Marché des engrais potassiques – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des engrais potassiques est segmenté par type (muriate de potasse, sulfate de potasse et autres types), application (grains et céréales, légumineuses et oléagineux, cultures commerciales, fruits et légumes et autres applications) et géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Sud et Afrique). L'estimation et les prévisions du marché seraient fournies en termes de valeur (millions USD).

Aperçu du marché

Potash Fertilizer Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 4.8 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial des engrais potassiques devrait enregistrer un TCAC de 4,8 % au cours de la période de prévision (2021-2026).

L'impact de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur le marché des engrais potassiques a été minime, principalement en raison des barrières de transport. Les restrictions de confinement ont été exemptées par le gouvernement pour tous les types d'activités agricoles. Par conséquent, il n'y a pas eu un tel effet de l'épidémie de coronavirus. En effet, les entreprises agrochimiques ont réalisé des bénéfices à deux chiffres par rapport à l'année dernière en raison du comportement d'achat de panique des agriculteurs.

L'augmentation de la carence en sol, la facilité d'utilisation et la fourniture d'une application uniforme, associées à une demande croissante pour une production accrue de cultures vivrières, devraient stimuler la croissance du marché des engrais potassiques L'engrais potassique requis dépend du type de cultures cultivées car l'absorption de potassium varie entre cultures et sols différents. Comme l'agriculture de précision est connue pour minimiser les pertes de nutriments en permettant l'application d'engrais à taux variable, la demande pour ces engrais potassiques liquides devrait augmenter dans les années à venir.

Selon le gouvernement du Canada, la production mondiale de potasse était estimée à près de 69,2 millions de tonnes en 2020. Le Canada est le plus grand producteur de potasse au monde, représentant 32 % du total mondial en 2020. Quatre pays (Canada, Russie, Biélorussie et Chine ) représentaient environ 80 % de la production mondiale de potasse en 2020. Le potassium est un nutriment majeur requis à fortes doses par les plantes. Avec l'augmentation de la demande alimentaire et l'augmentation de la production due à l'augmentation de la population, le marché des engrais liquides potassiques devrait connaître une croissance significative au cours des prochaines années.

Portée du rapport

La quantité de potasse dans le sol est quantifiée en termes de dioxyde de potassium (K2O). Le rapport actuel estime la taille du marché des engrais potassiques au niveau de l'agriculteur. La forme la plus courante d'engrais potassique utilisée par les agriculteurs du monde entier est le muriate de potasse (chlorure de potassium). Une autre forme d'engrais potassique disponible sur les marchés est un sulfate de potasse (sulfate de potassium), qui est utilisé dans une moindre mesure. Le marché des engrais potassiques est segmenté par type (muriate de potasse, sulfate de potasse et autres types), application (grains et céréales, légumineuses et oléagineux, cultures commerciales, fruits et légumes et autres applications) et géographie (Amérique du Nord, Europe, Asie-Pacifique, Amérique du Sud et Afrique). L'estimation et les prévisions du marché seraient fournies en termes de valeur (millions USD).

Type
Muriate of Potash
Sulfate of Potash
Other Types
Application
Grains and Cereals
Pulses and Oilseeds
Commercial Crops
Fruits and Vegetables
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Spain
France
Italy
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Australia
Japan
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Africa
South Africa
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Demande de cultures vivrières et besoin d'un rendement plus élevé

La carence en potassium est difficile à remarquer, car diverses plantes/cultures présentent cette carence différemment. Dans le cas du maïs et d'autres céréales telles que le sorgho, des brûlures ou des brûlures apparaissent sur le bord extérieur des feuilles plus âgées. Une carence en potassium est couramment observée dans la plupart des sols des marchés en développement, qui cultivent de grandes superficies de riz, de maïs et de blé. Par conséquent, les agriculteurs utilisent des engrais potassiques pour minimiser les carences en potassium et augmenter leur productivité, ce qui stimule davantage la croissance du marché étudié.

