Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2023 – 2028)

Der Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) ist nach Endbenutzer (Unterhaltungselektronik, Industrie, Automobil) und Geografie unterteilt.

Markt-Snapshot

Electric Double Layer Capacitor Market Size
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 21.8 %

Major Players

Electric Double Layer Capacitor Market Key Players

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 834,33 Mio. USD geschätzt und wird voraussichtlich bis 2026 2724,09 Mio. USD erreichen, bei einer CAGR von 21,8 % im Prognosezeitraum 2021–2026. Superkondensatoren oder EDLCs haben ein großes Potenzial eine breite Palette von Industrieanwendungen, wie z. B. im Transportwesen, in der Industrie und in der Unterhaltungselektronik. Der Markt wird von seinen Eigenschaften angetrieben, wie z. B. einer relativ hohen Energiespeicherkapazität, hohen Lade- und Entladeraten, einer verlängerten Batterielebensdauer, einem hohen Leistungsimpuls und einer geringen Verschlechterung über Hunderte von hocheffizienten Zyklen.

  • Die Zunahme der staatlichen Vorschriften in Bezug auf Kohlenstoffemissionen ist zusammen mit der zunehmenden Einführung von Graphen- und Kohlenstoffnanoröhren-EDLCs ein wichtiger Faktor, der das Wachstum des Marktes voraussichtlich vorantreiben wird.
  • Laut dem Center for Climate and Energy Solutions Organization verursacht die Stromerzeugung 28 % der Treibhausgase in den USA. Außerdem hat die US-Umweltschutzbehörde im Juni 2019 eine Regulierung für Treibhausgase im Rahmen der „Affordable Clean Energy (ACE)“-Regeln für mit fossilen Brennstoffen befeuerte Kraftwerke in den USA erlassen.
  • In Anbetracht der damit verbundenen hohen Kosten und der begrenzten Skalierbarkeit bieten Hersteller EDLCs auf der Basis von Kohlenstoffnanoröhren und Graphen an. Sich entwickelnde grüne Energieanwendungen, Fortschritte bei elektrischen Doppelschichtkondensatortechnologien, verbesserte Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnisse und wachsende neue Anwendungen in mehreren Branchen treiben den Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren an.

Umfang des Berichts

Die Entwicklung von Superkondensatoren, die für Hochleistungsanwendungen geeignet sind, hat insbesondere in der Fertigungsindustrie viel Aufregung und Spekulationen ausgelöst. Hersteller von Antrieben mit einstellbarer Geschwindigkeit (ASDs), unterbrechungsfreien Stromversorgungen (USVs) und Brennstoffzellen sind bestrebt, die inhärenten Vorteile von Superkondensatoren zu nutzen, um bessere Produkte zu entwickeln.

By End User
Consumer Electronics
Energy and Utilities
Industrial
Automotive/Transportation
Other End Users
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
France
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Japan
South Korea
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Anstieg der Nachfrage nach EDLC in der Automobilindustrie

  • Die Welt erlebt eine große Verschiebung auf dem Automobilmarkt von den herkömmlichen ölbetriebenen Motoren hin zu Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen. Daraus ergibt sich die Nachfrage nach elektrischer Ausrüstung in der Automobilproduktion. Laut der Internationalen Energieagentur waren 2017 mehr als 3 Millionen Elektrofahrzeuge auf den Straßen der Welt unterwegs und es wird prognostiziert, dass sie in den nächsten zehn Jahren um 20 % CAGR wachsen werden.
  • Transportfahrzeuge, insbesondere Autos, Busse und Züge, erforderten schnelle Lade- und Entladezyklen und eine längere Batterielebensdauer. Superkondensatoren mit niedrigem Innenwiderstand unterstützen diese kurzfristigen Anwendungen mit hohem Leistungsbedarf und können für die Lieferung im Burst-Power-Modus und die kurzfristige Energiespeicherung verwendet werden, zusammen mit dem regenerativen Bremsen, das den Markt vorantreibt.
  • Zusammenfassend haben Superkondensatoren viele Vorteile gegenüber herkömmlichen Kondensatoren, wie z. B. Antriebsstrangeffizienz, mehr Leistungsverfügbarkeit und regeneratives Bremsen, was sie zu einer bevorzugten Lösung macht, insbesondere im Elektrofahrzeug- und Transportsektor, der den Markt antreibt.
Electric Double Layer Capacitor Market Trends

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum ist die am schnellsten wachsende Region auf dem EDLC-Markt

