澳大利亚纸和纸板包装市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

澳大利亚纸和纸板包装市场按材料(折叠纸箱、瓦楞纸箱)和最终用户行业(饮料、食品、制药和医疗保健、个人护理和家庭护理)细分。

市场快照

Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4.23 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

在 2021 年至 2026 年的预测期内,澳大利亚纸和纸板包装市场的复合年增长率预计为 4.23%。目前,该国消费者更喜欢可回收性和可生物降解性作为包装的基本参数,而不是可重复使用性。这突显出消费者对未来包装废弃物对环境的影响日益担忧。随着数字印刷纸板等先进技术吸引大量投资,产品分销商越来越多地采用以下技术,因为该解决方案提供交互式和丰富多彩的设计以供消费者注意。

  • 此外,由于消费者对可重复使用性的需求不断增加,纸盒被品牌化并保护产品,并在购买后为消费者提供额外的价值。2019 年 11 月,瑞士包装制造商 SIG 康美包签署了一项价值 7000 万澳元的收购 Visy Cartons 的交易,此举标志着其在澳大利亚地区扩张的目标。卖方是 VisyPak Operations,它是 Pratt Consolidated Holdings 的子公司,这是一家在包装、纸张和回收行业经营的澳大利亚公司。
  • 2020 年 5 月,Screen GP Australia 宣布了全球母公司将包装印刷领域作为战略业务领域的计划,并逐步加强其针对该市场的产品阵容和解决方案开发。在将包装印刷确定为图形艺术的一个重要增长领域时,Screen 进行了广泛的研发,以实现针对折叠纸盒、瓦楞和软包装以及标签的可持续、数字、可变和多功能的按需生产。
  • 2019 年 10 月,由于澳大利亚报纸对新闻纸的需求持续下降,Norske Skog 宣布关闭位于奥尔伯里的 Boyer Mill 姊妹厂。该公司的关闭将使博耶恢复其作为澳大利亚唯一新闻纸生产商的地位。然而,一些报纸的纸张供应来自新西兰的 Norske Skog 的塔斯曼工厂。Norske Skog 宣布以 8500 万澳元的价格将奥尔伯里工厂出售给造纸、包装和回收集团 Visy。例如,这表明该国对纸张作为通讯媒介的需求下降。
  • 2020 年 5 月,澳大利亚新闻集团已确认,超过 100 份本地和地区报纸将变为纯数字版或完全消失。共有 112 家鲁珀特默多克的印刷报纸将关闭印刷机,其中 36 家将完全关闭,76 家将继续作为在线刊头。尽管随着最近 COVID-19 封锁达到顶峰,澳大利亚人转向值得信赖的媒体来源,新闻集团的数字标头的读者人数增长了 60% 以上,但印刷广告支出占公司收入的大部分,并加速了其下降。

报告范围

纸和纸板包装是最常用的环保包装解决方案之一。与其他体积较大的包装选项相比,这种包装形式能够以不同尺寸生产,使其适用于最终用户行业,包括食品、饮料、制药、个人护理等。

By Material
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types (Flexible Paper, Liquid Cartons)
By End-User Industry
Beverage
Food
Pharmaceutical and Healthcare
Personal Care & Household Care
Other End-user Industries

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

瓦楞纸箱预计将占据重要份额

  • 瓦楞包装已成为该市场的关键驱动力,因为其在零售应用中作为销售点展示的演变,加上小槽和高质量图形板的不断发展,使瓦楞纸箱能够渗透到传统折叠纸箱应用。瓦楞纸箱包装是保护、保存和运输各种化妆品的有用且具有成本效益的解决方案。瓦楞纸箱具有可生物降解性和可回收性的优点,使其成为包装行业的重要组成部分。
  • Visy 位于 Truganina 的瓦楞包装厂于 2019 年 4 月 9 日在澳大利亚维多利亚州正式开业。这座占地 36,500 平方米、价值 1 亿美元的瓦楞纸厂展示了一些世界上最现代的技术,并在所有班次中雇佣了 85 名员工,其中包括办公室人员。最新的运营设施的建立是该公司致力于增加和创新维多利亚瓦楞纸和转换能力的一部分。
  • 另一个广泛依赖纸板包装的最终用户是零售业。全球 COVID-19 大流行带来了该国前所未有的规模变化,改变了电子商务行业的发展轨迹。去年,澳大利亚邮政预测,到 2021 年,12% 的消费者支出将在网上进行。然而,随着 COVID-19 带来的巨大转变,该行业在 2020 年 3 月本身的零售总额中达到了 12%。
  • 根据澳大利亚邮政的数据,2020 年,澳大利亚的网上购物人数比以往任何时候都多,4 月份增长了 31%,达到 520 万。与 2019 年的平均水平相比,在线购买在全国范围内快速增长也就不足为奇了。虽然 2019 年的全国平均水平为 17.2%,但截至 2020 年 4 月 30 日的这一年已经发生了显着变化,在线购买量同比增长 41%。预计电子商务行业的发展将对该国的纸板包装市场产生积极影响。
Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market

