Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) ist nach Anwendung (Wachstumshormonmangel, Turner-Syndrom, idiopathischer Kleinwuchs, Prader-Willi-Syndrom und andere Anwendungen), Vertriebskanal (Krankenhäuser und Einzelhandelsapotheken, Online-Apotheken und andere Vertriebskanäle) unterteilt. , und Geographie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Overview
Study Period: 2018-2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 8.61 %
Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für menschliche Wachstumshormone verzeichnete im Jahr 2020 eine Marktgröße von 4.632,54 Mio. USD und wird voraussichtlich bis 2026 7.567,74 Mio. USD erreichen, was einer CAGR von 8,61 % im Prognosezeitraum 2021-2026 entspricht.

Laut einem Forschungsartikel von Mohamed Hamdy Elkarow et al., der im November 2020 im Frontiers in Endocrinology Journal veröffentlicht wurde, stellen Patienten mit verminderter Wachstumshormonsekretion einen Risikofaktor für den Schweregrad von COVID-19 dar, was die Aufmerksamkeit auf vorbeugende Maßnahmen bei anfälligen Personen erfordert.

Darüber hinaus sollten Patienten mit Prader-Willi-Syndrom zusätzliche Vorsichtsmaßnahmen treffen, um das Risiko einer Ansteckung mit COVID-19 zu minimieren. Darüber hinaus zeigen Patienten mit Prader-Willi-Syndrom möglicherweise keine typischen Symptome wie hohes Fieber, und sie können auch eine überdurchschnittliche Schmerzschwelle erfahren, was die Diagnose von COVID-19 verzögern kann.

Zu den Hauptfaktoren, die das Marktwachstum antreiben, gehören die Entwicklung rekombinanter Human-Wachstumshormon-Medikamente, die Zunahme von Fällen von Hypophysenfunktionsstörungen und der zunehmende Off-Label-Einsatz von Human-Wachstumshormonen.

Beim Menschen wird der Wachstumshormonmangel verursacht, wenn die Hypophyse keine ausreichende Konzentration an menschlichen Wachstumshormonen synthetisiert. Dieser Mangel wird durch Verabreichung rekombinanter menschlicher Wachstumshormone durch subkutane Injektion behandelt. Verschiedene genetische Störungen wie das Prader-Willi-Syndrom und das Turner-Syndrom können ebenfalls einen Wachstumshormonmangel verursachen, der zu einer verzögerten Pubertät und einer unterdurchschnittlichen Körpergröße führt.

Das Turner-Syndrom, auch bekannt als angeborenes Ovarialhypoplasie-Syndrom, tritt auf, wenn das X-Chromosom bei Frauen teilweise oder vollständig fehlt. Laut einem Forschungsartikel von Xiaoxiao Cui et al., der im Intractable & Rare Diseases Research Journal 2018 veröffentlicht wurde, ist das Turner-Syndrom (TS) weltweit eine relativ häufige Art der menschlichen Chromosomenaberration, die bei 1:2.500 lebenden weiblichen Geburten auftritt.

Das menschliche Wachstumshormon hilft, die Regeneration, Fortpflanzung und das Wachstum zu stimulieren. Der zunehmende Einsatz von Wachstumshormonen und das Bewusstsein für Wachstumshormone, das bei der Behandlung von Wachstumshormonmangelerkrankungen hilft, kurbeln das Marktwachstum an.

Darüber hinaus investieren die meisten Unternehmen in Forschung und Entwicklung, um ein Wachstumshormon zu entwickeln, das weniger Nebenwirkungen hat und eine lang wirkende Hormontherapie darstellt. Darüber hinaus wird erwartet, dass die schnelle Entwicklung neuer neuartiger rekombinanter menschlicher Wachstumshormone den Markt für menschliche Wachstumshormone im Prognosezeitraum antreiben wird.

Umfang des Berichts

Gemäß dem Umfang des Berichts ist das menschliche Wachstumshormon, auch bekannt als Somatotropin, ein Peptidhormon, das Wachstum, Zellreproduktion und Zellregeneration stimuliert. Der Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) ist nach Anwendung (Wachstumshormonmangel, Turner-Syndrom, idiopathischer Kleinwuchs, Prader-Willi-Syndrom und andere Anwendungen), Vertriebskanal (Krankenhäuser und Einzelhandelsapotheken, Online-Apotheken und andere Vertriebskanäle) segmentiert. , und Geographie (Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Naher Osten und Afrika sowie Südamerika). Der Bericht bietet den Wert (in Mio. USD) für die oben genannten Segmente.

