GCC-Düngemittelmarkt – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für GCC-Düngemittel ist nach Produkttyp (Stickstoff-, Phosphat-, Kalium-, Sekundärnährstoffdünger und Mikronährstoffe), Geographie (Saudi-Arabien, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, Katar, Oman und Rest des GCC) unterteilt. Der Bericht bietet Marktgröße und Prognosen in Bezug auf den Wert (Millionen USD) für alle oben genannten Segmente.

Markt-Snapshot

GCC Fertilizer Market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 8.9 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für GCC-Düngemittel wird für den Prognosezeitraum (2022-2027) voraussichtlich eine CAGR von 9,6 % verzeichnen.

Die COVID-19-Pandemie verursachte der GCC-Wirtschaft im Jahr 2020 aufgrund von Maßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit der Pandemie, nationalen Sperren und dem Einbruch der Düngemittelpreise einen beispiellosen Schlag. Die chemische Industrie in der Region ist eng mit der Wirtschaftstätigkeit, Gegenwind bei Nachfrage und Angebot, Schwankungen der Rohstoffpreise und dem Wachstum der Endverbraucherindustrien verbunden. Sie erlebte die negativen Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie und der gesamtwirtschaftlichen Lage.

Die steigende Nachfrage nach Speisegetreide und das wachsende Bewusstsein der landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinschaften für den Einsatz von Düngemitteln zur Steigerung der Produktivität treiben den Düngemittelmarkt an. Die steigende Nachfrage nach Düngemitteln aus anderen Ländern treibt die Produktion in den Ländern an. Saudi-Arabien trug 2019 49 % zur gesamten Düngemittelproduktion der GCC-Staaten bei.

Das Segment Stickstoffdünger nimmt einen größeren Teil des Marktes ein. Die Anwendung von Kaliumdünger nimmt jedoch schnell zu, da sie die Toleranz der Pflanzen gegenüber abiotischem Stress, insbesondere Wassermangel, erhöhen kann, der ansonsten die Ernteerträge erheblich verringern kann.

Die Obst- und Gemüseproduktion ist in der Region gewachsen, da sich die Regierungen in den ara-Ländern darauf konzentrieren, Selbstversorgung zu erreichen. Darüber hinaus hat die COVID-19-Pandemie die Bedeutung der Entwicklung lokaler Nahrungsquellen betont. Laut der Food and Agriculture Organization lag die primäre Obst- und Gemüseproduktion in Saudi-Arabien im Jahr 2020 bei 2.913,9 Tausend Tonnen und 1.052,1 Tausend Tonnen.

Scope of the report

The reports also include a comprehensive list of key market players along with the analysis of their current strategic interests and other key information. GCC Fertilizer Market is segmented by Product Type (Nitrogenous, Phosphate, Potassium, Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers, and Micronutrients), Geography(Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman, and Rest of GCC). The report offers market size and forecasts in terms of value(USD million) for all the above segments.

Product type
Nitrogenous
Urea
Calcium Ammonium Nitrate (CAN)
Ammonium Nitrate
Ammonium Sulfate
Ammonia
Other Nitrogenous Fertilizers
Phosphatic
Mono-ammonium Phosphate (MAP)
Di-ammonium Phosphate (DAP)
Triple Superphosphate (TSP)
Other Phosphatic Fertilizers
Potassic
Muriate of Potash (MOP)
Sulfate of Potash (SOP)
Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers
Micronutrient Fertilizers
Application
Grains and Cereals
Pulses and Oil Seeds
Fruits and Vegetables
Commercial Crops
Other Applications
Geography
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
Oman
United Arab Emirates
Rest of GCC

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Ausweitung der Pflanzenproduktion inmitten einer gestiegenen Nachfrage nach Nahrungsmittelgetreide

Einige wichtige Faktoren, die das Wachstum des Düngemittelmarktes begünstigen, sind die steigende Nachfrage nach Speisegetreide und das wachsende Bewusstsein der landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinschaften für den Einsatz von Düngemitteln zur Steigerung der Produktivität mit einer jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 10,3 %. Die hohe Bevölkerungsdichte, die zu Nahrungsmittelknappheit führt, treibt das Wachstum dieses Marktes weiter voran. Die hohe Düngemittelnachfrage aus Indien und Brasilien stimuliert auch das Wachstum der Düngemittelindustrie in der GCC-Region.

