Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung – Wachstum, Trends, Auswirkungen von COVID-19 und Prognosen (2022 – 2027)

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung ist unterteilt in Lösung (luftgekühlt, flüssigkeitsgekühlt, Kühler, Economizer-Systeme, Reihen-/Rack-/Tür-/Überkopf-Kühlsysteme), Service (Installation und Bereitstellung sowie Beratungs-, Support- und Wartungsdienste), End- Benutzervertikale (Informationstechnologie, BFSI, Telekommunikation, Gesundheitswesen, Regierung) und Geographie.

Markt-Snapshot

Data Center Cooling Market
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2021
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %
Data Center Cooling Market Size

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Marktübersicht

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung wurde 2020 auf 6,04 Mrd. USD geschätzt und soll bis 2026 7,42 Mrd. USD erreichen und im Prognosezeitraum (2021–2026) mit einer CAGR von 3,76 % wachsen. Aufgrund der hohen Rechenanforderungen von KI- und Medienanwendungen hat die Zahl der Rechenzentren stark zugenommen. Darüber hinaus wird das Wachstum durch die Einführung von Edge-Computing und die Zunahme der Anzahl von IoT-Geräten vorangetrieben.

  • Die Entwicklung der IT-Infrastruktur in Schwellenländern treibt den Markt voran. Der zunehmende Bau von Hyperscale-Anlagen mit einer Leistung von über 50 MW wird den Bedarf an innovativer Infrastruktur auf dem Markt in den nächsten Jahren weltweit in Industrieländern anheizen. Laut der National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM) könnten die IT-Exporte aus Indien bis 2019-20 330 Milliarden USD übersteigen. Dies macht fast 14 % der prognostizierten weltweiten Ausgaben aus, wenn Indien seinen derzeitigen Anteil am globalen Offshore-IT-Markt behält.
  • Die Schätzungen verschiedener Quellen deuten darauf hin, dass das Rechenzentrum für 2 % bis 5 % der weltweiten Treibhausgasemissionen (THG) verantwortlich ist. Die Kühlsysteme sind für fast 40 % des Stromverbrauchs in einem Rechenzentrum verantwortlich. Unternehmen versuchen, dieses Problem anzugehen, indem sie grüne Rechenzentren einrichten, die kostenlose Luftkühlsysteme anstelle herkömmlicher Klimaanlagen verwenden. Der wachsende Trend zum Einsatz umweltfreundlicher Rechenzentren zum Speichern, Verwalten und Verteilen von Informationen half vielen Softwareunternehmen, den Energieverbrauch und die Gesamtenergiekosten zu senken.
  • Da die Hyperscale-Anbieter ihre Dienste in der gesamten Region Europa weiter ausrollen, würde die Rate der Hyperscale-Beschaffung von Rechenzentrumskapazität in vielen anderen europäischen Städten schnell zunehmen. Daher würden Märkte wie Madrid, Mailand, Warschau und Zürich einen erheblichen Anstieg der Colocation-Aktivität verzeichnen. Equinix kündigte ein neues Joint Venture mit GIC an, um Hyperscale-Rechenzentren in der Region Europa zu entwickeln und zu betreiben. In den letzten Jahren war ein wichtiger Trend die Erweiterung von Großanlagen, um das Wachstum von Hyperscale-Unternehmen, einschließlich der größten Cloud-Service-Anbieter, zu unterstützen.
  • Anpassungsfähigkeitsanforderungen und Stromausfälle fordern den Markt jedoch heraus, zu wachsen. Ein typisches Kühlsystem für Rechenzentren muss vorgefertigt, standardisiert und modular sein. Es muss skalierbar und flexibel sein, um die Anforderungen des Rechenzentrums zu erfüllen. Dies ist in der heutigen Welt sehr schwierig, da Unternehmen Kosten sparen wollen und nicht bereit sind, viel für kundenspezifische High-End-Kühlsysteme auszugeben.

Umfang des Berichts

Die Rechenzentrumskühlung bezieht sich auf die kollektiven Geräte, Werkzeuge, Techniken und Prozesse, die eine ideale Betriebstemperatur innerhalb einer Rechenzentrumsanlage gewährleisten. Mit zunehmender Kapazität und höherer Dichte steigt der Bedarf an energieeffizienter Kühlung des IT-Equipments. Darüber hinaus wird erwartet, dass die Vorteile der Technologie und die Unterstützung der Regierung durch die Auferlegung von Effizienzvorschriften für Rechenzentren das Wachstum des Marktes für Rechenzentrumskühlung in verschiedenen Anwendungen wie IT, BFSI, Telekommunikation usw. direkt fördern werden.

