Markt für Blisterverpackungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt für Blisterverpackungen ist nach Verfahren (Thermoformen, Kaltformen), Material (Kunststofffolien, Papier und Pappe, Aluminium), Endverbraucherindustrie (Konsumgüter, Pharmazie, Industrie) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

blister packaging market size
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 6.18 %

Major Players

blister packaging market major players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Blisterverpackungen verzeichnete im Zeitraum 2021-2026 eine CAGR von 6,18 %. Zunehmender Druck auf Pharmaunternehmen, Medikamente herzustellen, die sich in der Verpackung unterscheiden und schwer nachzuahmen sind, die über die grundlegende Notwendigkeit hinausgehen, sie für den Zweck, für den sie hergestellt wurden, wirksam zu halten, damit sie Patienten zur Verfügung gestellt werden können, aufgrund der Zunahme von Krankheiten und strengerer Regierung Vorschriften gegen Arzneimittelfälschungen gehören zu den wichtigsten Faktoren, die den Markt vorantreiben. Blisterverpackungen bieten eine effiziente Methode für Fälschungsschutzsysteme, wie Banknoten-Authentifizierungssysteme und andere.

  • Der steigende Bedarf an Produktsicherheit von Herstellern, Verbrauchern und Aufsichtsbehörden macht Blisterverpackungen zu einer immer praktischeren Option. Faktoren wie Produktintegrität und verlängerte Haltbarkeit sind für den pharmazeutischen Sektor äußerst wichtig, wenn man bedenkt, dass die meisten Verbraucher ihre Medikamente in einer Atmosphäre mit unterschiedlichen Temperaturen lagern, die für ungeschützte Medikamente schädlich sein kann.
  • Der Einsatz innovativer Technologien in Blisterpackungen, wie z. B. Radiofrequenz-Identifikationsetiketten (RFID), die mit einem außerhalb der Verpackung angebrachten Siegel eingesetzt werden, nimmt aufgrund des Potenzials zur Bereitstellung individueller Sicherheit in der gesamten Lieferkette zu. Eine Kontamination von Proben in Blisterpackungen tritt nur auf, wenn die Schutzbarriere durchbrochen wird, wenn eine einzelne Tablette oder Kapsel abgegeben oder verabreicht wird.
  • Es wird erwartet, dass der wachsende Bedarf an der Einhaltung von Sicherheitsvorschriften in Verbindung mit der steigenden Nachfrage nach praktischen und benutzerfreundlichen Verpackungsprodukten das Wachstum des Marktes vorantreibt und dazu führt, dass die Marktanbieter mit Technologieunternehmen zusammenarbeiten, um diese Funktionen einzuführen und ihr Produkt zu erweitern Differenzierungsvorteile für Großabnehmer.
  • Es gibt auch eine wachsende Nachfrage nach pharmazeutischen Produkten und Körperpflegeprodukten in Industrieregionen wie Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik und anderen, wo die Verbraucherausgaben sowohl für pharmazeutische Produkte als auch für Körperpflegeprodukte erheblich steigen. Produkte wie Kapseln, Lutschtabletten, sterile Produkte und flüssige Kosmetika wie Parfums stellen besonders hohe Anforderungen an die Blisterverpackung, den Schutz, das Aussehen und die Konformität.
  • Der Ausbruch von COVID-19, die Zunahme regulatorischer Normen auf der ganzen Welt, das Gesundheitsmanagement der Bevölkerung, Erfindungen, besser informierte Kunden und eine Zunahme von OTC-Medikamenten haben das Wachstum von Verpackungen verstärkt.

Umfang des Berichts

Blisterverpackung ist ein Begriff für verschiedene Arten von vorgeformten Kunststoffverpackungen, die für kleine Konsumgüter, Lebensmittel und Arzneimittel verwendet werden. Diese Verpackungslösungen sind nützlich, um Produkte über einen längeren Zeitraum vor äußeren Faktoren wie Feuchtigkeit und Verschmutzung zu schützen. Undurchsichtige Blister schützen auch lichtempfindliche Produkte vor UV-Strahlung. Diese breite Anwendungsbasis hat dazu beigetragen, dass es auf dem Markt Fuß gefasst hat.