By Application
Growth Hormone Deficiency
Turner Syndrome
Idiopathic Short Stature
Prader-Willi Syndrome
Other Applications
By Distribution Channel
Hospitals and Retail Pharmacies
Online Pharmacies
Other Distribution Channels
Geography
North America
United States (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Canada (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Mexico (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Europe
Germany (By Application and Distribution Channel)
United Kingdom (By Application and Distribution Channel)
France (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Italy (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Spain (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Europe (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Asia-Pacific
China (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Japan (By Application and Distribution Channel)
India (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Australia (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South Korea (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Middle-East and Africa
GCC (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Middle-East and Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South America
Brazil (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Argentina (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of South America (By Application and Distribution Channel)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Es wird erwartet, dass das Turner-Syndrom-Segment im Prognosezeitraum einen bedeutenden Marktanteil halten wird

Das Turner-Syndrom ist eine seltene Chromosomenstörung, die Frauen betrifft. Es ist durch den teilweisen oder vollständigen Verlust eines der X-Chromosomen gekennzeichnet. Zu den Symptomen des Turner-Syndroms gehören ein breiter Hals und ein niedriger oder undeutlicher Haaransatz, eine Tendenz zur Entwicklung von Bluthochdruck, geringfügige Augenprobleme, herabhängende Augenlider und eine Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse.

Personen mit Turner-Syndrom haben ein höheres Risiko für schwere Erkrankungen durch das COVID-19-Virus. Darüber hinaus leiden Turner-Syndrom-Patienten häufig an angeborenen Herzfehlern, einschließlich einer bikuspiden Aortenklappe. Herzerkrankungen sind eine zugrunde liegende Erkrankung, die zu schweren Komplikationen durch COVID-19 führen kann.

Laut einem Forschungsartikel von Xiaoxiao Cui et al. Das in Intractable & Rare Diseases Research 2018 veröffentlichte Turner-Syndrom (TS) ist eine relativ häufige Form der menschlichen Chromosomenaberration, die bei 1:2.500 lebenden weiblichen Geburten auftritt. Es ist in China weit verbreitet.

Da das Turner-Syndrom mit vielen Komplikationen im Zusammenhang mit Herz, Autoimmunerkrankungen, psychischen Problemen, Hörverlust, Unfruchtbarkeit und Schwangerschaftskomplikationen verbunden ist, steigt die Nachfrage nach Behandlungen mit Wachstumshormonen, was das Marktwachstum ankurbelt.

Es wird erwartet, dass das zunehmende Bewusstsein für die Früherkennung und Behandlung des Turner-Syndroms durch verschiedene öffentliche und private Organisationen das Marktwachstum ankurbeln wird. Zum Beispiel feiern gemeinnützige Organisationen wie die Turner Syndrome Support Society United Kingdom, die Turner Syndrome Society of the United States und die Turner Syndrom Foundation jedes Jahr im Februar den „Turner Syndrome Awareness Month“ und starteten eine landesweite Kampagne, um das Bewusstsein für die Krankheit zu schärfen .

Darüber hinaus wirkt sich die zunehmende Forschung und Entwicklung bei der Entwicklung wirksamer Therapeutika für das Turner-Syndrom (TS) positiv auf das Marktwachstum aus. Laut der in Intractable & Rare Diseases Research 2018 veröffentlichten Forschungsstudie wird die nächste Generation der Behandlung des Turner-Syndroms (TS) beispielsweise auf Stammzellen und regenerativer Medizin basieren. Unter Berücksichtigung der oben genannten Faktoren wird daher erwartet, dass der Markt im Prognosezeitraum ein deutliches Wachstum verzeichnen wird.

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Share

Es wird erwartet, dass Nordamerika den Markt im Prognosezeitraum dominieren wird

Zu den Hauptfaktoren, die das Marktwachstum in den Vereinigten Staaten vorantreiben, gehören zunehmende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten, günstige Erstattungsrichtlinien, eine etablierte Gesundheitsinfrastruktur, bedeutende Regierungsinitiativen und ein wachsendes Bewusstsein für das Gesundheitswesen.

