Markt für intelligentes Glas im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für intelligentes Glas im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum ist nach Technologie (Suspensionsgeräte, Flüssigkristalle, elektrochromes Glas, passives intelligentes Glas, aktives intelligentes Glas) und nach Anwendung (Bau {Wohngebäude, Geschäftsgebäude}), Transport {Luft- und Raumfahrt, Eisenbahn, Automotive}, Energie, Unterhaltungselektronik) und Land.

Markt-Snapshot

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 14 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Smart Glass-Markt im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum wird im Prognosezeitraum (2021-2026) voraussichtlich um 14 % wachsen. Der Markt hat aufgrund der steigenden Nachfrage nach Energiekosteneinsparungen in hochwertigen Geschäftsbüros und Wohnräumen im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum erheblich an Zugkraft gewonnen. Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat jedoch die Bautätigkeit der Wohn- und Geschäftshäuser im Jahr 2020 erheblich beeinträchtigt, was dazu geführt hat, dass Hochbauprojekte verzögert oder kurzfristig gestoppt wurden

Mit zunehmendem Fokus auf nachhaltige Entwicklung entscheiden sich immer mehr Menschen für benutzergesteuerte Fenster in Gebäuden. Hersteller von intelligentem Glas haben aktiv in Forschung und Entwicklung investiert, um die Produktionskosten durch den Einsatz neuerer Technologien und kostengünstiger Rohstoffe zu senken

In der Region wurde im Bereich Smart Glasses viel geforscht und entwickelt. Beispielsweise haben Forscher der Universität Shanghai in den letzten Jahren das erste intelligente Fenster entwickelt, das Strom erzeugen kann. Das Fenster wirkt wie ein Solarpanel und verwendet einen Vanadiumdioxidfilm zur Stromerzeugung. Es wird erwartet, dass solche Entwicklungen dem Markt weitere Wachstumschancen bieten, insbesondere in Büros, Wohnhäusern und Hotels.

Außerdem haben Wissenschaftler der Nanyang Technological University, einem der Ingenieurforschungsinstitute Singapurs, eine einzigartige flüssige Fensterscheibe entwickelt, die das Sonnenlicht blockieren kann, um die Sonneneinstrahlung in einen Raum zu regulieren. Darüber hinaus kann das Paneel gleichzeitig die vom Sonnenlicht empfangene Wärmewärme einfangen, sie später allmählich abgeben und dabei helfen, die Innentemperatur zu regulieren.

Der Großteil des Smart Glass-Wachstums in der Region wird voraussichtlich im Bausektor zu beobachten sein, wobei von den erheblichen Kosteneinsparungen und der Energieeffizienz profitiert wird. Mitarbeiter und Anwohner freuen sich darauf, von mehr natürlichem Licht und Zugang zu Ausblicken ins Freie zu profitieren, was sowohl ihre Gesundheit als auch ihre Produktivität verbessern kann.

Aufgrund der Pandemie ist die Nachfrage nach Bauprojekten jedoch aufgrund schlechter Geschäftsstimmung, niedrigerer Betriebsüberschüsse und -einnahmen, Umleitung von Mitteln für das COVID-19-Management und Liquiditätsproblemen gesunken. Es gab einen Rückgang der Bautätigkeiten und Unterbrechungen der Lieferkette, die dazu führten, dass Projekte verzögert oder kurzfristig gestoppt wurden, was das Wachstum des Marktes bremste.

Scope of the report

Smart glasses are special types of glasses, which can change from being clear to translucent or even pellucid to opaque. It is primarily used to block light, heat, and glare. This technology is very helpful to reduce the cost of lighting, air conditioning, curtains blinding, or heating of the room. There are two types of smart glasses: active type and passive type. The active type of smart glass responds to the electrical stimulus to make the glass, while the passive type is triggered by light or heat. Active glasses are used in sectors like architecture, healthcare, and automotive, etc. This type of smart glass uses the technologies like Suspended Particle Devices (SPDs), electrochromic devices, among others.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Für die Bauindustrie werden weitere Wachstumschancen auf dem Markt erwartet

Intelligentere Bauprozesse und -methoden beeinflussen die Bauindustrie in der Region. Laut dem National Bureau of Statistics of China wird prognostiziert, dass sich die Baueinnahmen in China bis 2024 auf etwa 3,812 Milliarden US-Dollar belaufen werden. China hat sich zu einem der größten Baumärkte der Welt entwickelt. Im Jahr 2020 belief sich der Wert der Bauindustrie in der Region China auf 1.049 Milliarden US-Dollar. Da die Regierung geplant hat, sich auf die Verbesserung der Infrastruktur in kleinen und mittelgroßen Städten zu konzentrieren, wird erwartet, dass die Bauindustrie laut dem National Bureau of Statistics of China ein kontinuierliches Wachstum von etwa 5 % pro Jahr beibehalten wird.

