سوق الدهانات والطلاء في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ - النمو ، والاتجاهات ، وتأثير COVID-19 ، والتنبؤات (2022-2027)

يتم تقسيم سوق الدهانات والطلاء في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ حسب التكنولوجيا (التي تحملها المياه ، والمذيبات ، والمسحوق ، والمعالجة بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية) ، ونوع الراتينج (الأكريليك ، والألكيد ، والبولي يوريثين ، والإيبوكسي ، والبوليستر ، وأنواع الراتنج الأخرى) ، صناعة المستخدم (الهندسة المعمارية / الديكور ، السيارات ، الخشب ، الطلاءات الواقية ، الصناعة العامة ، النقل ، والتغليف) ، والجغرافيا (الصين ، الهند ، اليابان ، أستراليا ، إندونيسيا ، تايلاند ، ماليزيا ، فيتنام ، سنغافورة ، الفلبين ، وبقية آسيا -المحيط الهادئ).

لقطة السوق

Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: >5 %
Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

قُدر سوق الدهانات والطلاء في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بأكثر من 60 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2020 ، ومن المتوقع أن يسجل السوق معدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ حوالي 5٪ خلال فترة التنبؤ (2021-2026).

تأثر السوق سلبًا بسبب COVID-19. بسبب سيناريو الوباء ، دخلت العديد من البلدان في المنطقة في حالة إغلاق ، مما أوقف جميع أنشطة التصنيع والتشييد ، مما أحدث تأثيرًا سلبيًا على الطلب في سوق الدهانات والطلاء. ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن تتعافى الحالة في عام 2021 ، وبالتالي استعادة مسار نمو السوق المدروسة.

  • على المدى القصير ، يقود النمو المتسارع لصناعة البناء والطلب المتزايد على الطلاءات الواقية في ماليزيا نمو السوق.
  • على الجانب الآخر ، من المحتمل أن يكون للمخاوف واللوائح البيئية المتزايدة في الهند ، وتباطؤ إنتاج السيارات ، والتأثير السلبي لوباء COVID-19 تأثير سلبي على السوق على المدى القصير إلى المدى المتوسط.
  • من المرجح أن يكون استخدام تقنية النانو في صناعة الدهانات والطلاء وتسريع الطلب على الطلاء الحيوي والصديق للبيئة بمثابة فرصة للسوق المدروسة.
  • بالراتنج ، استحوذ قطاع الأكريليك على الحصة الأكبر ، ومن المقدر أن يشهد أسرع معدل نمو سنوي مركب خلال فترة التنبؤ.

نطاق التقرير

يمكن تعريف الدهانات والطلاءات على أنها مادة سائلة ، عندما تنتشر على سطح ما كغشاء رقيق نسبيًا ، تجف بعد ذلك لتشكيل طبقة صلبة ومتماسكة ولصقة وزخرفية ووقائية. تجد الدهانات والطلاءات تطبيقات رئيسية في الصناعة المعمارية مثل الطلاء الزخرفي والوقائي. يتم تقسيم السوق حسب التكنولوجيا ونوع الراتنج وصناعة المستخدم النهائي والجغرافيا. من خلال التكنولوجيا ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى التي تحملها المياه ، والمذيبات ، والمسحوق ، والمعالجة بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية. حسب نوع الراتينج ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى أكريليك ، ألكيد ، بولي يوريثين ، إيبوكسي ، بوليستر ، وأنواع راتنجات أخرى. من خلال صناعة المستخدم النهائي ، يتم تقسيم السوق إلى الطلاءات المعمارية / الزخرفية والسيارات والخشب والطلاء الواقي والصناعات العامة والنقل والتعبئة والتغليف. كما يعرض التقرير حجم السوق والتنبؤات لعشر دول في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. لكل قطاع ، تم عمل حجم السوق والتنبؤات على أساس القيمة (مليون دولار أمريكي).

Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder
UV-cured
Resin Type
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
End-user Industry
Architectural/Decorative
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coatings
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
China
India
Japan
Australia
Indonesia
Thailand
Malaysia
Vietnam
Singapore
Philippines
Rest of Asia-Pacific

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

القطاع الذي تنتقله المياه لدفع نمو السوق

  • تعتبر التكنولوجيا المنقولة عن طريق المياه أسرع التقنيات نموًا في سوق الدهانات والطلاء بشكل عام. يرجع السبب الرئيسي في مكاسبها على المذيبات إلى طبيعتها الصديقة للبيئة ، حيث إنها منخفضة بشكل عام في المركبات العضوية المتطايرة (VOCs) ، التي تؤدي إلى تدهور البيئة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن الخصائص الأخرى ، مثل الرائحة المنخفضة ، والمتانة الأكبر ، ومقاومة الكتلة ، تجعل الدهانات التي تنقلها المياه مفضلة.
  • تشكل الطلاءات التي تنقلها المياه جزءًا كبيرًا من الماء كمذيبات ومواد رابطة وأصباغ ومواد مضافة للأداء ، وفقًا للمتطلبات. تختلف نسبة المواد المضافة والراتنجات حسب تطبيق الطلاء.
  • تؤدي الطبيعة الصديقة للبيئة المتزايدة ، إلى جانب الخصائص المتعددة للطلاءات التي تنقلها المياه ، إلى زيادة الطلب على الطلاءات المنقولة بالماء في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. يحرك السوق أساسًا تطبيقات الطلاءات المعمارية. من المتوقع أن تظهر الطلاءات المنقولة بالماء في القطاع المعماري نموًا صحيًا في السنوات الخمس المقبلة ، خاصة من الاقتصادات النامية ، مدفوعة بالاستثمارات الضخمة في تطوير البنية التحتية ومشاريع الإسكان وتجديد المباني السكنية والتجارية القائمة.
  • الطلاءات التي تنقلها المياه مطلوبة أيضًا بشكل شائع في دهانات السيارات. كان هناك تحول مطرد نحو الأكريليك الذي تحمله المياه ، خاصة في طبقات الأساس للسيارات ، بسبب المخاوف البيئية. قامت العديد من شركات الطلاء بالفعل بتحويل العديد من خطوط التجميع إلى طبقات أساسية محمولة بالماء ، ومن المتوقع أن يقوم لاعبو السيارات بتحويل خطوط إنتاجهم إلى طبقات أساسية محمولة بالماء من التكنولوجيا التي تحملها المذيبات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، مع الزيادة في سوق إعادة طلاء السيارات في المنطقة ، قد يستفيد سوق الطلاء الذي تنقله المياه أيضًا.
  • في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان هناك ميل للبحث عن طلاءات ذات رائحة منخفضة ، وقابلية الاستخدام ، وخصائص تنظيف المياه ، بين المستخدمين النهائيين. تلبي الطلاءات التي تنقلها المياه هذه المتطلبات وتسهل أيضًا اللزوجة المنخفضة دون إضافة مونومرات منخفضة الوزن الجزيئي. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن تطبيق الطلاءات التي أساسها الماء بسهولة مثل الطلاءات المحمولة بالمذيبات ، كما أنها تشكل تحديات أخرى ، بما في ذلك تعقيد السوائل ، وتوافق النظام حسب التطبيق ، وزيادة التفاعل.
  • نمت الحصة السوقية للأنظمة التي تنقلها المياه بسرعة ، بسبب خصائصها المفضلة ، مثل الرائحة الخفيفة ، وزيادة التوافر ، والتجفيف السريع. علاوة على ذلك ، حظيت التكنولوجيا القابلة للمعالجة بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية للطلاءات المنقولة بالماء باهتمام واسع النطاق في مجال البحوث الصناعية. شوهدت التطورات الأولية في صناعة فنون الجرافيك. تؤدي المخاوف المتعلقة بقضايا البيئة والصحة والسلامة إلى زيادة الطلب على الطلاءات المنقولة بالمياه في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ.
Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market Key Trends

