Marché du cuivre – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché du cuivre est segmenté par industrie de l'utilisateur final (automobile et équipement lourd, construction, électricité et électronique, industrie et autres industries de l'utilisateur final) et géographie (Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Nord, Europe, Amérique du Sud et Moyen-Orient et Afrique). Le rapport propose la taille du marché et les prévisions pour le marché du cuivre en volume (kilotonne) pour tous les segments ci-dessus.

Aperçu du marché

Copper Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: > 6 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché du cuivre devrait enregistrer un TCAC de plus de 6 % au cours de la période de prévision.

La pandémie de COVID-19 a entraîné des confinements et des arrêts d'activités industrielles dans le monde entier. Pour cette raison, la production électronique a été temporairement interrompue dans de nombreux pays. De plus, l'extraction de métaux, dont le cuivre, a ralenti en 2021. Ces facteurs ont eu un impact négatif sur le marché du cuivre.

  • La demande croissante des industries de la construction, de l'électronique et des télécommunications stimule la croissance du marché.
  • L'Asie-Pacifique devrait connaître la croissance la plus rapide au cours de la période de prévision, principalement en raison de la croissance du secteur électrique et électronique en Inde et dans les pays de l'ANASE.

Portée du rapport

Le cuivre est le troisième métal le plus consommé au monde. Il est également connu comme un matériau hautement conducteur d'électricité. Les propriétés du cuivre comprennent une bonne conductivité électrique, une excellente conductivité thermique, une résistance à la corrosion, une ductilité élevée, une recyclabilité et une nature non magnétique. Le marché du cuivre est segmenté par industrie utilisatrice finale (automobile et équipement lourd, construction, électricité et électronique, industrie et autres industries utilisatrices finales). Le rapport couvre également la taille du marché et les prévisions du marché dans 15 pays des principales régions, en volume (kilotonne).

End-user Industry
Automotive and Heavy Equipment
Construction
Electrical and Electronics
Industrial
Other End-user Industries (Consumer Products, Medical Devices, Etc.)
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Demande croissante pour le segment électrique et électronique

  • Le cuivre est utilisé pour de nombreuses applications en raison de ses propriétés. Les applications électroniques du cuivre sont les fils et câbles, les dynamos, les transformateurs, les moteurs, les électroaimants, les interrupteurs, les câbles de communication, les circuits électriques résidentiels, etc.
  • Récemment, la croissance des véhicules électriques a augmenté la demande de cuivre. Les feuilles, les stators, les rotors, les têtes d'arbre, les fils creux et les moteurs sont utilisés dans les véhicules électriques constitués de cuivre lourd.
  • Selon la JEITA (Japan Electronics and Information Technology Industries Association), la production mondiale totale des industries de l'électronique et de l'informatique devrait augmenter de 11 % en glissement annuel en 2021 pour atteindre 3 360,2 milliards de dollars. Ainsi, ce facteur est prévu pour augmenter la demande de matériaux en cuivre utilisés dans le segment de l'électronique.
  • En Amérique du Nord, en particulier aux États-Unis, l'industrie électronique devrait connaître une croissance modérée. Une augmentation de la demande de nouveaux produits technologiques devrait contribuer à l'expansion du marché à l'avenir.
Copper Market Volume Share

La région Asie-Pacifique dominera le marché

  • L'Asie-Pacifique devrait dominer le marché mondial en raison des secteurs très développés de la construction et de la production d'électricité en Chine et des investissements continus dans la région pour les progrès des secteurs des télécommunications et de l'électronique au fil des ans.
  • Le cuivre est le plus ancien métal connu encore utilisé dans l'industrie de la construction. La combinaison unique des propriétés physiques du cuivre, de sa conductivité, de sa résistance à la corrosion, de sa durabilité, de sa flexibilité et de sa résistance le rend adapté à presque tous les projets de construction. Ainsi, la croissance des activités de construction en Asie-Pacifique pourrait stimuler le marché du cuivre dans la région.
  • Selon la Commission nationale du développement et de la réforme de la Chine, la demande croissante de logements est susceptible de stimuler la construction résidentielle dans le pays, tant dans les secteurs public que privé. Les nouveaux projets hôteliers dans le pays ont augmenté d'environ 19% en 2021. L'augmentation de la construction d'immeubles de grande hauteur et d'hôtels tire le marché de la région.
  • La Chine est le plus grand consommateur de véhicules électriques. En 2021, les ventes de véhicules électriques en Chine ont augmenté de plus de 50 % après la croissance modeste observée en 2020. Ainsi, on estime que l'augmentation des ventes de véhicules électriques en Chine alimentera le marché chinois du cuivre.
  • En Inde, le marché des dispositifs médicaux a connu une croissance de la demande, la taille du marché augmentant rapidement. En septembre 2021, le gouvernement indien a approuvé une proposition d'une valeur de 5 000 crores INR (674,36 millions USD) pour la construction d'un parc de dispositifs médicaux dans le canton industriel de l'Himachal Pradesh, Nalagarh, dans le district de Solan. Le cuivre étant un ingrédient clé des dispositifs médicaux, la demande croissante devrait stimuler le marché du cuivre en Inde.
  • Ces facteurs stimulent la demande de cuivre dans divers secteurs.
Copper Market Regional Trends

