Marché de l'emballage sous contrat – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2023-2028)

Le marché de l'emballage sous contrat est segmenté par emballage (primaire, secondaire et tertiaire), industrie de l'utilisateur final (alimentaire, boisson, pharmaceutique, ménage et soins personnels) et géographie.

Aperçu du marché

 Contract packaging market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 10.18 %

Major Players

 Contract packaging market Key Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché mondial de l'emballage sous contrat était évalué à 49,89 milliards USD en 2020 et devrait atteindre 89,74 milliards USD d'ici 2026, enregistrant un TCAC d'environ 10,18 % au cours de la période de prévision (2021-2026). Avec le déclenchement de la pandémie de COVID-19, le marché de l'emballage sous contrat a connu une croissance phénoménale, alors que le marché du commerce électronique a pris un boom, en raison des normes de verrouillage et de distanciation sociale où la majorité des consommateurs ont préféré le canal en ligne pour faire du shopping. , et les entreprises externalisent leurs services d'emballage de bout en bout ou autonomes pour répondre à la demande croissante.

  • Cependant, la pandémie a eu un impact sur les plans d'automatisation de diverses entreprises, ce qui a un effet minimaliste sur le marché étudié. Selon l'enquête de l'Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies (PMMI), environ 67 % des entreprises CPG ont suspendu leurs plans d'automatisation, contre 23 % des PME.
  • La croissance du marché mondial de l'emballage sous contrat est principalement influencée par l'évolution des préférences des entreprises manufacturières, qui sous-traitent généralement les activités d'emballage à des acteurs tiers. En effet, les fabricants se concentrent de plus en plus sur l'optimisation des coûts et sur leur cœur de métier. L'emballage sous contrat offre plusieurs avantages. Tout d'abord, cela réduit les coûts opérationnels des fabricants. Dans de nombreux cas, on estime que les coûts opérationnels peuvent être réduits jusqu'à 7 % à 9 % grâce à l'externalisation des activités d'emballage à des emballeurs contractuels et à la baisse des coûts des machines et des coûts de main-d'œuvre.
  • Deuxièmement, les réglementations en matière d'emballage, en particulier dans le cas des produits alimentaires et des boissons, évoluent rapidement. Le respect de règles et de normes aussi strictes nécessite plusieurs opérations d'inspection et de contrôle qualité. En externalisant les activités d'emballage, la tâche ardue de respecter ces réglementations (également appelées emballages mil-spec) est transmise à l'agence d'emballage sous contrat, ce qui incite davantage de fabricants à préférer l'emballage sous contrat aux activités d'emballage internes.
  • De plus, l'industrie de l'emballage connaît une croissance rapide, avec l'introduction de nombreux nouveaux produits et technologies. Par conséquent, les entreprises d'emballage doivent rester à jour pour répondre aux besoins changeants des clients. Des facteurs tels que l'urbanisation, l'augmentation des revenus disponibles et la préférence pour des emballages pratiques et faciles à ouvrir façonnent les nouvelles tendances du marché.
  • La sensibilisation des consommateurs aux préoccupations environnementales, ainsi que la demande des producteurs pour des options d'emballage économiques, poussent les emballeurs sous contrat à adopter des alternatives respectueuses de l'environnement et des conceptions d'emballage écosensibles. En outre, la durabilité et la personnalisation devraient continuer à avoir un impact positif sur le marché des emballages sous contrat, entraînant une croissance de l'utilisation des biens de consommation emballés, tels que les soins personnels et les aliments et boissons, au cours de la période de prévision. En juin 2020, la CPA, l'Association for Contract Packagers, and Manufacturers et l'European CoPackers Association (ECPA) ont collaboré pour accroître la sensibilisation et l'utilisation de l'industrie de l'emballage et de la fabrication sous contrat dans leurs régions respectives.
  • Pour rester pertinents sur le marché, les fournisseurs se concentrent également sur les acquisitions et les expansions géographiques, grâce auxquelles le marché se consolide progressivement. Par exemple, en mars 2020, South Atlantic Packaging Corp. (SAPC) à Winston-Salem, une entreprise d'emballage sous contrat qui propose des solutions d'emballage, de mise en kit, d'assemblage et d'entreposage, a acheté Versatile Packagers, basé en Floride. Il offre un excellent emplacement pour SAPC.