By Process (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
Thermoforming
Coldforming
By Material (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & KTon & Market Outlook)
Plastic Films
Paper & Paperboard
Aluminum
Other Materials
By End-User Industry (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
Consumer Goods
Pharmaceutical
Industrial
Other End-user Industries
Geography (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Großer Anteil der Pharmaindustrie

  • Die pharmazeutische Branche stellt andere Anforderungen an die Blisterverpackungslösungen hinsichtlich Isolierung gegenüber der äußeren Umgebung, hoher Schutzwirkung, Wirtschaftlichkeit und einfacher Handhabung sowie Erhalt der Wirksamkeit des Medikaments.
  • Diese Verpackungen sind in einzigartiger Weise geeignet, die strengen Standards zu erfüllen, und werden aufgrund ihrer Schutzeigenschaften, Anpassungsfähigkeit, Kosteneffizienz und der Anforderungen der Pharma- und Verpackungsindustrie hoch geschätzt.
  • Wenn Medikamente in Blistern verpackt werden, wird die Einhaltung verbessert, da die Verbraucher ihre Medikation und Dosierung verfolgen können. Die Einheitsdosisfunktion von Blisterpackungen verringert das Risiko einer falschen Dosierung.
  • Die Herstellung von verschreibungspflichtigen Arzneimitteln auf Einzelhandelsebene beunruhigt Apotheker oder pharmazeutische Techniker. Die Verabreichung von Arzneimitteln in der offenen Atmosphäre von Supermarkt und Drogerie kann empfindliche Arzneimittel beim Umfüllen von Behälter zu Behälter negativ beeinflussen. Blisterverpackungen können den Distributionsprozess direkt an den Kunden sicherstellen.
  • Der Schutz der Produktintegrität bleibt das primäre Ziel der pharmazeutischen Verpackung, aber wie in allen Bereichen der Verpackungsindustrie wird kontinuierlich an der Kostensenkung im Verpackungsprozess gearbeitet.
  • Laut Healthcare Informatics beliefen sich die Ausgaben für Diabetes im Jahr 2013 auf 42 Milliarden US-Dollar und stiegen im Jahr 2018 auf 78 Milliarden US-Dollar. Darüber hinaus können sich blisterverpackte Medikamente als sehr hilfreich beim Transport von Medikamenten erweisen, wie sie beispielsweise bei Diabetes verwendet werden über weite Strecken transportiert.
blister packaging market share

Europa wird einen bedeutenden Anteil halten

  • Die Pharma- und Gesundheitsindustrie hält den dominierenden Anteil am Blisterverpackungsmarkt in Europa. Auch der Konsumgütersektor dürfte im Prognosezeitraum einen erheblichen Marktanteil beitragen. Die Blisterverpackung bietet auch die Möglichkeit, durch Etikettieren des Rezepts eine Compliance- oder Kalenderpackung zu erstellen, an die sich Patienten leicht halten können.
  • Die Europäische Gemeinschaft hat aufgrund der strengen Vorschriften einen erheblichen Umweltanreiz zur Verwendung von Blisterverpackungen, da überschüssiges Material im Verpackungssystem übermäßig verwendet wird. Die Verwendung von Blisterverpackungen ermöglicht es Herstellern, Verpackungen auf eine minimale Größe zu reduzieren. In Europa ist die britische Pharmaindustrie einer der wichtigsten Innovations- und Forschungsmotoren. Die Branche gibt Milliarden für F&E aus und beschäftigt eine große Anzahl hochqualifizierter Mitarbeiter für F&E-Aufgaben.
  • Diese massiven Investitionen und der Anteil an beschäftigten Fachkräften zeigen, wie Großbritannien die Pipeline von Medikamenten und zukünftigen Medikamenten aufbaut. Diese laufenden Investitionen können als hervorragende Gelegenheit für das Wachstum von Blisterverpackungen im Land angesehen werden.
blister packaging market trends

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Blisterverpackungen ist fragmentiert. Partnerschaften, Fusionen und Übernahmen sind eine entscheidende Strategie für die Anbieter auf dem Markt, um Produkte zu entwickeln, die in der Endverbraucherbranche akzeptabel sind, wo Verpackungsmaterialien strengen Qualitätstests unterzogen werden, damit sie die Gesundheit des Inhalts nicht beeinträchtigen. Einige der jüngsten Entwicklungen auf dem Markt sind:

  • Im Januar 2020 ging Amcor eine Partnerschaft mit Moda ein, um innovative Verpackungslösungen anzubieten. Amcor und Moda bieten mehrere innovative Lösungen für flexible Verpackungen an und werden voraussichtlich neue Ressourcen bereitstellen, um Amcors Position auf dem Markt für flexible Verpackungen auszubauen und weiter zu stärken.