الصين تهيمن على السوق

  • في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، تعد الصين أكبر اقتصاد من حيث الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. شهدت الدولة نموًا في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنحو 6.1٪ خلال عام 2019 ، حتى بعد الاضطراب التجاري الناجم عن حربها التجارية مع الولايات المتحدة ، ولكن نظرًا لظهور كوفيد -19 في عام 2020 ، يقدر النمو الاقتصادي للصين إلى 1.90٪ ومن المتوقع أن تشهد انتعاشاً بمعدل 8.20٪ عام 2021.
  • تستضيف الصين قطاع إنشائي ضخم. دعمت التطورات في القطاعين التجاري والسكني في العامين الماضيين نمو قطاع البناء بشكل عام ، سواء من حيث الحجم أو القيمة.
  • كانت الصين مدفوعة بشكل كبير بالتطورات الكبيرة في قطاعي البناء السكني والتجاري بدعم من الاقتصاد المتنامي. في الصين ، أطلقت سلطات الإسكان في هونغ كونغ عدة إجراءات لبدء بناء مساكن منخفضة التكلفة. ويهدف المسؤولون إلى توفير 301 ألف وحدة سكنية عامة خلال 10 سنوات حتى عام 2030.
  • في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ وعبر العالم ، تعتبر دول مثل الصين واليابان وكوريا الجنوبية هي الرائدة في مجال الطلاء البحري. الصين هي أكبر سوق للطلاء البحري بسبب زيادة أنشطة بناء وإصلاح السفن الجديدة.
  • لقد أدى العرض المفرط للسفن إلى اضطراب صناعة بناء السفن بأكملها في البلاد. تحاول الحكومة الصينية خفض الدعم عن الطاقة الزائدة. كان لهذا تأثير على مصنعي المعدات الأصلية البحريين لبناء سفن جديدة.
  • دفع اعتماد الحكومة الصينية للضريبة الخضراء ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مبادرات أخرى للحد من الانبعاثات ، شركات الطلاء إلى اعتماد طلاء عالي الصلابة ، وعديم المذيبات ، ومنقول بالماء. على الرغم من الاتجاه السلبي في الصناعة البحرية العالمية نسبيًا ، كانت الصين هي حامل الخفة ، مقارنة بالدول الأخرى ، في الأسواق ذات الصلة بالبحرية ، بما في ذلك الطلاءات وبناء السفن ، مما أدى إلى زيادة الطلب في السوق المدروسة.
  • علاوة على ذلك ، فإن العمالة الرخيصة وسهولة الوصول إلى صناعة الصلب هي بعض العوامل الأخرى التي تجذب أنشطة بناء السفن في البلاد.
  • الصين هي أكبر منتج للسيارات في العالم. ومع ذلك ، في عام 2018 ، شهدت البلاد انخفاضًا بنسبة 4.16 ٪ في إنتاج السيارات ، وهو ما يمثل 27،809،196 وحدة من السيارات. تأثر أداء صناعة السيارات بالتحولات الاقتصادية والحرب التجارية بين الصين والولايات المتحدة. استمر هذا الاتجاه خلال عام 2019 أيضًا ، حيث انخفض الإنتاج المحلي للسيارات ومبيعاتها بنسبة 7.5٪ و 8.2٪ على التوالي.في عام 2020 ، انخفض عدد سيارات الركاب المنتجة من يناير إلى نوفمبر بنسبة 8.1٪ على أساس سنوي مقارنة إلى نفس الفترة من العام الماضي ، بينما زاد إنتاج المركبات التجارية بنسبة 22.2٪. من المتوقع أن تؤثر أوجه عدم اليقين في صناعة السيارات على السوق المدروسة.
  • من المتوقع أن تظل الصين أكبر مستهلك للتغليف المعدني الصلب في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، بحصة تبلغ حوالي 40٪. على عكس الأسواق الأوروبية والأمريكية ، حيث تشكل العبوات المعدنية عادةً حصة أكبر من الزجاج ، وتشكل المعادن حوالي 8 ٪ من إجمالي قيمة إنتاج التغليف في الصين ، وهو أقل من إنتاج العبوات الزجاجية. سوق المواد الغذائية والمشروبات هو أكبر سوق في البلاد. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأطعمة والمشروبات المعلبة لا تحظى بشعبية نسبيًا بين السكان الصينيين.
  • من المتوقع أن تسجل صناعة التغليف في الصين نموًا هائلاً ، بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يقارب 6.8٪ لتصل إلى حوالي 2 تريليون يوان صيني بحلول عام 2025. ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي هذا الزخم الإيجابي في صناعة التعبئة والتغليف إلى زيادة طلب السوق على طلاءات التغليف. ومع ذلك ، فإن حظر الصين على البلاستيك يعيق نمو صناعة التعبئة والتغليف ، وهذا يجبر شركات السلع الاستهلاكية على استخدام العبوات المعدنية والزجاجية. وبالتالي ، من المتوقع أن يساعد هذا في نمو السوق.
  • تمتلك الصين أكبر قاعدة إنتاج للإلكترونيات في العالم ، وهي تقدم منافسة شديدة لمنتجي المنبع الحاليين ، مثل كوريا الجنوبية وسنغافورة وتايوان. تتمتع المنتجات الإلكترونية ، مثل الهواتف الذكية وأجهزة تلفزيون OLED والأجهزة اللوحية ، بأعلى معدلات نمو في قطاع الإلكترونيات الاستهلاكية في السوق من حيث الطلب. مع زيادة الدخل المتاح لسكان الطبقة الوسطى ، من المتوقع أن يزداد الطلب على المنتجات الإلكترونية بشكل مطرد في المستقبل ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب على الطلاءات.
  • ومع ذلك ، أثر تفشي الفيروس التاجي على الأداء العام للبلد في عام 2020. نظرًا لتعرض البلاد لإغلاق ممتد لتجنب انتشار الفيروس التاجي ، فقد تأثرت عمليات قطاع التصنيع بشدة. ومن المتوقع أن تتعافى الظروف في عام 2021 ، مما يؤدي إلى نمو السوق خلال فترة التوقعات.
  • من المتوقع أن تعمل جميع العوامل المذكورة أعلاه كعوامل دافعة للدهانات والطلاء خلال فترة التنبؤ.
Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market Growth by Region

