亚太地区智能玻璃市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

亚太智能玻璃市场按技术(悬浮粒子装置、液晶、电致变色玻璃、被动智能玻璃、主动智能玻璃)、应用(建筑{住宅建筑、商业建筑}、交通{航空航天、铁路、汽车}、能源、消费电子产品)和国家。

市场快照

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 14 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

预计亚太地区智能玻璃市场在预测期间(2021-2026 年)将以 14% 的复合年增长率增长。由于亚太地区高端商业办公室和住宅空间对节约能源成本的需求激增,该市场获得了巨大的牵引力。然而,COVID-19 大流行严重影响了 2020 年住宅和商业建筑的建设活动,导致建筑建设项目延迟或短期停工。​

随着对可持续发展的日益关注,越来越多的人选择在建筑物中使用用户控制的窗户。智能玻璃制造商一直在积极投资研发,通过采用新技术和低成本原材料来降低生产成本。​

该地区对智能眼镜进行了大量的研究和开发。例如,近年来,上海大学的研究人员设计了第一个可以发电的智能窗户。窗户就像一块太阳能电池板,使用二氧化钒薄膜来发电。预计此类发展将为市场提供进一步的增长机会,尤其是在办公室、住宅和酒店方面。

此外,新加坡工程研究机构之一南洋理工大学的科学家们开发了一种独特的液体窗板,可以阻挡阳光以调节阳光进入房间。除此之外,面板还可以同时捕获从阳光中接收到的热量,稍后逐渐释放,帮助调节室内温度。

预计该地区智能玻璃增长的大部分将出现在建筑行业,从而利用显着的成本节约和能源效率。员工和居民期待从增加的自然光和户外景观中受益,这可以改善他们的健康和生产力。

但是,由于大流行,由于商业景气不佳、运营盈余和收入下降、COVID-19 管理资金被转移以及流动性问题,建筑项目的需求有所下降。建筑活动减少和供应链中断导致项目在短期内延迟或停止,从而抑制了市场的增长。

Scope of the report

Smart glasses are special types of glasses, which can change from being clear to translucent or even pellucid to opaque. It is primarily used to block light, heat, and glare. This technology is very helpful to reduce the cost of lighting, air conditioning, curtains blinding, or heating of the room. There are two types of smart glasses: active type and passive type. The active type of smart glass responds to the electrical stimulus to make the glass, while the passive type is triggered by light or heat. Active glasses are used in sectors like architecture, healthcare, and automotive, etc. This type of smart glass uses the technologies like Suspended Particle Devices (SPDs), electrochromic devices, among others.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

建筑业有望在市场上有进一步的增长机会

更智能的施工流程和方法正在影响该地区的建筑业。根据中国国家统计局的数据,预计到2024年,中国的建筑业收入将达到约38.12亿美元。中国已成为世界上最大的建筑市场之一。2020年,中国地区建筑业产值达10490亿美元。根据中国国家统计局的数据,由于政府计划重点改善中小城市的基础设施,建筑业预计将保持每年5%左右的持续增长。

各种清洁技术、节能和能源可持续利用的举措正在推动客户使用不同的产品,这将达到他们的目的。该地区被认为是经济增长最快的地区,中国和印度等国家发展迅速。此外,马来西亚、新加坡等新兴经济体的工业、建筑和基础设施部门正在经历增长。这种经济发展需要加强基础设施;因此,商场、医院和其他建筑物的建设正在高速增长。这些国家不断增长的建筑业预计将影响智能玻璃市场。

在新加坡,建筑物是第二大能源消耗者,消耗了近三分之一的电力。大多数现代建筑外墙通常使用高达 80% 的玻璃,这使得它们与政府为应对城市化和气候变化而制定的可持续性和能源效率目标不太兼容。因此,与传统玻璃相比,安装智能着色窗户可以将建筑物的能耗平均降低 20%,从而减少供暖、通风和空调系统的负荷。

此外,城市化进程的加快以及对节约资源和减少温室气体排放的承诺将进一步为该地区采用智能玻璃创造空间。中国等国家在制定国家绿色建筑标准方面取得了重大进展。近年来,中国住房和城乡建设部在《建筑节能与绿色建筑发展“十三五”规划》中明确了到2020年实现绿色建筑发展的目标。中国政府在政府项目中强制要求绿色建筑,并使用市场化手段(如补贴和公共采购)来促进绿色建筑。