Verschiedene Initiativen für saubere Technologien, Energieeinsparung und nachhaltige Energienutzung treiben die Kunden dazu, andere Produkte zu verwenden, die ihren Zweck erfüllen. Die Region gilt als die am schnellsten wachsende Wirtschaftsregion, Länder wie China und Indien entwickeln sich rasant. Auch die Schwellenländer wie Malaysia, Singapur und andere erleben ein Wachstum in ihren Industrie-, Bau- und Infrastruktursektoren. Diese wirtschaftliche Entwicklung hat einen Bedarf an verbesserter Infrastruktur geschaffen; Daher wächst der Bau von Einkaufszentren, Krankenhäusern und anderen Gebäuden mit hoher Geschwindigkeit. Es wird erwartet, dass der wachsende Bausektor in diesen Ländern den Smart Glass-Markt beeinflussen wird.

In Singapur sind Gebäude die zweitgrößten Energieverbraucher und verbrauchen fast ein Drittel des Stroms. Die meisten modernen Gebäudefassaden bestehen oft zu 80 % aus Glas, was sie weniger mit den von der Regierung vorgeschriebenen Nachhaltigkeits- und Energieeffizienzzielen zur Bewältigung von Urbanisierung und Klimawandel vereinbar macht. So kann der Einbau von Smart-Tönungsfenstern den Energieverbrauch eines Gebäudes um durchschnittlich 20 % im Vergleich zu herkömmlichem Glas senken und somit die Belastung der Heizungs-, Lüftungs- und Klimaanlagen reduzieren.

Auch die zunehmende Urbanisierung und Verpflichtungen zur Schonung von Ressourcen und zur Reduzierung von Treibhausgasemissionen werden einen weiteren Spielraum für die Einführung von Smart Glass in der Region schaffen. Länder wie China haben erhebliche Fortschritte bei der Entwicklung nationaler Green-Building-Standards gemacht. In den letzten Jahren hat das chinesische Ministerium für Wohnungswesen und Stadt-Land-Entwicklung im 13. Fünfjahresplan für Gebäudeenergieeffizienz und Entwicklung grüner Gebäude klare Ziele gesetzt, um die Entwicklung umweltfreundlicher Gebäude bis 2020 zu erreichen. Die chinesische Regierung hat grünes Bauen in Regierungsprojekten vorgeschrieben und auch marktbasierte Instrumente (wie Subventionen und öffentliche Beschaffung) eingesetzt, um grünes Bauen zu fördern.

In ähnlicher Weise erkennt auch der Korea Green Building Council an, dass der Einsatz umweltfreundlicher Gebäude einer der wesentlichen Faktoren im Bausektor ist, mit dem Ziel, nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Städte zu bauen. Dies wirkt sich auf die Einführung von Smart Glass in der Region aus.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Die Region Japan weist erhebliche Wachstumschancen auf dem Markt auf

Intelligentes Glas wird in der Region hauptsächlich verwendet, um das Fahrgasterlebnis im Transportsektor zu verbessern. Beispielsweise wird das Lichtkontrollglas von AGC unter Verwendung von SPD-SmartGlass von Research Frontiers in einem der Züge der Japan Railway Construction, Transport, and Technology Agency installiert. Dieses im Zug montierte Fensterglas kombiniert ein dünnes, chemisch gehärtetes Glas mit SPD-SmartGlass, um das Gewicht um 30 % zu reduzieren und den Fahrgastkomfort zu verbessern.

