Marché du stockage en libre-service – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché du self stockage est segmenté par type d'utilisateur (personnel et professionnel) et par géographie.

Aperçu du marché

Self Storage Market Size
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.45 %
Self Storage Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial du self-stockage (ci-après dénommé le marché étudié) était évalué à 48,02 milliards USD en 2020 et devrait atteindre une valeur de 64,71 milliards USD d'ici 2026, enregistrant un TCAC de 5,45% sur la période de prévision, 2021- 2026. La croissance de cette industrie devrait être positive au cours de la période de prévision, en raison des tendances à l'urbanisation accrue et à l'amélioration des perspectives économiques dans les régions. Ces facteurs ont conduit à la croissance de nouvelles entreprises.

De plus, le COVID-19 a conduit plusieurs propriétaires d'entreprise à opter pour le self-stockage. Le fait de devoir travailler à domicile pendant la majeure partie de 2020 a fait augmenter la demande de stockage en libre-service pour réduire les loyers des espaces. De plus en plus d'entreprises ont décidé de s'orienter définitivement vers un modèle de travail à distance, et par conséquent le besoin de location de bureaux diminue. Surtout dans les villes asiatiques métropolitaines, où les bureaux peuvent être coûteux à louer, le self-stockage est principalement préféré.

  • Le taux d'urbanisation croissant est l'un des facteurs importants qui stimulent positivement la croissance du marché. L'augmentation de la population urbaine signifie des espaces de vie plus petits et de plus en plus chers dans les villes avec plus de locataires qui se déplacent plus fréquemment. Londres est un excellent exemple de cette tendance, avec sa population atteignant un nouveau record historique de 8,6 millions en 2015. La population devrait dépasser les 10 millions d'ici 2030.
  • L'amélioration des perspectives économiques dans les pays des États-Unis, d'Europe et d'Asie augmente positivement la croissance du marché. La croissance économique aux États-Unis est constamment tirée vers l'avant par l'innovation continue, la R&D et l'investissement en capital.
  • Les réglementations gouvernementales entravent la croissance du marché. Les opérateurs de stockage ont continué à recevoir des avertissements non spécifiques du Department of Homeland Security indiquant que leurs installations peuvent être utilisées pour stocker des matériaux qui pourraient être libérés lors de l'attaque terroriste.

Portée du rapport

L'industrie de l'entreposage libre-service est un sous-secteur du marché de l'immobilier commercial. La croissance de cette industrie devrait être positive au cours de la période de prévision, en raison des tendances à l'urbanisation accrue et à l'amélioration des perspectives économiques dans tous les pays. L'étude analyse les tendances de la concurrence et du marché dans l'espace de stockage en libre-service à l'échelle mondiale. Il propose également une analyse clé et une analyse du type d'utilisateur (personnel et professionnel). L'impact du COVID-19 sur le marché est également couvert dans le cadre de l'étude.

By User Type
Personal
Business
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Segment de stockage personnel pour occuper la part de marché maximale

  • La performance des propriétés de self-stockage est principalement motivée par la demande croissante d'espace de stockage supplémentaire à mesure que les familles augmentent avec plus de possessions matérielles. De plus, le besoin d'unités de stockage devrait augmenter à mesure que les baby-boomers commenceront à réduire leurs effectifs.
  • L'augmentation de la population urbaine entraîne des espaces de vie plus petits et de plus en plus chers dans les villes avec plus de locataires qui se déplacent plus fréquemment. Londres est un exemple de cette tendance, avec sa population atteignant un nouveau record historique de 9,3 millions en 2020. La population devrait dépasser les 10 millions d'ici 2030.
  • De plus, un autre facteur qui a joué un rôle dans l'augmentation soudaine de la demande du secteur du self-stockage est la pandémie de COVID. Les niveaux de chômage aux États-Unis et dans le monde ont augmenté pendant la crise du COVID-19. En conséquence, les propriétaires résidentiels subissent l'impact des locataires sans emploi qui ne sont pas en mesure de payer le loyer. Au fur et à mesure que ces locataires retournent chez eux avec leur famille ou explorent d'autres options de cohabitation, la réduction de l'espace résidentiel crée des opportunités pour le secteur de l'auto-entreposage de stocker des articles qui ne rentrent plus dans des maisons plus petites.
  • L'easyStorage de Londres a signalé que les demandes de renseignements ont augmenté de 25 % d'un mois sur l'autre depuis que les restrictions de verrouillage ont été réduites en 2020, car certains ont dû dégager une pièce pour faire de la place pour un bureau à domicile, tandis que de nombreux autres ont désencombré leurs espaces de vie. La société a indiqué que les séparations de mariage/couple et les décès peuvent également avoir joué un rôle dans l'augmentation de la demande, ainsi que plusieurs déménagements.
  • Comme la population du millénaire occupe un pourcentage plus élevé de ceux qui utilisent le self-stockage, ils s'attendent à interagir avec les opérateurs utilisant la technologie, en particulier les smartphones et les applications, ou les sites Web mobiles réactifs. Les visites virtuelles, la réservation et le paiement en ligne, les bornes libre-service et l'accès automatisé sont quelques-unes des tendances émergentes en réponse au développement technologique du secteur et aux règles de distanciation sociale COVID-19. Avec l'avantage concurrentiel décroissant de l'emplacement physique, ces canaux en ligne offrent de nouvelles opportunités aux innovateurs émergents en matière de stockage pour s'appuyer sur et perturber l'industrie.
Self Storage Market Trends

