Markt für Rechenzentrumsverbindungen – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumsverbindungen ist nach Anwendung (Disaster Recovery und Geschäftskontinuität, gemeinsame Daten und Ressourcen, Daten(speicher)mobilität), Endbenutzerbranche (Kommunikationsdienstanbieter (CSPs), Internetinhalte und trägerneutrale Anbieter (ICPs/ CNPs), Regierung/Forschung und Bildung (Regierung/R&E)) und Geographie.

Markt-Snapshot

Data Center Interconnect Market Size
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 14 %
Data Center Interconnect Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Data Center Interconnect (DCT) wurde im Jahr 2020 auf 3,48 Mrd. USD geschätzt und wird im Prognosezeitraum (2021–2026) voraussichtlich 7,65 Mrd. USD im Jahr 2026 mit einer CAGR von 14 % erreichen. Mit der Verbreitung von Daten und der Ausweitung von Technologien wie KI und High-Performance Computing (HPC) wächst die Notwendigkeit, Rechenzentrumsanlagen schnell, zuverlässig und kostengünstig zu verbinden, erheblich. Faktoren wie Durchsatz, Latenz, vereinfachter Betrieb und Wartung, Intelligenz und Sicherheit werden für Rechenzentrumsanbieter immer wichtiger. Dies ist einer der Hauptgründe für die Einführung der Data Center Interconnect (DCI)-Technologie. Dies liegt an ihrer Fähigkeit, die Bandbreite zwischen Rechenzentren zu erhöhen, die Latenz zu reduzieren und Paketverluste zu eliminieren.

  • Das wachsende Cloud-Computing und der jüngste Anstieg des Verbrauchs von OTT-Diensten aufgrund der landesweiten Sperrung erweitern ebenfalls den untersuchten Marktumfang. Darüber hinaus kann die zunehmende Kommerzialisierung von 5G-Diensten den Anwendungsbereich von Rechenzentrumsverbundlösungen weiter erweitern. Das Wachstum der folgenden Märkte kann auch die Nachfrage auf dem untersuchten Markt ankurbeln: Autonome Fahrzeuge, Smart City, digitaler Zwilling, Smart Cities, VR, virtuelle KI-Assistenten, Videoüberwachung und -überwachung sowie Spiele.
  • Der Trend des Edge-Computing, der im landesweiten Lockdown-Szenario 2020 unerlässlich wird, erweitert den untersuchten Marktumfang weiter. Etwa 10-15 % der Daten werden außerhalb eines zentralen Rechenzentrums oder einer Cloud erstellt und verarbeitet, aber es wird erwartet, dass bis 2025 60-70 % überschritten werden. Hyperscale-Rechenzentren von Amazon, Google, Equinix, DRT sind miteinander verbunden und streamen Daten und Anwendungen über das Netzwerk an Endbenutzer. Die Edge-Cloud kann ein einzigartiges Ökosystem offener und miteinander verbundener Rechenzentren sein.
  • Data Communication Network (DCN)- und Data Center Interconnect (DCI)-Lösungen befassen sich zunehmend mit der schnellen Erhöhung der DCN/DCI-Bandbreite, um null Paketverluste, geringe Latenz und hohen Durchsatz verlustfreier Netzwerke zu gewährleisten und die Anforderungen einer schnellen Serviceentwicklung zu erfüllen. Das DCI-Netzwerk, das Rechenzentren verbindet, hat sich zu einem 10-Tbit/s-WDM-Verbindungsnetzwerk (Wavelength Division Multiplexing) entwickelt.
  • Sie benötigen dringend ultrabreitbandige, vereinfachte und intelligente DCI-Netzwerke, um die zahlreichen Datenströme im Cloud-Zeitalter zu bewältigen, was die Innovation auf dem untersuchten Markt weiter vorantreibt. Die Einführung automatischer Planung, automatischer Konfiguration und intelligenter Alarmanalysesysteme ist am Markt zu beobachten. Unternehmen bieten Intelligent Data Center Service an, der dabei helfen kann, effiziente Einrichtungen zu entwerfen, zu bauen und zu betreiben, die KI verwenden, um die Energieverbrauchseffektivität (PUE) um bis zu 15 % zu reduzieren.
  • Der jüngste COVID-19-Ausbruch hat die Nachfrage nach Cloud-Computing weltweit in die Höhe getrieben; Daher hat es den Umfang des Rechenzentrumsmarktes erweitert. Bei den Bauprojekten für Rechenzentren kam es jedoch aufgrund des Arbeitskräftemangels zu Unterbrechungen der Lieferkette, sodass der Abschluss mehrerer Projekte verzögert werden könnte. Dies war nur in den Anfangsphasen zu beobachten.
  • Laut Sify Technologies ist die Verbindung von Rechenzentren aufgrund des jüngsten COVID-19-Ausbruchs als Nachfrage nach reiner Colocation oder Cloud ins Rampenlicht gerückt. In den ersten vier Monaten des Jahres 2020 stieg der Umsatz mit optischer Transportausrüstung, die für die Verbindung von Rechenzentren verwendet wird, im Jahresvergleich um 11-14 %.