Es gibt zunehmende Anwendungen im Transportbereich, die eine immense Nachfrage nach intelligentem Glas in der Region schaffen. Intelligentes Glas hat eine breite Anwendung gefunden, insbesondere in der Automobilindustrie, in Schiebedächern und automatisch abblendenden Außen- und Innenrückspiegeln. Da die meisten Smart Glass-Produkte chemisch vorgespannt sind, sind sie beim Einbau in Autos weitaus leichter als das herkömmliche Glas, das im Automobilsektor verwendet wird, was den Autoherstellern hilft, die Kraftstoffeffizienz zu steigern und regionale Emissionsstandards zu erfüllen

Laut METI (Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Handel und Industrie) Japan wurden im Jahr 2020 etwa 8,07 Millionen Kraftfahrzeuge in Japan produziert, was einem leichten Rückgang gegenüber etwa 9,68 Millionen Einheiten im Vorjahr entspricht. Der Rückgang war vor allem auf den Produktionsstopp während der Covid-19-Pandemie zurückzuführen. Das Produktionsvolumen von Kraftfahrzeugen in Japan umfasste Personenkraftwagen, Lastkraftwagen und Busse, wobei Personenkraftwagen den Großteil ausmachten.

Auch im Bausektor der Region wird Smart Glass zunehmend eingesetzt. Nach Angaben des japanischen Finanzministeriums erzielte die Bauindustrie in Japan im Jahr 2020 einen Umsatz von etwa 133,9 Billionen JPY. Im Jahr 2020 wurden die gesamten Bauinvestitionen in Japan auf etwa 60,9 Billionen JPY geschätzt, wobei fast 50 % dieser Investitionen auf den Hochbau entfielen , soll nach Angaben des japanischen Ministeriums für Land, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Tourismus im Jahr 2021 auf 62,7 Billionen JPY steigen.

Fenster gelten als der ineffizienteste Teil eines Gebäudes und sind in kalten Monaten für Wärmeverluste und in warmen Monaten für Sonnenwärme verantwortlich. Einige Forscher gaben auch an, dass Sonnenlicht, das in ein Haus eindringt, die Kühllast um 20 % erhöhen könnte. In einigen Fällen kann Blendung durch die Sonne es schwierig machen, einen LCD-Bildschirm zu sehen, sodass die Jalousien heruntergezogen werden müssen, wodurch die Vorteile des natürlichen Lichts zunichte gemacht werden. Diese sollen dem Markt in der Region weitere Wachstumschancen eröffnen.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Smart Glass-Markt im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum ist fragmentiert. Verschiedene etablierte internationale Marken, inländische Marken sowie Neueinsteiger bilden eine Wettbewerbslandschaft. Die Hauptakteure streben zunehmend nach Markterweiterung durch verschiedene strategische Fusionen und Übernahmen, Innovationen und steigende Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung.

  • April 2021: SageGlass, eine Tochtergesellschaft von Saint Gobain, wurde von der Bagmane Group, einem der größten Build-to-Suit-Immobilienentwickler, ausgewählt, um eine der größten Smart-Glass-Installationen der Welt zu bauen. Das Unternehmen wird 200.000 Quadratfuß SageGlass Harmony elektrochromes Glas, Steuerungen und Software für den Rio Business Park liefern, ein 1,6 Millionen Quadratfuß großes Bürogebäude in Bangalore, Indien.
  • Oktober 2021: Das Mixed Reality (AR/MR)-Startup Thirdeye kündigte eine Partnerschaft mit dem in Hongkong ansässigen IT-Anbieter GO VR Immersive an, um die Verfügbarkeit seiner X2 MR-Smart-Brille auf den asiatisch-pazifischen Raum auszudehnen. Das Unternehmen wird mit seiner robusten MR-Lösung Headsets an APAC-Frontline-Mitarbeiter in Bildungs-, Architektur- und Industrieumgebungen liefern.

Hauptakteure

  1. Polytronix Inc

  2. PPG Industries

  3. Saint-Gobain

  4. Pulp Studio

  5. RavenBrick LLC

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Smart Glass-Markt im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum ist fragmentiert. Verschiedene etablierte internationale Marken, inländische Marken sowie Neueinsteiger bilden eine Wettbewerbslandschaft. Die Hauptakteure streben zunehmend nach Markterweiterung durch verschiedene strategische Fusionen und Übernahmen, Innovationen und steigende Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung.