医药和医疗保健有望实现显着增长

  • 随着政府在药品定价、结构变化以及报销和定价决策的不可预测性方面进行广泛改革,许多制药公司在澳大利亚面临挑战。然而,由于靠近南亚新兴市场,澳大利亚在药品出口方面地理位置优越。尽管印度和中国等国家的生产成本较低,但澳大利亚的监管制度更为成熟,从而推动了对药用纸板包装的需求。
  • 2020 年 1 月,Pelican BioThermal 宣布将其全球业务范围进一步扩展到澳大利亚和新西兰。Wilpak Group International 将在其位于澳大利亚墨尔本的总部提供销售和支持。这标志着目前与 Wilpak Group International 成功的全球合作伙伴关系的扩展。Pelican BioThermal 为其客户提供了一种选择,以利用他们的 InsulCap 热盖产品组合来保护对温度敏感的药物有效载荷。
  • 2020 年 3 月,专注于研究的专业医药级大麻提取、衍生和蒸馏产品制造商 MediPharm Labs Corp 宣布,作为签订的两年协议的一部分,它将开始在澳大利亚供应医药级大麻成品油产品在 MediPharm Labs Australia Pty Ltd 和 Compass Clinics Australia Pty Ltd. 在澳大利亚,Compass Clinics 于 2019 年开设了前两家诊所,并将开始销售自有品牌产品。预计 2020 年将开设更多诊所。
  • 2020 年 5 月,CSL Behring 的澳大利亚子公司将开发一种血浆衍生疗法,用于治疗 COVID-19 患者的严重并发症。该公司打算专注于感染进展到需要通风的患者。该疗法名为 COVID-19 免疫球蛋白,将由 CSL Behring Australia 在其位于维多利亚州布罗德梅多斯的制造工厂开发。一旦开发完成,纸板包装将成为在不同地点出口治疗药物的必要条件。
Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market

竞争格局

澳大利亚纸张和纸板包装市场适度分散,Visy Industries、Paper Australia Pty Ltd、Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd. 等重要参与者占据了大部分市场份额。该国的公司正在建立多个合作伙伴关系和合并,以增加其市场份额。

  • 2020年4月——日本制纸工业株式会社和本公司全资子公司Paper Australia Pty Ltd宣布完成对Orora Limited在澳大利亚/新西兰的纸板和纤维包装业务的收购。该业务成立为一个新的贸易实体,并将与澳大利亚纸业一起组成“Opal”公司集团。
  • 2020 年 3 月 - 随着 COVID-19 的爆发,ABBE Corrugated 改进了其业务连续性计划,采取了综合措施来应对因自然灾害以外的原因可能导致的供应链和制造中断,并协助公司应对当前局势。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Supply Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE PAPER PACKAGING INDUSTRY IN AUSTRALIA

  7. 7. AUSTRALIA PAPER INDUSTRY STATISTICS

    1. 7.1 Industry Revenue of Pulp, Paper and Paperboard Manufacturing in Australia from 2011 to 2023 (in USD million)