Laut den Registerdaten der Foundation for Prader-Willi Research vom August 2020 hatte COVID-19 bei Menschen mit dem Prader-Willi-Syndrom aufgrund von COVID-19-bedingten Einschränkungen in den Vereinigten Staaten Auswirkungen auf den Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung und Therapien. Darüber hinaus wirkten sich Einschränkungen im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 auch auf den vorübergehenden Zugang zu körperlichen, beruflichen, sprachlichen und psychologischen Therapien aus. Der Zugang zu Therapien im Zusammenhang mit dem Prader-Willi-Syndrom ging um 60–80 % zurück.

Laut einem im Genes Journal 2019 veröffentlichten Forschungsartikel von Jessica Bohonowych et al. ist das Prader-Willi-Syndrom (PWS) eine seltene genetische Störung mit einer geschätzten Prävalenz von etwa 10.000 bis 20.000 lebenden Personen in den Vereinigten Staaten.

Laut der American Academy of Pediatrics ist Wachstumshormonmangel eine seltene Erkrankung, die weniger als eines von 3.000 bis zu einem von 10.000 Kindern in den Vereinigten Staaten betrifft. Rekombinantes Wachstumshormon ist für chronische Niereninsuffizienz, Wachstumshormonmangel (GHD), Gestationsalter oder intrauterine Wachstumsverzögerung, Turner-Syndrom, Prader-Willi-Syndrom und Kachexie in den Vereinigten Staaten weit verbreitet.

Darüber hinaus wird erwartet, dass das zunehmende Bewusstsein für Wachstumshormonmangel und -behandlung das Marktwachstum ankurbeln wird. Beispielsweise feiert die International Coalition of Organizations Supporting Endocrine Patients (ICOSEP) jedes Jahr den Children's Growth Awareness Day, um das Bewusstsein für die Früherkennung und Behandlung von Wachstumshormonstörungen zu schärfen.

Zunehmende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten bei der Entwicklung wirksamer Therapeutika führen zu einer steigenden Zahl von Pipeline-Medikamenten. Beispielsweise gaben Pfizer Inc. und sein Partner OPKO Health Inc. im Oktober 2019 bekannt, dass ihre Phase-III-Studie zur Untersuchung von Somatrogon bei präpubertären Kindern mit menschlichem Wachstumshormon ihren primären Endpunkt der Nicht-Unterlegenheit gegenüber täglichem Somatropin erreicht hat. Daher wird erwartet, dass Nordamerika aufgrund der oben genannten Faktoren im Prognosezeitraum ein Wachstum verzeichnen wird.

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Growth Rate By Region

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für menschliche Wachstumshormone ist mäßig konsolidiert, wobei einige wenige Marktteilnehmer einen erheblichen Marktanteil kontrollieren. Darüber hinaus gibt es mehrere aktive Partnerschaften für die Entwicklung wirksamerer und länger wirkender Subtypen menschlicher Wachstumshormone. Einige der wichtigsten Marktteilnehmer sind AnkeBio Co. Ltd, Eli Lilly and Company, Ferring BV, Novo Nordisk AS, Ipsen SA, Pfizer Inc., Genentech Inc. (Roche) und Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.

Key Market Player Analysis

In February 2021, Pfizer Inc. initiated a Phase III clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of somatropin in a cohort of Japanese participants with Prader-Willi Syndrome (PWS).

In October 2020, Erasmus Medical Center, in collaboration with Pfizer, Foundation for Prader-Willi Research, and Prader-Willi Fonds, initiated a Phase III clinical trial to assess the effect of growth hormone treatment (Genotropin) on physical and psychosocial health in adults of 30 years or older with Prader-Willi syndrome.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Development of Recombinant Human Growth Hormone Drugs

      2. 4.2.2 Rise in Pituitary Dysfunction Cases

      3. 4.2.3 Rising Off-label Use of Human Growth Hormones

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Adverse Effects Associated with Human Growth Hormones

      2. 4.3.2 Stringent Regulatory Processes

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application

      1. 5.1.1 Growth Hormone Deficiency

      2. 5.1.2 Turner Syndrome

      3. 5.1.3 Idiopathic Short Stature

      4. 5.1.4 Prader-Willi Syndrome

      5. 5.1.5 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.2.1 Hospitals and Retail Pharmacies

