加拿大玻璃瓶和容器市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

加拿大玻璃瓶和容器市场按最终用户垂直(食品、饮料、药品、化妆品)细分。

市场快照

Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4.91 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

2020 年加拿大玻璃瓶和容器市场价值 33.6 亿美元,预计在 2021 年至 2026 年的预测期内以 4.91% 的复合年增长率达到 149.7 亿美元。玻璃包装完全可回收,这使其成为理想的包装选择从环保的角度来看。6吨再生玻璃直接节约资源6吨,减少二氧化碳排放1吨。推动市场增长的主要因素之一是该国啤酒消费量的增加。根据加拿大啤酒公司的数据,2019 年啤酒总销量为 2141 万百升。啤酒是使用玻璃瓶进行包装的重要酒精饮料之一。啤酒通常装在深色玻璃瓶中以保存内容物,暴露在紫外线下容易变质。

  • 此外,加拿大一直是重要的玻璃出口国之一,在全球排名第 27 位。2019年,该国主要向英国、美国和印度出口了超过6.083亿美元的玻璃和玻璃器皿。该国如此高的制造设施为该行业提供了竞争优势和扩张的增长机会。加拿大卫生部的包装要求不足以解决环境影响,因此获得联邦许可的生产商正在加紧回收计划。大多数药房都选择在大玻璃罐中储存和展示大部分干大麻。
  • 食品和消费品行业是突出的行业之一,每年为该国的 GDP 贡献超过 290 亿美元。它正在显着增长,估计将推动对玻璃和容器包装市场的需求。最近,加拿大小镇奥罗莫克托启动了一个玻璃回收试点项目,这是一个为期四个月的试点项目,旨在处理玻璃食品罐,以防止可回收材料最终进入垃圾填埋场。据环境和地方政府部称,该试点项目是第一个收集非饮料玻璃容器进行回收的项目。此外,加拿大的包装制造公司 Stanpac Inc. 提供玻璃瓶筛选设备,几乎可以装饰任何玻璃容器。
  • 由于其众多优点,玻璃包装在化妆品和香水中的应用显着上升。此外,预计新兴经济体将对化妆品和香水产品及其包装产生有利的需求。加拿大是化妆品消费和生产增长最快的市场之一。到 2021 年,加拿大化妆品市场价值预计将达到 158 亿美元,比过去五年增加了 30 亿美元。奢侈品和高档化妆品、香水、玻璃瓶和容器包装是首选,因为供应商感觉高档。尽管如此,还有一些额外的好处增加了吸引力。
  • 由于传统、可回收性和高档化,玻璃瓶仍然是最受欢迎的包装类型之一。城市化进程的加快和可支配收入水平的提高推动了该国所研究市场的增长。根据 Wold Bank 进行的一项名为 World Development Indicators 的调查,2018 年加拿大的城市化程度占 81.41%。想被关联。对玻璃的健康和环境益处的日益认识使消费者倾向于玻璃瓶和容器。

报告范围

玻璃瓶和容器提供了一种理想的方式,可以在更长的时间内保持消耗品的安全、新鲜和健康,并便于运输。玻璃瓶和容器大量用于酒精和非酒精饮料行业。作为市场范围的一部分,已经考虑了各种最终用户垂直领域,例如饮料、食品、制药和化妆品。

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

饮料有望占据主要份额

  • 玻璃瓶和容器在酒精和非酒精饮料行业中得到了广泛应用,因为它具有保持化学惰性、无菌性和非渗透性的各种特性。啤酒等酒精饮料占据了市场的最大部分,因为玻璃不会与饮料中存在的化学物质发生反应,因此可以保留这些饮料的香气、强度和风味,使其成为包装的有利选择。由于这个原因,大部分啤酒量是用玻璃瓶运输的,预计这种趋势将在该国的研究期间持续下去。
  • 根据联合国商品贸易统计,2019 年加拿大进口的非酒精饮料贸易额为 8.422 亿美元。根据 StatCan 的数据,2018 年酒类总销量达到 310 万升。葡萄酒销量显着增长4.6%,占酒精饮料销售额的 32.4%。烈酒销售额增长 4.4%,占酒类总销售额的 23.7%。玻璃包装在整个酒精饮料市场中占有相当大的份额。随着酒精饮料需求的持续增长,预计玻璃瓶市场将在预测期内增加。
  • 2020 年 1 月,魁北克政府宣布了一项新的、更广泛的寄售计划,其中包括 100 毫升至 2 升的所有玻璃、塑料和金属饮料容器。所有饮料瓶和容器,包括酒和酒的玻璃瓶,都将在最新的存款系统下上交。政府表示,目标是通过更快地回收和分类来减少最终进入垃圾填埋场的材料数量。不属于之前存款计划的葡萄酒和烈酒瓶以及水瓶和罐头,包括苏打水、蔬菜汁和绿茶,将包括在新计划中。 
  • 由于对 COVID-19 的担忧,全国各地的回收计划暂停,加拿大最大的啤酒酿造商之一表示,它正在努力寻找足够的瓶子来跟上生产的步伐。3 月中旬,安大略省的啤酒零售巨头 The Beer Store 宣布将在 3 月 19 日至 3 月 31 日期间停止接受空罐,以保护员工免受冠状病毒感染。暂停期已过,但这家由 450 家连锁店组成的连锁店没有回答有关是否会恢复收集用过的瓶子和罐头的问题,尽管它在其网站上表示,有关其回收计划的新信息正在等待中。
Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market

