Африканский рынок семян овощей: рост, тенденции, влияние COVID-19 и прогнозы (2022–2027 гг.)

Африканский рынок семян овощей сегментирован по типу сельскохозяйственных культур на помидоры, капусту, лук, морковь, бамию и другие, а также по странам на Кению, Уганду, Нигерию и Южную Африку.

Обзор рынка

Market Snapshot 1
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 6.2 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Обзор рынка

Прогнозируется, что рынок семян овощей в Африке будет расти в среднем на 6,2% в течение прогнозируемого периода (2020-2025 гг.). На Южную Африку приходится заметная доля рынка благодаря крупнейшему производству семян овощных культур в регионе. Некоммерческие организации и многие региональные регулирующие органы, продвигающие овощеводство, а также увеличение спроса на продукты питания и необходимость устойчивого развития сельского хозяйства, являются одними из факторов, стимулирующих рост рынка. Низкий доступ к высококачественным семенам, высокие капитальные вложения и эксплуатационные расходы, а также недостаточная информированность о питательной ценности овощей являются одними из факторов, сдерживающих рост рынка.

Объем отчета

Семя представляет собой зрелую яйцеклетку, состоящую из зародышевого растения (бездействующего) вместе с запасенными питательными веществами, необходимыми зародышевому растению, и все это окружено защитной оболочкой. Семя — это живое существо и биологический продукт, который может погибнуть в зависимости от его генетического потенциала оставаться жизнеспособным и от условий хранения. Семена можно классифицировать по-разному, например, по ботаническим признакам (ботаническая классификация), типу культуры, использованию и т. д. В отчете содержится подробный анализ различных параметров африканского рынка семян овощных культур. Рынок сегментирован по регионам и типам овощей.

Crop Type
Tomato
Cabbage
Onion
Carrot
Okra
Others
Country
Kenya
Uganda
Nigeria
South Africa
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Ключевые тенденции рынка

Растущий спрос на экономическое развитие и продовольственную безопасность движет рынком

Серьезной угрозой, тревожащей Африку, является отсутствие продовольственной безопасности и несовершенные планы питания. Овощи являются важным источником микроэлементов и клетчатки. В Африке государственные органы берут на себя строгую приверженность развитию пищевой безопасности. В африканских странах с низким доходом удовлетворение потребности в калориях является приоритетом, и включение овощей в планы питания служит альтернативой удовлетворению потребности в калориях. Ученые и различные семеноводческие компании вкладывают значительные средства в исследования и разработки, чтобы вывести высокопитательные и урожайные сорта семян. За счет использования этих новых сортов семян овощных культур в ряде стран планируется расширение приусадебных участков с целью способствовать повышению продовольственной безопасности в Африке. Такие агентства, как Агентство Нового партнерства в интересах развития Африки (НЕПАД),

Market Trends 1

Томаты занимают значительную долю на рынке семян овощных культур

Помидор – одна из основных овощных культур, выращиваемых в стране. По данным Продовольственной и сельскохозяйственной организации Объединенных Наций ( ФАО), В 2018 году общий объем производства томатов в стране составил 20,77 млн ​​тонн по сравнению с 20,67 млн ​​тонн в 2016 году. Среди свежих помидоров популярны сорта Флорида, Хайнц 1370, Карино и Родаде. Популярные новые гибриды на рынке включают Fortress, Hytec, Star 9001, Star 9003, Sundance и Zeal. Алжир, Бенин, Камерун, Египет, Гана, Кения, Судан, Тунис и Объединенная Республика Танзания являются основными странами в сегменте «Остальная часть Африки». Во всех этих странах ежегодно выращивается более 20 000 га томатов. Однако из-за благоприятных агроклиматических условий и сравнительно лучших методов управления растениеводством в некоторых странах (например, в Алжире, Марокко и Тунисе) средняя урожайность в этом регионе была на 47% выше, чем в Африке, в последние годы.

vegetable-seed-market-africa

Конкурентная среда

На африканском рынке семян овощей компании конкурируют не только за счет качества продукции и продвижения, но также сосредоточены на стратегических шагах, чтобы удержать большую долю рынка. Африканский рынок семян овощных культур фрагментирован, и ни одна компания не имеет явных позиций на рынке. Во многом это связано с тем, что рынок нестабилен и отсутствует регулирование качества семян и маркировки, что позволяет местным компаниям легко распространять свою продукцию на рынке. Приобретение Syngenta компании MRI Zambia и ее недавняя деятельность по расширению обеспечивают сильное присутствие на африканском рынке семян овощных культур.

Основные игроки

  1. Monsanto

  2. Hygrotech

  3. Kenya Seed Company

  4. Sakata Seed Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd

  5. Syngenta

Africa Vegetable

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Crop Type

      1. 5.1.1 Tomato

      2. 5.1.2 Cabbage

      3. 5.1.3 Onion

      4. 5.1.4 Carrot

      5. 5.1.5 Okra

      6. 5.1.6 Others

    2. 5.2 Country

      1. 5.2.1 Kenya

      2. 5.2.2 Uganda

      3. 5.2.3 Nigeria

      4. 5.2.4 South Africa

      5. 5.2.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Bayer CropScience AG

      2. 6.3.2 Kenya Seed Company

      3. 6.3.3 East African Seeds Co.