    2. 7.2 Corrugated Paper or Paperboard Import Value and Quantity

    3. 7.3 Corrugated Paper or Paperboard Export Value and Quantity

  8. 8. AUSTRALIA CONTAINERBOARD STATISTICS

    1. 8.1 Kraft liner Import Value and Quantity

    2. 8.2 Kraft liner Export Value and Quantity

    3. 8.3 Test liner Import Value and Quantity

    4. 8.4 Test liner Export Value and Quantity

    5. 8.5 Fluting Paper Import Value and Quantity

    6. 8.6 Fluting Paper Value and Quantity

  9. 9. AUSTRALIA PULP AND PAPER MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Printing & Writing

    2. 9.2 Newsprint

    3. 9.3 Tissue

    4. 9.4 Packaging

    5. 9.5 Others

  10. 10. AUSTRALIA PACKAGING MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 10.1 Current Market Scenario

    2. 10.2 Demand Analysis - By Material Type

      1. 10.2.1 Paper and Paperboard

      2. 10.2.2 Glass

      3. 10.2.3 Metal

      4. 10.2.4 Plastic (Rigid & Flexible)

  11. 11. AUSTRALIA PAPER AND PAPERBOARD PACKAGING MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 11.1 By Material

      1. 11.1.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 11.1.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 11.1.3 Other Types (Flexible Paper, Liquid Cartons)

    2. 11.2 By End-User Industry

      1. 11.2.1 Beverage

      2. 11.2.2 Food

      3. 11.2.3 Pharmaceutical and Healthcare

      4. 11.2.4 Personal Care & Household Care

      5. 11.2.5 Other End-user Industries

  12. 12. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 12.1 Company Profiles

      1. 12.1.1 Visy Industries (Visy Industries Holdings Pty Ltd)

      2. 12.1.2 Opal Group (Paper Australia Pty Ltd & Nippon Paper Industries)

      3. 12.1.3 Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd.

      4. 12.1.4 Austcor Packaging Pty. Ltd

      5. 12.1.5 Pro-Pac Packaging Limited

      6. 12.1.6 JacPak Pty Ltd

      7. 12.1.7 Networkpak Pty Ltd

      8. 12.1.8 United Printing & Packaging Company

      9. 12.1.9 Oji Fibre Solutions (AUS) Pty Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  13. 13. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.23% over the next 5 years.

Visy Industries (Visy Industries Holdings Pty Ltd), Opal Group (Paper Australia Pty Ltd & Nippon Paper Industries), Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd., Pro-Pac Packaging Limited , United Printing & Packaging Company are the major companies operating in Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market is segmented by Material (Folding Cartons, Corrugated Boxes) and End-User Industry (Beverage, Food, Pharmaceutical and Healthcare, Personal Care & Household Care).

Market Snapshot

Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
CAGR: 4.23 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market is expected to register a CAGR of 4.23% over the forecast period from 2021 to 2026. Currently, consumers in the country prefer recyclability and biodegradable as essential parameters of packaging over reusability. This underlines the growing concerns of consumers about the environmental impact of packaging wastes in the future. With advanced technologies like digitally printed paperboard attracting high investments, the product distributors are increasingly adopting the following technology due to the solution offering interactive and colorful designs for the consumers to notice.

  • Furthermore, cartons are branded and protect products and provided consumers additional value after purchase are being invested in due to the increasing demand for reusability among consumers. In November 2019, Swiss packaging manufacturer SIG Combibloc signed an AUD 70 million deal to buy Visy Cartons in another move that signals its goal to expand in the Australian region. The seller is VisyPak Operations, which operates as a subsidiary of Pratt Consolidated Holdings, an Australian company operating in the packaging, paper and recycling industries.
  • In May 2020, Screen GP Australia has announced the global parent company's plans to target the package printing field as a strategic business area and progressively strengthen its product line-up and solution development for this market. In identifying packaging print as a significant growth area of the graphic arts, Screen has conducted extensive R&D to bring sustainable, digital, variable and versatile on-demand production targeting folding cartons, corrugated and flexible packaging along with labels.
  • In October 2019, Norske Skog announced the closure of the Boyer Mill's sister mill at Albury following the ongoing drop in demand for newsprint from Australia's newspapers. The closure of the company would return Boyer to its status as the only producer of newsprint in Australia. However, some newspapers receive their paper supply from Norske Skog's Tasman mill in New Zealand. Norske Skog announced the sale of the Albury mill to paper, packaging, and recycling group Visy for AUD 85 million. Instances such is that this shows the decreased demand for paper as a communication medium in the country.
  • In May 2020, News Corp Australia has confirmed that more than 100 local and regional newspapers will become digital-only or disappear entirely. A total of 112 of Rupert Murdoch's print newspapers will shut down the presses, including 36, which will close altogether and 76, which will remain as the online masthead. Despite the readership of News Corp's digital mastheads growth of more than 60% as Australians turned to trusted media sources with the peak of the recent COVID-19 lockdowns, print advertising spending contributes to the majority of the company's revenues, has accelerated its decline.