Umfang des Berichts

Die Data Center Interconnect (DCI)-Technologie verbindet zwei oder mehr Rechenzentren über kurze, mittlere oder lange Entfernungen mithilfe von paketoptischer Hochgeschwindigkeits-Konnektivität. Einige große Betriebe verwenden DCI, um ihre eigenen Rechenzentren innerhalb ihrer erweiterten Unternehmensinfrastrukturen zu verbinden, während andere sich mit Partnern, Cloud-Anbietern oder Rechenzentrumsbetreibern verbinden, um eine einfachere gemeinsame Nutzung von Daten und Ressourcen zu ermöglichen oder Notfallwiederherstellungsanforderungen zu erfüllen. Der untersuchte Markt konzentriert sich auf Endverbraucherbranchen, die DCI zur Bewältigung von Platz- und Stromversorgungsproblemen einsetzen. 

By Application
Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity
Shared Data and Resources
Data (Storage) Mobility
Other Applications
By End-user Industry
Communications Service Providers (CSPs)Government
Internet Content and Carrier- neutral Providers (ICPs/CNPs)
Government/Research and Education (Government/R&E)
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Steigende Anzahl von Rechenzentren, um das Marktwachstum voranzutreiben

  • Nach Angaben des in den USA ansässigen Marktanbieters Ciena Corporation hat die Zahl der Rechenzentren in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, da es jetzt weltweit mehr als 7.500 gibt, davon allein 2.600 in den 20 wichtigsten Städten der Welt. Laut Huawei könnte die Menge der jährlich weltweit produzierten Daten im Jahr 2025 180 ZB erreichen. Der Anteil unstrukturierter Daten (wie rohe Sprach-, Video- und Bilddaten) könnte ebenfalls weiter zunehmen und in Kürze mehr als 95 % erreichen. Dadurch wird das Wachstum von Rechenzentren weltweit angekurbelt.
  • Seit 2019 verzeichnet der Bau von Rechenzentren ein deutliches Wachstum, das sich 2020 aufgrund von COVID-19 weiter beschleunigt hat. Dies stimulierte Unternehmen dazu, ihr eigenes Rechenzentrum aufzubauen, zusammen mit den Herausforderungen hoher DCI-Kosten und der komplizierten Verwaltung mehrerer Rechenzentren. Aus diesem Grund steigen die DCI-Anforderungen Anfang 2020 in großem Umfang.
  • Darüber hinaus investieren Anbieter von Rechenzentrumsdiensten in den Ausbau ihrer Colocation- und Cloud-Fähigkeiten. Endbenutzerunternehmen (wie Telekommunikations- und Finanzorganisationen), die sich für den Bau ihrer eigenen Rechenzentren entscheiden, machen hauptsächlich den Markt für vernetzte Rechenzentren zu einem globalen Investitions-Hotspot. Branchen, darunter hauptsächlich OTT, ISP, der Finanzsektor und der öffentliche Sektor, entwickeln ihre Anwendungsfälle von DCI-Netzwerken aufgrund des Wachstums und der Verbreitung von Rechenzentren, der Verbesserung der Glasfaserauslastung und kostengünstiger steckbarer Module.
  • Produktinnovation ist nach wie vor ein wichtiges Unterscheidungsmerkmal zwischen den Marktteilnehmern. Seit 2020 verschieben Anbieter wie Ciena, Infinera, Huawei und Nokia die Grenzen der modernen Optik. Die CloudFabric EVN Layer 2 DCI-Lösung von Huawei bietet hochgradig skalierbare, effiziente Layer-2-Verbindungen und ermöglicht die Erweiterung von bis zu 32 Rechenzentren über IP-WANs. Wie Huawei arbeiten auch konkurrierende Anbieter wie Ciena oder Infinera an ihren 800G-fähigen kohärenten Lösungen, die DCI-Plattformen der nächsten Generation antreiben könnten.
  • Deutschland gilt als Finanzmacht der Europäischen Union und ist eines der wenigen Länder mit der höchsten Dichte an Rechenzentren. Die DE-CIX Internetknoten in Frankfurt machen den größten Teil des weltweiten Datentransfers aus. Die Region ist nach den USA der zweitgrößte Hosting-Markt der Welt. Viele Branchenexperten behaupten, dass zwischen 2015 und 2019 mehr als 50 Milliarden US-Dollar in Rechenzentrumsprojekte in Deutschland investiert wurden
Data Center Interconnect Market Growth

