Marché des lubrifiants en Afrique – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché africain des lubrifiants est segmenté par groupe (groupe I, groupe II, groupe III, groupe IV et groupe V), stock de base (lubrifiant à base d'huile minérale, lubrifiant synthétique et lubrifiant semi-synthétique), type de produit (huile moteur, transmission et fluide hydraulique, fluide de travail des métaux, huile industrielle générale, huile pour engrenages, graisse, huile de traitement et autres types de produits), industrie des utilisateurs finaux (production d'énergie, automobile et autres transports, équipement lourd, aliments et boissons, métallurgie et travail des métaux, chimie Industrie manufacturière et autres industries utilisatrices finales) et géographie (Égypte, Afrique du Sud, Nigéria, Algérie, Maroc, Kenya, Zambie, Tanzanie, Angola, Zimbabwe, Maurice, Botswana et reste de l'Afrique).

Aperçu du marché

Africa Lubricants Market  Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 1.47 %
Africa Lubricants Market Top Companies

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché africain des lubrifiants était évalué à 1 774,36 kilotonnes en 2020, et le marché devrait enregistrer un TCAC de 1,47 % au cours de la période de prévision (2021-2026). En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19 dans la région au cours du premier semestre de 2020, l'automobile et les transports et divers autres secteurs industriels ont été considérablement touchés. Par exemple, les ventes de l'industrie automobile sud-africaine ont diminué avec une croissance estimée à -16 % en 2020 par rapport à l'année précédente.

  • À court terme, des facteurs tels que la demande du secteur en expansion de l'énergie éolienne et la demande croissante de l'industrie manufacturière devraient stimuler la demande sur le marché étudié au cours de la période de prévision.
  • Les développements dans les lubrifiants synthétiques et biosourcés et la croissance industrielle en Afrique devraient constituer une opportunité pour le marché à l'avenir.

Portée du rapport

Le marché africain des lubrifiants est segmenté par groupe, stock de base, type de produit, industrie de l'utilisateur final et géographie. Par groupe, le marché est segmenté en groupe I, groupe II, groupe III, groupe IV et groupe V. Par stock de base, le marché est segmenté en lubrifiant à base d'huile minérale, lubrifiant synthétique et lubrifiant semi-synthétique. Par type de produit, le marché est segmenté en huile moteur, fluide de transmission et hydraulique, fluide de travail des métaux, huile industrielle générale, huile pour engrenages, graisse, huile de traitement et autres types de produits. Par industrie des utilisateurs finaux, le marché est segmenté en production d'électricité, automobile et autres transports, équipement lourd, aliments et boissons, métallurgie et travail des métaux, fabrication de produits chimiques et autres industries d'utilisateurs finaux. Le rapport couvre également la taille du marché et les prévisions du marché africain des lubrifiants dans 12 pays de la région. Pour chaque segment, le dimensionnement du marché et les prévisions ont été effectués sur la base du volume (kiloton).

Group
Group I
Group II
Group III
Group IV
Group V
Base Stock
Mineral Oil Lubricant
Synthetic Lubricant
Semi-synthetic Lubricant
Product Type
Engine Oil
Transmission and Hydraulic Fluid
Metalworking Fluid
General Industrial Oil
Gear Oil
Grease
Process Oil
Other Product Types
End-user Industry
Power Generation
Automotive and Other Transportation
Heavy Equipment
Food and Beverage
Metallurgy and Metalworking
Chemical Manufacturing
Other End-user Industries
Geography
Egypt
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Kenya
Zambia
Tanzania
Angola
Zimbabwe
Mauritius
Botswana
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Augmentation de la demande du secteur en pleine croissance de l'énergie éolienne