  • China hat sowohl die europäischen als auch die US-Märkte beim Jahresabsatz von Elektrofahrzeugen überholt (auf China entfällt fast das Vierfache des Absatzes von Plug-in-Elektrofahrzeugen im Vergleich zu den Vereinigten Staaten). China verwendet Superkondensatoren bereits in Hybridbussen, wobei diese Busse mit Stopp-Start-Motoren ausgestattet sind, in denen Superkondensatoren die Belastung der Batterie reduzieren und die Lebensdauer der Batterien erhöhen.
  • Aufgrund kontinuierlicher Innovationen konnten chinesische Hersteller ihr Superkondensator-Portfolio erweitern. CRRC, der staatseigene chinesische Hersteller von Schienenfahrzeugen und der weltweit größte Zugbauer, entwickelte Superkondensatoren auf Graphenbasis, die Elektrobusse mit höherer Effizienz und über einen längeren Zeitraum mit Strom versorgen könnten.
  • Darüber hinaus wird der asiatisch-pazifische Raum bis 2024 einen Anteil von mehr als 50 % an der weltweiten Elektrofahrzeugproduktion ausmachen, was in den kommenden Jahren eine Chance für EDLC in Kraftwerks- und Autobatterieladeanwendungen schafft.
Electric Double Layer Capacitor Market Growth

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Angesichts der Präsenz vieler globaler und regionaler Akteure gilt der Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) als fragmentiert. TDK Corporation, Panasonic Corporation, Rubycon Corporation, Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation, Maxwell Technologies, Inc., Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd., TOKIN Corporation (KEMET), CAP-XX und Nichicon Corporation sind einige der wichtigsten Akteure in der aktuelle Markt. Alle diese Akteure sind jedoch an wettbewerbsfähigen strategischen Entwicklungen wie Partnerschaften, neuen Produktinnovationen und Marktexpansion beteiligt, um die Marktwettbewerbsfähigkeit auf dem globalen Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren zu erreichen.

  • Februar 2019 – Tesla Inc. kündigte die Übernahme von Maxwell Technologies, Inc. an, um seine Kapazitäten im Bereich Energielösungen zu erweitern, insbesondere bei komplexen elektrochemischen Kondensatoren, EDLC und dielektrischen Verpackungslösungen.
  • April 2018 - CAP-XX entwickelt einen 3 Volt dünnen prismatischen Kondensator. Das Unternehmen wird seine 3-V-Technologie zunächst in der dünnen prismatischen Form einsetzen, um die Nachfrage nach kleinen, kostengünstigen und energieeffizienten Stromversorgungslösungen für dünne Wearables, Schlüsselanhänger und andere IoT-Geräte zu befriedigen.

Hauptakteure

  1. Maxwell Technologies, Inc.

  2. Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.

  3. Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation

  4. Panasonic Corporation

  5. TDK Corporation

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

"Maxwell Technologies, Inc.,  Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.,  Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation,  Panasonic Corporation,  TDK Corporation"

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

      1. 4.2.1 Rising Demand for Renewable Energy Solutions

      2. 4.2.2 Increasing Production of Supercapacitor-based Vehicles owing to Environmental Concerns

    3. 4.3 Market Challenges

      1. 4.3.1 Higher Costs Associated with the Products

    4. 4.4 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By End User

      1. 5.1.1 Consumer Electronics

      2. 5.1.2 Energy and Utilities

      3. 5.1.3 Industrial

      4. 5.1.4 Automotive/Transportation

      5. 5.1.5 Other End Users

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

        1. 5.2.1.1 United States

        2. 5.2.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

        1. 5.2.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.2.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.2.2.3 France

        4. 5.2.2.4 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.2.3.1 China

        2. 5.2.3.2 Japan

        3. 5.2.3.3 South Korea

        4. 5.2.3.4 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 CAP-XX

      2. 6.1.2 Maxwell Technologies, Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.

      4. 6.1.4 Nichicon Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 Panasonic Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Rubycon Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 TDK Corporation

      9. 6.1.9 TOKIN Corporation (KEMET)

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) wird von 2018 bis 2028 untersucht.

Der Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 13,19 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst von 2018 bis 2028 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Asien-Pazifik hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Eaton Corporation PLC, Maxwell Technologies Inc. (Tesla Inc.), Skeleton Technologies Inc., Cap-XX Limited und Kyocera Corporation sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für elektrische Doppelschichtkondensatoren (EDLC) tätig sind.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Electric Double-layer Capacitor (EDLC) Market - Growth, Trends, and Forecast (2020 - 2025)

The Electric Double-Layer Capacitor (EDLC) Market is segmented by End User (Consumer Electronics, Industrial, Automotive), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

electric double layer capacitor market

Study Period:

2019-2025

Base Year:

2019

Fastest Growing Market:

Asia Pacific

Largest Market:

North America

CAGR:

21.8 %

Major Players:

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Market Overview

The Electric Double-layer Capacitor (EDLC) Market was valued at USD 834.33 million in 2019 and is expected to reach USD 2724.09 million by 2025, at a CAGR of 21.8% over the forecast period 2020 - 2025. Supercapacitors or EDLCs hold great potential across a wide range of industry applications, such as the transportation, industrial, and consumer electronics sectors. The market is driven by its properties, such as a relatively high energy storage capacity, high rates of charge and discharge, extended battery life, high power pulse, and little degradation over hundreds of high-efficiency cycles.