L'Asie-Pacifique connaîtra la plus forte croissance

  • La région Asie-Pacifique a plus de place pour le self-stockage. Les organisations australiennes et néo-zélandaises ont déjà visualisé des environnements de stockage étendus, par rapport à la Chine, l'Inde et d'autres pays d'Asie du Sud-Est (SEA) comme Singapour, Hong Kong, Taïwan, le Japon et la Malaisie. L'urbanisation, la sensibilisation du public et la croissance des petites entreprises stimulent la demande de self-stockage en Asie-Pacifique. Le marché est principalement animé par les quatre « D » - décès, divorce, densité, dislocation et activité commerciale positive comme l'expansion et la contraction des bureaux.
  • Les investisseurs s'intéressent également de plus en plus à la classe d'actifs immobiliers en raison de la croissance du marché, de la sensibilisation accrue du public et du manque de FPI spécialisées dans le self-stockage dans la région. Le marché du self-stockage dans la région APAC comprend à la fois des installations intérieures et extérieures.
  • Au-delà des frontières de l'Australie, l'industrie est surtout implantée dans des pôles régionaux densément peuplés tels que Hong Kong, Singapour et Tokyo. À mesure que les marchés asiatiques mûrissent et que l'idée de stocker des effets personnels à l'extérieur de la maison se répand, le marché devrait évoluer et se développer progressivement.
  • Les particuliers ont tendance à louer des espaces de self-stockage lorsque leurs espaces de vie sont encombrés par des effets personnels qui présentent leurs utilités ou leurs éléments nostalgiques. L'Asie du Sud-Est est une région densément peuplée avec plusieurs villes qui ont épuisé leurs espaces de vie. Cela force une tendance de la population à déménager dans des maisons plus petites pour accueillir plus de logements. Mais cela pose également un problème de stockage des objets. Cela stimule le marché du libre-entreposage résidentiel dans la région.
  • Des villes comme Singapour, Pékin, Mumbai et Hong Kong sont si peuplées que la population choisit de stocker ses biens dans des endroits éloignés. La taille d'une maison moyenne est d'environ 80 m² à Hong Kong, à Singapour et au Japon, contre 90 m² au Royaume-Uni, 130 m² à Shanghai et 250 m² aux États-Unis et en Australie.
Self Storage Market Growth

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché comprend plusieurs acteurs mondiaux qui se disputent l'attention dans un espace de marché fragmenté. Afin de différencier les offres, les acteurs se sont concentrés sur des prix compétitifs, des activités promotionnelles, des publicités, des fonctionnalités supplémentaires telles qu'un parking, un accès 24x7, la climatisation, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. La présence de ces acteurs et leurs activités innovantes constantes intensifient le scénario de marché. Comme le marché pose des barrières modérées à l'entrée pour les nouveaux acteurs, plusieurs nouveaux entrants soutenus par des VC ont pu gagner du terrain sur le marché. Cela pourrait encore intensifier la concurrence sur le marché.

  • Mars 2021 - Life Storage prévoyait de construire un bâtiment climatisé de trois étages et de 216 unités sur la propriété que la société possédait sur Transit Road afin d'étendre ses activités à West Seneca.

Principaux acteurs

  1. U-Haul International inc.

  2. Entreposage Life Inc.

  3. CubeSmart LP

  4. Affiliés nationaux de stockage

  5. Safestore Holdings PLC

"U-Haul International Inc.,  Life Storage Inc.,  CubeSmart LP,  National Storage Affiliates,  Safestore Holdings PLC"

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché comprend plusieurs acteurs mondiaux qui se disputent l'attention dans un espace de marché fragmenté. Afin de différencier les offres, les acteurs se sont concentrés sur des prix compétitifs, des activités promotionnelles, des publicités, des fonctionnalités supplémentaires telles qu'un parking, un accès 24x7, la climatisation, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. La présence de ces acteurs et leurs activités innovantes constantes intensifient le scénario de marché. Comme le marché pose des barrières modérées à l'entrée pour les nouveaux acteurs, plusieurs nouveaux entrants soutenus par des VC ont pu gagner du terrain sur le marché. Cela pourrait encore intensifier la concurrence sur le marché.