Europa wird bedeutenden Marktanteil halten

  • Die wachsende Zahl von Rechenzentren, zunehmende Investitionen in Cloud-Technologien und die Expansion der Endbenutzermärkte sind einige der wichtigsten Faktoren, die die Investitionen des europäischen Rechenzentrums in den Interconnect-Markt vorantreiben. Die strengen regionalen Gesetze, wie unter anderem GDPR, Personal Data Protection Initiatives (Gaia-X), treiben den Bau und die Entwicklung lokaler Rechenzentren in der Region weiter voran.
  • Deutschland, das Vereinigte Königreich, die Niederlande und Frankreich sind einige der wichtigsten Investoren und Anwender auf dem untersuchten Markt. Investitionen und Wachstum im Rechenzentrumssektor in der Region nehmen zu. Dies liegt vor allem an der hohen Verbreitung von Cloud-Technologien.
  • So hat beispielsweise allein Microsoft seine europäische Rechenzentrumskapazität in letzter Zeit verdoppelt. Im August 2019 gab Microsoft bekannt, dass es die Größe seiner Azure-Regionen im Vereinigten Königreich durch Hinzufügen von Verfügbarkeitszonen verdoppelt und damit die Rechenkapazität seit der Einführung in der Region um mehr als 1.500 % erhöht hat. Mehr als 100.000 interne Microsoft-Benutzer und Millionen von Kunden haben sie verwendet, um ihre eigenen Produkte zu entwickeln und sie für die Cloud und ihre lokalen Rechenzentren freizugeben.
  • Es wird erwartet, dass das Wachstum des Datenverkehrs erheblich zum Wachstum des Marktes beitragen wird. So soll laut Equinix London der wichtigste europäische Markt für Daten bleiben. Darüber hinaus dient eine zunehmende Zahl europäischer Vorschriften zur Datenkonformität als Katalysator, der voraussichtlich um 48 % pro Jahr wachsen und zu 23 % der weltweiten Verbindungsbandbreite beitragen wird.
  • Im Juni 2020 setzte das in Europa ansässige Unternehmen Lamda Hellix Microsoft Azure Stack auf seinem Lamda Hellix-Rechenzentrumscampus ein. Azure Stack ergänzt jetzt eine breite Palette von Hybrid-Cloud-Diensten bei Lamda Hellix, Private und Public Clouds, Colocation, Business Continuity und unbegrenzte Verbindungslösungen.
Data Center Interconnect Market Analysis

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt ist konzentriert, da sich Unternehmen nur auf Pioniere verlassen, die den größten Marktanteil einnehmen. In letzter Zeit bieten die Anbieter von Rechenzentren auch Rechenzentrums-Verbindungslösungen als kombiniertes Angebot an. Marktteilnehmer wenden Strategien wie Produktinnovation, Fusionen, Übernahmen und Partnerschaften an. Einige der jüngsten Entwicklungen auf dem Markt sind:

  • Juli 2020 – Nokia bringt eine neue Netzwerkhardware-Reihe auf den Markt, um den Rechenzentrumsbetrieb zu automatisieren und zu vereinfachen. Die Produkte wurden über zwei Jahre in Zusammenarbeit mit Hyperscale-Unternehmen, darunter Apple, entwickelt. Das Sortiment umfasst auch die Nokia 7250 Interconnect Router (IXR), die Nokia 7220 IXR-H-Serie und die Nokia 7220 IXR-D-Serie.
  • April 2020 – Huawei Technologies Co. Limited hat den FusionServer Pro 2298 V5 der nächsten Generation auf den Markt gebracht, einen 2U 2-Socket Storage Rack Server, der bis zu 450 TB Speicherkapazität bietet. Es wurde entwickelt, um die Probleme der geringen Speicherkapazität und des begrenzten Platzes zu lösen, und für Kunden, die eine Speicherlösung mit hoher Dichte und großer Kapazität in ihren Rechenzentren bereitstellen möchten.