医药有望实现显着增长

  • 加拿大快速发展的制药业正在推动市场的增长。对药用玻璃和容器的需求主要出现,并且该国的药品产量不断增加,这进一步增加了该国对药品玻璃包装的需求。此外,由于美国正面临从加拿大以外的其他国家进口昂贵的药品,美国政府授权了一个试点项目,供批发商和药剂师从加拿大进口 FDA 批准的药品版本。
  • 为提高该国国产药品的质量和完整性而引入了严格的法律,导致药品包装产品中玻璃的使用增加。此外,制药行业对无菌医疗包装产品的需求不断增长,将进一步推动市场在预测期内的增长。根据 StatCan 的数据,2019 年制药和医药制造行业收入为 94.8 亿美元。
  • 加拿大卫生部的包装要求不足以解决环境影响,因此获得联邦许可的生产商正在加紧实施回收计划。大多数药房都选择在大玻璃罐中储存和展示大量干大麻。此外,加拿大对注射药物的需求不断增长,极大地推动了玻璃瓶的增长。肿瘤学和其他高效药(如抗体偶联物、类固醇和需要快速起效的静脉输液)的强劲市场预计将成为关键的增长动力。
  • 2020 年 5 月,总部位于加拿大的生物制药公司 Laurent Pharmaceuticals Inc. 发表声明称,它已获加拿大卫生部批准启动 RESOLUTION,这是一项 2 期随机安慰剂对照试验,测试每天一次口服 LAU-7b 作为一种的潜在候选药物,以帮助对抗冠状病毒疾病。该试验预计即将在加拿大的多家医院开始,将招募近 200 名住院的 COVID-19 患者,治疗时间为 14 天。最终的疫苗可能包装在即用型玻璃注射器中。少数制造商位于加拿大,但许多制造商仍需进口用于小瓶的玻璃管。
Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market

竞争格局

加拿大玻璃瓶和容器市场相当巩固,因为 Ampak Inc.、Owens-Illinois Inc.、Vitro Canada 等少数公司在该国占据重要市场份额。这些公司正在通过建立各种合作伙伴关系以及在特定的最终用户垂直领域发起新的玻璃大战和容器来增加其市场份额。

  • 2020 年 4 月 - OI, Inc. 是食品和饮料供应链的一部分,在 COVID-19 大流行期间被全球许多政府认为是必不可少的。在 covid-19 推动的发展中,转向生产洗手液的啤酒厂和酿酒厂正依靠 OI 玻璃包装来获得关键供应。在 COVID-19 健康危机期间,啤酒厂和酿酒厂正在从酒精饮料转向洗手液,并依靠 OI 工厂制造的玻璃容器来包装洗手液。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Supply Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Improved Technology Offering Better Solutions

      2. 5.1.2 Higher Disposable Income and Integration in Premium Packaging

    2. 5.2 Market Challeges

      1. 5.2.1 High Competition from Substitute Packaging Solutions

      2. 5.2.2 Operation and Logistical Concerns

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE GLASS BOTTLES & CONTAINER INDUSTRY

  7. 7. NORTH AMERICA GLASS BOTTLE & CONTAINER MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Current Market Scenario, and the growth Influencers

    2. 7.2 Demand Analysis

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 End-User Vertical

      1. 8.1.1 Food

      2. 8.1.2 Beverage

      3. 8.1.3 Pharmaceuticals

      4. 8.1.4 Cosmetics

      5. 8.1.5 Other End-User Verticals

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 Ampak Inc.

      2. 9.1.2 Owens-Illinois Inc.

      3. 9.1.3 Vitro Canada

      4. 9.1.4 Richards Packaging, Inc.

      5. 9.1.5 Zenan Glass

      6. 9.1.6 Salbro Bottle Inc.

  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.91% over the next 5 years.

Ampak Inc., Owens-Illinois Inc., Vitro Canada, Richards Packaging, Inc., Zenan Glass are the major companies operating in Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market is segmented by End-User Vertical (Food, Beverage, Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics).

