سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية - النمو والاتجاهات وتأثير COVID-19 والتوقعات (2022-2027)

سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية مقسم حسب نوع المادة (البلاستيك ، الورق ، رقائق الألومنيوم) ، نوع المنتج (الحقائب ، الحقائب ، الأفلام ، والأغلفة) ، صناعة المستخدم النهائي (الأطعمة ، المشروبات ، الأدوية والطبية ، العناية المنزلية والشخصية ) والبلد.

لقطة السوق

Latin America Flexible Packaging Market
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.89 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

نظرة عامة على السوق

من المتوقع أن يسجل سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية معدل نمو سنوي مركب قدره 3.89٪ خلال الفترة المتوقعة (2022-2027). مع اندلاع COVID-19 مؤخرًا ، غمر مصنعو العبوات المرنة بمجموعة من المشكلات التي من المتوقع أن تكون فقط على المدى القصير. تشمل بعض آثار الإغلاق اضطرابات سلسلة التوريد ، ونقص توافر المواد الخام المستخدمة في عملية التصنيع ، ونقص العمالة ، وتقلب الأسعار التي قد تتسبب في تضخم إنتاج المنتج النهائي وتجاوز الميزانية ، ومشاكل الشحن ، وما إلى ذلك.

  • وفقًا للحكومة البرازيلية ، في عام 2021 ، وصلت مبيعات التجزئة في سوق المواد الغذائية المعبأة في البرازيل إلى 116.6 مليار دولار أمريكي ، بمعدل نمو 32.2٪ منذ عام 2016. وتشمل معدلات النمو المرتفعة الوجبات الجاهزة وحبوب الإفطار وأغذية الأطفال والصلصات والضمادات. والبهارات واللحوم المصنعة والمأكولات البحرية والحساء.
  • يعمل العديد من اللاعبين في السوق على إقامة علاقات تعاون وشراكات لتحقيق إيرادات إضافية أفضل بسبب الطلب المتزايد. على سبيل المثال ، في عام 2020 ، أعلنت Amcor عن شراكتها مع أنظمة تعبئة الفراغ Moda في أمريكا الشمالية وأمريكا اللاتينية. تجمع هذه الشراكة بين الأكياس المنكمشة ولفائف مخزون الورق من Amcor لأفلام حاجز اللحوم ، وتشتمل أغشية البولي فينيل كلوريد ("PVC") على مجموعة واسعة من أغشية اللحم PVC المستخدمة بشكل أساسي لتغليف اللحوم الطازجة ، وخاصة الدواجن.
  • واجهت صناعة التغليف في الأرجنتين مرحلة صعبة خلال الأزمة الاقتصادية التي تصاعدت مع الوباء. انخفضت القوة الشرائية للفئات الاجتماعية ذات الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط ​​بشكل كبير ، مما حد من أي ابتكار وفرص تغليف ممتازة. شهدت الأرجنتين انخفاضًا حادًا في الأجور ، وارتفاعًا في معدلات البطالة ، وتراجعًا في عادات الاستهلاك ، مما أثر على أنواع وأحجام العبوات عبر الفئات المختلفة.
  • منذ العقد الماضي ، ازداد الوعي بين السكان بشأن الآثار الضارة لاستخدام البلاستيك بشكل كبير. أدت العديد من الحملات والمبادرات العامة من قبل حكومات أمريكا اللاتينية إلى زيادة الوعي بين الجمهور. وبالتالي ، شهد استهلاك العبوات البلاستيكية تأثيرًا كبيرًا في السنوات القليلة الماضية.