  • April 2021: SageGlass, eine Tochtergesellschaft von Saint Gobain, wurde von der Bagmane Group, einem der größten Build-to-Suit-Immobilienentwickler, ausgewählt, um eine der größten Smart-Glass-Installationen der Welt zu bauen. Das Unternehmen wird 200.000 Quadratfuß SageGlass Harmony elektrochromes Glas, Steuerungen und Software für den Rio Business Park liefern, ein 1,6 Millionen Quadratfuß großes Bürogebäude in Bangalore, Indien.
  • Oktober 2021: Das Mixed Reality (AR/MR)-Startup Thirdeye kündigte eine Partnerschaft mit dem in Hongkong ansässigen IT-Anbieter GO VR Immersive an, um die Verfügbarkeit seiner X2 MR-Smart-Brille auf den asiatisch-pazifischen Raum auszudehnen. Das Unternehmen wird mit seiner robusten MR-Lösung Headsets an APAC-Frontline-Mitarbeiter in Bildungs-, Architektur- und Industrieumgebungen liefern.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing focus on Energy Conservation and Environment Friendly Technologies

      2. 5.1.2 Government Regulations

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing demand for energy savings techniques

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Lack of Awareness of Smart Glass Benefits

      2. 5.2.2 Technical Issues with the Usage of Large Size Smart Glass

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Technology

      1. 6.1.1 Suspended Particle Devices

      2. 6.1.2 Liquid Crystals

      3. 6.1.3 Electro-chromic Glass

      4. 6.1.4 Passive Smart glass

      5. 6.1.5 Active Smart glass

      6. 6.1.6 Others

    2. 6.2 Applications

      1. 6.2.1 Construction

        1. 6.2.1.1 Residential Buildings

        2. 6.2.1.2 Commercial Buildings

      2. 6.2.2 Transportation

        1. 6.2.2.1 Aerospace

        2. 6.2.2.2 Rail

        3. 6.2.2.3 Automotive

        4. 6.2.2.4 Others

      3. 6.2.3 Energy

      4. 6.2.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 6.2.5 Others

    3. 6.3 Country

      1. 6.3.1 China

      2. 6.3.2 Japan

      3. 6.3.3 India

      4. 6.3.4 South Korea

      5. 6.3.5 Rest of Asia Pacific

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Polytronix

      2. 7.1.2 PPG Industries

      3. 7.1.3 Scienstry Inc

      4. 7.1.4 Saint-Gobain

      5. 7.1.5 Pulp Studio

      6. 7.1.6 Ravenbrick

      7. 7.1.7 Nippon

      8. 7.1.8 Smartglass International

      9. 7.1.9 Pro Display

      10. 7.1.10 Gentex Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Hitachi Chemical

      12. 7.1.12 LTI Smart Glass

      13. 7.1.13 Citala

      14. 7.1.14 Asahi Glass Corporation

      15. 7.1.15 View, Inc.

  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der APAC Smart Glass Market-Markt wird von 2019 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der APAC Smart Glass-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 14 %.

Polytronix Inc, PPG Industries, Saint-Gobain, Pulp Studio und RavenBrick LLC sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Smart Glass-Markt in der APAC-Region tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market is segmented by technology (Suspended Particle Devices, Liquid Crystals, Electro-chromic Glass, Passive Smart glass, Active Smart glass), by Application (Construction {Residential Buildings, Commercial Buildings}, Transportation {Aerospace, Rail, Automotive}, Energy, Consumer Electronics), and Country.

Market Snapshot

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market
Study Period: 2019-2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 14 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

Asia Pacific smart glass market is estimated to grow at a CAGR of 14% in the forecasted period (2021-2026). The market has been gaining significant traction due to the surging demand for energy cost savings in high-end commercial offices and residential spaces in the Asia Pacific. However, the COVID-19 pandemic has significantly affected the construction activities of the residential and commercial buildings in 2020, resulting in delayed building construction projects or halted for the short term.​

With a growing focus on sustainable development, an increasing number of people have been opting for user-controlled windows in buildings. Smart glass manufacturers have been actively investing in research and development to cut production costs by implementing newer technologies and low-cost raw materials.​

There has been a great amount of research and development going on in the region on smart glasses. For instance, in recent years, researchers at Shanghai University have designed the first smart window, which can produce electricity. The window acts like a solar panel and uses Vanadium dioxide film to produce electricity. Such developments are expected to provide further growth opportunities to the market, especially in offices, residential homes, and hotels.

Also, Scientists at the Nanyang Technological University, one of Singapore's engineering research institutes, have developed a unique liquid window panel that can block sunlight to regulate solar transmission into a room. Besides this, the panel can simultaneously trap thermal heat received from sunlight, gradually release it later, and help regulate indoor temperature.