Le maïs est une culture majeure cultivée commercialement aux États-Unis. Les applications d'engrais potassique liquide fonctionnent mieux que la potasse appliquée à la volée pour les céréales et les grains, comme le maïs. L'engrais potassique liquide peut être mélangé avec d'autres nutriments liquides et peut être soumis à la configuration de l'irrigation pour constituer une application nutritionnelle complète au moment du planteur, ce qui peut aider à éviter des déplacements supplémentaires sur le terrain pour épandre l'engrais séché, ce qui nécessite de la main-d'œuvre. et entraîne des retards de semis.

De plus, la fertilisation de démarrage est une pratique courante dans la culture du maïs pour stimuler la croissance. Selon un article publié par la FAO, l'application foliaire d'une solution de nitrate de potassium à une concentration de 2,5 % et l'application sur toutes les parties aériennes du maïs ont été jugées les plus efficaces. Avec l'utilisation croissante des engrais dans la production de diverses céréales pour satisfaire la demande alimentaire croissante, le marché devrait connaître une croissance au cours de la période de prévision.

postash fertilizer

L'Asie-Pacifique est en tête du marché mondial des engrais à base de potasse

Le potassium est extrait des gisements de sel. L'Asie-Pacifique représente une part importante du segment des engrais potassiques. La Chine, l'Indonésie, la Malaisie et l'Inde sont les plus grands exportateurs de potasse sur le marché international. Les pays d'Asie enregistrent une croissance du segment des engrais potassiques, car ils connaissent des besoins croissants pour les cultures. De plus, ces pays ont toujours été sous-épandus d'engrais potassiques, par rapport aux niveaux scientifiquement recommandés d'application d'engrais potassiques. En outre, ces dernières années, une carence en potassium a été observée dans l'est de l'Australie dans des cultures cultivées sur des types de sols plus lourds considérés comme contenant une quantité modérée de potassium dans le sol. 

En Chine, la carence en K dans le sol est reconnue comme l'un des facteurs limitants de la production agricole, et la plupart des engrais potassiques appliqués sont importés. Par conséquent, l'amélioration de la production agricole tout en améliorant la carence en K nécessiterait l'application d'engrais potassique, créant ainsi une demande plus élevée. Propulsant ainsi la croissance du marché.

Potash Fertilizer Market

Paysage concurrentiel

L'industrie des engrais potassiques est fortement consolidée, les principaux acteurs occupant la majorité du marché. En 2021, les principales entreprises impliquées sur le marché des engrais potassiques au niveau mondial étaient Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, JSC Belaruskali, Uralkali PJSC et Intrepid Potash Inc.

Paysage concurrentiel

L'industrie des engrais potassiques est fortement consolidée, les principaux acteurs occupant la majorité du marché. En 2021, les principales entreprises impliquées sur le marché des engrais potassiques au niveau mondial étaient Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, JSC Belaruskali, Uralkali PJSC et Intrepid Potash Inc.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Muriate of Potash

      2. 5.1.2 Sulfate of Potash

      3. 5.1.3 Other Types

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Grains and Cereals

      2. 5.2.2 Pulses and Oilseeds

      3. 5.2.3 Commercial Crops

      4. 5.2.4 Fruits and Vegetables

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.3.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 Spain

        4. 5.3.2.4 France

        5. 5.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 5.3.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.3.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 India

        3. 5.3.3.3 Australia

        4. 5.3.3.4 Japan

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 South America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.3.5 Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 South Africa

        2. 5.3.5.2 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Nutrien Limited

      2. 6.3.2 The Mosaic Company

      3. 6.3.3 JSC Belaruskali

      4. 6.3.4 ICL Group

      5. 6.3.5 K+S Group

      6. 6.3.6 Uralkali PJSC

      7. 6.3.7 Intrepid Potash Inc.

      8. 6.3.8 Sinofert Holding Limited

      9. 6.3.9 EuroChem Group

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. AN ASSESSMENT OF THE COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché des engrais potassiques est étudié de 2017 à 2027.