نطاق التقرير

العبوة المرنة عبارة عن أكياس أو أكياس خفيفة الوزن محكمة الغلق باستخدام الحرارة أو الضغط. في معظم الحالات ، يتم تصميم العبوات المرنة للمساعدة في إطالة العمر الافتراضي للمنتجات الغذائية أو لتلبية اتجاهات التسويق الأخرى ، مثل الرسومات عالية الجودة. يتم تقسيم سوق التعبئة والتغليف المرنة في أمريكا اللاتينية حسب نوع المادة (البلاستيك والورق ورقائق الألومنيوم) ونوع المنتج (الحقائب والحقائب والأفلام والأغلفة) وصناعة المستخدم النهائي (الأطعمة والمشروبات والأدوية والطبية والمنزلية و العناية الشخصية) ، والبلد.

Material Type
Plastics
Polyethene (PE)
Bi-orientated Polypropylene (BOPP)
Cast Polypropylene (CPP)
Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC)
Ethylene Vinyl Alcohol (EVOH)
Paper
Aluminum Foil
Product Type
Pouches
Bags
Films and Wraps
Other Product Types
End-user Industry
Food
Frozen Food
Dairy Products
Fruits and Vegetables
Meat, Poultry, and Seafood
Baked Goods and Snack Foods
Candy and Confections
Other Food Products
Beverage
Pharmaceutical and Medical
Household and Personal Care
Other End-user Industries
Geography
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America (Colombia, Venezuela, etc.)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

اتجاهات السوق الرئيسية

من المتوقع أن تنمو الأكياس بشكل كبير

  • يمكن تصنيف الأكياس على نطاق واسع إلى أكياس مسطحة ومسطحة وتستخدم على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. تشتمل الأكياس القائمة على أنواع مختلفة من الأكياس المعوجة ، وأكياس مجمعة سفلية ، وأكياس ذات قاع مسطح ، وأكياس مجمعة جانبية ، وأكياس منفذة ، وأكياس على شكل. يمكن تصنيف الأكياس المسطحة إلى أكياس وسائد وأكياس ختم جانبية وثلاثة أكياس ختم جانبية وأكياس مفرغة.
  • إن المتانة والراحة اللوجيستية للمنتجات المعبأة في أكياس تدفع طلب السوق المدروس. تساعد الفعالية من حيث التكلفة للحقائب المصنّعين على اختيار تغليف الأكياس ، مما يؤدي إلى نمو تنسيق التغليف المرن هذا. تدفع الطبيعة خفيفة الوزن للهيكل إلى اعتماد الأكياس مقارنة بتنسيقات التغليف التقليدية الأخرى مثل زجاجات البولي ايثيلين تيريفثالات.
  • هناك أيضًا طلب كبير على ورق الكرافت في التغليف والحقائب والأكياس. يؤدي الاتجاه المتزايد للتغليف الصديق للبيئة إلى زيادة الطلب على ورق الكرافت الذي يمكن إعادة تدويره بسهولة ، حيث تسمح عملية فصل الألياف باستعادة النفايات بسهولة. وبالمثل ، في عام 2020 ، شركة TC العابرة للقارات ، ومقرها مونتريال ، مع وجودها في أعلنت الولايات المتحدة وأمريكا اللاتينية عن خطط لزيادة المحتوى المعاد تدويره بعد الاستهلاك في عروض التغليف المرنة مثل الأكياس. كما بدأت في الاستثمار في المعدات الحليفة لتحويل المواد البلاستيكية المرنة من مرافق الفرز ومصادر أخرى.
  • في مايو 2021 ، قدمت Amcor عبوات بلاستيكية معاد تدويرها لمسحوق الشوكولاتة في أمريكا اللاتينية ، وهي عبوة أكثر استدامة من العبوة السابقة. يقلل هذا الحل الجديد من البصمة الكربونية للحزمة بنسبة 53٪ واستهلاك المياه بنسبة 84٪ عند إعادة التدوير. يحتوي الكيس الجديد على ميزة عالية الحاجز للحماية من الرطوبة وسيكون متاحًا للمستهلكين في شكل كيس 25 جرامًا في كولومبيا هذا الشهر.
  • تعتبر الحقائب من أكثر المواد استخدامًا لتغليف منتجات التجارة الإلكترونية. أصبحت الحقائب الشكل الأكثر شيوعًا للتعبئة المرنة في صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات والعناية الشخصية والصناعات الدوائية التي تلبي احتياجات معظم المنتجات في أسواق التجارة الإلكترونية. يختار اللاعبون العاملون في قطاع التجارة الإلكترونية تغليف الأكياس ، لأنه أحد أكثر حلول التغليف كفاءة واقتصادية. نمت مبيعات التجزئة للتجارة الإلكترونية في أمريكا اللاتينية بنسبة 19.4٪ (تقريبًا) في عام 2020.
Latin America Flexible Packaging Market