Hauptakteure

  1. Ciena Corp

  2. Cisco Systems Inc

  3. Juniper Networks Inc

  4. Fujitsu Ltd

  5. Microsemi Corporation

Ciena Corp, Cisco Systems Inc, Juniper Networks Inc, Fujitsu Ltd, Microsemi Corporation

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing Number of Data Centers (Edge and Hyperscale)

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Need for Ultra- broadband, Simplified, and Intelligent DCI Networks due to Applications, like AI and HPC

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

      1. 5.3.1 Rising Commercialization of 5G

      2. 5.3.2 Growth In Markets, Such as Autonomous Vehicle, Smart City

  6. 6. ASSESSMENT OF COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE INDUSTRY

  7. 7. TECHNOLOGY SNAPSHOT

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Application

      1. 8.1.1 Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity

      2. 8.1.2 Shared Data and Resources

      3. 8.1.3 Data (Storage) Mobility

      4. 8.1.4 Other Applications

    2. 8.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 8.2.1 Communications Service Providers (CSPs)Government

      2. 8.2.2 Internet Content and Carrier- neutral Providers (ICPs/CNPs)

      3. 8.2.3 Government/Research and Education (Government/R&E)

      4. 8.2.4 Other End-user Verticals

    3. 8.3 Geography

      1. 8.3.1 North America

      2. 8.3.2 Europe

      3. 8.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 8.3.4 Rest of the World

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Vendor Positioning Analysis

    2. 9.2 Company Profiles

      1. 9.2.1 Ciena Corp.

      2. 9.2.2 Cisco Systems Inc.

      3. 9.2.3 Juniper Networks Inc.

      4. 9.2.4 Fujitsu Ltd.

      5. 9.2.5 Microsemi Corp.

      6. 9.2.6 Pluribus Networks Inc.

      7. 9.2.7 Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.

      8. 9.2.8 ADVA Optical Networking SE

      9. 9.2.9 Infinera Corp.

      10. 9.2.10 Nokia Oyj

    3. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  11. 11. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumsverbindungen wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Data Center Interconnect-Markt wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 14 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Ciena Corp, Cisco Systems Inc, Juniper Networks Inc, Fujitsu Ltd und Microsemi Corporation sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Data Center Interconnect-Markt tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Data Center Interconnect Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The data center interconnect market is segmented by Application (Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity, Shared Data and Resources, Data (Storage) Mobility), End-user Industry (Communications Service Providers (CSPs), Internet Content and Carrier- neutral Providers (ICPs/CNPs), Government/Research and Education (Government/R&E)), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Data Center Interconnect (DCT) Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 14 %
Data Center Interconnect (DCT) Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Data Center Interconnect (DCT) Market was valued at USD 3.48 billion in 2020 and is expected to reach USD 7.65 billion in 2026 with a CAGR of 14% during the forecast period (2021 - 2026). With the proliferation of data and expansion of technologies like AI and High-Performance Computing (HPC), the need to connect data center assets quickly, reliable, and cost-effectively is growing significantly. Factors, such as throughput, latency, simplified operations and maintenance, intelligence, and security, are becoming a major priority for data center vendors. This is one of the major factors driving the adoption of Data Centre Interconnect (DCI) technology. This is due to their ability to boost inter-data center bandwidth, reduce latency, and eliminate packet loss.