  • Mars 2021 - Life Storage prévoyait de construire un bâtiment climatisé de trois étages et de 216 unités sur la propriété que la société possédait sur Transit Road afin d'étendre ses activités à West Seneca.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increased Urbanization Coupled with Smaller Living Spaces

      2. 4.4.2 Changing Business Practices and COVID-19 Consumer Behavior

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Government Regulations on Storage are Hindering the Market Growth

    6. 4.6 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By User Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 U-Haul International Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Life Storage Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 CubeSmart LP

      4. 6.1.4 National Storage Affiliates

      5. 6.1.5 Safestore Holdings PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Simply Self Storage Management LLC

      7. 6.1.7 StorageMart

      8. 6.1.8 Prime Storage Group

      9. 6.1.9 WP Carey Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Metro Storage LLC

      11. 6.1.11 SmartStop Asset Management LLC

      12. 6.1.12 (Great Value Storage) World Class Capital Group LLC

      13. 6.1.13 National Storage REIT

      14. 6.1.14 All Storage

      15. 6.1.15 Amsdell Cos./Compass Self Storage

      16. 6.1.16 Urban Self Storage Inc.

      17. 6.1.17 Global Self Storage Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché du stockage en libre-service est étudié de 2019 à 2026.

Le marché du self stockage croît à un TCAC de 5,45 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

L'Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé sur la période 2021-2026.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

U-Haul International Inc., Life Storage Inc., CubeSmart LP, National Storage Affiliates, Safestore Holdings PLC sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché du self stockage.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Self Storage Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Self Storage Market is segmented by User Type (Personal and Business) and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Self Storage Market Overview
Study Period: 2019- 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 5.45 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global self-storage market (hereafter referred to as the market studied) was valued at USD 48.02 billion in 2020 and is expected to reach a value of USD 64.71 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 5.45% over the forecast period, 2021-2026. The growth in this industry is expected to be positive during the forecast period, owing to the trends of increased urbanization and improved economic outlook across the regions. These factors have led to the growth of new businesses.

COVID-19, in addition, has led multiple business owners to opt for self-storage. Having to work from home for most parts of 2020 drove up the demand for self-storage to cut out on rents on spaces. More and more companies have decided to shift toward a remote work model permanently, and hence the need for office rentals is decreasing. Especially in metropolitan Asian cities, where office space can be costly to rent, self-storage is mainly preferred.

  • The increasing rate of urbanization is one of the significant factors positively driving the market growth. The increasing urban population means smaller and increasingly expensive living spaces in cities with more renters who move around more frequently. London is a prime example of this trend, with its population hitting a new all-time high of 8.6 million in 2015. The population is projected to be more than 10 million by 2030.
  • The improved economic outlook in the countries of the United States, Europe, and Asia is positively augmenting the market growth. The economic growth in the United States is constantly being driven forward by the ongoing innovation, R&D, and capital investment.
  • The government regulations hinder the market’s growth. The storage operators have continued to receive nonspecific warnings from the Department of Homeland Security that their facilities can be used to store materials that could be unleashed in the terrorist attack.

Scope of the Report

The self-storage industry is a sub-sector of the commercial real estate market. The growth in this industry is expected to be positive, during the forecast period, due to the trends of increased urbanization and improved economic outlook, across countries. ​The study analyses competitive and market trends across self-storage space globally. It also offers key analysis and analysis on the User Type (Personal & Business).​ COVID-19 impact on the market is also covered as a part of the study.

By User Type
Personal
Business
By Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Personal Storage Segment to Occupy the Maximum Market Share

  • The performance of self-storage properties is primarily driven by growing space demand for additional storage as families increase with more material possessions. Moreover, the need for storage units is predicted to increase as baby boomers begin to downsize.
  • The increasing urban population causes smaller and increasingly expensive living spaces in cities with more renters who move around more frequently. London is an example of this trend, with its population hitting a new all-time high of 9.3 million in 2020. The population is projected to be over 10 million by 2030.
  • Moreover, another factor that has played a role in the sudden rise in demand of the self-storage sector is the COVID pandemic. Unemployment levels in the United States and across the world have been rising during the COVID-19 crisis. As a result, residential landlords face impact from jobless tenants who are unable to pay rent. As these tenants move back home with their families or explore other house-sharing options, downsizing residential space creates opportunities for the self-storage sector to store items that will no longer fit into smaller homes.
  • London’s easyStorage reported that inquiries surged by 25 % month-on-month since lockdown restrictions were reduced in 2020, as some have needed to clear a room to make space for a home office setup, while many others decluttered their living spaces. The company reported that marriage/couple separations and deaths may have also played a part in the rise in demand along with several house moves.
  • As the millennial population occupies a larger percentage of those using self-storage, they expect to interact with operators using technology, specifically smartphones and apps, or responsive mobile websites. Virtual tours, online booking and payment, self-service kiosks, and automated access are some of the emerging trends in response to the technological development in the sector and the COVID-19 social distancing rules. With the decreasing competitive advantage of physical location, these online channels provide new opportunities for emerging storage innovators to build upon and disrupt the industry.
Self Storage Market