من المتوقع أن تمتلك البرازيل حصة سوقية كبيرة

  • البرازيل هي إحدى الدول الرائدة في أمريكا اللاتينية من حيث النمو الاقتصادي وارتفاع الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر. لديها طلب كبير على المواد الغذائية والسلع الصناعية ، التي تلبيها الواردات. سيكون التغليف المرن ضروريًا لهذه المنطقة لحماية المنتجات من التلف. مع زيادة النسبة المئوية لفئة الدخل المتوسط ​​، من المرجح أن يزداد الطلب على الأغذية المعبأة ، مما يمكّن سوق التعبئة والتغليف المرنة من النمو.
  • على الرغم من الوباء والشكوك ذات الصلة ، فقد أغلق قطاع النظافة الشخصية والعطور ومستحضرات التجميل البرازيلي في عام 2020 بنمو قدره 5.8٪ ، وفقًا لمؤشر الرابطة البرازيلية للنظافة الشخصية والعطور ومستحضرات التجميل (ABIHPEC). بلغت إيرادات فئة العناية الشخصية 12.77 مليار دولار أمريكي (تقريبًا) ، ومن المتوقع أن تنمو بنسبة 7.5٪ في عام 2021.
  • في عام 2020 ، زاد المحول البرازيلي للتعبئة المرنة Pamplastic Industria de Embalagens Plásticas من أعمالها من خلال شراء آلة طباعة فلكسوغرافية Comexi F2 MB. تخدم الشركة حاليًا سوق التغليف أحادي الطبقة ، بما في ذلك الأفلام التقنية وتغليف المخابز وخطوط التبريد وتغليف المنسوجات.
  • في أكتوبر 2021 ، كانت شركة Gualapack SpA تتوسع في البرازيل كجزء من جهود المجموعة المستمرة لتحقيق نمو عالمي مستدام من خلال التكامل الرأسي. من خلال الاستحواذ على Teruel Embalagens - Papeis Amalia Ltda ، تواصل Gualapack القيام باستثمارات كبيرة في هذا الجزء من العالم. Teruel هي شركة عائلية كلاسيكية تتمتع بخبرة 50 عامًا ، ولديها مصنعان في البرازيل متخصصان في الطباعة الفلكسوغرافية على الأفلام المرنة.
  • هناك اتجاه يدعم قسط التأمين في هذا السوق. على الرغم من كونها حساسة للسعر ، فإن البرازيليين على استعداد للإنفاق على مستحضرات التجميل. يلبي هذا الطلب على العبوات المرنة ، حيث توفر المواد البلاستيكية المرنة ، مثل البوليامين والبولي بروبيلين ، عبوات تتميز برؤية رائعة وهيكل جذاب ، إلى جانب ميزات الأمان.
Latin America Flexible Packaging Market

مشهد تنافسي

يتألف سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية من العديد من اللاعبين العالميين والإقليميين ويتم توحيده بشكل معتدل. نظرًا لأن السوق يضع حواجز منخفضة أمام دخول اللاعبين الجدد ، فقد تمكن العديد من الوافدين الجدد من اكتساب قوة جذب. يتميز هذا السوق بانخفاض تمايز المنتجات ، ومستويات متزايدة من اختراق المنتج ، ومستويات عالية من المنافسة. يمكن اكتساب ميزة تنافسية مستدامة من خلال التصميم والتكنولوجيا وابتكار التطبيقات.