Market Snapshot

Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
CAGR: 4.91 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market was valued at USD 3.36 billion in 2020 is expected to reach USD 14.97 billion at a CAGR of 4.91% over the forecast period from 2021 - 2026. Glass packaging is entirely recyclable, which makes it a desirable packaging option from the environmental point of view. SIx tons of recycled glass directly save six tons of resources and reduce the emission of carbon dioxide by one ton. One of the main factors driving the growth of the market is the increase in beer consumption in the country. According to Beer Canada, the total beer sales accounted for 21.41 million hectoliters in 2019. Beer is one of the significant alcoholic beverages that use glass bottles for packaging. Beer is generally packed in dark-colored glass bottles to preserve the contents, which are prone to spoilage when exposed to UV light.

  • Moreover, Canada has been one of the significant exporters of glass and ranks 27 worldwide. In 2019, the country exported over USD 608.3 million of glass and glassware mainly to the United Kingdom, the United States, and India. Such a high manufacturing facility in the country gives the industry a competitive edge and growth opportunities for expansion. Health Canada's packaging requirements are insufficient to address environmental impacts, so federally licensed producers are stepping up with recycling programs. Most of the dispensaries are opting to store and display the bulk of dried cannabis in large glass jars.
  • The food and consumer products industry is one of the prominent sectors, which contributes to over USD 29 billion to the country's GDP annually. It is significantly growing, which is estimated to drive the demand for the glass and containers packaging market. Recently, Oromocto, a Canadian town, launched a glass recycling pilot project, a four-month pilot project for disposing of glass food jars to prevent the recyclable material from ending up in landfills. According to the Department of Environment and Local Government, the pilot project is the first to collect non-beverage glass containers for recycling. Moreover, Stanpac Inc., a packaging manufacturing company in Canada, offers a glass bottle screening equipment to decorate virtually any glass container.
  • Due to its many benefits, glass packaging significantly rising for both cosmetics and fragrance. Moreover, emerging economies are anticipated to create a favorable demand for cosmetics and perfume products and their packaging. Canada is one of the fastest-growing markets for cosmetic consumption and production. The value of the cosmetics market in Canada is expected to reach USD 15.8 billion by 2021, which is an increase of USD 3 billion in the past five years. Luxury and premium cosmetics, perfumes, glass bottles, and container packaging are preferred as providers premiums feel. Still, also, there are added benefits that add to the appeal.
  • Glass bottles remain one of the most popular packaging types owing to heritage, returnability, and premiumization. Increased urbanization and a higher level of disposable income have propelled the growth of the market studied in the country. According to a survey called World Development Indicators conducted by Wold Bank, the degree of urbanization accounted for 81.41% in Canada in 2018. The aesthetic appeal of glass containers has ensured their usage in packing luxury products, portraying a sense of timeless prestige with which people want to be associated. Growing awareness of the health and environmental benefits of glass has made consumers inclined toward glass bottles and containers.

Scope of the Report

Glass bottles and containers provide an ideal way to keep the consumables safe, fresh, and healthy for a more extended period and ease of transport. Glass bottles and containers are significantly used in the alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage industry. As part of the scope of the market, various end-user verticals such as beverage, food, pharmaceutical, and cosmetics, has been considered.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Beverage is Expected to Hold Major Share

  • Glass bottles and containers are significantly used in the alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage industry, due to its various properties to maintain chemical inertness, sterility, and non-permeability. Alcoholic drinks, like beer, accounted for the largest segment of the market, as glass does not react with the chemicals present in drinks and, therefore, preserves the aroma, strength, and flavor of these beverages, making it a favorable option for packaging. Due to this reason, a majority of the beer volume is transported in glass bottles, and this trend is expected to continue over the study period in the country.
  • According to UN Comtrade, the trade value of non-alcoholic beverages imported to Canada accounted for USD 842.2 million in 2019. According to StatCan, the total volume of liquor sold reached 3.1 million liters in 2018. The wine sales have witnessed a significant growth of 4.6% and accounted for 32.4% of alcoholic beverage sales. The spirit sales grew by 4.4% and accounted for 23.7% of total alcohol sales. The glass packaging has a significant share in the overall alcoholic beverage market. With the ongoing increase in demand for alcoholic beverages, the market for glass bottles is expected to increase in the forecast period.
  • In January 2020, the Quebec government has announced a new, more extensive consignment program that will include all glass, plastic, and metal drink containers between 100ml and 2L. All beverage bottles and containers, including glass bottles for wine and alcohol, will be turned in under the latest deposit system. The government says the goal is to reduce the amount of material that ends up in landfills by recovering and sorting them sooner. Wine and spirit bottles and water bottles and cans that were not part of the previous deposit program, which includes sparkling water, vegetable juices, and green teas, will be included in the new program. 
  • With recycling programs suspended around the country due to COVID-19 fears, one of Canada’s largest beer brewers says it is struggling to find enough bottles to keep up with production. In mid-March, Ontario’s beer retailing behemoth, The Beer Store, announced it would stop accepting empties from March 19 to March 31 to protect employees from being exposed to the coronavirus. The suspension expired, but the chain of 450 stores didn’t respond to questions about whether it would resume collecting used bottles and cans, though it said on its website that new information on its recycling program was pending.
Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market