Asia Pacific to Witness the Highest Growth

  • The Asia Pacific region has more scope for self-storage. Australian and New Zealand organizations have already visualized extensive storage environments, compared to China, India, and other Southeast Asian countries (SEA) like Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and Malaysia. Urbanization, public awareness, and the growth of small businesses are driving the demand for self-storage in Asia-Pacific. The market is primarily driven by the four "Ds" -death, divorce, density, dislocation, and positive business activity like office expansion and contraction.
  • There is also swelling investor interest in the real estate asset class because of market growth, increasing public awareness, and the lack of specialist self-storage REITs in the region. The self-storage market in the APAC region includes both indoor and outdoor facilities.
  • Beyond the borders of Australia, the industry is most established in densely populated regional hubs such as Hong Kong, Singapore, and Tokyo. As Asian markets mature and the notion of storing personal belongings outside the home catches on, the market is expected to evolve and grow gradually.
  • Individuals tend to rent self-storage spaces when their living spaces become cluttered by belongings that feature their utilities or nostalgia elements. Southeast Asia is a densely populated region with several cities that have exhausted their living spaces. This is forcing a trend of the population moving to smaller houses to accommodate for more housing. But this is also raising an issue of item storage. This is driving the residential self-storage market in the region.
  • Cities like Singapore, Beijing, Mumbai, and Hong Kong are so highly populated that the populace is opting to store their belongings in remote locations. The size of an average home is around 80m² in Hong Kong, Singapore, and Japan compared to 90m² in the UK, 130m² in Shanghai, and 250m² in the United States and Australia.
Self Storage Market Growth Rate

Competitive Landscape

The market comprises several global players vying for attention in a fragmented market space. In order to differentiate amongst offerings, the players have been focused on competitive pricing, promotional activities, advertisements, added features such as parking facility, 24x7 access, climate control, to name a few. The presence of these players and their constant innovative activities are intensifying the market scenario. As the market poses moderate barriers to entry for new players, several new entrants backed by VCs have been able to gain traction in the market. This could further intensify the market competition.

  • March 2021 - Life Storage planned to build a three-story, 216-unit, climate-controlled building on the property which the company owned on Transit Road to expand its business in West Seneca.

Recent Developments

  • July 2021- The global investment firm KKR acquired three self-storage properties in Austin, Texas, and Nashville, Tennessee, to meet the strong supply-demand fundamental and appealing long-term dynamics, including resiliency through economic cycles.
  • September 2020 - CubeSmart introduced the CubeSmart Mobile App, a simple, convenient option for customers to manage their storage experience. Utilizing the CubeSmart Mobile App, customers can access their gate code, pay bills, set up AutoPay, check account balances and payment history, manage passwords, and receive push notifications with important information, all from the convenience of their mobile phones.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.3.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increased Urbanization Coupled with Smaller Living Spaces

      2. 4.4.2 Changing Business Practices and COVID-19 Consumer Behavior

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Government Regulations on Storage are Hindering the Market Growth

    6. 4.6 Assessment of Impact of Covid-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By User Type

      1. 5.1.1 Personal

      2. 5.1.2 Business

    2. 5.2 By Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 U-Haul International Inc.

      2. 6.1.2 Life Storage Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 CubeSmart LP

      4. 6.1.4 National Storage Affiliates

      5. 6.1.5 Safestore Holdings PLC

      6. 6.1.6 Simply Self Storage Management LLC

      7. 6.1.7 StorageMart

      8. 6.1.8 Prime Storage Group

      9. 6.1.9 WP Carey Inc.

      10. 6.1.10 Metro Storage LLC

      11. 6.1.11 SmartStop Asset Management LLC

      12. 6.1.12 (Great Value Storage) World Class Capital Group LLC

      13. 6.1.13 National Storage REIT

      14. 6.1.14 All Storage

      15. 6.1.15 Amsdell Cos./Compass Self Storage

      16. 6.1.16 Urban Self Storage Inc.

      17. 6.1.17 Global Self Storage Inc.

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Self Storage Market market is studied from 2019 - 2026.

The Self Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 5.45% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

U-Haul International Inc., Life Storage Inc., CubeSmart LP, National Storage Affiliates, Safestore Holdings PLC are the major companies operating in Self Storage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!