Derzeit exportiert Saudi-Arabien Weizen, Datteln, Obst, Gemüse und Blumen auf die globalen Märkte. Datteln, die einst ein Grundnahrungsmittel der Saudis waren, werden heute hauptsächlich für die globale humanitäre Hilfe angebaut. All diese Initiativen führen im Wesentlichen zu einem verstärkten Einsatz von Düngemitteln in der Pflanzenproduktion. Darüber hinaus hat die saudische Regierung im Rahmen ihres Programms „Vision 2030“ ihren Agrarsektor verbessert. Eine der obersten Prioritäten des Königreichs ist die Steigerung der Effizienz bei der Nutzung begrenzter natürlicher Ressourcen bei der Entwicklung ländlicher Gebiete.

Es wird erwartet, dass die moderne Intensivierung der Landwirtschaft im Land in den letzten Jahren die kontinuierlichen Anbauaktivitäten und daher die erhöhte Düngung aufgrund der kontinuierlichen Bewässerung weiter steigern kann. So ist der Düngemittelverbrauch in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten nach Angaben der Weltbank von 708,5 Kilogramm pro Hektar Ackerland im Jahr 2017 auf 745,35 Kilogramm pro Hektar Ackerland im Jahr 2018 gestiegen. Daher wird erwartet, dass die Düngemittelanwendung und -nachfrage auf dem Inlandsmarkt allmählich zunehmen wird. 

GCC Fertilizer Market

Saudi-Arabien ist der größte Produzent von Düngemitteln

Saudi-Arabien und Katar sind wichtige Produktionszentren für Ammoniak und Harnstoff in der Region, wobei die DAP-Produktion derzeit nur in Saudi-Arabien verfügbar ist. 

Es wird erwartet, dass das Königreich bis 2024 40 % des Anteils der GCC-Ammoniakproduktion und 25 % der GCC-Harnstoffproduktion ausmachen wird, während Katar 24 % bzw. 34 % ausmachen wird. Düngemittel waren früher das Hauptexportprodukt aus den GCC nach China, aber da sich China zunehmend darauf konzentrierte, seinen eigenen Düngemittelbedarf zu decken, verschwand diese Handelsstruktur praktisch. 

Infolgedessen wurde Indien im Jahr 2018 zum größten Exportmarkt für GCC-Düngemittel mit einem Anteil von 27,9 % an den Gesamtexporten, gefolgt von den USA, Brasilien, Thailand, Australien, Südafrika und anderen. Die GCC-Düngemittelindustrie entwickelt sich weiter und wächst weiter, da regionale Produzenten neue Wachstumschancen innerhalb und außerhalb der Region ergreifen. Die Branche bleibt auf einem positiven Wachstumskurs mit einer Erhöhung der Produktionskapazität und einem sich entwickelnden Produktportfolio.

GCC Fertilizer Market

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der GCC-Düngemittelmarkt ist fragmentiert. Einige der führenden Hauptakteure auf dem Düngemittelmarkt sind die Qatar Fertilizer Company, die Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company, die Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company, Fertil und die Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory. Im Februar 2017 hatte das japanische Unternehmen JGC Gulf International eine Vereinbarung mit der Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company unterzeichnet, um Harnstoff-Formaldehyd im Wert von 8,8 Millionen USD zu produzieren.