Portée du rapport

L'emballage sous contrat est le processus d'assemblage d'un produit ou d'un bien dans son emballage fini final. Selon le produit, l'emballage final prend des formes variées, telles qu'un emballage thermoformé/plastique à clapet/blister, un sac plastique, un présentoir de point de vente en carton ondulé sur pied ou un plateau de transport. Parfois, les emballeurs sous contrat sont chargés de quelque chose d'aussi simple que d'ajouter un autocollant de code à barres à un produit ou d'aussi complexe que de planifier, concevoir, produire et remplir l'ensemble de l'emballage. L'étude couvre les emballages primaires, les emballages secondaires et les emballages tertiaires parmi plusieurs industries d'utilisateurs finaux dans des pays d'Amérique du Nord, d'Europe, etc. , et d'autres segments externalisés dans le cadre du segment des emballages sous contrat. L'étude couvre également l'impact de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur le marché.

By Packaging
Primary
Secondary
Tertiary
By End-user Industry
Food
Beverage
Pharmaceutical
Household and Personal Care
Other End-user Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Netherlands
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Le secteur pharmaceutique devrait connaître une croissance significative

  • La croissance des progrès et de la recherche dans l'industrie pharmaceutique a entraîné l'introduction de nouveaux médicaments, avec des performances plus exceptionnelles par rapport à leurs prédécesseurs. Les améliorations récentes des sciences médicales et les ajouts aux médicaments déjà disponibles pour de nombreuses maladies et déficiences stimulent le marché de l'emballage sous contrat, indirectement, car la nécessité d'emballer les médicaments s'est multipliée rapidement.
  • Diverses sociétés pharmaceutiques sous-traitent désormais le travail de conditionnement des produits finis à des sociétés de main-d'œuvre qualifiée spécialisées dans la manipulation du conditionnement des médicaments. L'emballage pharmaceutique des médicaments est un aspect vital, car le produit doit être sans danger pour la consommation du patient.
  • En Amérique du Nord, on estime que d'ici la fin de 2020, près de 50 médicaments bien connus et hautement prescrits ne seront plus brevetés, ce qui crée des opportunités pour les conditionneurs contractuels. Une mauvaise observance du patient ou une mauvaise adhésion aux médicaments peut entraîner une augmentation des hospitalisations et une aggravation de la maladie. L'attention permanente des fabricants à la sécurité et à la protection des médicaments, ainsi que les dernières réglementations gouvernementales, sont les facteurs de l'externalisation des exigences d'emballage. Conformément aux réglementations de la Food and Drug Administration (FDA) aux États-Unis, les médicaments pharmaceutiques ont besoin de matériaux d'emballage et de scellants à haute barrière imperméables et résistants aux solvants, à la graisse, aux produits chimiques et à la chaleur pour une meilleure protection de sécurité.
  • Depuis fin février 2020, les fabricants pharmaceutiques américains, étant dépendants de la Chine, ont un risque élevé de pénurie d'approvisionnement, qui pourrait se poursuivre au cours des trois prochains mois. Entre-temps, la FDA a demandé aux fabricants américains de dispositifs pharmaceutiques et médicaux d'évaluer et de planifier des alternatives d'approvisionnement en API.
  • Concernant les dispositifs médicaux, la FDA a reconnu 63 fabricants et 72 installations à travers la Chine, qui ont été contactés pour l'accumulation des stocks de dispositifs essentiels, afin d'éviter une pénurie en cas de rupture d'approvisionnement. Cependant, contrairement à ces mesures prises, C2 Pharma, un fabricant d'externalisation de fournisseurs d'API, a observé que la réponse du gouvernement américain au coronavirus pourrait réaligner la chaîne d'approvisionnement pharmaceutique du pays.
 Contract packaging market Key Trends

