Рынок самостоятельных хранилищ — рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Рынок Self Storage сегментирован по типу пользователя (личному и деловому) и по географии.

Обзор рынка

Self Storage Market Size
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.45 %
Self Storage Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Мировой рынок самостоятельного хранения (далее — исследуемый рынок) оценивался в 48,02 млрд долларов США в 2020 году и, как ожидается, достигнет 64,71 млрд долларов США к 2026 году, регистрируя среднегодовой темп роста в 5,45% в течение прогнозируемого периода с 2021 по 2021 год. 2026. Ожидается, что рост в этой отрасли будет положительным в течение прогнозируемого периода благодаря тенденциям к усилению урбанизации и улучшению экономических перспектив в регионах. Эти факторы привели к росту новых предприятий.

Кроме того, COVID-19 побудил многих владельцев бизнеса сделать выбор в пользу самостоятельного хранения. Необходимость работать из дома большую часть 2020 года привела к росту спроса на самостоятельные склады, чтобы сократить арендную плату за помещения. Все больше и больше компаний принимают решение о постоянном переходе на удаленную модель работы, поэтому потребность в аренде офисов снижается. Особенно в столичных азиатских городах, где аренда офисных помещений может быть дорогостоящей, в основном предпочтение отдается самостоятельным складам.

  • Увеличение темпов урбанизации является одним из важных факторов, положительно стимулирующих рост рынка. Рост городского населения означает меньшие и все более дорогие жилые площади в городах с большим количеством арендаторов, которые чаще переезжают. Лондон является ярким примером этой тенденции: в 2015 году его население достигло нового исторического максимума в 8,6 миллиона человек. По прогнозам, к 2030 году население превысит 10 миллионов человек.
  • Улучшение экономических перспектив в странах США, Европы и Азии положительно влияет на рост рынка. Экономический рост в Соединенных Штатах постоянно поддерживается постоянными инновациями, НИОКР и капиталовложениями.
  • Правительственные постановления препятствуют росту рынка. Операторы хранилищ продолжают получать неконкретные предупреждения от Министерства внутренней безопасности о том, что их объекты могут быть использованы для хранения материалов, которые могут быть выпущены в результате террористической атаки.

Объем отчета

Индустрия самообслуживания является подсектором рынка коммерческой недвижимости. Ожидается, что рост в этой отрасли будет положительным в течение прогнозируемого периода из-за тенденций роста урбанизации и улучшения экономических перспектив в разных странах. ​Исследование анализирует конкурентные и рыночные тенденции в области хранения вещей во всем мире. Он также предлагает ключевой анализ и анализ типа пользователя (личный и бизнес). Влияние COVID-19 на рынок также рассматривается как часть исследования.

By User Type
Personal
Business
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Сегмент персональных хранилищ займет максимальную долю рынка

  • Производительность складских помещений в первую очередь обусловлена ​​растущим спросом на дополнительное пространство для хранения, поскольку семьи увеличиваются с большим количеством материальных ценностей. Кроме того, прогнозируется, что потребность в единицах хранения будет увеличиваться по мере того, как бэби-бумеры начнут сокращаться.
  • Рост городского населения приводит к тому, что жилая площадь в городах становится меньше и становится все дороже, а арендаторов становится больше, и они чаще переезжают. Примером этой тенденции является Лондон, население которого в 2020 году достигло нового исторического максимума в 9,3 миллиона человек. По прогнозам, к 2030 году население превысит 10 миллионов человек.
  • Более того, еще одним фактором, сыгравшим роль во внезапном росте спроса в секторе самостоятельных складов, является пандемия COVID. Уровень безработицы в Соединенных Штатах и ​​во всем мире растет во время кризиса COVID-19. В результате собственники жилых помещений сталкиваются с проблемами со стороны безработных арендаторов, которые не в состоянии платить арендную плату. По мере того, как эти жильцы возвращаются домой со своими семьями или изучают другие варианты совместного проживания, сокращение жилой площади создает возможности для сектора самостоятельного хранения вещей, которые больше не поместятся в домах меньшего размера.
  • Лондонское easyStorage сообщило, что количество запросов выросло на 25% по сравнению с предыдущим месяцем после того, как в 2020 году были сняты ограничения на блокировку, поскольку некоторым нужно было расчистить комнату, чтобы освободить место для домашнего офиса, в то время как многие другие навели порядок в своих жилых помещениях. Компания сообщила, что расставание и смерть брака/пары, возможно, также сыграли свою роль в росте спроса наряду с несколькими переездами.
  • Поскольку миллениалы составляют большую часть тех, кто использует самостоятельные хранилища, они ожидают взаимодействия с операторами, использующими технологии, в частности смартфоны и приложения, или адаптивные мобильные веб-сайты. Виртуальные туры, онлайн-бронирование и оплата, киоски самообслуживания и автоматический доступ — вот некоторые из новых тенденций в ответ на технологическое развитие отрасли и правила социального дистанцирования в связи с COVID-19. С уменьшением конкурентного преимущества физического местоположения эти онлайн-каналы открывают новые возможности для новых новаторов в области хранения данных, чтобы развивать и революционизировать отрасль.
Self Storage Market Trends