  • سبتمبر 2021: أطلقت EMSUR مجموعة EM-Full RFlex ، وهي مجموعة عبوات مرنة جديدة تعتمد على البولي إيثيلين والبولي بروبيلين. يهدف هذا الحل إلى تحسين إمكانية إعادة التدوير وتحسين حفظ الطعام ، وذلك بفضل خصائصه الحاجزة. تهدف الهياكل المختلفة في هذا النوع من الرقائق إلى الاستجابة لاحتياجات عملاء السلع الاستهلاكية الذين يحتاجون إلى حلول تغليف للحقائب أو Doypacks بتركيبات أحادية المواد وخصائص حاجز لمجموعة من فئات المنتجات ، بما في ذلك الوجبات الخفيفة والحلويات وما إلى ذلك.
  • سبتمبر 2021: حققت Constantia Flexibles ما يصل إلى 80٪ من المحتوى المعاد تدويره في فيلم PE باستخدام نفايات رقائق EcoLam في تجربة إعادة التدوير الصناعية لرقائق EcoLam. أظهرت الفحوصات الإضافية أن نوع المادة اللاصقة ونوع أحبار الطباعة المستخدمة يؤثران بشكل كبير على جودة المواد القابلة لإعادة التدوير. يخضع لمزيد من التحقيق فيما إذا كان يمكن أيضًا إعادة استخدام الشرائح المطبوعة في تطبيقات الأغذية باستخدام مواد لاصقة وأحبار مناسبة.

مشهد تنافسي

يتألف سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية من العديد من اللاعبين العالميين والإقليميين ويتم توحيده بشكل معتدل. نظرًا لأن السوق يضع حواجز منخفضة أمام دخول اللاعبين الجدد ، فقد تمكن العديد من الوافدين الجدد من اكتساب قوة جذب. يتميز هذا السوق بانخفاض تمايز المنتجات ، ومستويات متزايدة من اختراق المنتج ، ومستويات عالية من المنافسة. يمكن اكتساب ميزة تنافسية مستدامة من خلال التصميم والتكنولوجيا وابتكار التطبيقات.

  • سبتمبر 2021: أطلقت EMSUR مجموعة EM-Full RFlex ، وهي مجموعة عبوات مرنة جديدة تعتمد على البولي إيثيلين والبولي بروبيلين. يهدف هذا الحل إلى تحسين إمكانية إعادة التدوير وتحسين حفظ الطعام ، وذلك بفضل خصائصه الحاجزة. تهدف الهياكل المختلفة في هذا النوع من الرقائق إلى الاستجابة لاحتياجات عملاء السلع الاستهلاكية الذين يحتاجون إلى حلول تغليف للحقائب أو Doypacks بتركيبات أحادية المواد وخصائص حاجز لمجموعة من فئات المنتجات ، بما في ذلك الوجبات الخفيفة والحلويات وما إلى ذلك.
  • سبتمبر 2021: حققت Constantia Flexibles ما يصل إلى 80٪ من المحتوى المعاد تدويره في فيلم PE باستخدام نفايات رقائق EcoLam في تجربة إعادة التدوير الصناعية لرقائق EcoLam. أظهرت الفحوصات الإضافية أن نوع المادة اللاصقة ونوع أحبار الطباعة المستخدمة يؤثران بشكل كبير على جودة المواد القابلة لإعادة التدوير. يخضع لمزيد من التحقيق فيما إذا كان يمكن أيضًا إعادة استخدام الشرائح المطبوعة في تطبيقات الأغذية باستخدام مواد لاصقة وأحبار مناسبة.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID -19 on the Industry

    5. 4.5 Market Drivers

      1. 4.5.1 Increased Demand for Convenient Packaging

    6. 4.6 Market Challenges

      1. 4.6.1 Concerns Regarding the Environment and Recycling

  5. 5. SUSTAINABLE PACKAGING AND TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCEMENTS IN THE LATIN AMERICAN FLEXIBLE PACKAGING INDUSTRY