L'Amérique du Nord représentera la plus grande part

  • Le secteur de l'emballage sous contrat en Amérique du Nord connaît une croissance rapide en raison de la demande croissante d'emballages dans des segments tels que les aliments et les boissons, les produits pharmaceutiques, les soins de beauté et d'autres sections. Diverses entreprises d'emballage sous contrat aux États-Unis et au Canada ont appris à s'adapter à des conditions commerciales difficiles. Les entreprises prennent également conscience de la concurrence mondiale intense, des pressions sur les coûts et de la demande très variable des équipementiers. Cet environnement augmente considérablement le marché de l'emballage sous contrat aux États-Unis. De nombreuses entreprises européennes, telles que Langen Group et Persson Innovation, ont déjà investi aux États-Unis.
  • En raison de la stabilité, de la hausse de la demande et de l'évolution de la préférence des entreprises manufacturières envers les emballeurs sous contrat, le marché américain de l'emballage sous contrat devrait connaître une croissance régulière. En outre, le gouvernement américain a mis en place diverses lois et réglementations sur l'étiquetage et l'emballage des médicaments. Cela pourrait créer un impact positif sur la demande d'emballages sous contrat, en raison de l'incapacité d'une installation d'emballage interne pour quelques entreprises pharmaceutiques dans cette région.
  • En février 2020, Big Beverages Contract Manufacturing (BBCM) a annoncé l'ouverture de sa nouvelle installation de co-emballage de boissons en Caroline du Nord. Dans sa nouvelle installation, BBCM commencera avec une ligne de canettes à grande vitesse capable de produire 1 200 canettes par minute et prévoit d'ajouter les lignes deux et trois au cours des 18 prochains mois. BBCM prévoit de fournir une variété de produits de boissons en conserve à de grands clients nationaux et régionaux. BBCM sera pleinement opérationnel à la fin du deuxième trimestre 2020 et sa première ligne de production est épuisée à 80 %.
  • En janvier 2020, MSI Express, soutenu par HCI Equity Partners, dont le siège est aux États-Unis, a acquis Power Packaging. MSI Express est un fournisseur de services d'emballage et de fabrication sous contrat pour des marques bien connues dans le domaine de l'alimentation humaine et animale de longue conservation. L'acquisition de Power Packaging étend encore la présence géographique, les capacités et les relations clients de MSI Express. Power introduit également MSI Express dans de nouvelles catégories d'aliments telles que les boissons en poudre, les soupes et les bases, les mélanges à pâtisserie, les mélanges pour boissons, les cafés et les thés, les boissons de restauration, les kits de dîner, les pâtes, le riz, les plats d'accompagnement et les vinaigrettes.
 Contract packaging market Growth by Region

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché de l'emballage sous contrat est modérément fragmenté, avec la présence de nombreux fournisseurs nationaux et internationaux. Les entreprises du marché étendent continuellement leur proximité géographique à l'aide de partenariats et de fusions. Avec la croissance des activités d'externalisation parmi divers acteurs établis, ainsi que les PME, le marché étudié a connu une concurrence importante, en termes de fiabilité et de rapidité des services, ce qui en fait un marché concurrentiel. Dans l'ensemble, la menace des substituts est modérée et devrait augmenter au cours de la période de prévision.

  • Juin 2020 - Jones Healthcare Group a réalisé un investissement majeur dans son offre de services d'emballage qui comprend une ligne d'emballage sous blister Uhlmann à deux voies entièrement intégrée. L'équipement entièrement automatisé améliorera la capacité de l'entreprise à gérer les pics de demande et les combinaisons uniques de blisters, car des formes posologiques et des régimes pharmaceutiques plus complexes évoluent cliniquement et commercialement.
  • Mai 2020 - Sharp (UDG Healthcare PLC) a acquis une installation de conditionnement pharmaceutique auprès de Quality Packaging Specialists International LLC (QPSI). L'installation couvre une superficie de 160 000 pieds carrés et bénéficie d'une approbation réglementaire complète. Il comprend 12 sites de production primaires pour plusieurs lignes de conditionnement secondaires afin d'offrir des emballages pharmaceutiques primaires et secondaires, y compris l'embouteillage, la mise sous blister, l'étiquetage des flacons et la mise en kit de dispositifs médicaux, ainsi que des services de sérialisation.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Aaron Thomas Company

  2. Multipack Solutions LLC

  3. Pharma Tech Industries Inc.

  4. UNICEP Packaging LLC

  5. Jones Packaging Inc.

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Aaron Thomas Company, Multipack Solutions LLC, Pharma Tech Industries Inc., Reed Lane Inc., Sharp Packaging Services, UNICEP Packaging LLC,  Green Packaging Asia, Jones Healthcare Group,  Stamar Packaging Inc., Budelpack Poortvliet BV,  Complete Co-Packing Services Ltd

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Companies Looking to Gain Competitive Advantage by Outsourcing Non-core Operations

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Demand from the E-commerce Industry

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing Need for Latest Technology and Innovative Packaging

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Stringent Government Regulations