Hauptakteure

  1. Klockner Pentaplast Group

  2. Amcor PLC

  3. Constantia Flexibles GmbH

  4. Westrock Company

  5. Honeywell International Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

blister packaging market growth

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Growing geriatric population and prevalence of diseases

      2. 4.2.2 Product innovations such as downsizing coupled with relatively low costs

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

      1. 4.3.1 Dynamic nature of regulations and inability to support heavy goods

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Assessment of the impact of COVID-19 on Blister Packaging Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Process (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.1.1 Thermoforming

      2. 5.1.2 Coldforming

    2. 5.2 By Material (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & KTon & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.2.1 Plastic Films

      2. 5.2.2 Paper & Paperboard

      3. 5.2.3 Aluminum

      4. 5.2.4 Other Materials

    3. 5.3 By End-User Industry (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.3.1 Consumer Goods

      2. 5.3.2 Pharmaceutical

      3. 5.3.3 Industrial

      4. 5.3.4 Other End-user Industries

    4. 5.4 Geography (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 6.1.2 Westrock Company

      3. 6.1.3 Constantia Flexibles GmbH

      4. 6.1.4 Sonoco Products Company

      5. 6.1.5 Klockner Pentaplast Group

      6. 6.1.6 E.I. Du Pont De Nemours and Company

      7. 6.1.7 Honeywell International Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Pharma Packaging Solutions

      9. 6.1.9 Tekni-Plex Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 The Dow Chemical Company

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Blisterverpackungen wird von 2018 bis 2028 untersucht.

Der Blisterverpackungsmarkt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 6,18 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst von 2018 bis 2028 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Die Klöckner Pentaplast Group, Amcor PLC, Constantia Flexibles GmbH, Westrock Company und Honeywell International Inc. sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Blisterverpackungen tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Blister Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, Forecasts (2020 - 2025)

The Blister Packaging Market is segmented by Process (Thermoforming, Coldforming), Material (Plastic films, Paper and Paperboard, Aluminium), End-user Industry (Consumer goods, Pharmaceutical, Industrial), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Study Period:

2020-2025

Base Year:

2019

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

6.18 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The blister packaging market was valued at USD 19.13 billion in 2019, and it is expected to register a CAGR of 6.18%, during the period of 2020-2025. Increasing pressure on pharmaceutical companies to manufacture medicines that are distinct in packaging and hard to imitate, beyond the basic need of keeping it effective for the purpose it was produced, for it to be made available for patients, owing to rise in diseases and stringent government regulations against counterfeit drugs, are among the major factors propelling the market. Blister packaging offers an efficient method of anti-counterfeit systems, like banknote authentication systems and others.

  • The rising need for the level of product safety from manufacturers, consumers, and regulatory organizations making blister packaging an increasingly practical option. Factors like product integrity and extended shelf life are highly necessary for the pharmaceutical sector, considering that most consumers store their drugs in a temperature variant atmosphere that can be harmful to unprotected medicines.
  • The use of innovative technologies in blisters, such as radio frequency identification tags (RFID), deployed with a seal applied outside the packaging, is growing due to the potential to provide individual security throughout supply chains. Contamination of samples in blisters only occurs when the protective barrier is broken, when a single tablet or capsule is dispensed or administered.
  • The growing need for compliance with safety regulations, coupled with increased demand for convenient and easy-to-use packaging products, is also expected to drive the market's growth and results in the market vendors partnering with technology companies to introduce those features and widen their product differentiation advantages for bulk purchasers.
  • There is also a growing demand for pharmaceutical and personal care products in industrialized regions, like North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and others, where considerable consumer expenditure is increasing for both pharmaceutical and personal care products. Products, such as capsules, lozenges, sterile products, and liquid cosmetics like perfumes, place a particularly high demand for blister packaging, protection, appearance, and compliance.
  • The outbreak of COVID-19, growth in regulatory norms across the world, population health management, inventions, more informed customers, and an increase in OTC drugs have augmented the growth of packaging.

Scope of the Report

Blister pack is a term for several types of pre-formed plastic packaging used for small consumer goods, foods, and for pharmaceuticals. These packaging solutions are useful for protecting products against external factors, such as humidity and contamination, for extended periods of time. Opaque blisters also protect light-sensitive products against UV rays. Such wide base of application has helped it gain traction in the market.