      2. 5.2.2 Online Pharmacies

      3. 5.2.3 Other Distribution Channels

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.2.3 France (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.3.3 India (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      4. 5.3.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America (By Application and Distribution Channel)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 AnkeBio Co. Ltd

      2. 6.1.2 EMD Serono Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 F.Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      4. 6.1.4 Ferring BV

      5. 6.1.5 Ipsen SA

      6. 6.1.6 Eli Lilly and Company

      7. 6.1.7 Novo Nordisk AS

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Sandoz International GmbH (Novartis AG)

      11. 6.1.11 Strongbridge Biopharma

      12. 6.1.12 GeneScience Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd

      13. 6.1.13 Sinobioway Hygene Biomedicine Co. Ltd

      14. 6.1.14 Aeterna Zentaris

      15. 6.1.15 LG Life Sciences

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der globale Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der globale Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 8,61 %.

Der globale Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) wird im Jahr 2018 auf 4632 Millionen USD geschätzt.

Der globale Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) wird im Jahr 2026 auf 7567 Millionen USD geschätzt.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

AnkeBio Co. Ltd, Eli Lilly and Company, Ferring BV, Novo Nordisk AS, Ipsen SA sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem globalen Markt für menschliches Wachstumshormon (HGH) tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market is Segmented by Application (Growth Hormone Deficiency, Turner Syndrome, Idiopathic Short Stature, Prader-Willi Syndrome, and Other Applications), Distribution Channel (Hospitals and Retail Pharmacies, Online Pharmacies, and Other Distribution Channels), and Geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

Market Snapshot

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Overview
Study Period: 2018-2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 8.61 %
Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The human growth hormone market registered a market size of USD 4,632.54 million in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 7,567.74 million by 2026, registering a CAGR of 8.61% during the forecast period, 2021-2026.

According to a research article by Mohamed Hamdy Elkarow et al., published in the Frontiers in Endocrinology Journal November 2020, patients with decreased growth hormone secretion constitute a risk factor for COVID-19 severity, which requires attention toward preventive measures in susceptible individuals.

In addition, patients with Prader-Willi syndrome should take extra precautions to minimize the risk of getting COVID-19. Moreover, Prader-Willi syndrome patients may not show typical symptoms such as a high temperature, and they may also experience a higher-than-normal pain threshold, which may delay the diagnosis of COVID-19.

The major factors driving the market growth include the development of recombinant human growth hormone drugs, rise in pituitary dysfunction cases, and rising off-label use of human growth hormones.

In humans, the growth hormone deficiency is caused when the pituitary gland does not synthesize enough concentration of human growth hormones. This deficiency is treated by administering recombinant human growth hormones by subcutaneous injection. Various genetic disorders such as Prader-Willi syndrome and Turner syndrome may also cause growth hormone deficiency, leading to delayed puberty and shorter-than-average height.

Turner syndrome, also known as congenital ovarian hypoplasia syndrome, occurs when the X chromosome is partially or completely missing in females. According to a research article by Xiaoxiao Cui et al., published in the Intractable & Rare Diseases Research Journal 2018, globally, Turner syndrome (TS) is a relatively common type of human chromosomal aberration that occurs in 1:2,500 live female births.

The human growth hormone helps to stimulate regeneration, reproduction, and growth. Rising use of growth hormones and awareness about growth hormones, which helps in the management of growth hormone deficiency disorders, are boosting the market growth.

Furthermore, most companies are investing in R&D to develop a growth hormone that has fewer side effects and will be a long-acting hormonal therapy. In addition, the rapid development of new novel recombinant human growth hormones is expected to drive the human growth hormone market over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

As per the scope of the report, the human growth hormone, also known as somatotropin, is a peptide hormone that stimulates growth, cell reproduction, and cell regeneration. The human growth hormone (HGH) market is segmented by application (growth hormone deficiency, Turner syndrome, idiopathic short stature, Prader-Willi syndrome, and other applications), distribution channel (hospitals and retail pharmacies, online pharmacies, and other distribution channels), and geography (North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Middle-East and Africa, and South America). The report offers the value (in USD million) for the above segments.