      2. 5.2.2 Competition from In-house Packaging

    3. 5.3 Industry Regulations and Standards

    4. 5.4 Evolution of Contract Packaging

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Packaging

      1. 6.1.1 Primary

      2. 6.1.2 Secondary

      3. 6.1.3 Tertiary

    2. 6.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.2.1 Food

      2. 6.2.2 Beverage

      3. 6.2.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 6.2.4 Household and Personal Care

      5. 6.2.5 Other End-user Industries

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

        1. 6.3.1.1 United States

        2. 6.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

        1. 6.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 6.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 6.3.2.3 France

        4. 6.3.2.4 Netherlands

        5. 6.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 6.3.2.6 Spain

        7. 6.3.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 6.3.3.1 China

        2. 6.3.3.2 India

        3. 6.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 6.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East & Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Aaron Thomas Company

      2. 7.1.2 Multipack Solutions LLC

      3. 7.1.3 Pharma Tech Industries Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 Reed Lane Inc.

      5. 7.1.5 Sharp Packaging Services

      6. 7.1.6 UNICEP Packaging LLC

      7. 7.1.7 Green Packaging Asia

      8. 7.1.8 Jones Healthcare Group

      9. 7.1.9 Stamar Packaging Inc.

      10. 7.1.10 Budelpack Poortvliet BV

      11. 7.1.11 Complete Co-Packing Services Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OUTLOOK

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché de l'emballage sous contrat est étudié de 2018 à 2028.

Le marché de l'emballage sous contrat croît à un TCAC de 10,18 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

La région Asie-Pacifique affiche le TCAC le plus élevé de 2018 à 2028.

L'Amérique du Nord détient la part la plus élevée en 2021.

Aaron Thomas Company, Multipack Solutions LLC, Pharma Tech Industries Inc., UNICEP Packaging LLC, Jones Packaging Inc. sont les principales entreprises opérant sur le marché de l'emballage sous contrat.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

BESTSELLER

Contract Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Contract Packaging Market is segmented by Packaging (Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary), End-user Industry (Food, Beverage, Pharmaceutical, Household and Personal Care), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Contract Packaging Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 10.18 %
Contract Packaging Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The global contract packaging market was valued at USD 49.89 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 89.74 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of approximately 10.18% during the forecast period (2021-2026). With the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, the contract packaging market has witnessed tremendous growth, as the e-commerce market has taken a boom, owing to lockdown and social distancing norms where the majority of the consumers has been preferring online channel for shopping, and companies have been outsourcing their packaging end to end or standalone services to meet the growing demand.

  • However, the pandemic impacted the automation plans for various company, which has some minimalistic effect in the market studied. According to the Association for Packaging and Processing Technologies (PMMI) survey, around 67% of CPG companies have put automation plans on hold than win comparison to 23% of SMEs.
  • Growth in the global contract packaging market is mainly influenced by the changing preferences of manufacturing firms, who usually outsource packing activities to third-party players. This is because manufacturers are increasingly focusing on cost optimization and their core business. Contract packaging provides several advantages. Firstly, it reduces the operational costs of the manufacturers. In many cases, it is estimated that the operational costs can be reduced by as much as 7% to 9% through outsourcing packaging activities to contract packagers and the decreasing costs of machines and labor costs.
  • Secondly, packaging regulations, especially in the case of food and beverage products, are evolving rapidly. Meeting such stringent rules and norms require several inspection and quality check operations. By outsourcing packaging activities, the hectic task of meeting such regulations (also known as mil-spec packaging) is passed on to the contract packaging agency, motivating more manufacturers to prefer contract package over in-house packaging activities.
  • Moreover, the packaging industry is rapidly growing, with many new products and technologies being introduced. Therefore, packaging companies need to stay updated to meet the changing needs of customers. Factors, such as urbanization, increasing disposable incomes, and preference for convenient and easy-to-open packages, shape new trends in the market.
  • Raising consumer awareness about environmental concerns, along with the producers’ demand for economical packaging options, is impelling contract packagers to adopt earth-friendly alternatives and eco-sensitive package designs. Furthermore, sustainability and customization are likely to continue to positively impact the contract packaging market, leading to growth in use in consumer-packaged goods, such as personal care and food and beverages, over the forecast period. In June 2020, CPA, The Association for Contract Packagers, and Manufacturers and The European CoPackers Association (ECPA) collaborated to increase the awareness and use of the contract packaging and contract manufacturing industry in their respective regions. This presents an opportunity for the members of each organization to invest in new technologies and introduce sustainability into their operations.
  • To remain relevant in the market, vendors are also focusing on acquisitions and geographical expansions, due to which the market is gradually consolidating. For instance, in March 2020, South Atlantic Packaging Corp. (SAPC) in Winston-Salem, a contract packaging company that offers to package, kitting, assembly, and warehousing solutions, bought Florida-based Versatile Packagers. It provides an excellent location for SAPC.