    1. 5.1 Light Weighting

    2. 5.2 Recycled and Recyclable Polymers

    3. 5.3 Sustainable Coatings for Pouch Packaging

    4. 5.4 Barrier Developments

    5. 5.5 Active Packaging

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Material Type

      1. 6.1.1 Plastics

        1. 6.1.1.1 Polyethene (PE)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Bi-orientated Polypropylene (BOPP)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Cast Polypropylene (CPP)

        4. 6.1.1.4 Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC)

        5. 6.1.1.5 Ethylene Vinyl Alcohol (EVOH)

      2. 6.1.2 Paper

      3. 6.1.3 Aluminum Foil

    2. 6.2 Product Type

      1. 6.2.1 Pouches

      2. 6.2.2 Bags

      3. 6.2.3 Films and Wraps

      4. 6.2.4 Other Product Types

    3. 6.3 End-user Industry

      1. 6.3.1 Food

        1. 6.3.1.1 Frozen Food

        2. 6.3.1.2 Dairy Products

        3. 6.3.1.3 Fruits and Vegetables

        4. 6.3.1.4 Meat, Poultry, and Seafood

        5. 6.3.1.5 Baked Goods and Snack Foods

        6. 6.3.1.6 Candy and Confections

        7. 6.3.1.7 Other Food Products

      2. 6.3.2 Beverage

      3. 6.3.3 Pharmaceutical and Medical

      4. 6.3.4 Household and Personal Care

      5. 6.3.5 Other End-user Industries

    4. 6.4 Geography

      1. 6.4.1 Brazil

      2. 6.4.2 Argentina

      3. 6.4.3 Mexico

      4. 6.4.4 Rest of Latin America (Colombia, Venezuela, etc.)

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 7.1.2 Berry Global Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 Mondi Group

      4. 7.1.4 Sealed Air Corporation

      5. 7.1.5 Coveris Holdings SA

      6. 7.1.6 Tetra Pak International SA

      7. 7.1.7 Cascades Flexible Packaging

      8. 7.1.8 Novolex Holdings Inc.

      9. 7.1.9 WIPF Doypack (Wipf AG)

      10. 7.1.10 FlexPak Services LLC

      11. 7.1.11 Transcontinental Inc.

      12. 7.1.12 American Packaging Corporation

      13. 7.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 7.1.14 Inteplast Group

      15. 7.1.15 Oben Holding Group

      16. 7.1.16 Toray Plastics (America) Inc.

      17. 7.1.17 Sigma Plastic Group

      18. 7.1.18 Clifton Packaging SA De CV

      19. 7.1.19 PO Empaques Flexibles SA De CV

      20. 7.1.20 ProAmpac LLC

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

تمت دراسة سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية من 2019 إلى 2027.

ينمو سوق التغليف المرن في أمريكا اللاتينية بمعدل نمو سنوي مركب يبلغ 3.89٪ على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

Amcor PLC و Berry Global Inc. و Mondi Group و Sealed Air Corporation و Coveris Holdings SA هي الشركات الكبرى العاملة في سوق التغليف المرن بأمريكا اللاتينية.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Latin America Flexible Packaging Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022-2027)

The Latin American Flexible Packaging Market is segmented by Material Type (Plastics, Paper, Aluminum Foil), Product Type (Pouches, Bags, Films, and Wraps), End-user Industry (Food, Beverage, Pharmaceutical and Medical, Household and Personal care), and Country.