  • The growing cloud computing and the recent surge in OTT services consumption due to nationwide lockdown are also expanding the studied market scope. Moreover, growing commercialization of 5G services may further expand the scope of data center interconnected solutions. The following markets' growth may also fuel the demand in the studied market: Autonomous Vehicles, Smart City, digital twin, Smart Cities, VR, AI virtual assistant, Video surveillance and monitoring, and gaming.
  • The trend of edge computing, which becomes essential in the 2020 nationwide lockdown scenario, is further expending the studied market scope. About 10-15% of data is created and processed outside a centralized data center or cloud, but it is expected to cross 60-70% by 2025. Hyperscale data centers of Amazon, Google, Equinix, DRT, are interconnected and stream data and applications over the network to end-users. The edge cloud may be a unique ecosystem of open and interconnected data centers.
  • Data Communication Network (DCN) and Data Center Interconnect (DCI) solutions are increasingly concerned with quickly increasing DCN/DCI bandwidth, to ensure zero packet loss, low latency, and high throughput of lossless networks, meeting the requirements of rapid service development. The DCI network connecting data centers has evolved to a 10 Tbit/s Wavelength Division Multiplexing (WDM) interconnection network.
  • They urgently need ultra-broadband, simplified, and intelligent DCI networks to cope with numerous data flows in the cloud era, is further fueling innovation in the studied market. The introduction of automatic planning, automatic configuration, and intelligent alarm analysis systems is witnessed in the market. Companies offer Intelligent Data Center Service, which may help design, build, and operate efficient facilities that use AI to reduce power usage effectiveness (PUE) by up to 15%.
  • The recent COVID-19 outbreak has surged the demand for cloud computing globally; hence, it has expanded the scope of the data center market. Although, the data center construction projects witnessed a supply chain disruptions with the labor shortage, expecting to delay the completion of several projects. This was only seen in the initial phases.
  • According to Sify Technologies, due to the recent COVID-19 outbreak, data centers' interconnection has come into the spotlight as the demand for pure colocation or cloud. During the first four months of 2020, the sales of optical transport equipment used for data center interconnect increased 11-14 % year-over-year.

Scope of the Report

The Data Center Interconnect (DCI) technology connects two or more data centers together over short, medium or long distances using high-speed packet-optical connectivity. Some large operations use DCI to connect their own data centers within their extended enterprise infrastructures, while others connect to partners, cloud providers or data center operators to enable simpler data and resource sharing or handle disaster recovery needs. The market studied focuses on end-user industries utilizing DCI to address space and power challenges. 

By Application
Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity
Shared Data and Resources
Data (Storage) Mobility
Other Applications
By End-user Industry
Communications Service Providers (CSPs)Government
Internet Content and Carrier- neutral Providers (ICPs/CNPs)
Government/Research and Education (Government/R&E)
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
Europe
Asia Pacific
Rest of the World

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Number of Data Centers to Drive the Market Growth

  • According to the US-based market vendor, Ciena Corporation, data centers have increased in recent years, as there are now more than 7,500 around the globe, with 2,600 packed into the top 20 global cities alone. According to Huawei, the amount of global data produced annually may reach 180 ZB in 2025. The proportion of unstructured data (such as raw voice, video, and image data) may also continue to increase, reaching more than 95% shortly. Thus boosting the growth of data centers globally.
  • Since 2019, data center construction has witnessed significant growth, which further accelerated in 2020 due to the COVID-19. This stimulated the direction of building their own data center among enterprises, along with the challenges of high DCI costs and complicated management of multiple data centers. Owing to this, DCI requirements increase in early 2020 on a large scale.
  • Further, data center service providers are investing in expanding their colocation and cloud capabilities. End-user enterprises (like telecom and financial organization) opting to build their own data centers are mainly making data centers interconnected market a global investment hotspot. Industries mainly including OTT, ISP, financial sector, and public sector are developing their use cases of DCI networks due to data center growth and distribution, fiber utilization improvement, and low-cost pluggable modules.
  • Product innovation is still a major differentiating factor among market players. Since 2020 starting, vendors like Ciena, Infinera, Huawei, and Nokia have been pushing the limits of modern optics. Huawei CloudFabric EVN Layer 2 DCI solution provides highly scalable, efficient layer two interconnections, allowing expansion of up to 32 data centers across IP WANs. Like Huawei, competing vendors, like Ciena or Infinera, are also working on their 800G-capable coherent solutions, which may power next-generation DCI platforms.
  • Germany is known as the European Union's financial powerhouse and is one of the few countries with the highest concentration of data centers. The DE-CIX internet nodes in Frankfurt account for most of the data transfer across the globe. The region is the second-largest hosting market in the world after the US. Many industry experts claim that more than USD 50 billion have been invested in data center projects in Germany between 2015-2019
Data Center Interconnect (DCT) Market Key Trends