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион станет свидетелем самого высокого роста

  • В Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе больше возможностей для самостоятельного хранения. Австралийские и новозеландские организации уже визуализировали обширные среды хранения по сравнению с Китаем, Индией и другими странами Юго-Восточной Азии (ЮВА), такими как Сингапур, Гонконг, Тайвань, Япония и Малайзия. Урбанизация, осведомленность общественности и рост малого бизнеса стимулируют спрос на самостоятельные склады в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Рынком в первую очередь движут четыре «D» — смерть, развод, плотность, перемещение и позитивная деловая активность, такая как расширение и сокращение офисов.
  • Также наблюдается растущий интерес инвесторов к классу активов в сфере недвижимости из-за роста рынка, повышения осведомленности общественности и отсутствия специализированных REIT для самостоятельного хранения в регионе. Рынок самостоятельных складов в регионе APAC включает в себя как внутренние, так и наружные помещения.
  • За пределами Австралии отрасль наиболее развита в густонаселенных региональных центрах, таких как Гонконг, Сингапур и Токио. Ожидается, что по мере развития азиатских рынков и распространения идеи хранения личных вещей вне дома рынок будет развиваться и расти постепенно.
  • Люди склонны арендовать складские помещения, когда их жилые помещения загромождены вещами, которые имеют их полезность или элементы ностальгии. Юго-Восточная Азия — густонаселенный регион с несколькими городами, исчерпавшими свои жилые площади. Это вынуждает население переезжать в дома меньшего размера, чтобы разместить больше жилья. Но это также поднимает проблему хранения предметов. Это стимулирует рынок самоскладов в регионе.
  • Такие города, как Сингапур, Пекин, Мумбаи и Гонконг, настолько густонаселены, что население предпочитает хранить свои вещи в отдаленных местах. Размер среднего дома составляет около 80 м² в Гонконге, Сингапуре и Японии по сравнению с 90 м² в Великобритании, 130 м² в Шанхае и 250 м² в США и Австралии.
Self Storage Market Growth

Конкурентная среда

Рынок состоит из нескольких глобальных игроков, борющихся за внимание на фрагментированном рыночном пространстве. Чтобы выделиться среди предложений, игроки сосредоточились на конкурентоспособных ценах, рекламных мероприятиях, рекламе, дополнительных функциях, таких как парковка, круглосуточный доступ, климат-контроль и многие другие. Присутствие этих игроков и их постоянная инновационная деятельность усиливают рыночный сценарий. Поскольку рынок создает умеренные барьеры для выхода на рынок для новых игроков, несколько новых участников, поддерживаемых венчурными капиталистами, смогли закрепиться на рынке. Это может еще больше усилить конкуренцию на рынке.

  • Март 2021 г. - Life Storage планировала построить трехэтажное здание с климат-контролем на 216 квартир на территории, принадлежащей компании на Транзит-роуд, для расширения своего бизнеса в Вест-Сенека.

Основные игроки

  1. U-Haul International Inc.

  2. Life Storage Inc.

  3. CubeSmart LP

  4. National Storage Affiliates

  5. Safestore Holdings PLC

"U-Haul International Inc.,  Life Storage Inc.,  CubeSmart LP,  National Storage Affiliates,  Safestore Holdings PLC"

Конкурентная среда

Рынок состоит из нескольких глобальных игроков, борющихся за внимание на фрагментированном рыночном пространстве. Чтобы выделиться среди предложений, игроки сосредоточились на конкурентоспособных ценах, рекламных мероприятиях, рекламе, дополнительных функциях, таких как парковка, круглосуточный доступ, климат-контроль и т. д. Присутствие этих игроков и их постоянная инновационная деятельность усиливают рыночный сценарий. Поскольку рынок создает умеренные барьеры для выхода на рынок для новых игроков, несколько новых участников, поддерживаемых венчурными капиталистами, смогли закрепиться на рынке. Это может еще больше усилить конкуренцию на рынке.