Market Snapshot

Latin America Flexible Packaging Market Size
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 3.89 %
Latin America Flexible Packaging Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The Latin American flexible packaging market is expected to register a CAGR of 3.89% during the forecast period (2022-2027).​ With the recent outbreak of COVID-19, flexible packaging manufacturers have been flooded with a pool of issues that are expected to be only for the short term. Some of the effects of lockdown include supply chain disruptions, lack of availability of raw materials used in the manufacturing process, labor shortages, fluctuating prices that could cause the production of the final product to inflate and go beyond budget, shipping problems, etc.​

  • According to the Brazilian government, in 2021, the retail sales in the packaged food market in Brazil reached USD 116.6 billion, a growth rate of 32.2% since 2016. The high growth rates include ready meals, breakfast cereals, baby food, sauces, dressings and condiments, processed meat, and seafood and soup.
  • Several market players are establishing collaborations and partnerships to drive better additional revenues due to the increasing demand. For instance, in 2020, Amcor announced its partnership with Moda vacuum packaging systems in North America and Latin America. This partnership combines Amcor's shrink bag and roll stock film for meat barrier films, and its polyvinyl chloride ("PVC") films include a broad array of PVC meat films used primarily to wrap fresh meats, especially poultry.
  • Argentina's packaging industry faced a difficult phase during the economic crisis that escalated with the pandemic. The purchasing power of low-income and middle-income social groups reduced drastically, curbing any innovation and premium packaging opportunities. Argentina witnessed a sharp fall in wages, rising unemployment, and a decline in consumption habits, affecting packaging types and sizes across different categories.
  • Since the last decade, awareness among the population regarding the harmful effects of plastic usage has been growing drastically. Many public campaigns and initiatives by the Latin American governments have increased awareness among the public. Thus, plastic packaging consumption witnessed a significant impact in the past few years. ​

Scope of the Report

Flexible packaging is lightweight bags or pouches sealed using heat or pressure. In most cases, flexible packaging is designed to help extend the shelf-life of food products or to fulfill other marketing trends, such as high-quality graphics. The Latin American flexible packaging market is segmented by material type (plastics, paper, and aluminum foil), product type (pouches, bags, films, and wraps), end-user industry (food, beverage, pharmaceutical and medical, and household and personal care), and country.

Material Type
Plastics
Polyethene (PE)
Bi-orientated Polypropylene (BOPP)
Cast Polypropylene (CPP)
Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC)
Ethylene Vinyl Alcohol (EVOH)
Paper
Aluminum Foil
Product Type
Pouches
Bags
Films and Wraps
Other Product Types
End-user Industry
Food
Frozen Food
Dairy Products
Fruits and Vegetables
Meat, Poultry, and Seafood
Baked Goods and Snack Foods
Candy and Confections
Other Food Products
Beverage
Pharmaceutical and Medical
Household and Personal Care
Other End-user Industries
Geography
Brazil
Argentina
Mexico
Rest of Latin America (Colombia, Venezuela, etc.)

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Pouches are Expected to Grow Significantly

  • Pouches can be broadly classified into stand-up and flat pouches and are extensively used across Europe. Stand-up pouches include various types of retort pouches, bottom gusset pouches, flat bottom pouches, side gusset pouches, spouted pouches, and shaped pouches. Flat pouches can be further classified into pillow pouches, four side seal pouches, three side seal pouches, and vacuum pouches.​
  • The durability and convenience of logistics for products packaged in pouches drive the studied market's demand. The pouches' cost-effectiveness is helping manufacturers opt for pouch packaging, driving the growth of this flexible packaging format. The lightweight nature of the structure drives the adoption of pouches compared to other traditional packaging formats like PET bottles.​
  • There is also an extensive demand for kraft paper in wrapping, pouches, and sacks. The increasing trend for eco-friendly packaging is creating a demand for kraft papers that can be easily recycled, as their pulping process allows easy waste recovery.​Similarly, in 2020, TC transcontinental, Montreal-based packaging manufacturer, with a presence in the United States and Latin America, announced plans on increasing post-consumer, recycled content in flexible packaging offerings such as pouches. It has also begun investments in allied equipment to convert flexible plastics from sorting facilities and other sources.​
  • In May 2021, Amcor introduced recycled plastic packaging for powdered chocolate in Latin America, a more sustainable packaging than the previous packaging. This new solution reduces the package's carbon footprint by 53% and water consumption by 84% when recycled. The new sachet has a high-barrier feature to protect against humidity and will be available to consumers in Colombia's 25g sachet format this month.
  • Pouches are one of the most significantly used materials for packaging e-commerce products. Pouches are becoming the most common format of flexible packaging in the food, beverage, personal care, and pharmaceutical industries that cater to most products in the e-commerce markets. Players operating in the e-commerce sector opt for pouch packaging, as it is one of the most efficient and economical packaging solutions. Latin America e-commerce retail sales grew at 19.4% (approximately) in 2020.
Latin America Flexible Packaging Market Trends