The majority of the smart glass growth in the region is expected to be observed in the building sector, taking advantage of the significant cost savings and energy efficiency. Employees and residents are looking forward to benefiting from the increased natural light and access to views of the outdoors, which can improve both their health and productivity.

However, due to the pandemic, construction projects' demand has fallen due to poor business sentiments, lower operating surpluses and incomes, diversion of funds for COVID-19 management, and liquidity problems. There has been a decrease in construction activities and supply chain disruptions that have resulted in projects being delayed or halted for the short term, restraining the market's growth.

Scope of the report

Smart glasses are special types of glasses, which can change from being clear to translucent or even pellucid to opaque. It is primarily used to block light, heat, and glare. This technology is very helpful to reduce the cost of lighting, air conditioning, curtains blinding, or heating of the room. There are two types of smart glasses: active type and passive type. The active type of smart glass responds to the electrical stimulus to make the glass, while the passive type is triggered by light or heat. Active glasses are used in sectors like architecture, healthcare, and automotive, etc. This type of smart glass uses the technologies like Suspended Particle Devices (SPDs), electrochromic devices, among others.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Construction industry is expected to have further growth opportunities in the market

Smarter construction processes and methods are influencing the construction industry in the region. As per the National Bureau of Statistics of China, it is projected that the construction revenue in China will amount to approximately USD 3.812 billion by 2024. China has become one of the largest construction markets in the world. In 2020, the construction industry value in the China region amounted to USD 1,049 billion U.S. dollars. As the government has planned to focus on improving the infrastructure in small and medium-sized cities, the construction industry is expected to maintain a continuous growth at around 5% annually, as per the National Bureau of Statistics of China.

Various initiatives for clean technology, energy conservation, and sustainable use of energy are driving the customers to use different products, which would serve their purpose. The region is considered to be the fastest-growing economic region, with countries such as China and India developing at a rapid rate. Also, the emerging economies, such as Malaysia, Singapore, and others, are experiencing growth in their industrial, construction, and infrastructural sectors. This economic development has created a need for enhanced infrastructure; thus, the construction of malls, hospitals, and other buildings is growing at a high pace. The growing construction sector in these countries is expected to influence the smart glass market.

In Singapore, buildings are the second largest energy consumers, using almost a third of the electricity. Most of the modern building facades are often as much as 80% glass, which makes them less compatible with the sustainability and energy efficiency goals, as mandated by the government, to cope with urbanization and climate change. Thus, installing smart-tinting windows can reduce a building’s energy consumption by 20%, on average, as compared to conventional glass, thus, reducing the load on the heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning systems.

Also, increasing urbanization and commitments to conserve resources and reduce greenhouse gas emissions will further create a scope for the adoption of smart glass in the region. Countries, such as China, made significant progress in developing national green building standards. In recent years, The Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of China set clear goals to achieve the development of green buildings by 2020, in the 13th Five Year Plan for Building Energy Efficiency and Green Building Development. The Chinese government has mandated green building in government projects and has also used market-based instruments (like subsidies and public procurement) to promote green building.

Similarly, Korea Green Building Council also recognizes that the deployment of green buildings is one of the essential factors in the construction sector, with an aim to build sustainable and eco-friendly cities. This is impacting the adoption of smart glass in the region.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Japan region witnesses significant growth opportunities in the market

Smart glass is primarily used in the region to improve passenger experience in the transportation sector. For instance, AGC’s light control glass, using Research Frontiers’ SPD-SmartGlass, is installed in one of the trains of the Japan Railway Construction, Transport, and Technology Agency. This window glass, mounted in the train, combines a thin, chemically-strengthened glass with SPD-SmartGlass, to reduce weight by 30% and improve passenger comfort.

There have been increasing applications in the field of transportation that are creating immense demand for smart glass in the region. Smart glass has found a large-scale application, particularly in the automotive industry, in sunroofs, and exterior and interior automatic dimming rear-view mirrors. In fact, as most of the smart glass products are chemically toughened, they are far lighter than the traditional glass used in the automotive sector when installed in automobiles, helping automakers gain more fuel efficiency and meet regional emission standards.​

According to METI (Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry) Japan, In 2020, approximately 8.07 million motor vehicles were produced in Japan, which is slightly down from about 9.68 million units in the previous year. The decrease was primarily due to the production halt during the Covid-19 pandemic. The production volume of motor vehicles in Japan included passenger cars, trucks, and buses, of which passenger cars accounted for the majority.