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché du cuivre est partiellement consolidé, avec quelques acteurs majeurs dominant une part importante du marché. Certains des principaux acteurs (pas dans un ordre particulier) comprennent Glencore, BHP, Codelco, Aurubis AG et KGHM.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Glencore

  2. BHP

  3. Codelco

  4. KGHM

  5. Aurubis AG

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Glencore BHP Codelco Aurubis AG KGHM

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché du cuivre est partiellement consolidé, avec quelques acteurs majeurs dominant une part importante du marché. Certains des principaux acteurs (pas dans un ordre particulier) comprennent Glencore, BHP, Codelco, Aurubis AG et KGHM.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Demand from Electronics and Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Stringent Regulations Associated with Mining

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 End-user Industry

      1. 5.1.1 Automotive and Heavy Equipment

      2. 5.1.2 Construction

      3. 5.1.3 Electrical and Electronics

      4. 5.1.4 Industrial

      5. 5.1.5 Other End-user Industries (Consumer Products, Medical Devices, Etc.)

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.2.1.1 China

        2. 5.2.1.2 India

        3. 5.2.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.2.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.2.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.2.2 North America

        1. 5.2.2.1 United States

        2. 5.2.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.2.3 Europe

        1. 5.2.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.2.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.2.3.3 France

        4. 5.2.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.2.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.2.4 South America

        1. 5.2.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.2.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.2.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.2.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.2.5.1 South Africa

        2. 5.2.5.2 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Market Share **/Ranking Analysis

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Aurubis AG

      2. 6.3.2 BHP

      3. 6.3.3 Chinalco Shanghai Copper

      4. 6.3.4 Codelco

      5. 6.3.5 Glencore

      6. 6.3.6 Group Mexico

      7. 6.3.7 KGHM

      8. 6.3.8 Southern Copper Corporation

      9. 6.3.9 Xstrata Plc

      10. 6.3.10 Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Growing Demand from Electric Vehicles

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché Cuivre est étudié de 2018 à 2028.

Le marché du cuivre croît à un TCAC > 6 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

La région Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé de 2018 à 2028.

L'Asie-Pacifique détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Glencore, BHP, Codelco, KGHM, Aurubis AG sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché du cuivre.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Copper Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecast (2022 - 2027)

The Copper Market is segmented by End-user Industry (Automotive and Heavy Equipment, Construction, Electrical and Electronics, Industrial, and Other End-user Industries) and Geography (Asia-Pacific, North America, Europe, South America, and Middle-East and Africa). The report offers market size and forecast for the copper market in volume (kiloton) for all the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Copper Market Summary
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: >6 %
Copper Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The copper market is expected to record a CAGR of more than 6% during the forecast period.

The COVID-19 pandemic resulted in lockdowns and shutdowns of industrial activities worldwide. Due to this, electronics production was halted temporarily in many countries. Also, the mining of metals, including copper, slowed down in 2021. These factors negatively impacted the copper market.

  • Increasing demand from construction, electronics, and telecommunication industries is boosting the market’s growth.
  • Asia-Pacific is expected to witness the fastest growth during the forecast period, primarily due to the increasing electrical and electronics sector in India and ASEAN countries.

Scope of the Report

Copper is the third-most-consumed metal in the world. It is also known as a highly electrically conductive material. The properties of copper include good electrical conductivity, excellent thermal conductivity, corrosion resistance, high ductility, recyclability, and non-magnetic nature. The copper market is segmented by end-user industry (automotive and heavy equipment, construction, electrical and electronics, industrial, and other end-user industries). The report also covers the market size and forecast for the market in 15 countries across major regions, in volume (kiloton).

