single User License

OFF

Team License

OFF

Corporate License

OFF
Book before:

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Analysis

The erythropoietin stimulating agents (ESAs) market was valued at approximately USD 8,223 million in 2020 and is expected to witness a revenue of USD 13,436 million in 2026, with a CAGR of 8.6% over the forecast period.

According to a research study published in the American Journal of Kidney Disease, 2020, among the patients with COVID-19, with or without Acute Kidney Injury(AKI) and anemia, ESAs should be avoided in the therapy, as these patients are unlikely to mount an effective response to ESAs due to the inflammation. Thus, the risks associated with ESA treatments are expected to outweigh the potential benefits. Hence, the COVID-19 pandemic is expected to severely impact the studied market growth during the pandemic.

The ESAs market is driven by an increasing number of patients suffering from anemia, increasing applications in HIV infections and end-stage renal disorder, risks of thrombosis during surgeries, and pure red cell aplasia.

Anemia has been one of the serious nutrition-related diseases over the past few decades and is the major reason for increased morbidity and mortality, especially in low and middle-income countries. According to a research article published in PLoS One, 2019, Anemia is estimated to affect nearly 1.62 billion people worldwide and the prevalence of anemia was found to be 41.1% in Ethiopia. Additionally, as per the Lancet Global Health, 2019, India is estimated to account for nearly one-quarter of the global anemia cases. Iron Deficiency Anemia is common in children and women and is associated with sensory, motor, cognitive, language, and socioemotional deficits. Hence, the early detection and initiation of effective treatment strategies in the early stages of anemia are very important, especially among infants.

Other causes of anemia include parasite infections, such as ascaris, schistosomiasis, and hookworms, which can lower the hemoglobin (Hb) concentration in blood, along with heavy blood loss during menstruation among women.

Additionally, as per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) 2019 report, it was estimated that about 37 million (15%) of the adult population in the United States had chronic kidney disease (CKD), which increases the severity of anemia. Therefore, as the number of people affected by anemia increases, the demand for erythropoietin stimulating agents (which aid in stimulating the production of more red blood cells) also increases. Hence, the aforementioned factors are expected to boost market growth over the forecast period. However, stringent regulatory guidelines to obtain product approvals and the adverse side effects of ESAs are expected to hamper the market growth.

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market according to our research experts:

Cancer Application Expected to Dominate the Market Over the Forecast Period

Anemia is observed among the majority of patients undergoing cancer treatment, which is expected to drive this segment's growth over the forecast period. The severity of the disease among patients depends on the type of chemotherapy used, type and stage of neoplasia, and patient characteristics. Severe anemia, particularly among children and the elderly, can lead to fatigue, weakness, and depression, which severely reduce the quality of life for cancer patients.

Besides, anemia impairs the efficacy of cancer therapies. Several research studies and clinical trials have revealed that treating anemia that is associated with various cancers with erythropoietin can improve the clinical outcome of these patients. Erythropoietin acts against two main causes of anemia in cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy, i.e., against myelosuppression and endogenous erythropoietin deficiency. Patients diagnosed with anemia associated with cancer are most likely to be prescribed with erythropoietin in the form of epoetin alfa and epoetin beta. The most prescribed products include Procrit, Epogen, and NeoRecormon.

As per a research article published in the Lancet, 2020, there was no direct co-relation found to state that the cancer patients on cytotoxic chemotherapy or other anticancer treatment possess higher chances of mortality from COVID-19 as compared with those not on active treatment. Hence, COVID-19 is expected to not impact the mortality rate of cancer patients on chemotherapy, which in turn may not impair the segment growth during the pandemic. However, due to the temporary postponement of elective surgeries during COVID-19, cancer treatments are reduced to some extent.