同样,韩国绿色建筑委员会也认识到绿色建筑的部署是建筑行业的重要因素之一,旨在建设可持续和生态友好的城市。这正在影响该地区智能玻璃的采用。

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

日本地区见证了巨大的市场增长机会

智能玻璃主要用于该地区,以改善交通部门的乘客体验。例如,使用 Research Frontiers 的 SPD-SmartGlass 的 AGC 光控玻璃安装在日本铁道建设、运输和技术振兴机构的一辆列车上。这种安装在火车上的车窗玻璃将薄的化学强化玻璃与 SPD-SmartGlass 相结合,可减轻 30% 的重量并提高乘客的舒适度。

交通运输领域的应用越来越多,这为该地区的智能玻璃带来了巨大的需求。智能玻璃已获得大规模应用,特别是在汽车行业、天窗以及外部和内部自动调光后视镜中。事实上,由于大部分智能玻璃产品都经过化学钢化处理,因此安装在汽车上时,它们的重量远比汽车行业使用的传统玻璃轻,有助于汽车制造商提高燃油效率并满足区域排放标准。​

根据日本经济产业省(METI)的数据,2020 年日本的汽车产量约为 807 万辆,比上一年的约 968 万辆略有下降。减少的主要原因是 Covid-19 大流行期间停产。日本的汽车产量包括乘用车、卡车和公共汽车,其中乘用车占多数。

该地区的建筑行业也越来越多地采用智能玻璃。根据日本财务省的数据,2020 年日本建筑业的销售额约为 133.9 万亿日元。2020 年,日本的建筑总投资估计约为 60.9 万亿日元,其中建筑施工占这些投资的近 50%根据日本国土交通省的数据,预计 2021 年将增至 62.7 万亿日元。

窗户被认为是建筑物中效率最低的部分,是造成寒冷月份热量损失和温暖月份太阳能热量增加的原因。一些研究人员还表示,进入房屋的阳光可能会使冷负荷增加 20%。在某些情况下,来自太阳的眩光会使 LCD 屏幕难以看清,需要拉上百叶窗,从而抵消了自然光的好处。预计这些将为该地区的市场带来进一步的增长机会。

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

竞争格局

亚太智能玻璃市场是分散的。各种成熟的国际品牌、国内品牌以及新进入者,形成竞争格局。主要参与者越来越多地通过各种战略并购、创新、增加研发投资来寻求市场扩张。

  • 2021 年 4 月:Saint Gobain 的子公司 SageGlass 被最大的定制房地产开发商之一 Bagmane Group 选中,以创建世界上最大的智能玻璃装置之一。该公司将为 Rio Business Park 提供 200,000 平方英尺的 SageGlass Harmony 电致变色玻璃、控制装置和软件,这是一个位于印度班加罗尔的 160 万平方英尺的办公室开发项目。
  • 2021 年 10 月:混合现实 (AR/MR) 初创公司 Thirdeye 宣布与香港 IT 供应商 GO VR Immersive 建立合作伙伴关系,将其 X2 MR 智能眼镜的可用性扩展到亚太地区。该公司将通过其坚固的 MR 解决方案为亚太地区教育、建筑和工业环境的一线工作人员提供耳机。

竞争格局

亚太智能玻璃市场是分散的。各种成熟的国际品牌、国内品牌以及新进入者,形成竞争格局。主要参与者越来越多地通过各种战略并购、创新、增加研发投资来寻求市场扩张。

  • 2021 年 4 月:Saint Gobain 的子公司 SageGlass 被最大的定制房地产开发商之一 Bagmane Group 选中,以创建世界上最大的智能玻璃装置之一。该公司将为 Rio Business Park 提供 200,000 平方英尺的 SageGlass Harmony 电致变色玻璃、控制装置和软件,这是一个位于印度班加罗尔的 160 万平方英尺的办公室开发项目。
  • 2021 年 10 月:混合现实 (AR/MR) 初创公司 Thirdeye 宣布与香港 IT 供应商 GO VR Immersive 建立合作伙伴关系,将其 X2 MR 智能眼镜的可用性扩展到亚太地区。该公司将通过其坚固的 MR 解决方案为亚太地区教育、建筑和工业环境的一线工作人员提供耳机。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing focus on Energy Conservation and Environment Friendly Technologies