Brazil is Expected to Hold Significant Market Share

  • Brazil is one of the leading countries in Latin America in terms of economic growth and high FDI. It has a huge demand for food and industrial goods, which are catered by imports. Flexible packaging will be necessary for this area to protect the products from getting damaged. With the middle-income class percentage increasing, demand for packed food is likely to increase, enabling the flexible packaging market to grow.
  • Despite the pandemic and related uncertainties, the Brazilian personal hygiene, perfume, and cosmetics sector closed in 2020 with a 5.8% growth, according to the index of the Brazilian Association of the personal hygiene, perfumery, and cosmetics industry (ABIHPEC). The personal care category revenue reached USD 12.77 billion (approximately), and it was further expected to grow by 7.5% in 2021.
  • In 2020, Brazilian converter of flexible packaging Pamplastic Industria de Embalagens Plásticas increased its business by purchasing a Comexi F2 MB flexographic press. The company currently serves the monolayer packaging market, including technical films, bakery packaging, line refrigeration, and textile packaging.
  • In October 2021, Gualapack SpA was expanding in Brazil as part of the group's ongoing efforts to achieve sustainable, worldwide growth through vertical integration. With the acquisition of Teruel Embalagens – Papeis Amalia Ltda, Gualapack continues to make significant investments in this part of the world. Teruel is a classic family firm with 50 years of experience, having two plants in Brazil specializing in flexographic printing on flexible film.
  • There is a trend supporting premiumization in this market. Despite being price-sensitive, Brazilians are willing to spend on cosmetics. This caters to the demand for flexible packaging, as flexible plastic materials, such as polyamine and polypropylene, provide packages with outstanding visibility and appealing structure, along with safety features.
Latin America Flexible Packaging Market Analysis

Competitive Landscape

The Latin American flexible packaging market comprises several global and regional players and is moderately consolidated. As the market poses low barriers to entry for the new players, several new entrants have been able to gain traction. This market is characterized by low product differentiation, growing levels of product penetration, and high levels of competition. Sustainable competitive advantage can be gained through design, technology, and application innovation.

  • September 2021: EMSUR launched EM-Full RFlex, its new PE and PP-based flexible packaging range. This solution aims to improve recyclability and improve food preservation, thanks to its barrier properties. The different structures in this type of laminate aim to respond to the needs of FMCG customers who require packaging solutions for bags or Doypacks with mono-material compositions and barrier properties for a range of product categories, including snacks, confectionery, etc.
  • September 2021: Constantia Flexibles achieved up to 80% recycled content in a PE film using EcoLam laminates' waste in an industrial recycling trial of EcoLam laminates. Further examinations showed that the type of adhesive and the type of printing inks used significantly influence the quality of recyclable material. It is under further investigation whether printed laminates can also be reused in food applications with suitable adhesives and inks.

Recent Developments

  • June 2021 - Coveris Holdings SA developed a new cereal liner solution. The Cereal+ liner was created to deliver packer performance, shelf life, and consumer functionality using a newly developed formulation. Coveris’ Cereal+ liner is made from fully recyclable polyethylene and provides product protection, freshness, and shelf life for cereals and dry foods packed in bag-in-box films.
  • June 2021 - Mondi PLC expanded its paper-based MailerBAG range to further replace plastic packaging in e-commerce with a recyclable solution made of responsibly sourced renewable materials. The innovative MailerBAG is available in three designs. The flat bottom version complements the existing range of pinch and folded bottom bags, as each one offers consumers user-friendly packaging with multiple advantages.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.2.1 Threat of New Entrants