  • The rise in government regulations concerning carbon emissions, along with the growing adoption of graphene and carbon nanotube EDLCs, is a major factor that is expected to drive the growth of the market.
  • According to the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions Organization, electricity generation causes 28% of greenhouse gases in the US. Also, in June 2019, the US Environmental Protection Agency issued regulation for greenhouse gases under “Affordable Clean Energy (ACE)” rules for fossil fuel-fired power plants in the US.
  • Considering the high costs involved and the limited scalability, manufacturers are providing EDLCs based on carbon nanotubes and graphene. Evolving green energy applications, advancements in electric double-layer capacitor technologies, improving price/performance ratios, and growing new applications across several industries are driving the market for electric double-layer capacitors.

Scope of the Report

The development of super capacitors suitable for high-power applications has raised much excitement and speculation throughout the manufacturing industry in particular. Manufacturers of adjustable-speed drives (ASDs), uninterruptible power supplies (UPSs), and fuel cells are keen on using the inherent advantages of super capacitors to create better products.

By End User
Consumer Electronics
Energy and Utilities
Industrial
Automotive/Transportation
Other End Users
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Surge in Demand for EDLC in Automotive Industry

  • The world is seeing a major shift in the automobile market from the conventional oil-powered engines to electric and hybrid automotive. Hence generating demand for electrical equipment in automotive production. According to the International Energy Agency, there were more than 3 million electric vehicles present on world roads in 2017 and is projected to grow at CAGR of 20% over the next decade.
  • Transportation vehicles, especially cars, buses, and trains, required rapid charge and discharge cycles and longer battery life. Supercapacitors, which have low internal resistance, support these short-term, high power required applications and can be used for burst power-mode delivery and short-term energy storage, along with regenerative braking driving the market.
  • To summarize, supercapacitors have many advantages over conventional capacitors, such as drive train efficiency, more power availability, and regenerative braking, making them a preferred solution, especially in the electric vehicle and transportation sector, which is driving the market.
electric double layer capacitor market

To understand key trends, Download Sample Report

Asia-Pacific is the Fastest Growing Region in the EDLC Market

  • China overtook both the European and US markets in the annual sales of electric vehicles, (China has accounted for almost four times the sales of plug-in electric vehicles compared to the United States). China is already using supercapacitors in hybrid buses wherein these buses are equipped with stop-start engines, in which supercapacitors reduce the load on the battery, and increases the lifetime of the batteries.
  • Due to continuous innovation, Chinese manufacturers have been able to expand their supercapacitor portfolio. The CRRC, the Chinese state-owned rolling stock manufacturer and the world's largest train builder, developed graphene-based supercapacitors that could power electric buses with higher efficiency and for a longer period.
  • Additionally, by 2024 Asia-Pacific will account for more than 50% share in global electric vehicle production, creating an opportunity for EDLC in power station and car battery charging applications in the coming years.
electric double layer capacitor market

To understand geography trends, Download Sample Report.

Competitive Landscape

With the presence of many global as well as regional players, the market for an electric double-layer capacitor (EDLC) is believed to be a fragmented one. TDK Corporation, Panasonic Corporation, Rubycon Corporation, Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation, Maxwell Technologies, Inc., Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd., TOKIN Corporation (KEMET), CAP-XX, and Nichicon Corporation are some of the major players present in the current market. However, all these players are involved in competitive strategic developments such as partnerships, new product innovation, and market expansion to attain market competitiveness in the global electric double-layer capacitor market.

  • February 2019 - Tesla Inc. announced to acquire Maxwell Technologies, Inc. to extend its capability in energy solutions, specifically in complex electrochemical capacitors, EDLC, and dielectric packaging solutions.
  • April 2018 - CAP-XX develops a 3 Volt thin prismatic capacitor. The company will deploy its 3V technology first in the thin prismatic form to meet the demand for small, inexpensive, energy-efficient power solutions for thin wearable, key FOBs, and other IoT devices.

Table Of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Introduction to Market Drivers and Restraints

    3. 4.3 Market Drivers

      1. 4.3.1 Rising Demand for Renewable Energy Solutions

      2. 4.3.2 Increasing Production of Supercapacitor-based Vehicles owing to Environmental Concerns

    4. 4.4 Market Challenges

      1. 4.4.1 Higher Costs Associated with the Products

    5. 4.5 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.5.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.5.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.5.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.5.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.5.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 By End User

      1. 5.1.1 Consumer Electronics

      2. 5.1.2 Energy and Utilities

      3. 5.1.3 Industrial

      4. 5.1.4 Automotive/Transportation

      5. 5.1.5 Other End Users

    2. 5.2 Geography

      1. 5.2.1 North America

      2. 5.2.2 Europe

      3. 5.2.3 Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.2.4 Rest of the World

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 CAP-XX

      2. 6.1.2 Maxwell Technologies, Inc.

      3. 6.1.3 Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.

      4. 6.1.4 Nichicon Corporation

      5. 6.1.5 Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation

      6. 6.1.6 Panasonic Corporation

      7. 6.1.7 Rubycon Corporation

      8. 6.1.8 TDK Corporation

      9. 6.1.9 TOKIN Corporation (KEMET)

  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

* List Not Exhaustive

Related Reports