      2. 5.1.2 Government Regulations

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing demand for energy savings techniques

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Lack of Awareness of Smart Glass Benefits

      2. 5.2.2 Technical Issues with the Usage of Large Size Smart Glass

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Technology

      1. 6.1.1 Suspended Particle Devices

      2. 6.1.2 Liquid Crystals

      3. 6.1.3 Electro-chromic Glass

      4. 6.1.4 Passive Smart glass

      5. 6.1.5 Active Smart glass

      6. 6.1.6 Others

    2. 6.2 Applications

      1. 6.2.1 Construction

        1. 6.2.1.1 Residential Buildings

        2. 6.2.1.2 Commercial Buildings

      2. 6.2.2 Transportation

        1. 6.2.2.1 Aerospace

        2. 6.2.2.2 Rail

        3. 6.2.2.3 Automotive

        4. 6.2.2.4 Others

      3. 6.2.3 Energy

      4. 6.2.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 6.2.5 Others

    3. 6.3 Country

      1. 6.3.1 China

      2. 6.3.2 Japan

      3. 6.3.3 India

      4. 6.3.4 South Korea

      5. 6.3.5 Rest of Asia Pacific

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Polytronix

      2. 7.1.2 PPG Industries

      3. 7.1.3 Scienstry Inc

      4. 7.1.4 Saint-Gobain

      5. 7.1.5 Pulp Studio

      6. 7.1.6 Ravenbrick

      7. 7.1.7 Nippon

      8. 7.1.8 Smartglass International

      9. 7.1.9 Pro Display

      10. 7.1.10 Gentex Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Hitachi Chemical

      12. 7.1.12 LTI Smart Glass

      13. 7.1.13 Citala

      14. 7.1.14 Asahi Glass Corporation

      15. 7.1.15 View, Inc.

  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The APAC Smart Glass Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The APAC Smart Glass Market is growing at a CAGR of 14% over the next 5 years.

Polytronix Inc, PPG Industries, Saint-Gobain, Pulp Studio, RavenBrick LLC are the major companies operating in APAC Smart Glass Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market is segmented by technology (Suspended Particle Devices, Liquid Crystals, Electro-chromic Glass, Passive Smart glass, Active Smart glass), by Application (Construction {Residential Buildings, Commercial Buildings}, Transportation {Aerospace, Rail, Automotive}, Energy, Consumer Electronics), and Country.

Market Snapshot

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 14 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

Asia Pacific smart glass market is estimated to grow at a CAGR of 14% in the forecasted period (2021-2026). The market has been gaining significant traction due to the surging demand for energy cost savings in high-end commercial offices and residential spaces in the Asia Pacific. However, the COVID-19 pandemic has significantly affected the construction activities of the residential and commercial buildings in 2020, resulting in delayed building construction projects or halted for the short term.​

With a growing focus on sustainable development, an increasing number of people have been opting for user-controlled windows in buildings. Smart glass manufacturers have been actively investing in research and development to cut production costs by implementing newer technologies and low-cost raw materials.​

There has been a great amount of research and development going on in the region on smart glasses. For instance, in recent years, researchers at Shanghai University have designed the first smart window, which can produce electricity. The window acts like a solar panel and uses Vanadium dioxide film to produce electricity. Such developments are expected to provide further growth opportunities to the market, especially in offices, residential homes, and hotels.

Also, Scientists at the Nanyang Technological University, one of Singapore's engineering research institutes, have developed a unique liquid window panel that can block sunlight to regulate solar transmission into a room. Besides this, the panel can simultaneously trap thermal heat received from sunlight, gradually release it later, and help regulate indoor temperature.

The majority of the smart glass growth in the region is expected to be observed in the building sector, taking advantage of the significant cost savings and energy efficiency. Employees and residents are looking forward to benefiting from the increased natural light and access to views of the outdoors, which can improve both their health and productivity.