مشهد تنافسي

سوق الدهانات والطلاء في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ مجزأ للغاية بطبيعته ، ولا يمتلك أي لاعب حصة كبيرة في السوق. على الرغم من أن عمليات الدمج والاستحواذ قد بدأت تكتسب أهمية في سوق آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، إلا أنها لا تزال أقل من المناطق الأخرى في العالم. تشمل الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية في سوق الدهانات والطلاء في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ Akzo Nobel NV و Asian Paints و Kansai Paint Co. Ltd و Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd و PPG Industries Inc. ، من بين آخرين.

اللاعبين الرئيسيين

  1. Asian Paints

  2. Kansai Paint Co., Ltd.

  3. Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd

  4. PPG Industries, Inc.

  5. Akzo Nobel N.V.

Oranges, Akzo Nobel NV, Asian Paints Limited, Avian Brands,  Axalta Coating Systems, Beger Co. Ltd, Berger Paints India, Boysen Paints, Davies Paints Philippines Inc., Haymes

مشهد تنافسي

سوق الدهانات والطلاء في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ مجزأ للغاية بطبيعته ، ولا يمتلك أي لاعب حصة كبيرة في السوق. على الرغم من أن عمليات الدمج والاستحواذ قد بدأت تكتسب أهمية في سوق آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، إلا أنها لا تزال أقل من المناطق الأخرى في العالم. تشمل الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية في سوق الدهانات والطلاء في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ Akzo Nobel NV و Asian Paints و Kansai Paint Co. Ltd و Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd و PPG Industries Inc. ، من بين آخرين.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Accelerating Growth of the Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Increasing Demand for Protective Coatings in Malaysia

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns and Regulations in India

      2. 4.2.2 Slowdown of the Automotive Production

      3. 4.2.3 Negative Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value)

    1. 5.1 Technology

      1. 5.1.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.1.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.1.3 Powder

      4. 5.1.4 UV-cured

    2. 5.2 Resin Type

      1. 5.2.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.2.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.2.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.2.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.2.5 Polyester

      6. 5.2.6 Other Resin Types

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural/Decorative

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coatings

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 China

      2. 5.4.2 India

      3. 5.4.3 Japan

      4. 5.4.4 Australia

      5. 5.4.5 Indonesia

      6. 5.4.6 Thailand

      7. 5.4.7 Malaysia

      8. 5.4.8 Vietnam

      9. 5.4.9 Singapore

      10. 5.4.10 Philippines

      11. 5.4.11 Rest of Asia-Pacific

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 4Oranges

      2. 6.4.2 Akzo Nobel NV

      3. 6.4.3 Asian Paints Limited

      4. 6.4.4 Avian Brands

      5. 6.4.5 Axalta Coating Systems

      6. 6.4.6 Beger Co. Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India

      8. 6.4.8 Boysen Paints

      9. 6.4.9 Davies Paints Philippines Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 Haymes

      11. 6.4.11 Jotun

      12. 6.4.12 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      13. 6.4.13 Kova Group

      14. 6.4.14 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      15. 6.4.15 PPG Industries Inc.