Smart glass is also increasingly being adopted in the construction sector in the region. According to the Ministry of Finance Japan, the construction industry in Japan generated sales of approximately JPY 133.9 trillion in 2020. In 2020, total construction investment in Japan was estimated at around JPY 60.9 trillion, with building construction accounting for almost 50% of these investments, forecasted to increase to JPY 62.7 trillion in 2021, according to the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport, and Tourism, Japan.

Windows are considered the most inefficient part of a building and are responsible for heat loss in cold months and solar heat gain in warm months. Some researchers also stated that sunlight entering a house could increase cooling loads by 20%. In some cases, glare from the sun can make it difficult to see an LCD screen, requiring the blinds to be pulled, negating the benefits of natural light. These are expected to bring further growth opportunities to the market in the region.

Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market

Competitive Landscape

The Asia Pacific Smart Glass Market is fragmented. Various established international brands, domestic brands, as well as new entrants, form a competitive landscape. The major players are increasingly seeking market expansion through various strategic mergers and acquisitions, innovation, increasing investments in research and development.

  • April 2021: SageGlass, a subsidiary of Saint Gobain, was chosen by Bagmane Group, one of the largest build-to-suit real estate developers, to create one of the largest smart glass installations in the world. The company will provide 200,000 square feet of SageGlass Harmony electrochromic glass, controls, and software for Rio Business Park, a 1.6 million square foot office development in Bangalore, India.
  • October 2021: Mixed reality (AR/MR) startup Thirdeye announced a partnership with Hong Kong-based IT vendor GO VR Immersive to expand the availability of its X2 MR smart glasses to the Asia-Pacific region. The company will be supplying headsets to APAC frontline workers in education, architecture, and industrial environments with their rugged MR solution.

Recent Developments

  • September 2021: Xiaomi launched its own smart glasses, which are capable of taking photos, displaying messages and notifications, making calls, providing navigation, and translating text right in real-time in front of eyes. The glasses also have an indicator light that shows when the 5-megapixel camera is in use.
  • September 2021: Facebook Inc, in partnership with Ray-Ban, launched its first smart glasses named 'Ray-Ban Stories' that allow wearers to listen to music, take calls, or capture photos and short videos and share them across Facebook's services using a companion app.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing focus on Energy Conservation and Environment Friendly Technologies

      2. 5.1.2 Government Regulations

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing demand for energy savings techniques

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Lack of Awareness of Smart Glass Benefits

      2. 5.2.2 Technical Issues with the Usage of Large Size Smart Glass

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Technology

      1. 6.1.1 Suspended Particle Devices

      2. 6.1.2 Liquid Crystals

      3. 6.1.3 Electro-chromic Glass

      4. 6.1.4 Passive Smart glass

      5. 6.1.5 Active Smart glass

      6. 6.1.6 Others

    2. 6.2 Applications

      1. 6.2.1 Construction

        1. 6.2.1.1 Residential Buildings

        2. 6.2.1.2 Commercial Buildings

      2. 6.2.2 Transportation

        1. 6.2.2.1 Aerospace

        2. 6.2.2.2 Rail

        3. 6.2.2.3 Automotive

        4. 6.2.2.4 Others

      3. 6.2.3 Energy

      4. 6.2.4 Consumer Electronics

      5. 6.2.5 Others

    3. 6.3 Country

      1. 6.3.1 China

      2. 6.3.2 Japan

      3. 6.3.3 India

      4. 6.3.4 South Korea

      5. 6.3.5 Rest of Asia Pacific

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Polytronix

      2. 7.1.2 PPG Industries

      3. 7.1.3 Scienstry Inc

      4. 7.1.4 Saint-Gobain

      5. 7.1.5 Pulp Studio

      6. 7.1.6 Ravenbrick

      7. 7.1.7 Nippon

      8. 7.1.8 Smartglass International

      9. 7.1.9 Pro Display

      10. 7.1.10 Gentex Corporation

      11. 7.1.11 Hitachi Chemical

      12. 7.1.12 LTI Smart Glass

      13. 7.1.13 Citala

      14. 7.1.14 Asahi Glass Corporation

      15. 7.1.15 View, Inc.

  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The APAC Smart Glass Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The APAC Smart Glass Market is growing at a CAGR of 14% over the next 5 years.

Polytronix Inc, PPG Industries, Saint-Gobain, Pulp Studio, RavenBrick LLC are the major companies operating in APAC Smart Glass Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!