Hauptakteure

  1. Qatar Fertilizer Company

  2. Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company

  3. Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company

  4. Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory

  5. Fertil

mc.JPG

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der GCC-Düngemittelmarkt ist fragmentiert. Einige der führenden Hauptakteure auf dem Düngemittelmarkt sind die Qatar Fertilizer Company, die Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company, die Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company, Fertil und die Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory. Im Februar 2017 hatte das japanische Unternehmen JGC Gulf International eine Vereinbarung mit der Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company unterzeichnet, um Harnstoff-Formaldehyd im Wert von 8,8 Millionen USD zu produzieren.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions & Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porters Five Force's Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product type

      1. 5.1.1 Nitrogenous

        1. 5.1.1.1 Urea

        2. 5.1.1.2 Calcium Ammonium Nitrate (CAN)

        3. 5.1.1.3 Ammonium Nitrate

        4. 5.1.1.4 Ammonium Sulfate

        5. 5.1.1.5 Ammonia

        6. 5.1.1.6 Other Nitrogenous Fertilizers

      2. 5.1.2 Phosphatic

        1. 5.1.2.1 Mono-ammonium Phosphate (MAP)

        2. 5.1.2.2 Di-ammonium Phosphate (DAP)

        3. 5.1.2.3 Triple Superphosphate (TSP)

        4. 5.1.2.4 Other Phosphatic Fertilizers

      3. 5.1.3 Potassic

        1. 5.1.3.1 Muriate of Potash (MOP)

        2. 5.1.3.2 Sulfate of Potash (SOP)

      4. 5.1.4 Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers

      5. 5.1.5 Micronutrient Fertilizers

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Grains and Cereals

      2. 5.2.2 Pulses and Oil Seeds

      3. 5.2.3 Fruits and Vegetables

      4. 5.2.4 Commercial Crops

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Saudi Arabia

      2. 5.3.2 Qatar

      3. 5.3.3 Oman

      4. 5.3.4 United Arab Emirates

      5. 5.3.5 Rest of GCC

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Qatar Fertilizer Company

      2. 6.3.2 Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company

      3. 6.3.3 Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company

      4. 6.3.4 Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory

      5. 6.3.5 Abu Dhabi Fertilizer Industries Co. W.L.L

      6. 6.3.6 RNZ International FZCO

      7. 6.3.7 Abu Dhabi Fertilizer Industries Co. W.L.L

      8. 6.3.8 SABIC

      9. 6.3.9 RNZ International FZCO

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. ASSESSMENT OF IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für GCC-Düngemittel wird von 2017 bis 2027 untersucht.

Der GCC-Düngemittelmarkt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 8,9 %.

Die Qatar Fertilizer Company, die Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company, die Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company, die Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory und Fertil sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem GCC-Düngemittelmarkt tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

GCC Fertilizer Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2023 - 2028)

The GCC Fertilizer Market is Segmented by Product Type (Nitrogenous, Phosphate, Potassium, Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers, and Micronutrients) and Geography (Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman, and Rest of GCC). The report offers market size and forecast in terms of value (USD million) for the above segments.

GCC Fertilizer Industry Overview

GCC Fertilizer Market Summary
Study Period: 2018 - 2028
CAGR: 8.9 %

Major Players

GCC Fertilizer Market Major Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

GCC Fertilizer Market Analysis

The GCC fertilizer market is expected to register a CAGR of 9.6% during the forecast period (2022-2027).

The COVID-19 pandemic significantly impacted the GCC economy in 2020 due to social distancing measures, national lockdowns, and declining fertilizer prices. The chemical industry in the region is closely linked to economic activity, demand and supply headwinds, fluctuations in feedstock prices, and growth in end-user industries. It experienced the negative implications of the pandemic and the overall economic situation.

Increasing demand for food grains and growing awareness among the farming communities about the use of fertilizers to increase productivity are driving the fertilizer market. Increasing demand for fertilizers from other countries is driving production in the GCC countries. Saudi Arabia contributed 49% to the total fertilizer production of the GCC countries in 2019.

The nitrogenous fertilizer segment occupies a larger chunk of the market. However, the application of potassic fertilizers is growing rapidly, as it may enhance the plants' tolerance to abiotic stress, especially a lack of water, which may significantly reduce crop yields.