By Process (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
Thermoforming
Coldforming
By Material (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & KTon & Market Outlook)
Plastic Films
Paper & Paperboard
Aluminum
Other Materials
By End-User Industry (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
Consumer Goods
Pharmaceutical
Industrial
Other End-user Industries
Geography (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Pharmaceutical Industry Account for a Major Share

  • The pharmaceutical sector poses a different set of demands for the blister packaging solutions regarding insulation from external surroundings, high levels of protection, cost-effectiveness, and ease of handling, in addition to retaining the medicine's effectiveness.
  • These packs are uniquely suited to meet the stringent standards and highly valued for protective properties, adaptability, cost-effectiveness, and the pharmaceutical and packaging industry requirements.
  • When drugs are packaged in blisters, adherence is improved because consumers can keep track of their medications and dosage. The unit dosage feature of blisters reduces the risk of incorrect dosing.
  • The retail-level preparation of prescription drugs is troubling pharmacists or pharmaceutical technicians. The administration of medicines in the open atmosphere of the supermarket and drug store can negatively affect sensitive drugs when they are transferred from container to container. Blister packaging can ensure the process of distribution directly to the customer.
  • Protecting product integrity remains the primary goal of pharmaceutical packaging, but as in all areas of the packaging industry, there is continued work on cost reduction in the packaging process.
  • According to healthcare informatics, diabetes expenditure was USD 42 billion in 2013 and increased to USD 78 billion in 2018. Moreover, blister-packed medicines can prove to be very helpful in the transportation of medicines, such as those used for diabetes, which may be transported over long distances.

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Europe to Hold a Significant Share

  • The pharmaceutical and healthcare industry holds the dominant share of the blister packaging market in Europe. The consumer goods sector is also expected to contribute a significant market share over the forecast period. Blister packaging also provides the possibility to create a compliance pack or calendar pack by labeling the prescription, to which patients can easily adhere.
  • The European community has more substantial environmental incentives to use blister packaging because of the stringent regulations overusing the excess material into the packaging system. The use of blister packaging allows manufacturers to reduce packages to a minimal size. In Europe, the UK pharmaceutical industry is one of the major engines of innovation and research. The industry spends billions on R&D and employs vast numbers of highly skilled personnel for R&D roles.
  • These massive investments and the proportion of skilled workers employed show how Britain is building up the pipeline of medicines and future drugs. These ongoing investments can be perceived as an excellent opportunity for the growth of blister packaging in the country.

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

The Blister Packaging Market is fragmented. Partnerships, mergers, and acquisitions have been a critical strategy for the vendors in the market for developing products that are acceptable in the end-user industry, where packaging materials undergo stringent quality tests so that they do not contaminate the content's impact health. Some of the recent developments in the market are:

  • In January 2020 - Amcor partnered with Moda to offer innovative packaging solutions. Amcor and Moda offer multiple innovative solutions in flexible packaging and are expected to provide new resources to help gain and further strengthen Amcor's position in the flexible packaging market.

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Growing geriatric population and prevalence of diseases

      2. 4.2.2 Product innovations such as downsizing coupled with relatively low costs

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

      1. 4.3.1 Dynamic nature of regulations and inability to support heavy goods

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    5. 4.5 Assessment of the impact of COVID-19 on Blister Packaging Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Process (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.1.1 Thermoforming

      2. 5.1.2 Coldforming

    2. 5.2 By Material (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & KTon & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.2.1 Plastic Films

      2. 5.2.2 Paper & Paperboard

      3. 5.2.3 Aluminum

      4. 5.2.4 Other Materials

    3. 5.3 By End-User Industry (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.3.1 Consumer Goods

      2. 5.3.2 Pharmaceutical

      3. 5.3.3 Industrial

      4. 5.3.4 Other End-user Industries

    4. 5.4 Geography (Trends, Forecasts – in USD million & Market Outlook)

      1. 5.4.1 North America

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East & Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE INTELLIGENCE

    1. 6.1 KEY COMPANY PROFILES * (OVERVIEW, PRODUCTS, STRATEGIES, RECENT DEVELOPMENTS)

      1. 6.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 6.1.2 Westrock Company

      3. 6.1.3 Constantia Flexibles GmbH

      4. 6.1.4 Sonoco Products Company

      5. 6.1.5 Klockner Pentaplast Group

      6. 6.1.6 E.I. Du Pont De Nemours and Company

      7. 6.1.7 Honeywell International Inc.

      8. 6.1.8 Pharma Packaging Solutions

      9. 6.1.9 Tekni-Plex Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 The Dow Chemical Company

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

** Subject to Availability

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Related Reports