      2. 4.2.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.2.3 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      4. 4.2.4 Threat of Substitutes

      5. 4.2.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

    3. 4.3 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    4. 4.4 Assessment of the Impact of COVID -19 on the Industry

    5. 4.5 Market Drivers

      1. 4.5.1 Increased Demand for Convenient Packaging

    6. 4.6 Market Challenges

      1. 4.6.1 Concerns Regarding the Environment and Recycling

  5. 5. SUSTAINABLE PACKAGING AND TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCEMENTS IN THE LATIN AMERICAN FLEXIBLE PACKAGING INDUSTRY

    1. 5.1 Light Weighting

    2. 5.2 Recycled and Recyclable Polymers

    3. 5.3 Sustainable Coatings for Pouch Packaging

    4. 5.4 Barrier Developments

    5. 5.5 Active Packaging

  6. 6. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 6.1 Material Type

      1. 6.1.1 Plastics

        1. 6.1.1.1 Polyethene (PE)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Bi-orientated Polypropylene (BOPP)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Cast Polypropylene (CPP)

        4. 6.1.1.4 Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC)

        5. 6.1.1.5 Ethylene Vinyl Alcohol (EVOH)

      2. 6.1.2 Paper

      3. 6.1.3 Aluminum Foil

    2. 6.2 Product Type

      1. 6.2.1 Pouches

      2. 6.2.2 Bags

      3. 6.2.3 Films and Wraps

      4. 6.2.4 Other Product Types

    3. 6.3 End-user Industry

      1. 6.3.1 Food

        1. 6.3.1.1 Frozen Food

        2. 6.3.1.2 Dairy Products

        3. 6.3.1.3 Fruits and Vegetables

        4. 6.3.1.4 Meat, Poultry, and Seafood

        5. 6.3.1.5 Baked Goods and Snack Foods

        6. 6.3.1.6 Candy and Confections

        7. 6.3.1.7 Other Food Products

      2. 6.3.2 Beverage

      3. 6.3.3 Pharmaceutical and Medical

      4. 6.3.4 Household and Personal Care

      5. 6.3.5 Other End-user Industries

    4. 6.4 Geography

      1. 6.4.1 Brazil

      2. 6.4.2 Argentina

      3. 6.4.3 Mexico

      4. 6.4.4 Rest of Latin America (Colombia, Venezuela, etc.)

  7. 7. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 7.1 Company Profiles

      1. 7.1.1 Amcor PLC

      2. 7.1.2 Berry Global Inc.

      3. 7.1.3 Mondi Group

      4. 7.1.4 Sealed Air Corporation

      5. 7.1.5 Coveris Holdings SA

      6. 7.1.6 Tetra Pak International SA

      7. 7.1.7 Cascades Flexible Packaging

      8. 7.1.8 Novolex Holdings Inc.

      9. 7.1.9 WIPF Doypack (Wipf AG)

      10. 7.1.10 FlexPak Services LLC

      11. 7.1.11 Transcontinental Inc.

      12. 7.1.12 American Packaging Corporation

      13. 7.1.13 Sonoco Products Company

      14. 7.1.14 Inteplast Group

      15. 7.1.15 Oben Holding Group

      16. 7.1.16 Toray Plastics (America) Inc.

      17. 7.1.17 Sigma Plastic Group

      18. 7.1.18 Clifton Packaging SA De CV

      19. 7.1.19 PO Empaques Flexibles SA De CV

      20. 7.1.20 ProAmpac LLC

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  8. 8. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  9. 9. FUTURE OF THE MARKET

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Latin America Flexible Packaging Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The Latin America Flexible Packaging Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.89% over the next 5 years.

Amcor PLC, Berry Global Inc., Mondi Group, Sealed Air Corporation, Coveris Holdings SA are the major companies operating in Latin America Flexible Packaging Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!