Le marché des engrais potassiques croît à un TCAC de 4,8 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Asie-Pacifique détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Uralkali PJSC, Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, K+S Group, ICL Group sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché des engrais potassiques.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Potash Fertilizer Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Potash Fertilizer Market is segmented by Type (Muriate of Potash, Sulfate of Potash, and Other Types), Application (Grains and Cereals, Pulses and Oilseeds, Commercial Crops, Fruits and Vegetables, and Other Applications), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and Africa). Market estimation and forecasts would be provided in terms of value (USD million).

Market Snapshot

potash fertilizer size
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: Asia Pacific
CAGR: 4.8 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The potash fertilizer market is projected to register a CAGR of 4.1% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the potash fertilizer market has been minimal, mainly due to transportation barriers. The lockdown restrictions have been exempted by the government for all types of agricultural activities. Hence, there has been no such effect of the coronavirus outbreak. Indeed, the agrochemical companies have made double-digit profits as compared to last year due to the panic buying behavior of farmers.

Increasing soil deficiency, ease of use, and providing uniform application, coupled with growing demand for more production of food crops, are expected to drive the growth of the potassium fertilizers market. The potash fertilizer required depends on the type of crops grown because potassium uptake varies between crops and different soils. As precision agriculture is known to minimize nutrient losses by enabling the variable-rate fertilizer application, the demand for these liquid potassium fertilizers is anticipated to rise in the forthcoming years.

According to the government of Canada, global potash production was estimated at almost 69.2 million ton in 2020. Canada is the world’s largest potash producer, accounting for 32% of the world’s total in 2020. Four countries (Canada, Russia, Belarus, and China) accounted for approximately 80% of the world’s potash production in 2020. Potassium is a major nutrient required in high doses by plants. With the increasing demand for food and increased production due to the increasing population, the potassium liquid fertilizer market is anticipated to grow significantly during the coming years.

Scope of the Report

Potash quantity in the soil is quantified in terms of potassium dioxide (K2O). The current report estimates the size of the potash fertilizer market at the farmer's level. The most common form of potash fertilizers used by farmers across the world is muriate of potash (potassium chloride). Another form of potash fertilizer available in markets is a sulfate of potash (potassium sulfate), which is used to a lesser extent. The potash fertilizer market is segmented by type (muriate of potash, sulfate of potash, and other types), application (grains and cereals, pulses and oilseeds, commercial crops, fruits and vegetables, and other applications), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, South America, and Africa). Market estimation and forecasts would be provided in terms of value (USD million).

Type
Muriate of Potash
Sulfate of Potash
Other Types
Application
Grains and Cereals
Pulses and Oilseeds
Commercial Crops
Fruits and Vegetables
Other Applications
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Mexico
Rest of North America
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
Spain
France
Italy
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
India
Australia
Japan
Rest of Asia-Pacific
South America
Brazil
Argentina
Rest of South America
Africa
South Africa
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Demand for Food Crops and the Need for Higher Crop Yield

Potassium deficiency is difficult to notice, as various plants/crops display this deficiency differently. In the case of maize and other cereals such as sorghum, firing or scorching appears on the outer edge of older leaves. Potassium deficiency is commonly noticed in most soils across developing markets, which grow large acreages of rice, maize, and wheat. Therefore, farmers are using potash fertilizers to minimize potassium deficiencies and increase their productivity, which is further driving the growth of the market studied.

Corn is a major crop grown commercially in the United States. Applications of liquid potassium fertilizer work better than broadcast applied potash for cereals and grains, like corn. Liquid potassium fertilizer can be blended with other liquid nutrition and can be subjected to the irrigation set-up to make up a complete planter-time nutrition application that can help in avoiding extra trips over the field to spread the dried fertilizer, which takes manpower and causes planting delays.