By Application
Growth Hormone Deficiency
Turner Syndrome
Idiopathic Short Stature
Prader-Willi Syndrome
Other Applications
By Distribution Channel
Hospitals and Retail Pharmacies
Online Pharmacies
Other Distribution Channels
Geography
North America
United States (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Canada (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Mexico (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Europe
Germany (By Application and Distribution Channel)
United Kingdom (By Application and Distribution Channel)
France (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Italy (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Spain (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Europe (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Asia-Pacific
China (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Japan (By Application and Distribution Channel)
India (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Australia (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South Korea (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Middle-East and Africa
GCC (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of Middle-East and Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)
South America
Brazil (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Argentina (By Application and Distribution Channel)
Rest of South America (By Application and Distribution Channel)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

The Turner Syndrome Segment is Expected to Hold a Significant Market Share Over the Forecast Period

Turner syndrome is a rare chromosomal disorder that affects females. It is characterized by the partial or complete loss of one of the X chromosomes. The symptoms of Turner syndrome include a wide neck and a low or indistinct hairline, a tendency to develop high blood pressure, minor eye problems, drooping of the eyelids, and an under-active thyroid gland.

Individuals with Turner syndrome are at higher risk of severe illnesses from the COVID-19 virus. In addition, Turner syndrome patients often suffer from congenital heart disease, including having a bicuspid aortic valve. Heart disease is an underlying medical condition that can result in severe complications from COVID-19.

According to a research article by Xiaoxiao Cui et al. published in the Intractable & Rare Diseases Research 2018, Turner syndrome (TS) is a relatively common type of human chromosomal aberration that occurs in 1:2,500 live female births. It is highly prevalent in China.

Since Turner syndrome is associated with many complications related to heart, autoimmune disorders, mental health issues, hearing loss, infertility, and pregnancy complications, the demand for treatment involving growth hormones is increasing, which is boosting the market growth.

Increasing awareness about early diagnosis and treatment of Turner syndrome by various public and private organizations is expected to boost the market growth. For instance, non-profit organizations such as Turner Syndrome Support Society United Kingdom, Turner Syndrome Society of the United States, and Turner Syndrome Foundation celebrate “Turner Syndrome Awareness Month” in February every year and launched a nationwide campaign to spread awareness about the condition.

Furthermore, increasing research and development in the development of effective therapeutics for Turner syndrome (TS) show a positive impact on the market growth. For instance, as per the research study published in the Intractable & Rare Diseases Research 2018, the next generation of treatment for Turner syndrome (TS) will be based on stem cells and regenerative medicine. Thus, considering the above factors, the market is expected to witness significant growth over the forecast period.

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Share

North America is Expected to Dominate the Market Over the Forecast Period

The major factors driving the market growth in the United States include increasing research and development activities, favorable reimbursement policies, established healthcare infrastructure, significant government initiatives, and growing healthcare awareness.

As per the Foundation for Prader-Willi Research registry data August 2020, in people with Prader-Willi syndrome, COVID-19 had an impact on access to medical care and therapies due to COVID-19–related restrictions in the United States. In addition, COVID-19 related restrictions also had an impact on temporary access to physical, occupational, speech, and psychological therapies. There was a 60-80% decline in access to Prader-Willi Syndrome-related therapies.

According to a research article by Jessica Bohonowych et al., published in the Genes Journal 2019, Prader–Willi syndrome (PWS) is a rare genetic disorder with an estimated prevalence of approximately 10,000 to 20,000 living individuals in the United States.

As per the American Academy of Pediatrics, growth hormone deficiency is a rare condition that affects less than one in 3,000 to one in 10,000 children in the United States. Recombinant growth hormone has been widely available for chronic renal insufficiency, growth hormone deficiency (GHD), gestational age or intrauterine growth retardation, Turner's syndrome, Prader-Willi syndrome, and cachexia in the United States.

Furthermore, increasing awareness about growth hormone deficiencies and treatment is expected to boost the market growth. For instance, every year, the International Coalition of Organizations Supporting Endocrine Patients (ICOSEP) celebrates Children’s Growth Awareness Day to spread awareness about the early diagnosis and treatment of growth hormone disorders.