Fruit and vegetable production has been growing in the region as governments in the GCC countries are focused on achieving self-sufficiency. Furthermore, the COVID-19 pandemic has emphasized developing local food sources. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization, in 2020, primary fruit and vegetable production stood at 2,913.9 thousand metric ton and 1,052.1 thousand metric ton in Saudi Arabia.

GCC Fertilizer Industry Segments

The scope of the report also includes a comprehensive list of key market players, an analysis of their current strategic interests, and other key information. The GCC fertilizer market is segmented by product type and geography. The report offers market size and forecasts in terms of value (USD million) for the above segments.

Product type
Nitrogenous
Urea
Calcium Ammonium Nitrate (CAN)
Ammonium Nitrate
Ammonium Sulfate
Ammonia
Other Nitrogenous Fertilizers
Phosphatic
Mono-ammonium Phosphate (MAP)
Di-ammonium Phosphate (DAP)
Triple Superphosphate (TSP)
Other Phosphatic Fertilizers
Potassic
Muriate of Potash (MOP)
Sulfate of Potash (SOP)
Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers
Micronutrient Fertilizers
Application
Grains and Cereals
Pulses and Oil Seeds
Fruits and Vegetables
Commercial Crops
Other Applications
Geography
Saudi Arabia
Qatar
Oman
United Arab Emirates
Rest of GCC

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

GCC Fertilizer Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the GCC Fertilizer Market according to our research experts:

Expanding Crop Production Amid Increased Demand for Food Grains

Some major factors favoring the growth of the fertilizer market are the increasing demand for food grains and growing awareness among the farming communities about the use of fertilizers to boost productivity annually, with a growth rate of 10.3%. High population density leading to food scarcity is driving the market’s growth. High fertilizer demand from India and Brazil is also stimulating the fertilizer industry’s growth in the GCC region.

Currently, Saudi Arabia exports wheat, dates, fruits, vegetables, and flowers to the global market. Dates that were once a staple food of the Saudi diet are now mainly grown for global humanitarian aid. Such initiatives are leading to increased use of fertilizers in crop production. Furthermore, the Saudi government improved its agricultural sector as part of Vision 2030. A top priority for the Kingdom is increasing efficiency in using limited natural resources while developing rural areas.

The modem intensification of agriculture in the country may further increase continuous cropping activities and fertilization due to continuous irrigation. For instance, according to the World Bank data, fertilizer consumption in the United Arab Emirates increased from 708.5 kg per hectare of arable land in 2017 to 745.35 kg per hectare of arable land in 2018. Thus, fertilizer application and demand in the domestic market are expected to increase gradually.

GCC Fertilizer Market : Production in thousand metric ton, Vegetables, United Arab Emirates, 2017 - 2020

Saudi Arabia is the Largest Producer of Fertilizers

Saudi Arabia and Qatar are major production hubs of ammonia and urea in the region, with DAP production currently available only in Saudi Arabia.

The Kingdom is expected to account for 40% of the GCC ammonia production share and 25% of the GCC urea production by 2024, while Qatar may account for 24% and 34%, respectively. Fertilizers were previously the main export products from the GCC to China. However, with China increasingly focusing on meeting its fertilizer needs, this trade structure virtually disappeared.

As a result, India became the largest export market for GCC fertilizers in 2018, accounting for 27.9% of total exports, followed by the United States, Brazil, Thailand, Australia, and South Africa. The GCC fertilizer industry is evolving and continues to grow as regional producers capture new growth opportunities within and outside the region. The industry remains on a positive growth trajectory with increased production capacity and an evolving product portfolio.

GCC Fertilizer Market : Fertilizer production in %, Major Countries, 2019

GCC Fertilizer Market Competitor Analysis

The GCC fertilizer market is fragmented. Some of the leading players in the market are Qatar Fertilizer Company, Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company, Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company, Fertil, and Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory. In February 2017, the Japanese company JGC Gulf International signed an agreement with Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company to produce urea-formaldehyde worth USD 8.8 million.