  • Les huiles pour engrenages trouvent une application dans les éoliennes pour la lubrification de la boîte de vitesses principale et d'autres composants du moteur à engrenages. Les exigences en matière de lubrifiant dans les boîtes de vitesses des éoliennes sont plus strictes que celles des autres huiles pour engrenages industriels. Cela est dû aux températures élevées, à l'usure des roulements, à la corrosion et à l'oxydation, ainsi qu'aux poids de charge impliqués pendant le processus de production d'énergie.​
  • Il existe une demande croissante d'huiles synthétiques pour engrenages dans les éoliennes, en raison de leurs propriétés améliorées par rapport à leurs homologues à base minérale, en raison des additifs de performance utilisés lors de la formulation des huiles synthétiques.
  • Malgré la concurrence de la production d'énergie solaire, le secteur de l'énergie éolienne devrait poursuivre sa croissance au cours de la période de prévision. Ceci, à son tour, devrait stimuler la demande de lubrifiants de manière significative à l'avenir.
  • En Afrique, des pays comme l'Égypte, le Maroc, la Jordanie et l'Afrique du Sud, y compris l'Afrique subsaharienne, font partie des principaux pays où le secteur de l'énergie éolienne connaît une croissance positive, car divers projets ont été introduits et planifiés par les différentes entreprises. et le gouvernement.
  • Au Maroc, selon la Direction des études et des prévisions financières (DEPF), qui fait partie du ministère de l'Intérieur du Maroc, le pays prévoit de produire 52% de son électricité d'ici 2030. Le gouvernement marocain a fortement investi dans des projets solaires et éoliens dans un passé récent pour atteindre cet objectif.
  • En raison de tous les facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus, le marché des lubrifiants dans la région devrait croître dans le secteur au cours de la période de prévision.
Africa Lubricants Market Share

L'Afrique du Sud connaîtra une croissance continue

  • Dans la région africaine, l'Afrique du Sud a connu une croissance continue jusqu'en 2019. Selon le Fonds monétaire international, l'Afrique du Sud a enregistré un taux de croissance du PIB d'environ 0,2 % en 2019. En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le PIB a chuté d'environ 8 % en 2020. La pandémie de COVID-19 a eu un impact négatif important sur l'économie du pays.
  • L'Afrique du Sud est l'un des principaux marchés de lubrifiants dans la région africaine et est le plus grand consommateur d'huiles de base du groupe II dans la région africaine. Castrol est la première marque de lubrifiants consommée dans le pays, suivie par Shell, Engen et Chevron, respectivement. Parmi les autres grandes sociétés de lubrifiants opérant dans le pays figurent Fuchs, Total, Centlube, etc.
  • L'Afrique du Sud a également connu d'importantes expansions de capacité de mélange de lubrifiants dans un passé récent. En mars 2018, FUCHS Lubricants Afrique du Sud a achevé un projet d'expansion d'une usine de graisse d'une valeur de 125 millions de ZAR dans son usine d'Islando. De plus, en 2020, la société a annoncé son intention d'investir environ 14,9 millions USD dans la construction d'entrepôts, de bureaux et d'une nouvelle usine de mélange de lubrifiants à Johannesburg.
  • L'Afrique du Sud possède l'une des plus grandes industries de transformation alimentaire de la région africaine. Certaines des principales entreprises qui fournissent des lubrifiants de qualité alimentaire à l'Afrique du Sud comprennent Engen Petroleum Ltd., Fuchs et Total. La population croissante du pays entraîne le besoin de lubrifiants dans l'industrie de la transformation des aliments.
  • Par conséquent, toutes ces tendances industrielles devraient influencer la consommation de lubrifiants sur le marché sud-africain au cours de la période de prévision.
Africa Lubricants Market Growth Rate By Region

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché africain des lubrifiants est fragmenté, les cinq principaux acteurs occupant environ 45 % de la consommation totale. Parmi les principaux acteurs du marché africain des lubrifiants figurent Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Total, ExxonMobil Corporation, Chevron Corporation et Engen Petroleum Ltd, entre autres.

Principaux acteurs

  1. Royal Dutch Shell PLC

  2. Chevron Corporation

  3. Total

  4. Exxon Mobil Corporation

  5. Engen Petroleum Ltd.

Africa Lubricants Market Analysis

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché africain des lubrifiants est fragmenté, les cinq principaux acteurs occupant environ 45 % de la consommation totale. Parmi les principaux acteurs du marché africain des lubrifiants figurent Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Total, ExxonMobil Corporation, Chevron Corporation et Engen Petroleum Ltd, entre autres.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Demand from the Expanding Wind Energy Sector

      2. 4.1.2 Increasing Demand from the Manufacturing Industry

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porters Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume)