Increasing research and development activities in the development of effective therapeutics are resulting in the increasing number of pipeline drugs. For instance, in October 2019, Pfizer Inc. and its partner OPKO Health Inc. announced that its Phase III study investigating Somatrogon in pre-pubertal children with human growth hormone met its primary endpoint of non-inferiority to daily somatropin. Thus, owing to the above factors, North America is expected to register growth over the forecast period.

Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market Growth Rate By Region

Competitive Landscape

The human growth hormone market is moderately consolidated, with a few market players controlling a significant market share. Furthermore, there are several active partnerships for the development of more efficacious and long-acting subtypes of human growth hormones. Some of the key market players include AnkeBio Co. Ltd, Eli Lilly and Company, Ferring BV, Novo Nordisk AS, Ipsen SA, Pfizer Inc., Genentech Inc. (Roche), and Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.

Key Market Player Analysis

In February 2021, Pfizer Inc. initiated a Phase III clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of somatropin in a cohort of Japanese participants with Prader-Willi Syndrome (PWS).

In October 2020, Erasmus Medical Center, in collaboration with Pfizer, Foundation for Prader-Willi Research, and Prader-Willi Fonds, initiated a Phase III clinical trial to assess the effect of growth hormone treatment (Genotropin) on physical and psychosocial health in adults of 30 years or older with Prader-Willi syndrome.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Development of Recombinant Human Growth Hormone Drugs

      2. 4.2.2 Rise in Pituitary Dysfunction Cases

      3. 4.2.3 Rising Off-label Use of Human Growth Hormones

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

      1. 4.3.1 Adverse Effects Associated with Human Growth Hormones

      2. 4.3.2 Stringent Regulatory Processes

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By Application

      1. 5.1.1 Growth Hormone Deficiency

      2. 5.1.2 Turner Syndrome

      3. 5.1.3 Idiopathic Short Stature

      4. 5.1.4 Prader-Willi Syndrome

      5. 5.1.5 Other Applications

    2. 5.2 By Distribution Channel

      1. 5.2.1 Hospitals and Retail Pharmacies

      2. 5.2.2 Online Pharmacies

      3. 5.2.3 Other Distribution Channels

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 North America

        1. 5.3.1.1 United States (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.1.2 Canada (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.1.3 Mexico (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      2. 5.3.2 Europe

        1. 5.3.2.1 Germany (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.2.2 United Kingdom (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.2.3 France (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        4. 5.3.2.4 Italy (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        5. 5.3.2.5 Spain (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        6. 5.3.2.6 Rest of Europe (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      3. 5.3.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.3.3.1 China (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.3.2 Japan (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.3.3 India (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        4. 5.3.3.4 Australia (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        5. 5.3.3.5 South Korea (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        6. 5.3.3.6 Rest of Asia-Pacific (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      4. 5.3.4 Middle-East and Africa

        1. 5.3.4.1 GCC (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.4.2 South Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.4.3 Rest of Middle-East and Africa (By Application and Distribution Channel)

      5. 5.3.5 South America

        1. 5.3.5.1 Brazil (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        2. 5.3.5.2 Argentina (By Application and Distribution Channel)

        3. 5.3.5.3 Rest of South America (By Application and Distribution Channel)

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 AnkeBio Co. Ltd

      2. 6.1.2 EMD Serono Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 F.Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd

      4. 6.1.4 Ferring BV

      5. 6.1.5 Ipsen SA

      6. 6.1.6 Eli Lilly and Company

      7. 6.1.7 Novo Nordisk AS

      8. 6.1.8 Pfizer Inc.

      9. 6.1.9 Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd

      10. 6.1.10 Sandoz International GmbH (Novartis AG)

      11. 6.1.11 Strongbridge Biopharma

      12. 6.1.12 GeneScience Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd

      13. 6.1.13 Sinobioway Hygene Biomedicine Co. Ltd

      14. 6.1.14 Aeterna Zentaris

      15. 6.1.15 LG Life Sciences

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
**Competitive Landscape covers- Business Overview, Financials, Products and Strategies and Recent Developments

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Global Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Global Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.61% over the next 5 years.

The Global Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market is valued at 4632 Million USD in 2018.

The Global Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market is valued at 7567 Million USD in 2026.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

AnkeBio Co. Ltd, Eli Lilly and Company, Ferring BV, Novo Nordisk AS, Ipsen S.A. are the major companies operating in Global Human Growth Hormone (HGH) Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!