      16. 6.4.16 PT. Propan Raya ICC

      17. 6.4.17 The Sherwin-Williams Company

      18. 6.4.18 TOA Paint Public Company Limited

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Use of Nanotechnology in the Paints and Coatings Industry

    2. 7.2 Accelerating Demand for Bio-based and Eco-friendly Coatings

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق آسيا والمحيط الهادئ للدهانات والطلاء في الفترة من 2016 إلى 2026.

ينمو سوق الدهانات والطلاء في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يزيد عن 5 ٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

شركة Asian Paints ، Kansai Paint Co. ، Ltd. ، Nippon Paint Holdings Co. ، Ltd ، PPG Industries ، Inc. ، Akzo Nobel NV هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في سوق الدهانات والطلاء في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market is segmented by Technology (Water-borne, Solvent-borne, Powder, and UV-cured), Resin Type (Acrylic, Alkyd, Polyurethane, Epoxy, Polyester, and Other Resin Types), End-user Industry (Architectural/Decorative, Automotive, Wood, Protective Coatings, General Industrial, Transportation, and Packaging), and Geography (China, India, Japan, Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, and Rest of Asia-Pacific).

Market Snapshot

Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market Overveiw
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
CAGR: >5 %
Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market was estimated at over USD 60 billion in 2020, and the market is projected to register a CAGR of around 5% during the forecast period (2021-2026).

The market was negatively affected due to COVID-19. Owing to the pandemic scenario, several countries in the region went into lockdown, which halted all the manufacturing and construction activities, thus creating a negative impact on the demand in the paints and coatings market. However, the condition is expected to recover in 2021, thereby restoring the growth trajectory of the market studied.

  • Over the short term, the accelerating growth of the construction industry and increasing demand for protective coatings in Malaysia are driving the market's growth.
  • On the flip side, rising environmental concerns and regulations in India, slowdown of automotive production, and negative impact of COVID-19 pandemic are likely to have a negative impact on the market for the short to medium term.
  • The use of nanotechnology in the paints and coatings industry and accelerating demand for bio-based and eco-friendly coatings are likely to act as an opportunity for the market studied.
  • By resin, the acrylic segment accounted for the largest share, and it is estimated to witness the fastest CAGR over the forecast period.

Scope of the Report

Paints and coatings can be defined as a liquid material that, when spread over a surface as a relatively thin film, subsequently dries to form a solid, cohesive, adhesive, decorative, and protective layer. Paints and coatings find major applications in the architectural industry as decorative and protective coating. The market is segmented by technology, resin type, end-user industry, and geography. By technology, the market is segmented into water-borne, solvent-borne, powder, and UV-cured. By resin type, the market is segmented into acrylic, alkyd, polyurethane, epoxy, polyester, other resin types. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into architectural/decorative, automotive, wood, protective coatings, general industrial, transportation, and packaging. The report also offers the market size and forecasts for ten countries across the region. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of value (USD million).

Technology
Water-borne
Solvent-borne
Powder
UV-cured
Resin Type
Acrylic
Alkyd
Polyurethane
Epoxy
Polyester
Other Resin Types
End-user Industry
Architectural/Decorative
Automotive
Wood
Protective Coatings
General Industrial
Transportation
Packaging
Geography
China
India
Japan
Australia
Indonesia
Thailand
Malaysia
Vietnam
Singapore
Philippines
Rest of Asia-Pacific

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Water-borne Segment to Drive the Market Growth