However, due to the pandemic, construction projects' demand has fallen due to poor business sentiments, lower operating surpluses and incomes, diversion of funds for COVID-19 management, and liquidity problems. There has been a decrease in construction activities and supply chain disruptions that have resulted in projects being delayed or halted for the short term, restraining the market's growth.

Scope of the report

Smart glasses are special types of glasses, which can change from being clear to translucent or even pellucid to opaque. It is primarily used to block light, heat, and glare. This technology is very helpful to reduce the cost of lighting, air conditioning, curtains blinding, or heating of the room. There are two types of smart glasses: active type and passive type. The active type of smart glass responds to the electrical stimulus to make the glass, while the passive type is triggered by light or heat. Active glasses are used in sectors like architecture, healthcare, and automotive, etc. This type of smart glass uses the technologies like Suspended Particle Devices (SPDs), electrochromic devices, among others.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Construction industry is expected to have further growth opportunities in the market

Smarter construction processes and methods are influencing the construction industry in the region. As per the National Bureau of Statistics of China, it is projected that the construction revenue in China will amount to approximately USD 3.812 billion by 2024. China has become one of the largest construction markets in the world. In 2020, the construction industry value in the China region amounted to USD 1,049 billion U.S. dollars. As the government has planned to focus on improving the infrastructure in small and medium-sized cities, the construction industry is expected to maintain a continuous growth at around 5% annually, as per the National Bureau of Statistics of China.

Various initiatives for clean technology, energy conservation, and sustainable use of energy are driving the customers to use different products, which would serve their purpose. The region is considered to be the fastest-growing economic region, with countries such as China and India developing at a rapid rate. Also, the emerging economies, such as Malaysia, Singapore, and others, are experiencing growth in their industrial, construction, and infrastructural sectors. This economic development has created a need for enhanced infrastructure; thus, the construction of malls, hospitals, and other buildings is growing at a high pace. The growing construction sector in these countries is expected to influence the smart glass market.

In Singapore, buildings are the second largest energy consumers, using almost a third of the electricity. Most of the modern building facades are often as much as 80% glass, which makes them less compatible with the sustainability and energy efficiency goals, as mandated by the government, to cope with urbanization and climate change. Thus, installing smart-tinting windows can reduce a building’s energy consumption by 20%, on average, as compared to conventional glass, thus, reducing the load on the heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning systems.

Also, increasing urbanization and commitments to conserve resources and reduce greenhouse gas emissions will further create a scope for the adoption of smart glass in the region. Countries, such as China, made significant progress in developing national green building standards. In recent years, The Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of China set clear goals to achieve the development of green buildings by 2020, in the 13th Five Year Plan for Building Energy Efficiency and Green Building Development. The Chinese government has mandated green building in government projects and has also used market-based instruments (like subsidies and public procurement) to promote green building.

Similarly, Korea Green Building Council also recognizes that the deployment of green buildings is one of the essential factors in the construction sector, with an aim to build sustainable and eco-friendly cities. This is impacting the adoption of smart glass in the region.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Japan region witnesses significant growth opportunities in the market

Smart glass is primarily used in the region to improve passenger experience in the transportation sector. For instance, AGC’s light control glass, using Research Frontiers’ SPD-SmartGlass, is installed in one of the trains of the Japan Railway Construction, Transport, and Technology Agency. This window glass, mounted in the train, combines a thin, chemically-strengthened glass with SPD-SmartGlass, to reduce weight by 30% and improve passenger comfort.

There have been increasing applications in the field of transportation that are creating immense demand for smart glass in the region. Smart glass has found a large-scale application, particularly in the automotive industry, in sunroofs, and exterior and interior automatic dimming rear-view mirrors. In fact, as most of the smart glass products are chemically toughened, they are far lighter than the traditional glass used in the automotive sector when installed in automobiles, helping automakers gain more fuel efficiency and meet regional emission standards.​

According to METI (Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry) Japan, In 2020, approximately 8.07 million motor vehicles were produced in Japan, which is slightly down from about 9.68 million units in the previous year. The decrease was primarily due to the production halt during the Covid-19 pandemic. The production volume of motor vehicles in Japan included passenger cars, trucks, and buses, of which passenger cars accounted for the majority.