End-user Industry
Automotive and Heavy Equipment
Construction
Electrical and Electronics
Industrial
Other End-user Industries (Consumer Products, Medical Devices, Etc.)
Geography
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Italy
Rest of Europe
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Middle-East and Africa
South Africa
Rest of Middle-East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Growing Demand for Electrical and Electronics Segment

  • Copper is being used for many applications due to its properties. Electronic applications of copper are wires and cables, dynamos, transformers, motors, electromagnets, switches, communication cables, residential electrical circuits, etc.
  • Recently, the growth of electric vehicles increased the demand for copper. Foils, stators, rotors, shaft heads, hollow wires, and motors are used in electrical vehicles consisting of heavy copper.
  • According to JEITA ( Japan Electronics and Information Technology Industries Association), the total global production by the electronics and IT industries was expected to rise by 11% Y-o-Y in 2021 to reach USD 3,360.2 billion. Thus, this factor is excepted to increase the demand for copper materials used in the electronics segment.
  • In North America, especially in the United States, the electronics industry is expected to grow moderately. An increase in the demand for new technological products is expected to help market expansion in the future.
Copper Market, Volume (%), by End-user Industry, Global, 2021

Asia-Pacific Region to Dominate the Market

  • Asia-Pacific is expected to dominate the global market due to China’s highly developed construction and power generation sectors and the continuous investments in the region for advancements in the telecommunication and electronics sectors through the years.
  • Copper is the oldest known metal still used in the construction industry. The unique combination of copper's physical properties, conductivity, corrosion resistance, durability, flexibility, and strength makes it suitable for almost any construction project. Thus, growth in construction activities in Asia-Pacific may boost the copper market in the region.
  • According to the National Development and Reform Commission, China, the growing demand for housing is likely to drive residential construction in the country, both in the public and private sectors. The new hotel projects in the country increased by about 19% in 2021. The increase in the construction of tall buildings and hotels is driving the market in the region.
  • China is the largest consumer of electric vehicles. In 2021, China's electric vehicle sales increased by more than 50% after the modest growth seen in 2020. Thus, increased electric vehicle sales in China are estimated to fuel the Chinese copper market.
  • In India, the medical devices market witnessed a growth in demand, with market size increasing rapidly. In September 2021, the Indian government sanctioned a proposal worth INR 5,000 crore (USD 674.36 million) to build a medical devices park in Himachal Pradesh’s industrial township, Nalagarh, in the Solan district. Since copper is a key ingredient in medical devices, the increasing demand is anticipated to boost the copper market in India.
  • Such factors are boosting the demand for copper in various sectors.
Copper Market - Growth Rate by Region, 2022 - 27

Competitive Landscape

The copper market is partially consolidated, with a few major players dominating a significant portion of the market. Some of the major players (not in any particular order) include Glencore, BHP, Codelco, Aurubis AG, and KGHM.

Major Players

  1. Glencore

  2. BHP

  3. Codelco

  4. KGHM

  5. Aurubis AG

Copper Market Concentration

Recent Developments

  • In May 2021, Glencore announced its plans to restart operations at the Mutanda copper and cobalt mine in 2022. The restarted operations from Mutanda could help the company ease shortages in the copper and cobalt markets, which are potentially capping further price gains.
  • In November 2021, Aurubis AG further expanded its activities in recycling metal-bearing materials internationally. It started the construction of a multimetal recycling plant in the US state of Georgia. Circuit boards, copper cable, and other recycling materials containing metals will be processed into 35,000 ton of blister copper annually.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Growing Demand from Electronics and Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Other Drivers

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Stringent Regulations Associated with Mining

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 End-user Industry

      1. 5.1.1 Automotive and Heavy Equipment

      2. 5.1.2 Construction

      3. 5.1.3 Electrical and Electronics

      4. 5.1.4 Industrial

      5. 5.1.5 Other End-user Industries (Consumer Products, Medical Devices, Etc.)

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.2.1.1 China

        2. 5.2.1.2 India

        3. 5.2.1.3 Japan

        4. 5.2.1.4 South Korea

        5. 5.2.1.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      2. 5.2.2 North America

        1. 5.2.2.1 United States

        2. 5.2.2.2 Canada

        3. 5.2.2.3 Mexico

      3. 5.2.3 Europe

        1. 5.2.3.1 Germany

        2. 5.2.3.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.2.3.3 France

        4. 5.2.3.4 Italy

        5. 5.2.3.5 Rest of Europe

      4. 5.2.4 South America

        1. 5.2.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.2.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.2.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.2.5 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.2.5.1 South Africa

        2. 5.2.5.2 Rest of Middle-East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Market Share **/Ranking Analysis

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Aurubis AG

      2. 6.3.2 BHP

      3. 6.3.3 Chinalco Shanghai Copper

      4. 6.3.4 Codelco

      5. 6.3.5 Glencore

      6. 6.3.6 Group Mexico

      7. 6.3.7 KGHM

      8. 6.3.8 Southern Copper Corporation

      9. 6.3.9 Xstrata Plc

      10. 6.3.10 Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Growing Demand from Electric Vehicles

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Copper Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Copper Market is growing at a CAGR of >6% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Glencore, BHP, Codelco, KGHM , Aurubis AG are the major companies operating in Copper Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!