  • Water-borne is the fastest growing technology in the overall paints and coatings market. The major reason for their gain over solvent-borne is due to their eco-friendly nature, as it is generally lower in volatile organic compounds (VOCs), which degrade the environment. Additionally, other properties, like low odor, more durability, and block resistance, make water-borne paints preferable.​
  • Water-borne coatings constitute a major portion of water as solvent, binders, pigments, and performance additives, as per the requirements. The proportion of additives and resins are variable, as per the application of the coatings. ​
  • The increasing eco-friendly nature, along with the versatile properties of water-borne coatings, is increasing the demand for water-borne coatings across the region. The market is mainly driven by architectural coatings applications. The water-borne coatings in the architectural segment are expected to show healthy growth in the next five years, especially from the developing economies, driven by huge investments in infrastructure developments, housing projects, and renovation of existing residential and commercial buildings.​
  • Water-borne coatings are also commonly required in automotive paints. There has been a steady shift toward water-borne acrylics, especially in the automotive basecoats, due to environmental concerns. Many of the coating's companies have already converted several assembly lines to water-borne basecoats, and the automotive players are expected to convert their production lines to water-borne basecoats from solvent-borne technology. Additionally, with the increase in the automotive refinishing market in the region, the market for water-borne coatings may also benefit.​
  • In recent times, there has been a propensity to seek coatings with low odor, usability, and water clean-up characteristics, among the end users. Water-borne coatings meet these requirements and also facilitate low viscosity without the addition of low-molecular-weight monomers. However, water-based coatings cannot be as easily applied as solvent-borne coatings, and they pose other challenges, including the complexity of fluids, system compatibility as per application, and higher reactivity.​
  • The market share of water-borne systems has grown rapidly, owing to their favorable properties, such as mild odor, increased availability, and fast-drying. Furthermore, the UV-curable technology for water-borne coatings has received widespread attention in industrial research. The initial developments were witnessed in the graphic arts industry. Concerns over environmental, health, and safety issues are driving the demand for water-borne coatings in the Asia-Pacific region.​
Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market Revenue Share

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

China to Dominate the Market

  • In Asia-Pacific, China is the largest economy in terms of GDP. The country witnessed about 6.1% growth in its GDP during 2019, even after the trade disturbance caused due to its trade war with the United States.​ However, due to the onset of COVID-19 in 2020, the economic growth of China is estimated to contract to 1.90%, and it is expected to witness recovery at a rate of 8.20% in 2021.
  • China hosts a vast construction sector. The developments in the commercial and residential sectors in the past two years have supported the construction sector's growth at large, both in terms of volume and value.​
  • China has been majorly driven by the ample developments in the residential and commercial construction sectors supported by the growing economy. In China, the housing authorities of Hong Kong launched several measures to push-start the construction of low-cost housing. The officials aim to provide 301,000 public housing units in 10 years till 2030.​
  • In Asia-Pacific and across the world, countries such as China, Japan, and South Korea are the leading in marine coatings. China is the largest market for marine coatings due to the increasing new shipbuilding and repair activities.​
  • The oversupply of ships has disturbed the entire shipbuilding industry in the country. The Chinese government is trying to cut the subsidies on over-capacity. This has had an impact on marine OEMs for building new ships.​
  • The adoption of green tax by the Chinese government, along with other initiatives to reduce emissions, has pushed coatings companies to adopt high solid, solvent-less, and waterborne coatings. Despite a negative trend in the global marine industry relatively, China was the light bearer, as compared to other countries, in the marine-related markets, including coatings and shipbuilding, thus, boosting the demand in the market studied.​
  • Furthermore, cheap labor and easy access to the steel industry are some other factors attracting shipbuilding activities in the country.​
  • China is the world's largest automotive producer. However, in 2018, the country witnessed a 4.16% decline in vehicle production, accounting for 27,809,196 units of motor vehicles. The automotive industry's performance was affected by economic shifts and China's trade war with the United States. This trend sustained during 2019 as well, as the domestic automotive production and sales declined by 7.5% and 8.2%, respectively.​ In 2020, the number of passenger cars produced from January to November was down by 8.1% year-on-year compared to the same period last year, while commercial vehicle production increased by 22.2%. The uncertainties in the automobile industry are expected to impact the market studied.
  • China is expected to remain the largest consumer of rigid metal packaging in Asia-Pacific, accounting for ~40% share. Unlike the European and American markets, where metal packaging usually constitutes a greater share than glass, and metal accounts for approximately ~8% of China's total packaging output value, which is less than glass packaging output. The food and beverage market is the largest market in the country. However, canned food and drinks are comparatively unpopular among the Chinese population.​
  • China's packaging industry is expected to register tremendous growth, with a CAGR of nearly 6.8% to reach around CNY 2 trillion by 2025. This positive momentum in the packaging industry is expected to ignite the market demand for packaging coatings. However, China's plastic ban is hindering the growth of the packaging industry, and this is forcing FMCG companies to use metal and glass packaging. Thus, this is expected to aid the market's growth.​
  • China has the world's largest electronics production base, and it offers tough competition to the existing upstream producers, such as South Korea, Singapore, and Taiwan. Electronic products, such as smartphones, OLED TVs, and tablets, have the highest growth rates in the consumer electronics segment of the market in terms of demand. With the increase in the disposable incomes of the middle-class population, the demand for electronic products is projected to increase steadily in the future, thereby driving the coatings' demand.​
  • However, the outbreak of coronavirus impacted the overall performance of the country in 2020. As the country experienced an extended shutdown to avoid the spread of coronavirus, the manufacturing sector operations were severely affected.​ The conditions are expected to recover in 2021, thereby driving the market's growth over the forecast period.
  • All the aforementioned factors are expected to act as driving factors for the paints and coatings during the forecast period.​
Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market Growth