Type
Air cooled
Liquid cooled
Chillers
Economizer Systems
Row/Rack/Door/Overhead Cooling Systems
Service
Installation and Deployment
Consulting, Support, and Maintenance Services
End-user Vertical
Information Technology
BFSI
Telecommunication
Healthcare
Government
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
Norway
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Australia
Japan
India
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Wichtige Markttrends

Die Informationstechnologiebranche verzeichnet das höchste Wachstum

  • Die IT-Branche benötigt je nach Größe der Organisation private On-Premise-Datenspeicherzentren und Hyperscale-Rechenzentren für ihren Betrieb. Darüber hinaus hat die Einführung von Cloud-Speicher im Laufe der Jahre aufgrund des Wachstums von SaaS-Anbietern zugenommen, was es Cloud-Speicheranbietern ermöglicht, ihre Kapazitäten zu erweitern, und es wird erwartet, dass die Nachfrage nach Kühlsystemen für Rechenzentren steigt.
  • Cloud-Speicheranbieter wie Microsoft, AWS und Google erweitern ihre Speicherkapazitäten, um effizientere Arbeitsabläufe in der Cloud zu bieten. Diese Unternehmen investieren in Hyperscale-Deals. Im Mai 2018 gab Google bekannt, dass es Flüssigkeitskühlsysteme für das KI-Daten-Crunching einführen würde, da die von seinen neuen Tensor Processing Units (TPUs) erzeugte Wärme die Grenzen seiner bisherigen Kühllösungen für Rechenzentren überstieg.
  • Darüber hinaus gab CloudHQ an, dass die Branche bis 2022 voraussichtlich die 350-Megawatt-Speichercampus erhalten wird. Im Jahr 2018 unterzeichnete das Unternehmen einen 72-Megawatt-Mietvertrag in Ashbum, der größte in der Geschichte des Rechenzentrums.
  • Im Februar 2018 kündigte die zweitgrößte Lebensmittelkette in Amerika, Albertsons Companies, die Einführung des Cloud-Speicherdienstes von Microsoft an, um das Einzelhandelserlebnis zu verbessern. Damit plante das Unternehmen, die kognitiven Analyse-, KI- und Data-Science-Funktionen von Microsoft zu nutzen. Es wird erwartet, dass solche Fortschritte bei Top-Einzelhändlern neue Rechenzentrumseinrichtungen eröffnen, die die Nachfrage auf dem Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung ankurbeln werden.
 Data Center Cooling Market Growth

Asien-Pazifik verzeichnet ein deutliches Wachstum

  • Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wird in Zukunft ein hohes Marktwachstum verzeichnen. China ist aufgrund des exponentiellen Wachstums der Zahl der Rechenzentren im Land und der Politik der Regierung zur Unterstützung einer energieeffizienteren Infrastruktur im Land einer der wichtigsten Märkte für Kühllösungen für Rechenzentren.
  • Laut dem Bericht über den Energieverbrauch von Rechenzentren in China übersteigt die aktuelle Anzahl kleiner und mittlerer Rechenzentren in China 400.000, und der jährliche Gesamtenergiebedarf erreichte 100 Milliarden kWh, dh etwa 250.000 kWh für jedes Rechenzentrum , jährlich. Auch der zunehmende Trend der Datenlokalisierung im Land kann die Entwicklung von Rechenzentren weiter fördern.
  • Darüber hinaus wurde erwartet, dass die Gesundheitsbranche in Asien im Jahr 2018 um 11,1 % wachsen wird. Dieses signifikante Wachstum wird durch die zunehmende Einführung digitaler Technologien, innovative Programme für den Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung und die Erbringung von Pflegeleistungen außerhalb traditioneller Krankenhausumgebungen vorangetrieben. Im Juni 2018 eröffnete die chinesische Provinz Guizhou ein Rechenzentrum für das Gesundheitswesen. Der Plan, ein nationales Gesundheitsdatennetzwerk aufzubauen, nähert sich einem großen Meilenstein, da das erste der fünf spezialisierten Rechenzentren online geht.
  • Die wachsende Nachfrage nach Flüssigkeitskühlsystemen für Rechenzentren auf dem heimischen Markt treibt auch ausländische Akteure dazu, in den japanischen Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung zu investieren. Beispielsweise hat ein Unternehmen für verteilte Rechenzentren, Cloud&Heat Technologies, ein Container-basiertes System an einen japanischen Anbieter geliefert, der plant, die flüssigkeitsgekühlten Angebote des deutschen Unternehmens auf dem lokalen Markt zu verkaufen.
  • Darüber hinaus gab Equinix, Inc. im Juli 2019 die Eröffnung seines elften IBX-Rechenzentrums TY11 in Japan bekannt. Es hat energieeffiziente Beleuchtungssysteme, adaptive Steuerungssysteme, die den Stromverbrauch senken und die Kühlkapazität durch aktives Luftstrommanagement erhöhen, sowie eine Kaltgangeinhausung eingesetzt, die den Energieverbrauch senkt und die Kühlung verbessert.
  • Unternehmen auf dem Markt sind besorgt über den Wasserverbrauch und die Effizienz der Kältemaschinen in Bezug auf Kühlung und Energieverbrauch. Die Anbieter konzentrieren sich jedoch darauf, ihre Angebote zu verbessern, um solche Hürden zu überwinden. Prasa setzte beispielsweise intelligente Chiller-Booster in den Kühlsystemen von Rechenzentren ein, hauptsächlich für Supercomputer im Ministerium für Geowissenschaften der indischen Regierung. Dieses System verringerte den Stromverbrauch um fast 38 % und erhöhte die Kühleffizienz um 43 %.
Data Center Cooling Market Growth Rate