As per Globocan 2020, the incidence of new cancer cases was estimated to be 19,292,789 in 2020, with nearly 9,958,133 deaths due to cancers globally. Additionally, the new cancer incidence is estimated to reach 30.2 million by 2040 as per International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) worldwide. As the rapidly dividing cancer cells consume a large amount of iron for their DNA replication, growth, and metastatic process, cancer patients are always diagnosed with severe anemia. Hence, with the increase in the number of cancer patients and chemotherapy procedures, the erythropoietin stimulating agents market is expected to grow during the forecast period.

erythropoietin stimulating agents market size

North America is Expected to Hold the Largest Market Share over the Forecast Period

The market for erythropoietin stimulating agents in North America is estimated to hold the largest share on account of the high occurrence of various disorders that eventually cause anemia in the region.

According to the American Society of Hematology, 2020, patients receiving active treatment for aplastic anemia may experience immunosuppression, which increases the risk of infection from COVID-19 and associated complications during the pandemic. Additionally, hospitalization of patients for anti-thymocyte globulin (ATG) administration for aplastic anemia treatment may be problematic given the lack of bed availability and risk of exposure to COVID-19 patients. Hence, the pandemic situation is expected to impact the treatment procedures for anemia, which in turn affects this regional market's growth.

ESAs have been effectively used in the treatments for various chronic diseases, like chronic kidney disease (CKD), cancer, neural, and HIV infections. Adults with diabetes or high blood pressure are prone to CKD. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC), the National Diabetes Statistics Report, 2020, 34.2 million people of all ages, accounting for 10.5% of the American population, had diabetes in 2018. Hence with the increasing number of people at high risk for CKD, the market for ESAs is expected to witness substantial growth in this region.

In the North American region, the United States holds the largest market share. According to the GLOBOCON 2020, the new cancer cases diagnosed were 2,281,658 in the United States in 2020, with 612,390 deaths. Among all cancers, breast cancer had the highest incidence rate with 253,465 cases, followed by lung (227,875), prostate (209,512), and colon (101,809), in 2020 in the United States. The high incidence of cancers leads to the demand for ESAs, to minimize anemic conditions in target patients, which in turn is expected to boost the market growth in the region over the forecast period.

erythropoietin stimulating agents market trends

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Industry Overview

The ESAs market is highly competitive, and it includes global and local companies. Some of the key players in the market are Amgen, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson, F. Hoffmann La Roche, and Pfizer Inc. Numerous pharmaceutical manufacturers are taking initiatives to develop and produce ESAs after the expiration of patents and are evolving various strategic alliances, such as acquisitions and collaborations, to expand the product portfolio globally.

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Leaders

  1. Amgen Inc.

  2. F. Hoffmann La Roche Ltd

  3. Thermo Fisher Scientific

  4. Johnson and Johnson

  5. Pfizer Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Amgen, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson, F. Hoffmann La Roche, and Pfizer Inc
bookmark Need More Details on Market Players and Competitors?
Download PDF

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market News

In July 2020, a Phase III clinical trial of Efepoetin Alfa for the treatment of anemia associated with chronic kidney disease patients, who are not on dialysis, was initiated by PT Kalbe Genexine Biologics.

In February 2020, Samsung Medical Center initiated a Phase III clinical trial of the multicenter randomized study on the efficacy of intravenous iron injection, Ferinject, in cancer patients with anemia.

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Increasing Disease Burden of Anemia

      2. 4.2.2 Rising Applications in HIV Infections and End-stage Renal Disorder

      3. 4.2.3 Risks of Thrombosis, during Surgeries, and Pure Red Cell Aplasia

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Stringent Regulatory Guidelines

      2. 4.3.2 Adverse Side Effects

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Type

      1. 5.1.1 Epoetin Alfa

      2. 5.1.2 Epoetin Beta

      3. 5.1.3 Darbepoetin Alfa

      4. 5.1.4 Other Types

    2. 5.2 By Application

      1. 5.2.1 Cancer

      2. 5.2.2 Renal Disorders

      3. 5.2.3 Anti-retroviral Treatment

      4. 5.2.4 Neural Diseases

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico (By Type and By Application)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.2.3 France (By Type and By Application)

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy (By Type and By Application)

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain (By Type and By Application)

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe (By Type and By Application)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.3.3 India (By Type and By Application)

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia (By Type and By Application)

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea (By Type and By Application)

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Type and By Application)

      4. 5.3.4 Middle East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle East and Africa (By Type and By Application)

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil (By Type and By Application)

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina (By Type and By Application)

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America (By Type and By Application)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Amgen Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 BioSidus

      3. 6.1.3 Biocon Limited

      4. 6.1.4 Celltrion Inc.