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report

Competitive Landscape

The Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market is highly fragmented in nature, with no player having a significant share in the market. Although mergers and acquisitions have started to gain significance in the Asia-Pacific market, it, however, continues to be less than other regions of the world. Key players in the Asia-Pacific paints and coatings market include Akzo Nobel NV, Asian Paints, Kansai Paint Co. Ltd, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd, and PPG Industries Inc., among others.

Recent Developments

  • In August 2020, Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd announced the acquisition of Asian JVs and Indonesian businesses to increase global business growth.
  • In November 2019, Akzo Nobel NV completed the acquisition of French aerospace coatings manufacturer, Mapaero, further strengthening its position in the aerospace coatings industry.
  • In July 2019, Asian Paints started commercial production of paints and intermediaries in the Mysuru plant. The paint manufacturing plant in Mysuru has a capacity of 6 lakh KL p.a.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Accelerating Growth of the Construction Industry

      2. 4.1.2 Increasing Demand for Protective Coatings in Malaysia

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Environmental Concerns and Regulations in India

      2. 4.2.2 Slowdown of the Automotive Production

      3. 4.2.3 Negative Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Value)

    1. 5.1 Technology

      1. 5.1.1 Water-borne

      2. 5.1.2 Solvent-borne

      3. 5.1.3 Powder

      4. 5.1.4 UV-cured

    2. 5.2 Resin Type

      1. 5.2.1 Acrylic

      2. 5.2.2 Alkyd

      3. 5.2.3 Polyurethane

      4. 5.2.4 Epoxy

      5. 5.2.5 Polyester

      6. 5.2.6 Other Resin Types

    3. 5.3 End-user Industry

      1. 5.3.1 Architectural/Decorative

      2. 5.3.2 Automotive

      3. 5.3.3 Wood

      4. 5.3.4 Protective Coatings

      5. 5.3.5 General Industrial

      6. 5.3.6 Transportation

      7. 5.3.7 Packaging

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 China

      2. 5.4.2 India

      3. 5.4.3 Japan

      4. 5.4.4 Australia

      5. 5.4.5 Indonesia

      6. 5.4.6 Thailand

      7. 5.4.7 Malaysia

      8. 5.4.8 Vietnam

      9. 5.4.9 Singapore

      10. 5.4.10 Philippines

      11. 5.4.11 Rest of Asia-Pacific

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 4Oranges

      2. 6.4.2 Akzo Nobel NV

      3. 6.4.3 Asian Paints Limited

      4. 6.4.4 Avian Brands

      5. 6.4.5 Axalta Coating Systems

      6. 6.4.6 Beger Co. Ltd

      7. 6.4.7 Berger Paints India

      8. 6.4.8 Boysen Paints

      9. 6.4.9 Davies Paints Philippines Inc.

      10. 6.4.10 Haymes

      11. 6.4.11 Jotun

      12. 6.4.12 Kansai Paint Co. Ltd

      13. 6.4.13 Kova Group

      14. 6.4.14 Nippon Paint Holdings Co. Ltd

      15. 6.4.15 PPG Industries Inc.

      16. 6.4.16 PT. Propan Raya ICC

      17. 6.4.17 The Sherwin-Williams Company

      18. 6.4.18 TOA Paint Public Company Limited

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Use of Nanotechnology in the Paints and Coatings Industry

    2. 7.2 Accelerating Demand for Bio-based and Eco-friendly Coatings

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market is growing at a CAGR of >5% over the next 5 years.

Asian Paints, Kansai Paint Co., Ltd., Nippon Paint Holdings Co., Ltd , PPG Industries, Inc., Akzo Nobel N.V. are the major companies operating in Asia-Pacific Paints and Coatings Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!