    1. 5.1 Group

      1. 5.1.1 Group I

      2. 5.1.2 Group II

      3. 5.1.3 Group III

      4. 5.1.4 Group IV

      5. 5.1.5 Group V

    2. 5.2 Base Stock

      1. 5.2.1 Mineral Oil Lubricant

      2. 5.2.2 Synthetic Lubricant

      3. 5.2.3 Semi-synthetic Lubricant

    3. 5.3 Product Type

      1. 5.3.1 Engine Oil

      2. 5.3.2 Transmission and Hydraulic Fluid

      3. 5.3.3 Metalworking Fluid

      4. 5.3.4 General Industrial Oil

      5. 5.3.5 Gear Oil

      6. 5.3.6 Grease

      7. 5.3.7 Process Oil

      8. 5.3.8 Other Product Types

    4. 5.4 End-user Industry

      1. 5.4.1 Power Generation

      2. 5.4.2 Automotive and Other Transportation

      3. 5.4.3 Heavy Equipment

      4. 5.4.4 Food and Beverage

      5. 5.4.5 Metallurgy and Metalworking

      6. 5.4.6 Chemical Manufacturing

      7. 5.4.7 Other End-user Industries

    5. 5.5 Geography

      1. 5.5.1 Egypt

      2. 5.5.2 South Africa

      3. 5.5.3 Nigeria

      4. 5.5.4 Algeria

      5. 5.5.5 Morocco

      6. 5.5.6 Kenya

      7. 5.5.7 Zambia

      8. 5.5.8 Tanzania

      9. 5.5.9 Angola

      10. 5.5.10 Zimbabwe

      11. 5.5.11 Mauritius

      12. 5.5.12 Botswana

      13. 5.5.13 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 BP PLC

      2. 6.4.2 Chevron Corporation

      3. 6.4.3 Conoil PLC

      4. 6.4.4 Coperative Soceite Des Petroleum (Co-op)

      5. 6.4.5 Engen Petroleum Ltd

      6. 6.4.6 Exxon Mobil Corporation

      7. 6.4.7 Forte Oil PLC

      8. 6.4.8 FUCHS

      9. 6.4.9 Hass Petroleum

      10. 6.4.10 Kenolkobil Limited

      11. 6.4.11 Libya Oil Holdings Limited

      12. 6.4.12 MISR Petroleum

      13. 6.4.13 MRS Oil Nigeria PLC

      14. 6.4.14 Oando PLC

      15. 6.4.15 Royal Dutch Shell PLC

      16. 6.4.16 Sasol

      17. 6.4.17 Total

      18. 6.4.18 Vivo Energy

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Industrial Growth in Africa

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Le marché du marché des lubrifiants en Afrique est étudié de 2016 à 2026.

Le marché africain des lubrifiants croît à un TCAC de 1,47 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Chevron Corporation, Total, Exxon Mobil Corporation, Engen Petroleum Ltd. sont les principales sociétés opérant sur le marché africain des lubrifiants.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Africa Lubricants Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Africa Lubricants Market is segmented by Group (Group I, Group II, Group III, Group IV, and Group V), Base Stock (Mineral Oil Lubricant, Synthetic Lubricant, and Semi-synthetic Lubricant), Product Type (Engine Oil, Transmission and Hydraulic Fluid, Metalworking Fluid, General Industrial Oil, Gear Oil, Grease, Process Oil, and Other Product Types), End-user Industry (Power Generation, Automotive and Other Transportation, Heavy Equipment, Food and Beverage, Metallurgy and Metalworking, Chemical Manufacturing, and Other End-user Industries), and Geography (Egypt, South Africa, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, Kenya, Zambia, Tanzania, Angola, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Botswana, and Rest of Africa).

Market Snapshot

Africa Lubricants Market  Overview
Study Period: 2016 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
CAGR: 1.47 %
Africa Lubricants Market Top Companies

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The African lubricants market was valued at 1,774.36 kiloton in 2020, and the market is projected to register a CAGR of 1.47% during the forecast period (2021-2026). Due to the COVID-19 pandemic in the region during the first half of 2020, the automobile and transportation and various other industrial sectors were affected significantly. For instance, the sales in the South African automotive industry declined at an estimated growth of -16% in 2020 compared to the previous year.