Further, starter fertilization is a common practice in corn cultivation to boost growth. According to an article released by the FAO, the foliar application of potassium nitrate solution at a concentration of 2.5% and the application to all the aerial parts of corn were determined to be the most effective. With the rising usage of fertilizers in the production of various cereals to satisfy the growing food demand, the market is anticipated to experience growth during the forecast period.

potash fertilizer market growth

Asia-Pacific Leads the Potash Fertilizer Market

Potassium is mined from salt deposits. Asia-Pacific accounts for a prominent share of the potash fertilizer segment. China, Indonesia, Malaysia, and India are the largest potash exporters in the international market. The countries in Asia are recoding growth in the potash fertilizer segment, as they are witnessing increasing requirements for crops. In addition, these countries have historically been under-applied potash fertilizers compared to scientifically recommended levels of potash fertilizer application. Furthermore, in recent years, potassium deficiency has been observed in eastern Australia in crops grown on heavier soil types considered to contain a moderate amount of potassium in the soil.

In China, K deficiency in the soil is recognized as one of the limiting factors for agricultural production, and most of the potassium fertilizer applied is imported. Therefore, enhancing agricultural production while improving K deficiency would necessitate the application of potassium fertilizer, thus creating higher demand and propelling the market growth.

potash fertilizers market analysis

Competitive Landscape

The potash fertilizer industry is highly consolidated, with the top players occupying the majority of the market. In 2021, the top companies involved in the potash fertilizers market at the global level were Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, JSC Belaruskali, Uralkali PJSC, and Intrepid Potash Inc.

Major Players

  1. Uralkali PJSC

  2. Nutrien Limited

  3. The Mosaic Company

  4. K+S Group

  5. ICL Group

Uralkali PJSC, Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, K+S Group, ICL Group.

Recent Developments

In March 2021, ICL Fertilizers acquired Compass Minerals América do Sul SA, a leading specialty plant nutrition business in Brazil. This acquisition will help the company strengthen its liquid potash fertilizer product portfolio, especially in South America.

In 2021, Saskatchewan Mining and Minerals Inc. started the construction of a USD 220 million expansion, which is expected to be completed in late 2023. The plant will allow the sodium sulfate plant to produce 150,000 ton of sulfate potash fertilizer, or SOP, each year. This is a new product for the company and will combine sodium sulfate with Saskatchewan-produced potash.

In November 2019, Nutrien expanded its annual production capacity by 5 million ton after 2023 since the global demand for potash, as a key nutrient for corn and sugarcane crops, has risen gradually.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Muriate of Potash

      2. 5.1.2 Sulfate of Potash

      3. 5.1.3 Other Types

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Grains and Cereals

      2. 5.2.2 Pulses and Oilseeds

      3. 5.2.3 Commercial Crops

      4. 5.2.4 Fruits and Vegetables

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico

        4. 5.3.1.4 Rest of North America

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 5.3.2.3 Spain

        4. 5.3.2.4 France

        5. 5.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 5.3.2.6 Russia

        7. 5.3.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China

        2. 5.3.3.2 India

        3. 5.3.3.3 Australia

        4. 5.3.3.4 Japan

        5. 5.3.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.3.4 South America

        1. 5.3.4.1 Brazil

        2. 5.3.4.2 Argentina

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of South America

      5. 5.3.5 Africa

        1. 5.3.5.1 South Africa

        2. 5.3.5.2 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Nutrien Limited

      2. 6.3.2 The Mosaic Company

      3. 6.3.3 JSC Belaruskali

      4. 6.3.4 ICL Group

      5. 6.3.5 K+S Group

      6. 6.3.6 Uralkali PJSC

      7. 6.3.7 Intrepid Potash Inc.

      8. 6.3.8 Sinofert Holding Limited

      9. 6.3.9 EuroChem Group

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. AN ASSESSMENT OF THE COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Potash Fertilizer Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Potash Fertilizer Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.8% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

Asia Pacific holds highest share in 2021.

Uralkali PJSC, Nutrien Limited, The Mosaic Company, K+S Group, ICL Group are the major companies operating in Potash Fertilizer Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!