      4. 6.3.4 Rijk Zwaan Africa

      5. 6.3.5 Hygrotech

      6. 6.3.6 Premier Seeds Nigeria Limited

      7. 6.3.7 Sakata Seed Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd

      8. 6.3.8 East-West Seed

      9. 6.3.9 Victoria Seeds Limited

      10. 6.3.10 Syngenta International AG

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Africa Vegetable Seed Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Africa Vegetable Seed Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.2% over the next 5 years.

Monsanto, Hygrotech, Kenya Seed Company, Sakata Seed Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd, Syngenta are the major companies operating in Africa Vegetable Seed Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Africa Vegetable Seed Market – Growth, Trends, and Forecast (2020 - 2025)

The Africa Vegetable Seed Market is segmented by Crop type into the tomato, cabbage, onion, carrot, okra, and others, and by Country into Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, and South Africa.

Market Snapshot

Study Period:

2016-2025

Base Year:

2019

CAGR:

6.2 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The African Vegetable Seed Market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 6.2% during the forecast period (2020-2025). South Africa accounts for prominent market share owing to the its largest vegetable seed production in the region. Non-profit organizations and many regional regulatory bodies promoting vegetable breeding and an increase in food demand and the need for sustainable agriculture development are some of the factors driving the market growth. Low access to high-quality seeds, high capital investment and operational costs and lack of awareness of the nutritional benefits of consuming vegetables are some of the factors restraining the market growth.

Scope of the Report

A seed is a mature ovule consisting of an embryonic plant (dormant) along with the stored nutrients required for the embryonic plant, all surrounded by a protective coat. A seed is a living entity and a biological product that can die, depending upon its genetic potential to remain viable and its storage conditions. Seeds can be classified in various ways, such as botanical characters (botanical classification), crop type, uses, etc. The report contains a detailed analysis of various parameters of the African vegetable seed market. The market has been segmented, based on region and vegetable type.

Crop Type
Tomato
Cabbage
Onion
Carrot
Okra
Others
Country
Kenya
Uganda
Nigeria
South Africa
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand for Economic Development and Nutrition Security is driving the market

A major threat alarming Africa is its nutritional insecurity and deficient diet plans. Vegetables are important sources of micronutrients and fibers. In Africa, government authorities are adopting a strict commitment to the development of nutritional security. In low-income countries from Africa, meeting caloric requirements is a priority, and the inclusion of vegetables in diet plans serves as an alternative to meeting the caloric requirements. Scientists and different seed companies are investing heavily in R&D, to develop highly nutritious and yielding seed varieties. By utilizing these newly developing vegetable seed varieties, the expansion of home gardens is planned in several countries, with an aim to contribute to the growth of nutritional security in Africa. The agencies like The New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) Agency, along with various international, local, and government associations, are supporting the Africa nutritional security programs.

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Tomato Holds a Prominent Share in Vegetable Seed Market

Tomato is one of the major vegetable crops grown in the country. According to the food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), In 2018 the total tomato production in the country is reported to be 20.77 million tons as compared to its production of 20.67 million tons in 2016. Among fresh tomatoes, Florida, Heinz 1370, Karino, and Rodade are the popular cultivars. Popular newer hybrids in the market include - Fortress, Hytec, Star 9001, Star 9003, Sundance, and Zeal. Algeria, Benin, Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Sudan, Tunisia, and the United Republic of Tanzania are the major countries in the Rest of the Africa segment. All these countries have more than 20,000 hectares of yearly tomato cultivation. However, due to favorable agro-climatic conditions and comparatively better crop management practices in some of the countries (such as Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia), the average yield in this region was 47% higher than that of Africa, in the recent years

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

In the African vegetable seed market, companies are not only competing based on product quality and promotion but are also focused on strategic moves, to hold a larger market share. The African vegetable seed market is fragmented, and no company has a clear stronghold in the market. This is largely due to the fact that the market is fragile and there is no regulation on seed quality and labeling, which allows the local companies to circulate their products easily in the market. Syngenta’s acquisition of MRI Zambia and its recent expansion activities provide a strong presence in the African vegetable seed market.

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Crop Type

      1. 5.1.1 Tomato

      2. 5.1.2 Cabbage

      3. 5.1.3 Onion

      4. 5.1.4 Carrot

      5. 5.1.5 Okra

      6. 5.1.6 Others

    2. 5.2 Country

      1. 5.2.1 Kenya

      2. 5.2.2 Uganda

      3. 5.2.3 Nigeria

      4. 5.2.4 South Africa

      5. 5.2.5 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Bayer CropScience AG

      2. 6.3.2 Kenya Seed Company

      3. 6.3.3 East African Seeds Co.

      4. 6.3.4 Rijk Zwaan Africa

      5. 6.3.5 Hygrotech

      6. 6.3.6 Premier Seeds Nigeria Limited

      7. 6.3.7 Sakata Seed Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd

      8. 6.3.8 East-West Seed

      9. 6.3.9 Victoria Seeds Limited

      10. 6.3.10 Syngenta International AG

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Related Reports