  • Март 2021 г. - Life Storage планировала построить трехэтажное здание с климат-контролем на 216 квартир на территории, принадлежащей компании на Транзит-роуд, для расширения своего бизнеса в Вест-Сенека.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increased Urbanization Coupled with Smaller Living Spaces

      2. 4.4.2 Changing Business Practices and COVID-19 Consumer Behavior

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Government Regulations on Storage are Hindering the Market Growth

    6. 4.6 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By User Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 U-Haul International Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Life Storage Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 CubeSmart LP

      4. 6.1.4 National Storage Affiliates

      5. 6.1.5 Safestore Holdings PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Simply Self Storage Management LLC

      7. 6.1.7 StorageMart

      8. 6.1.8 Prime Storage Group

      9. 6.1.9 WP Carey Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Metro Storage LLC

      11. 6.1.11 SmartStop Asset Management LLC

      12. 6.1.12 (Great Value Storage) World Class Capital Group LLC

      13. 6.1.13 National Storage REIT

      14. 6.1.14 All Storage

      15. 6.1.15 Amsdell Cos./Compass Self Storage

      16. 6.1.16 Urban Self Storage Inc.

      17. 6.1.17 Global Self Storage Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Self Storage Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Self Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.45% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2021.

U-Haul International Inc., Life Storage Inc., CubeSmart LP, National Storage Affiliates, Safestore Holdings PLC are the major companies operating in Self Storage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Self Storage Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Self Storage Market is segmented by User Type (Personal and Business) and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Self Storage Market Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.45 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global self-storage market (hereafter referred to as the market studied) was valued at USD 48.02 billion in 2020 and is expected to reach a value of USD 64.71 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 5.45% over the forecast period, 2021-2026. The growth in this industry is expected to be positive during the forecast period, owing to the trends of increased urbanization and improved economic outlook across the regions. These factors have led to the growth of new businesses.

COVID-19, in addition, has led multiple business owners to opt for self-storage. Having to work from home for most parts of 2020 drove up the demand for self-storage to cut out on rents on spaces. More and more companies have decided to shift toward a remote work model permanently, and hence the need for office rentals is decreasing. Especially in metropolitan Asian cities, where office space can be costly to rent, self-storage is mainly preferred.

  • The increasing rate of urbanization is one of the significant factors positively driving the market growth. The increasing urban population means smaller and increasingly expensive living spaces in cities with more renters who move around more frequently. London is a prime example of this trend, with its population hitting a new all-time high of 8.6 million in 2015. The population is projected to be more than 10 million by 2030.
  • The improved economic outlook in the countries of the United States, Europe, and Asia is positively augmenting the market growth. The economic growth in the United States is constantly being driven forward by the ongoing innovation, R&D, and capital investment.
  • The government regulations hinder the market’s growth. The storage operators have continued to receive nonspecific warnings from the Department of Homeland Security that their facilities can be used to store materials that could be unleashed in the terrorist attack.

Scope of the Report

The self-storage industry is a sub-sector of the commercial real estate market. The growth in this industry is expected to be positive, during the forecast period, due to the trends of increased urbanization and improved economic outlook, across countries. ​The study analyses competitive and market trends across self-storage space globally. It also offers key analysis and analysis on the User Type (Personal & Business).​ COVID-19 impact on the market is also covered as a part of the study.

By User Type
Personal
Business
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Personal Storage Segment to Occupy the Maximum Market Share

  • The performance of self-storage properties is primarily driven by growing space demand for additional storage as families increase with more material possessions. Moreover, the need for storage units is predicted to increase as baby boomers begin to downsize.
  • The increasing urban population causes smaller and increasingly expensive living spaces in cities with more renters who move around more frequently. London is an example of this trend, with its population hitting a new all-time high of 9.3 million in 2020. The population is projected to be over 10 million by 2030.
  • Moreover, another factor that has played a role in the sudden rise in demand of the self-storage sector is the COVID pandemic. Unemployment levels in the United States and across the world have been rising during the COVID-19 crisis. As a result, residential landlords face impact from jobless tenants who are unable to pay rent. As these tenants move back home with their families or explore other house-sharing options, downsizing residential space creates opportunities for the self-storage sector to store items that will no longer fit into smaller homes.
  • London’s easyStorage reported that inquiries surged by 25 % month-on-month since lockdown restrictions were reduced in 2020, as some have needed to clear a room to make space for a home office setup, while many others decluttered their living spaces. The company reported that marriage/couple separations and deaths may have also played a part in the rise in demand along with several house moves.
  • As the millennial population occupies a larger percentage of those using self-storage, they expect to interact with operators using technology, specifically smartphones and apps, or responsive mobile websites. Virtual tours, online booking and payment, self-service kiosks, and automated access are some of the emerging trends in response to the technological development in the sector and the COVID-19 social distancing rules. With the decreasing competitive advantage of physical location, these online channels provide new opportunities for emerging storage innovators to build upon and disrupt the industry.
Self Storage Market