Scope of the Report

Contract packaging is the process of assembling a product or good into its final finished packaging. Depending on the product, the final packaging constitutes a variety of forms, such as thermoformed/plastic clamshell/blister packaging, a plastic bag, a standing corrugated retail point-of-sale display, or a transport tray. Sometimes, contract packagers are tasked with something as simple as adding a bar code sticker to a product or as complex as planning, designing, producing, and fulfilling the entire package. The study covers primary packaging, secondary packaging, and tertiary packaging among several end-user industries across countries in as North America, Europe, etc. The scope of the report for the purpose of market estimation on contract packaging excludes the design, testing, fulfillment, and other segments that are outsourced under the contract packaging segment. The study also covers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the market.

By Packaging
Primary
Secondary
Tertiary
By End-user Industry
Food
Beverage
Pharmaceutical
Household and Personal Care
Other End-user Industries
By Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom
France
Netherlands
Italy
Spain
Rest of Europe
Asia Pacific
China
India
Japan
Rest of Asia Pacific
Latin America
Middle East & Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Pharmaceutical is Expected to Hold Significant Growth

  • The growth in advancement and research in the pharmaceutical industry has resulted in the introduction of new drugs, with more exceptional performance compared to their predecessors. Recent improvements in medical sciences and additions to medicines already available for numerous diseases and deficiencies drive the contract packaging market, indirectly, as the necessity of packaging the drugs has multiplied rapidly.
  • Various pharmaceutical companies are now outsourcing the job of packaging end-products to companies skilled labor specialized in handling the packaging of medicines. The pharmaceutical packaging of drugs is a vital aspect, as the product should be safe for patient's consumption.
  • In North America, it is estimated that by the end of 2020, nearly 50 well-known, highly-prescribed drugs will go off-patent, which creates opportunities for contract packagers. Poor patient compliance or medication adherence can lead to increased hospitalization and worsening of the disease. Manufacturers' ongoing focus on drug safety and protection, and the latest government regulations, are the factors for the outsourcing packaging requirements. As per the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations in the United States, pharmaceutical drugs need high barrier packaging materials and sealants that are impermeable and resistant to solvents, grease, chemicals, and heat for better security protection.
  • Since late February 2020, U.S. pharmaceutical manufacturers, being dependent on China, have a high risk of supply shortages, which may continue over the next three months. In the meantime, the FDA asked U.S. pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers to evaluate and plan for API sourcing alternatives.
  • Concerning medical devices, FDA recognized 63 manufacturers and 72 facilities across China, which were contacted for essential devices inventory pileup, to avoid shortage in case of a supply disruption. However, contrary to such measures being taken, C2 Pharma, an API supplier outsourcing manufacturer, observed that the U.S. government's coronavirus response could realign the country's pharmaceutical supply chain.
Contract Packaging Market Trends

North America to Account for the Largest Share

  • The contract packaging sector in North America is rapidly growing due to the increasing demand for packaging in segments, like food and beverages, pharmaceuticals, beauty care, and other sections. Various contract packaging companies in the United States and Canada have learned to adapt to challenging business conditions. The companies are also getting aware regarding the intense global competition, cost pressures, and highly variable demand from OEMs. This environment is significantly increasing the contract packaging market in the United States. Many European companies, such as Langen Group and Persson Innovation, have already invested in the United States.
  • Owing to the stability, rising demand, and changing the preference of manufacturing firms toward contract packagers, the U.S. contract packaging market is expected to witness steady growth. Also, the U.S. government has placed various laws and regulations on the labeling and packaging of the drugs. This could create a positive impact on the demand for contract packaging, owing to the inability of an in-house packaging facility for few pharmaceutical companies in this region.
  • In February 2020, Big Beverages Contract Manufacturing (BBCM) announced the opening of its new beverage co-packing facility in North Carolina. In their new facility, BBCM will begin with one highspeed can-line capable of producing 1,200 cans per minute with plans to add lines two and three over the next 18 months. BBCM plans to provide a variety of canned beverage products for large national and regional customers. BBCM will be fully operational in late Q2 2020, and its first production line is 80% sold out.
  • In January 2020, MSI Express, backed by HCI Equity Partners, which is headquartered in the United States, has acquired Power Packaging. MSI Express is a provider of contract packaging and contract manufacturing services for well-known brands in the shelf-stable human and pet food space. The acquisition of Power Packaging further expands MSI Express’s geographical presence, capabilities, and customer relationships. Power also brings MSI Express into new food categories such as powdered beverages, soups and bases, baking mixes, beverage mixes, coffees and teas, foodservice beverages, dinner kits, pasta, rice, side dishes, and salad dressings.
Contract Packaging Market Growth