Pharmaceutical is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • The rapidly growing pharmaceutical industry across Canada is boosting the growth of the market. The demand for pharmaceutical glass and containers are majorly arising, and there is an increasing pharmaceutical production in the country, which is further increasing the need for the glass packaging for pharmaceuticals in the country. Additionally, as the United States is facing costly pharmaceutical imports from other countries than Canada, the US government authorized a pilot project for wholesalers and pharmacists to import versions of FDA-approved medicines from Canada.
  • The introduction of stringent laws to enhance the quality and integrity of domestically manufactured drugs in the country leads to an increase in the use of glass for pharmaceutical packaging products. Additionally, the increasing demand for sterile medical packaging products from the pharmaceutical industries would further drive the growth of the market over the forecast period. According to StatCan, the industry revenue of pharmaceutical and medicine manufacturing accounted for 9.48 billion USD in 2019.
  • Health Canada's packaging requirements are not sufficient enough to address environmental impacts, so federally licensed producers are stepping up with recycling programs. Most of the dispensaries are opting to store and display bulk amounts of dried cannabis in large glass jars. Moreover, the increasing demand for injectable pharmaceuticals in Canada is significantly driving the growth of glass bottles. The robust market for oncology and other high-potency drugs (such as antibody conjugates, steroids, and IV fluids that require quick onset of action), is expected to be the key growth driver.
  • In May 2020, Laurent Pharmaceuticals Inc., a Canada-based biopharmaceutical company, made a statement that it was approved from Health Canada to initiate RESOLUTION, a Phase 2 randomized placebo-controlled trial testing once-a-day oral LAU-7b as one of the potential drug candidate to help fight the coronavirus disease. The trial, which is expected to start imminently in numerous hospitals in Canada, will enroll almost 200 hospitalized COVID-19 patients for a treatment duration that lasts for 14 days. The final vaccine might be packaged in ready-to-use glass syringes. A handful of manufacturers are based in Canada, but many still have to import the glass tubing for vials.
Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market

Competitive Landscape

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market is quite consolidated as few companies such as Ampak Inc., Owens-Illinois Inc., Vitro Canada, etc. occupy significant market share in the country. The companies are increasing their market share by forming various partnerships and as well as launching new glass battles and containers across specific end-user verticals.

  • April 2020 - O-I, Inc., a part of the food and beverage supply chain, deemed essential by many governments worldwide during the COVID-19 pandemic. in a development driven by covid-19, breweries and distilleries who have pivoted to produce hand sanitizer are leaning on O-I glass packaging for the critical supply. Breweries and distilleries are pivoting from alcoholic beverages to hand sanitizer during the COVID-19 health crisis, and leaning on glass containers made by O-I plants to package the sanitizer.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHT

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Supply Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Improved Technology Offering Better Solutions

      2. 5.1.2 Higher Disposable Income and Integration in Premium Packaging

    2. 5.2 Market Challeges

      1. 5.2.1 High Competition from Substitute Packaging Solutions

      2. 5.2.2 Operation and Logistical Concerns

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

  6. 6. IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE GLASS BOTTLES & CONTAINER INDUSTRY

  7. 7. NORTH AMERICA GLASS BOTTLE & CONTAINER MARKET LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Current Market Scenario, and the growth Influencers

    2. 7.2 Demand Analysis

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 End-User Vertical

      1. 8.1.1 Food

      2. 8.1.2 Beverage

      3. 8.1.3 Pharmaceuticals

      4. 8.1.4 Cosmetics

      5. 8.1.5 Other End-User Verticals

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Company Profiles

      1. 9.1.1 Ampak Inc.

      2. 9.1.2 Owens-Illinois Inc.

      3. 9.1.3 Vitro Canada

      4. 9.1.4 Richards Packaging, Inc.

      5. 9.1.5 Zenan Glass

      6. 9.1.6 Salbro Bottle Inc.

  10. 10. FUTURE OUTLOOK OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market is growing at a CAGR of 4.91% over the next 5 years.

Ampak Inc., Owens-Illinois Inc., Vitro Canada, Richards Packaging, Inc., Zenan Glass are the major companies operating in Canada Glass Bottles and Containers Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!