      5. 6.1.5 F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      6. 6.1.6 Intas Pharmaceuticals Ltd

      7. 6.1.7 Johnson and Johnson

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Thermo Fisher Scientific

      11. 6.1.11 LG Lifesciences, Ltd

      12. 6.1.12 Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd

      13. 6.1.13 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      14. 6.1.14 Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Ltd

      15. 6.1.15 Celon Laboratories Pvt Ltd

      16. 6.1.16 Lupin Pharma

      17. 6.1.17 Nanogen Pharmaceutical Biotechnology

      18. 6.1.18 Novartis AG(Sandoz)

      19. 6.1.19 Probiomed S.A. de C.V.

      20. 6.1.20 Panacea Biotec Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape Covers - Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies, and Recent Developments
bookmark You Can Purchase Parts Of This Report. Check Out Prices For Specific Sections
Get Price Break-up Now

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Industry Segmentation

As per the scope of the report, ESAs are similar to erythropoietin, as they stimulate the growth of red blood cells. ESAs have been approved for the treatment of anemia due to chronic kidney failure, chemotherapy, and HIV, and for the treatment of reduced red blood cells during critical surgical procedures. The erythropoietin stimulating agents market is segmented by type, application, and geography. By type, the market is segmented into epoetin alfa, epoetin beta, darbepoetin alfa, and other types. By application, the market is segmented into cancer, renal disorders, anti-retroviral treatment, neural diseases, and other applications. By geography, the market is segmented into North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa, and South America. The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Type
Epoetin Alfa
Epoetin Beta
Darbepoetin Alfa
Other Types
By Application
Cancer
Renal Disorders
Anti-retroviral Treatment
Neural Diseases
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States (By Type and By Application)
Canada (By Type and By Application)
Mexico (By Type and By Application)
Europe
Germany (By Type and By Application)
United Kingdom (By Type and By Application)
France (By Type and By Application)
Italy (By Type and By Application)
Spain (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Europe (By Type and By Application)
Asia-Pacific
China (By Type and By Application)
Japan (By Type and By Application)
India (By Type and By Application)
Australia (By Type and By Application)
South Korea (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Type and By Application)
Middle East and Africa
GCC (By Type and By Application)
South Africa (By Type and By Application)
Rest of Middle East and Africa (By Type and By Application)
South America
Brazil (By Type and By Application)
Argentina (By Type and By Application)
Rest of South America (By Type and By Application)
customize-icon Need A Different Region Or Segment?
Customize Now

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Research FAQs

The Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market is projected to register a CAGR of 8.60% during the forecast period (2024-2029)

Amgen Inc., F. Hoffmann La Roche Ltd, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Johnson and Johnson and Pfizer Inc. are the major companies operating in the Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market.

Asia Pacific is estimated to grow at the highest CAGR over the forecast period (2024-2029).

In 2024, the North America accounts for the largest market share in Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market.

The report covers the Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market historical market size for years: 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023. The report also forecasts the Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market size for years: 2024, 2025, 2026, 2027, 2028 and 2029.

Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Industry Report

Statistics for the 2024 Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents market share, size and revenue growth rate, created by Mordor Intelligence™ Industry Reports. Global Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents analysis includes a market forecast outlook to 2029 and historical overview. Get a sample of this industry analysis as a free report PDF download.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Erythropoietin Stimulating Agents Market Size & Share Analysis - Growth Trends & Forecasts (2024 - 2029)