Scope of the Report

Paper and Paperboard packaging is one of the most used eco-friendly packaging solutions. The ability of this packaging format to be produced in different sizes, compared to other bulkier packaging options, makes it feasible for use in end-user industries, including food, beverage, pharmaceutical, personal care, etc.

By Material
Folding Cartons
Corrugated Boxes
Other Types (Flexible Paper, Liquid Cartons)
By End-User Industry
Beverage
Food
Pharmaceutical and Healthcare
Personal Care & Household Care
Other End-user Industries

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Corrugated Boxes are Expected to Hold Significant Share

  • Corrugated packaging has emerged as a critical driver of this market due to its evolution as a point-of-sale display in retail applications, coupled with continuous development in small flute and high-quality graphics board, which is enabling corrugated boxes to penetrate traditional folding carton applications. Corrugated box packaging is a useful and cost-effective solution to protect, preserve, and transport a wide range of cosmetic products. The corrugated box has the benefits of biodegradability, and recyclability, which have made it an essential part of the packaging industry.
  • Visy's corrugated packaging facility in Truganina was officially opened in Victoria, Australia, on April 9, 2019. The 36,500 sqm, USD 100 million corrugated plant showcases some of the world's most modern technology and employs 85 people across all shifts, including office personnel. The latest operating facility was established as part of the company's commitment to increase and innovate corrugating and converting capacity in Victoria.
  • Another end-user that extensively relies on paperboard-based packaging is the retail industry. The global COVID-19 pandemic has brought change on a scale that the country has never seen before, altering the eCommerce industry trajectory. Last year Australian Post forecasted 12% of consumer spending would be conducted online by 2021. Yet, with the seismic shift brought about by COVID-19, the industry saw online hit 12% of total retail for March 2020 itself.
  • According to Australia Post, in 2020, Australia witnessed more people shopping online than ever before up 31% in April to 5.2 million. Compared to the average in 2019 and unsurprisingly, online purchases are growing at a rapid rate across the country. While the national average in 2019 was 17.2%, it has already shifted significantly for the year to April 30, 2020, with online purchases up 41% YOY. The boost in the e-commerce industry is expected to impact the paperboard packaging market in the country positively.
Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market

Pharmaceutical and Healthcare is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • With extensive government reforms in drug pricing, structural changes, and unpredictability on reimbursement and pricing decisions, many pharmaceutical companies are being challenged in Australia. However, Australia is geographically well-placed when it comes to pharmaceutical exports due to its proximity to South Asia's emerging markets. Even though countries, such as India and China, have low production costs, Australia has a more mature and regulatory regime, driving the demand for pharmaceutical paperboard packaging.
  • In January 2020, Pelican BioThermal announced the further expansion of its worldwide reach into Australia and New Zealand. Wilpak Group International will engage in providing sales and support from its headquarters located in Melbourne, Australia. This signifies the expansion of the present successful global partnership with Wilpak Group International. Pelican BioThermal provides an option to its customers to utilize their InsulCap portfolio of thermal covers for the protection of temperature-sensitive pharmaceutical payloads.
  • In March 2020, MediPharm Labs Corp, a manufacturer of specialized, research-focused pharmaceutical-quality cannabis extraction, derivative and distillation products, announced it would begin supplying finished pharmaceutical-quality cannabis oil products in Australia as part of a two-year agreement entered into between MediPharm Labs Australia Pty Ltd and Compass Clinics Australia Pty Ltd. In Australia, Compass Clinics opened its first two clinics in 2019 and will start to sell its own branded products. Additional clinics are expected to open in 2020.
  • In May 2020, the Australian subsidiary of CSL Behring is set to develop a plasma-derived therapeutic for treating severe complications in COVID-19 patients. The company intends to focus on patients whose infection is progressing to the requirement for ventilation. Named COVID-19 Immunoglobulin, the therapeutic will be developed by CSL Behring Australia at its manufacturing facility in Broadmeadows, Victoria. Once the development is finished, paperboard packaging would become essential to export the therapeutic across various locations.
Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market

Competitive Landscape

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market is moderately fragmented with significant players such as Visy Industries, Paper Australia Pty Ltd, Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd., etc. occupying the majority of the market share. The companies in the country are forming multiple partnerships and mergers to increase their market share.