GCC Fertilizer Market Top Players

  1. Qatar Fertilizer Company

  2. Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company

  3. Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company

  4. Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory

  5. Fertil

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

GCC Fertilizer Market Concentration

GCC Fertilizer Market Recent Developments

In January 2022, SABIC Agri-Nutrients Company acquired the ETC Group (ETG), with a 49% stake in the ETG Inputs Holdco Limited, for a transaction value of USD 320 million. The agreement is part of SABIC Agri-Nutrients Company's strategy to integrate the value chain and distribution of agri-nutrients markets.

In October 2021, JAS Global Industries expanded its presence in Saudi Arabia by opening a new manufacturing facility in Riyadh. This strategic investment allows JAS to expand its presence and enhance its services in Saudi Arabia.

In 2020, In the United Arab Emirates, Fertil formed a joint venture with OCI’s producers in Egypt and Algeria, making it the largest nitrogen-based fertilizer company in the Middle-East and North Africa.

In 2020, Oman India Fertilizer Company SAOC (OMIFCO) was established, an initiative by the Governments of Oman & India, in order to construct, own, and operate a modern world-scale, two-train ammonia-urea fertilizer manufacturing plant at the Sur Industrial Estate in the Sultanate of Oman.

GCC Fertilizer Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Product type

      1. 5.1.1 Nitrogenous

        1. 5.1.1.1 Urea

        2. 5.1.1.2 Calcium Ammonium Nitrate (CAN)

        3. 5.1.1.3 Ammonium Nitrate

        4. 5.1.1.4 Ammonium Sulfate

        5. 5.1.1.5 Ammonia

        6. 5.1.1.6 Other Nitrogenous Fertilizers

      2. 5.1.2 Phosphatic

        1. 5.1.2.1 Mono-ammonium Phosphate (MAP)

        2. 5.1.2.2 Di-ammonium Phosphate (DAP)

        3. 5.1.2.3 Triple Superphosphate (TSP)

        4. 5.1.2.4 Other Phosphatic Fertilizers

      3. 5.1.3 Potassic

        1. 5.1.3.1 Muriate of Potash (MOP)

        2. 5.1.3.2 Sulfate of Potash (SOP)

      4. 5.1.4 Secondary Nutrient Fertilizers

      5. 5.1.5 Micronutrient Fertilizers

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Grains and Cereals

      2. 5.2.2 Pulses and Oil Seeds

      3. 5.2.3 Fruits and Vegetables

      4. 5.2.4 Commercial Crops

      5. 5.2.5 Other Applications

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Saudi Arabia

      2. 5.3.2 Qatar

      3. 5.3.3 Oman

      4. 5.3.4 United Arab Emirates

      5. 5.3.5 Rest of GCC

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Qatar Fertilizer Company

      2. 6.3.2 Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company

      3. 6.3.3 Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company

      4. 6.3.4 Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory

      5. 6.3.5 Abu Dhabi Fertilizer Industries Co. WLL

      6. 6.3.6 RNZ International FZCO

      7. 6.3.7 Abu Dhabi Fertilizer Industries Co. WLL

      8. 6.3.8 SABIC

      9. 6.3.9 RNZ International FZCO

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. ASSESSMENT OF IMPACT OF COVID-19 ON THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

GCC Fertilizer Market Research FAQs

The GCC Fertilizer Market is studied from 2018 - 2028.

The GCC Fertilizer Market is growing at a CAGR of 8.9% over the next 5 years.

Qatar Fertilizer Company, Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company, Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company, Emirates Bio Fertilizer Factory, Fertil are the major companies operating in GCC Fertilizer Market.

GCC Fertilizer Industry Reports

In-depth industry statistics and market share insights of the GCC Fertilizer sector for 2020, 2021, and 2022. The GCC Fertilizer research report provides a comprehensive outlook of the market size and an industry growth forecast for 2023 to 2028. Available to download is a free sample file of the GCC Fertilizer report PDF.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!