  • In the short term, the factors such as demand from the expanding wind energy sector and increasing demand from the manufacturing industry are expected to drive the demand in the market studied during the forecast period.
  • Developments in synthetic and bio-based lubricants and industrial growth in Africa are projected to act as an opportunity for the market in the future.

Scope of the Report

The African lubricants market is segmented by group, base stock, product type, end-user industry, and geography. By group, the market is segmented into Group I, Group II, Group III, Group IV, and Group V. By base stock, the market is segmented into mineral oil lubricant, synthetic lubricant, and semi-synthetic lubricant. By product type, the market is segmented into engine oil, transmission and hydraulic fluid, metalworking fluid, general industrial oil, gear oil, grease, process oil, and other product types. By end-user industry, the market is segmented into power generation, automotive and other transportation, heavy equipment, food and beverage, metallurgy and metalworking, chemical manufacturing, and other end-user industries. The report also covers the market size and forecasts for the African lubricants market in 12 countries across the region. For each segment, the market sizing and forecasts have been done on the basis of volume (kiloton).

Group
Group I
Group II
Group III
Group IV
Group V
Base Stock
Mineral Oil Lubricant
Synthetic Lubricant
Semi-synthetic Lubricant
Product Type
Engine Oil
Transmission and Hydraulic Fluid
Metalworking Fluid
General Industrial Oil
Gear Oil
Grease
Process Oil
Other Product Types
End-user Industry
Power Generation
Automotive and Other Transportation
Heavy Equipment
Food and Beverage
Metallurgy and Metalworking
Chemical Manufacturing
Other End-user Industries
Geography
Egypt
South Africa
Nigeria
Algeria
Morocco
Kenya
Zambia
Tanzania
Angola
Zimbabwe
Mauritius
Botswana
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increasing Demand from the Growing Wind Energy Sector

  • Gear oils find application in wind turbines for lubrication of the main gearbox and other gear motor components. The lubricant requirements in wind turbine gearboxes are more stringent when compared to other industrial gear oils. This is due to the high temperatures, bearing wear, corrosion and oxidation, and load weights involved during the process of power generation.​
  • There is an increasing demand for synthetic gear oils in wind turbines, due to their enhanced properties, over their mineral-based counterparts, owing to the performance additives used during the formulation of synthetic oils.
  • Despite facing competition from solar power generation, the wind power sector is expected to continue its growth during the forecast period. This, in turn, is expected to boost the demand for lubricants in a significant manner in the future.
  • In Africa, countries such as Egypt, Morocco, Jordon, and South Africa, including Sub-Saharan Africa, are some of the major countries where the wind energy sector is witnessing positive growth, as various projects have been introduced and planned by the various companies and government.
  • In Morocco, according to the Direction of Studies and Financial Forecasts (DEPF), a part of the Ministry of Interior of Morocco, the country is planning to generate 52% of its electricity by 2030. The Moroccan government heavily invested in solar and wind projects in the recent past to achieve this target.
  • Owing to all the above mentioned factors, the market for lubricants in the region is projected to grow in the sector during the forecast period.
Africa Lubricants Market Share

South Africa to Experience Continued Growth

  • In the African region, South Africa witnessed continuous growth till 2019. According to the International Monetary Fund, South Africa recorded a GDP growth rate of around 0.2% in 2019. Owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, the GDP dropped by around 8% in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic had a significant negative impact on the country’s economy.
  • South Africa is one of the major lubricants markets in the African region and is the highest consumer of group II base oils in the African region. Castrol is the leading lubricant brand consumed in the country, followed by Shell, Engen, and Chevron, respectively. Some other major lubricant companies operating in the country include Fuchs, Total, Centlube, etc.
  • South Africa has also witnessed significant lubricant blending capacity expansions in the recent past. In March 2018, FUCHS lubricants South Africa completed a ZAR 125 million worth grease plant expansion project in its factory at Islando. Additionally, in 2020, the company announced its plans to invest around USD 14.9 million in constructing warehouses, offices, and a new lubricant blending plant in Johannesburg.
  • South Africa has one of the largest food processing industries in the African region. Some of the major companies which supply food-grade lubricants to South Africa include Engen Petroleum Ltd., Fuchs, and Total. The growing population of the country is driving the need for lubricants in the food processing industry.
  • Hence, all such industrial trends are expected to influence the consumption of lubricants in the South African market over the forecast period.
Africa Lubricants Market Growth Rate By Region

Competitive Landscape

The African lubricants market is fragmented with the top five players occupying around 45% of the total consumption. Some of the key players in the African lubricants market include Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Total, ExxonMobil Corporation, Chevron Corporation, and Engen Petroleum Ltd, among others.