Smart glass is also increasingly being adopted in the construction sector in the region. According to the Ministry of Finance Japan, the construction industry in Japan generated sales of approximately JPY 133.9 trillion in 2020. In 2020, total construction investment in Japan was estimated at around JPY 60.9 trillion, with building construction accounting for almost 50% of these investments, forecasted to increase to JPY 62.7 trillion in 2021, according to the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport, and Tourism, Japan.

Windows are considered the most inefficient part of a building and are responsible for heat loss in cold months and solar heat gain in warm months. Some researchers also stated that sunlight entering a house could increase cooling loads by 20%. In some cases, glare from the sun can make it difficult to see an LCD screen, requiring the blinds to be pulled, negating the benefits of natural light. These are expected to bring further growth opportunities to the market in the region.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Competitive Landscape

The Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market is fragmented. Various established international brands, domestic brands, as well as new entrants, form a competitive landscape. The major players are increasingly seeking market expansion through various strategic mergers and acquisitions, innovation, increasing investments in research and development.

  • April 2021: SageGlass, a subsidiary of Saint Gobain, was chosen by Bagmane Group, one of the largest build-to-suit real estate developers, to create one of the largest smart glass installations in the world. The company will provide 200,000 square feet of SageGlass Harmony electrochromic glass, controls, and software for Rio Business Park, a 1.6 million square foot office development in Bangalore, India.
  • October 2021: Mixed reality (AR/MR) startup Thirdeye announced a partnership with Hong Kong-based IT vendor GO VR Immersive to expand the availability of its X2 MR smart glasses to the Asia-Pacific region. The company will be supplying headsets to APAC frontline workers in education, architecture, and industrial environments with their rugged MR solution.

Recent Developments

  • September 2021: Xiaomi launched its own smart glasses, which are capable of taking photos, displaying messages and notifications, making calls, providing navigation, and translating text right in real-time in front of eyes. The glasses also have an indicator light that shows when the 5-megapixel camera is in use.
  • September 2021: Facebook Inc, in partnership with Ray-Ban, launched its first smart glasses named 'Ray-Ban Stories' that allow wearers to listen to music, take calls, or capture photos and short videos and share them across Facebook's services using a companion app.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing focus on Energy Conservation and Environment Friendly Technologies

      2. 5.1.2 Government Regulations

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing demand for energy savings techniques

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Lack of Awareness of Smart Glass Benefits

      2. 5.2.2 Technical Issues with the Usage of Large Size Smart Glass

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Technology

      1. 6.1.1 Suspended Particle Devices

      2. 6.1.2 Liquid Crystals

      3. 6.1.3 Electro-chromic Glass

      4. 6.1.4 Passive Smart glass

      5. 6.1.5 Active Smart glass

      6. 6.1.6 Others

    2. 6.2 Applications

      1. 6.2.1 Construction

        1. 6.2.1.1 Residential Buildings

        2. 6.2.1.2 Commercial Buildings

      2. 6.2.2 Transportation

        1. 6.2.2.1 Aerospace

        2. 6.2.2.2 Rail

        3. 6.2.2.3 Automotive

        4. 6.2.2.4 Others

      3. 6.2.3 Energy

      4. 6.2.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 6.2.5 Others

    3. 6.3 Country

      1. 6.3.1 China

      2. 6.3.2 Japan

      3. 6.3.3 India

      4. 6.3.4 South Korea

      5. 6.3.5 Rest of Asia Pacific

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Polytronix

      2. 7.1.2 PPG Industries

      3. 7.1.3 Scienstry Inc

      4. 7.1.4 Saint-Gobain

      5. 7.1.5 Pulp Studio

      6. 7.1.6 Ravenbrick

      7. 7.1.7 Nippon

      8. 7.1.8 Smartglass International

      9. 7.1.9 Pro Display

      10. 7.1.10 Gentex Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Hitachi Chemical

      12. 7.1.12 LTI Smart Glass

      13. 7.1.13 Citala

      14. 7.1.14 Asahi Glass Corporation

      15. 7.1.15 View, Inc.

  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The APAC Smart Glass Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The APAC Smart Glass Market is growing at a CAGR of 14% over the next 5 years.

Polytronix Inc, PPG Industries, Saint-Gobain, Pulp Studio, RavenBrick LLC are the major companies operating in APAC Smart Glass Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!