  • April 2020 - Nippon Paper Industries Co., Ltd. and Paper Australia Pty Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company announced the completion of the purchase of Orora Limited’s paperboard and fiber-based packaging business in Australia/New Zealand. The Business is formed into a new trading entity, and together with Australian Paper, will form the “Opal” group of companies.
  • March 2020 - With the outbreak of COVID-19, ABBE Corrugated improves its Business Continuity Plan by introducing comprehensive measures to deal with possible supply chain and manufacturing disruptions for reasons other than natural disasters and assists the Company to deal with the current situation.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Supply Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE PAPER PACKAGING INDUSTRY IN AUSTRALIA

  7. 7. AUSTRALIA PAPER INDUSTRY STATISTICS

    1. 7.1 Industry Revenue of Pulp, Paper and Paperboard Manufacturing in Australia from 2011 to 2023 (in USD million)

    2. 7.2 Corrugated Paper or Paperboard Import Value and Quantity

    3. 7.3 Corrugated Paper or Paperboard Export Value and Quantity

  8. 8. AUSTRALIA CONTAINERBOARD STATISTICS

    1. 8.1 Kraft liner Import Value and Quantity

    2. 8.2 Kraft liner Export Value and Quantity

    3. 8.3 Test liner Import Value and Quantity

    4. 8.4 Test liner Export Value and Quantity

    5. 8.5 Fluting Paper Import Value and Quantity

    6. 8.6 Fluting Paper Value and Quantity

  9. 9. AUSTRALIA PULP AND PAPER MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Printing & Writing

    2. 9.2 Newsprint

    3. 9.3 Tissue

    4. 9.4 Packaging

    5. 9.5 Others

  10. 10. AUSTRALIA PACKAGING MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 10.1 Current Market Scenario

    2. 10.2 Demand Analysis - By Material Type

      1. 10.2.1 Paper and Paperboard

      2. 10.2.2 Glass

      3. 10.2.3 Metal

      4. 10.2.4 Plastic (Rigid & Flexible)

  11. 11. AUSTRALIA PAPER AND PAPERBOARD PACKAGING MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 11.1 By Material

      1. 11.1.1 Folding Cartons

      2. 11.1.2 Corrugated Boxes

      3. 11.1.3 Other Types (Flexible Paper, Liquid Cartons)

    2. 11.2 By End-User Industry

      1. 11.2.1 Beverage

      2. 11.2.2 Food

      3. 11.2.3 Pharmaceutical and Healthcare

      4. 11.2.4 Personal Care & Household Care

      5. 11.2.5 Other End-user Industries

  12. 12. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 12.1 Company Profiles

      1. 12.1.1 Visy Industries (Visy Industries Holdings Pty Ltd)

      2. 12.1.2 Opal Group (Paper Australia Pty Ltd & Nippon Paper Industries)

      3. 12.1.3 Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd.

      4. 12.1.4 Austcor Packaging Pty. Ltd

      5. 12.1.5 Pro-Pac Packaging Limited

      6. 12.1.6 JacPak Pty Ltd

      7. 12.1.7 Networkpak Pty Ltd

      8. 12.1.8 United Printing & Packaging Company

      9. 12.1.9 Oji Fibre Solutions (AUS) Pty Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  13. 13. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.23% over the next 5 years.

Visy Industries (Visy Industries Holdings Pty Ltd), Opal Group (Paper Australia Pty Ltd & Nippon Paper Industries), Abbe Corrugated Pty. Ltd., Pro-Pac Packaging Limited , United Printing & Packaging Company are the major companies operating in Australia Paper and Paperboard Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!