Europe to Hold Significant Market Share

  • The growing number of data centers, increasing investment in cloud technologies, and the expansion of end-user markets are some of the major factors driving the Europe data center's investment in the interconnect market. The stringent regional laws, like GDPR, Personal Data Protection Initiatives (Gaia-X), among others, are further boosting the local data center construction and development in the region.
  • Germany, the United Kingdom, Netherlands, and France are some of the major investors and adopters in the studied market. Investment and growth in the data center sector in the region has been increasing. This is mainly due to the high rate of adoption of cloud technologies.
  • For instance, Microsoft alone has doubled its European data center capacity in recent times. In August 2019, Microsoft announced it had doubled the size of its Azure regions in the United Kingdom with the addition of availability Zones, increasing compute capacity by more than 1,500% since it was launched in the region. More than 100,000 internal Microsoft users and millions of customers have used them to build their own products and release them to the cloud and their on-premise data centers.
  • The growth in data traffic is expected to contribute to the market's growth significantly. For instance, according to Equinix, London is expected to remain the most important European market for data. Additionally, an increasing number of European regulations regarding data compliance serves as the catalyst, which is predicted to grow 48% per annum, contributing to 23% of interconnection bandwidth globally.
  • In June 2020, Europe-based Lamda Hellix deployed Microsoft Azure Stack at its Lamda Hellix data center campus. Azure Stack now joins a wide range of hybrid cloud services at Lamda Hellix, private and public clouds, colocation, business continuity, and unlimited interconnection solutions.
Data Center Interconnect (DCT) Market Growth by Region

Competitive Landscape

The market is concentrated due to enterprises relying on only pioneers occupying the majority market share. Lately the vendors offering data centers are also providing data center interconnect solutions as a combined offering. Market players are adopting strategies such as product innovation, mergers, acquisitions, and partnerships. Some of the recent developments in the market are:

  • July 2020 - Nokia launched a new network hardware range to automate and simplify data center operations. The products were developed over two years in collaboration with hyperscale companies, including Apple. The range also includes the Nokia 7250 Interconnect Routers (IXR), Nokia 7220 IXR-H series, and Nokia 7220 IXR-D series routers.
  • April 2020 - Huawei Technologies Co. limited launched the next-gen FusionServer Pro 2298 V5, a 2U 2-socket storage rack server that provides up to 450 TB storage capacity. It is designed to resolve the problems of low storage capacity and limited room space, and for customers who are looking to deploy a high-density and large-capacity storage solution in their data centers.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET INSIGHTS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers/Consumers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain

  5. 5. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 5.1 Market Drivers

      1. 5.1.1 Increasing Number of Data Centers (Edge and Hyperscale)

      2. 5.1.2 Increasing Need for Ultra- broadband, Simplified, and Intelligent DCI Networks due to Applications, like AI and HPC

    2. 5.2 Market Challenges

    3. 5.3 Market Opportunities

      1. 5.3.1 Rising Commercialization of 5G

      2. 5.3.2 Growth In Markets, Such as Autonomous Vehicle, Smart City

  6. 6. ASSESSMENT OF COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE INDUSTRY

  7. 7. TECHNOLOGY SNAPSHOT

  8. 8. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 8.1 By Application

      1. 8.1.1 Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity

      2. 8.1.2 Shared Data and Resources

      3. 8.1.3 Data (Storage) Mobility

      4. 8.1.4 Other Applications

    2. 8.2 By End-user Industry

      1. 8.2.1 Communications Service Providers (CSPs)Government

      2. 8.2.2 Internet Content and Carrier- neutral Providers (ICPs/CNPs)

      3. 8.2.3 Government/Research and Education (Government/R&E)

      4. 8.2.4 Other End-user Verticals

    3. 8.3 Geography

      1. 8.3.1 North America

      2. 8.3.2 Europe

      3. 8.3.3 Asia Pacific

      4. 8.3.4 Rest of the World

  9. 9. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 9.1 Vendor Positioning Analysis

    2. 9.2 Company Profiles

      1. 9.2.1 Ciena Corp.

      2. 9.2.2 Cisco Systems Inc.

      3. 9.2.3 Juniper Networks Inc.

      4. 9.2.4 Fujitsu Ltd.

      5. 9.2.5 Microsemi Corp.

      6. 9.2.6 Pluribus Networks Inc.

      7. 9.2.7 Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.

      8. 9.2.8 ADVA Optical Networking SE

      9. 9.2.9 Infinera Corp.

      10. 9.2.10 Nokia Oyj

    3. *List Not Exhaustive
  10. 10. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  11. 11. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Data Center Interconnect Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Data Center Interconnect Market is growing at a CAGR of 14% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Ciena Corp, Cisco Systems Inc, Juniper Networks Inc, Fujitsu Ltd, Microsemi Corporation are the major companies operating in Data Center Interconnect Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!