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung ist fragmentiert, da erwartet wird, dass die Vorteile, die die Technologie bietet, und die staatliche Unterstützung durch die Auferlegung von Effizienzvorschriften für Rechenzentren direkt zum Wachstum des Marktes für Rechenzentrumskühlung beitragen werden. Die Marktdurchdringung wächst mit einer starken Präsenz von Hauptakteuren in etablierten Märkten und mit dem zunehmenden Fokus auf Innovation wächst die Nachfrage nach neuen Technologien, was wiederum Investitionen für Weiterentwicklungen antreibt. Hauptakteure sind Vertiv Co., Schneider Electric SE, STULZ GMBH usw. Einige der wichtigsten Entwicklungen auf dem Markt sind -

  • Juni 2020 – Asetek kündigte eine Zusammenarbeit mit Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) an, um seine Premium-Flüssigkeitskühlungslösungen für Rechenzentren in HPE Apollo Systems bereitzustellen, die hochleistungsfähig und dichteoptimiert sind, um auf High Performance Computing (HPC) und künstliche Intelligenz abzuzielen ( AI) braucht. Die Integration ermöglicht den Einsatz von Prozessoren mit hoher Wattleistung in Konfigurationen mit hoher Dichte, um rechenintensive Workloads zu unterstützen.
  • Mai 2020 – Das EcoData Center in Falun, das weltweit erste klimafreundliche Rechenzentrum, setzt eine neue Methode zur flüssigkeitsbasierten Kühlung ein, die in Zusammenarbeit zwischen Schneider Electric, Iceotope und Avnet entwickelt wurde. Das Werk in Falun wird vollständig mit erneuerbaren Energiequellen betrieben, da die gesamte Abwärme durch die Integration mit Falu Energi & Vatten zum Heizwerk zurückgeführt wird. Um den Energieverbrauch weiter zu senken, wird nun eine völlig neue, Chassis-basierte Flüssigkeitskühlung verbaut. Die Methode wurde in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Energiespezialisten Schneider Electric, dem Kühltechnikunternehmen Iceotope und dem Beratungsunternehmen Avnet entwickelt, das mit technischer Integration arbeitet. Durch die Umsetzung wird der Energieverbrauch für die Rackkühlung um bis zu 90 % und für das gesamte Rechenzentrum um etwa 14 % gesenkt.

Hauptakteure

  1. Daikin Industries Ltd.

  2. Schneider Electric SE

  3. Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

  4. Johnson Controls International plc

  5. Asetek, Inc.

AVG Technologies, Check Point Software Technologies Ltd, Cisco Systems Inc., Cyber Ark Software Ltd, Dell Technologies Inc., FireEye Inc.

Wettbewerbslandschaft

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung ist fragmentiert, da erwartet wird, dass die Vorteile, die die Technologie bietet, und die staatliche Unterstützung durch die Auferlegung von Effizienzvorschriften für Rechenzentren direkt zum Wachstum des Marktes für Rechenzentrumskühlung beitragen werden. Die Marktdurchdringung wächst mit einer starken Präsenz von Hauptakteuren in etablierten Märkten und mit dem zunehmenden Fokus auf Innovation wächst die Nachfrage nach neuen Technologien, was wiederum Investitionen für Weiterentwicklungen antreibt. Hauptakteure sind Vertiv Co., Schneider Electric SE, STULZ GMBH usw. Einige der wichtigsten Entwicklungen auf dem Markt sind -