Competitive Landscape

The contract packaging market is moderately fragmented, with the presence of many domestic and international vendors. The companies in the market are continually expanding their geographical proximity with the help of partnerships and mergers. With the growth of outsourcing activities among various established players, as well as SMB, the market studied has been witnessing significant competition, in terms of providing reliable and speed of services, making it a competitive market. Overall, the threat of substitutes is moderate and is expected to grow during the forecast period.

  • June 2020 - Jones Healthcare Group made a major investment in its packaging services offering which includes a fully integrated two-lane Uhlmann blister packaging line. The fully automated equipment will improve the firm’s capacity to manage surges regarding the demand and unique blister combinations, as more complex pharmaceutical dosage forms and regimes are evolving clinically and commercially.
  • May 2020 - Sharp (UDG Healthcare PLC) acquired a pharmaceutical packaging facility from Quality Packaging Specialists International LLC (QPSI). The facility covers an area of 160,000 sq. ft and has full regulatory approval. It encompasses 12 primary production sites for multiple secondary packaging lines to offer both primary and secondary pharmaceutical packaging, including bottling, blistering, vial labeling, and medical device kitting, as well as serialization services.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Impact of COVID-19 on the Market

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Companies Looking to Gain Competitive Advantage by Outsourcing Non-core Operations

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Demand from the E-commerce Industry

      3. 5.1.3 Increasing Need for Latest Technology and Innovative Packaging

    2. 5.2 Market Restraints

      1. 5.2.1 Stringent Government Regulations

      2. 5.2.2 Competition from In-house Packaging

    3. 5.3 Industry Regulations and Standards

    4. 5.4 Evolution of Contract Packaging

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 By Packaging

      1. 6.1.1 Primary

      2. 6.1.2 Secondary

      3. 6.1.3 Tertiary

    2. 6.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 6.2.1 Food

      2. 6.2.2 Beverage

      3. 6.2.3 Pharmaceutical

      4. 6.2.4 Household and Personal Care

      5. 6.2.5 Other End-user Industries

    3. 6.3 By Geography

      1. 6.3.1 North America

        1. 6.3.1.1 United States

        2. 6.3.1.2 Canada

      2. 6.3.2 Europe

        1. 6.3.2.1 Germany

        2. 6.3.2.2 United Kingdom

        3. 6.3.2.3 France

        4. 6.3.2.4 Netherlands

        5. 6.3.2.5 Italy

        6. 6.3.2.6 Spain

        7. 6.3.2.7 Rest of Europe

      3. 6.3.3 Asia Pacific

        1. 6.3.3.1 China

        2. 6.3.3.2 India

        3. 6.3.3.3 Japan

        4. 6.3.3.4 Rest of Asia Pacific

      4. 6.3.4 Latin America

      5. 6.3.5 Middle East & Africa

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Aaron Thomas Company

      2. 7.1.2 Multipack Solutions LLC

      3. 7.1.3 Pharma Tech Industries Inc.

      4. 7.1.4 Reed Lane Inc.

      5. 7.1.5 Sharp Packaging Services

      6. 7.1.6 UNICEP Packaging LLC

      7. 7.1.7 Green Packaging Asia

      8. 7.1.8 Jones Healthcare Group

      9. 7.1.9 Stamar Packaging Inc.

      10. 7.1.10 Budelpack Poortvliet BV

      11. 7.1.11 Complete Co-Packing Services Ltd

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OUTLOOK

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Contract Packaging Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Contract Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 10.18% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Aaron Thomas Company, Multipack Solutions LLC, Pharma Tech Industries Inc., UNICEP Packaging LLC, Jones Packaging Inc. are the major companies operating in Contract Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!