Recent Developments

  • In March 2020, KenolKobil acquired Samfuel Limited, which is a Zambian company, to expand its business (petroleum products, lubricants, bitumen, and other products) in Zambia.
  • In December 2019, FUCHS Lubricants acquired 50% shares of local distributors in Zimbabwe and Zambia to expand its market in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • In November 2019, Vivo Energy and Myher Holding announced their partnership in the company Sopétrole to accelerate the deployment of their distribution activities in the Provinces of southern Morocco. This company may be involved in the storage, marketing, and distribution of Shell brand fuels and lubricants, in the Saharan provinces.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Drivers

      1. 4.1.1 Demand from the Expanding Wind Energy Sector

      2. 4.1.2 Increasing Demand from the Manufacturing Industry

    2. 4.2 Restraints

      1. 4.2.1 Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Porters Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.4.5 Degree of Competition

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION (Market Size by Volume)

    1. 5.1 Group

      1. 5.1.1 Group I

      2. 5.1.2 Group II

      3. 5.1.3 Group III

      4. 5.1.4 Group IV

      5. 5.1.5 Group V

    2. 5.2 Base Stock

      1. 5.2.1 Mineral Oil Lubricant

      2. 5.2.2 Synthetic Lubricant

      3. 5.2.3 Semi-synthetic Lubricant

    3. 5.3 Product Type

      1. 5.3.1 Engine Oil

      2. 5.3.2 Transmission and Hydraulic Fluid

      3. 5.3.3 Metalworking Fluid

      4. 5.3.4 General Industrial Oil

      5. 5.3.5 Gear Oil

      6. 5.3.6 Grease

      7. 5.3.7 Process Oil

      8. 5.3.8 Other Product Types

    4. 5.4 End-user Industry

      1. 5.4.1 Power Generation

      2. 5.4.2 Automotive and Other Transportation

      3. 5.4.3 Heavy Equipment

      4. 5.4.4 Food and Beverage

      5. 5.4.5 Metallurgy and Metalworking

      6. 5.4.6 Chemical Manufacturing

      7. 5.4.7 Other End-user Industries

    5. 5.5 Geography

      1. 5.5.1 Egypt

      2. 5.5.2 South Africa

      3. 5.5.3 Nigeria

      4. 5.5.4 Algeria

      5. 5.5.5 Morocco

      6. 5.5.6 Kenya

      7. 5.5.7 Zambia

      8. 5.5.8 Tanzania

      9. 5.5.9 Angola

      10. 5.5.10 Zimbabwe

      11. 5.5.11 Mauritius

      12. 5.5.12 Botswana

      13. 5.5.13 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    4. 6.4 Company Profiles

      1. 6.4.1 BP PLC

      2. 6.4.2 Chevron Corporation

      3. 6.4.3 Conoil PLC

      4. 6.4.4 Coperative Soceite Des Petroleum (Co-op)

      5. 6.4.5 Engen Petroleum Ltd

      6. 6.4.6 Exxon Mobil Corporation

      7. 6.4.7 Forte Oil PLC

      8. 6.4.8 FUCHS

      9. 6.4.9 Hass Petroleum

      10. 6.4.10 Kenolkobil Limited

      11. 6.4.11 Libya Oil Holdings Limited

      12. 6.4.12 MISR Petroleum

      13. 6.4.13 MRS Oil Nigeria PLC

      14. 6.4.14 Oando PLC

      15. 6.4.15 Royal Dutch Shell PLC

      16. 6.4.16 Sasol

      17. 6.4.17 Total

      18. 6.4.18 Vivo Energy

    5. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

    1. 7.1 Industrial Growth in Africa

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Africa Lubricants Market market is studied from 2016 - 2026.

The Africa Lubricants Market is growing at a CAGR of 1.47% over the next 5 years.

Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Chevron Corporation, Total, Exxon Mobil Corporation, Engen Petroleum Ltd. are the major companies operating in Africa Lubricants Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!