Asia Pacific to Witness the Highest Growth

  • The Asia Pacific region has more scope for self-storage. Australian and New Zealand organizations have already visualized extensive storage environments, compared to China, India, and other Southeast Asian countries (SEA) like Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and Malaysia. Urbanization, public awareness, and the growth of small businesses are driving the demand for self-storage in Asia-Pacific. The market is primarily driven by the four "Ds" -death, divorce, density, dislocation, and positive business activity like office expansion and contraction.
  • There is also swelling investor interest in the real estate asset class because of market growth, increasing public awareness, and the lack of specialist self-storage REITs in the region. The self-storage market in the APAC region includes both indoor and outdoor facilities.
  • Beyond the borders of Australia, the industry is most established in densely populated regional hubs such as Hong Kong, Singapore, and Tokyo. As Asian markets mature and the notion of storing personal belongings outside the home catches on, the market is expected to evolve and grow gradually.
  • Individuals tend to rent self-storage spaces when their living spaces become cluttered by belongings that feature their utilities or nostalgia elements. Southeast Asia is a densely populated region with several cities that have exhausted their living spaces. This is forcing a trend of the population moving to smaller houses to accommodate for more housing. But this is also raising an issue of item storage. This is driving the residential self-storage market in the region.
  • Cities like Singapore, Beijing, Mumbai, and Hong Kong are so highly populated that the populace is opting to store their belongings in remote locations. The size of an average home is around 80m² in Hong Kong, Singapore, and Japan compared to 90m² in the UK, 130m² in Shanghai, and 250m² in the United States and Australia.
Self Storage Market Growth Rate

Competitive Landscape

The market comprises several global players vying for attention in a fragmented market space. In order to differentiate amongst offerings, the players have been focused on competitive pricing, promotional activities, advertisements, added features such as parking facility, 24x7 access, climate control, to name a few. The presence of these players and their constant innovative activities are intensifying the market scenario. As the market poses moderate barriers to entry for new players, several new entrants backed by VCs have been able to gain traction in the market. This could further intensify the market competition.

  • March 2021 - Life Storage planned to build a three-story, 216-unit, climate-controlled building on the property which the company owned on Transit Road to expand its business in West Seneca.

Recent Developments

  • July 2021- The global investment firm KKR acquired three self-storage properties in Austin, Texas, and Nashville, Tennessee, to meet the strong supply-demand fundamental and appealing long-term dynamics, including resiliency through economic cycles.
  • September 2020 - CubeSmart introduced the CubeSmart Mobile App, a simple, convenient option for customers to manage their storage experience. Utilizing the CubeSmart Mobile App, customers can access their gate code, pay bills, set up AutoPay, check account balances and payment history, manage passwords, and receive push notifications with important information, all from the convenience of their mobile phones.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increased Urbanization Coupled with Smaller Living Spaces

      2. 4.4.2 Changing Business Practices and COVID-19 Consumer Behavior

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Government Regulations on Storage are Hindering the Market Growth

    6. 4.6 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By User Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 U-Haul International Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Life Storage Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 CubeSmart LP

      4. 6.1.4 National Storage Affiliates

      5. 6.1.5 Safestore Holdings PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Simply Self Storage Management LLC

      7. 6.1.7 StorageMart

      8. 6.1.8 Prime Storage Group

      9. 6.1.9 WP Carey Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Metro Storage LLC

      11. 6.1.11 SmartStop Asset Management LLC

      12. 6.1.12 (Great Value Storage) World Class Capital Group LLC

      13. 6.1.13 National Storage REIT

      14. 6.1.14 All Storage

      15. 6.1.15 Amsdell Cos./Compass Self Storage

      16. 6.1.16 Urban Self Storage Inc.

      17. 6.1.17 Global Self Storage Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Self Storage Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Self Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.45% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

U-Haul International Inc., Life Storage Inc., CubeSmart LP, National Storage Affiliates, Safestore Holdings PLC are the major companies operating in Self Storage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!