  • Juni 2020 – Asetek kündigte eine Zusammenarbeit mit Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) an, um seine Premium-Flüssigkeitskühlungslösungen für Rechenzentren in HPE Apollo Systems bereitzustellen, die hochleistungsfähig und dichteoptimiert sind, um auf High Performance Computing (HPC) und künstliche Intelligenz abzuzielen ( AI) braucht. Die Integration ermöglicht den Einsatz von Prozessoren mit hoher Wattleistung in Konfigurationen mit hoher Dichte, um rechenintensive Workloads zu unterstützen.
  • Mai 2020 – Das EcoData Center in Falun, das weltweit erste klimafreundliche Rechenzentrum, setzt eine neue Methode zur flüssigkeitsbasierten Kühlung ein, die in Zusammenarbeit zwischen Schneider Electric, Iceotope und Avnet entwickelt wurde. Das Werk in Falun wird vollständig mit erneuerbaren Energiequellen betrieben, da die gesamte Abwärme durch die Integration mit Falu Energi & Vatten zum Heizwerk zurückgeführt wird. Um den Energieverbrauch weiter zu senken, wird nun eine völlig neue, Chassis-basierte Flüssigkeitskühlung verbaut. Die Methode wurde in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Energiespezialisten Schneider Electric, dem Kühltechnikunternehmen Iceotope und dem Beratungsunternehmen Avnet entwickelt, das mit technischer Integration arbeitet. Durch die Umsetzung wird der Energieverbrauch für die Rackkühlung um bis zu 90 % und für das gesamte Rechenzentrum um etwa 14 % gesenkt.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Competitive Rivalry Within the Industry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increasing Volume of Digital Data

      2. 4.4.2 Emergence of Green Data Centers

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Adaptability Requirements and Power Outages

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Air cooled

      2. 5.1.2 Liquid cooled

      3. 5.1.3 Chillers

      4. 5.1.4 Economizer Systems

      5. 5.1.5 Row/Rack/Door/Overhead Cooling Systems

    2. 5.2 Service

      1. 5.2.1 Installation and Deployment

      2. 5.2.2 Consulting, Support, and Maintenance Services

    3. 5.3 End-user Vertical

      1. 5.3.1 Information Technology

      2. 5.3.2 BFSI

      3. 5.3.3 Telecommunication

      4. 5.3.4 Healthcare

      5. 5.3.5 Government

      6. 5.3.6 Other End-user Verticals

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.4.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.4.2.3 Norway

        4. 5.4.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Australia

        3. 5.4.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.3.4 India

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Major Vendors

        1. 6.1.1.1 Daikin Industries, Ltd. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Schneider Electric S.E. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        4. 6.1.1.4 Johnson Controls International plc (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        5. 6.1.1.5 Asetek, Inc. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

      2. 6.1.2 Other Vendors

        1. 6.1.2.1 STULZ GMBH

        2. 6.1.2.2 Rittal GmbH & Co. KG

        3. 6.1.2.3 Nortek Air Solutions

        4. 6.1.2.4 Vertiv Co.

        5. 6.1.2.5 Munters Group AB

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung wird von 2018 bis 2026 untersucht.

Der Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung wächst in den nächsten 5 Jahren mit einer CAGR von 3,76 %.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum wächst zwischen 2021 und 2026 mit der höchsten CAGR.

Nordamerika hält 2021 den höchsten Anteil.

Daikin Industries Ltd., Schneider Electric SE, Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Johnson Controls International plc, Asetek, Inc. sind die wichtigsten Unternehmen, die auf dem Markt für Rechenzentrumskühlung tätig sind.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

Data Center Cooling Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

The Data Center Cooling Market is segmented by Solution (Air Cooled, Liquid Cooled, Chillers, Economizer Systems, Row/Rack/Door/Overhead Cooling Systems), Service (Installation and Deployment, and Consulting, Support, and Maintenance Services), End-user Vertical (Information Technology, BFSI, Telecommunication, Healthcare, Government), and Geography.

Market Snapshot

Data Center Cooling Market Overview
Study Period: 2018 - 2026
Base Year: 2020
Fastest Growing Market: Asia Pacific
Largest Market: North America
CAGR: 3.76 %
Data Center Cooling Market Major Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The data center cooling market was valued at USD 6.04 billion in 2020 and expected to reach USD 7.42 billion by 2026 and grow at a CAGR of 3.76% over the forecast period (2021 - 2026). There has been a surge in the number of data centers due to high computational requirements by AI and Media applications. Furthermore, the growth is going to be fuelled by the adoption of edge computing and the increase in the number of IoT devices.

  • Development in IT Infrastructure in emerging countries is driving the market. The increasing construction of hyperscale facilities with a power capacity of over 50 MW will fuel the need for innovative infrastructure in the market over the next few years globally in developed countries. According to the National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM), IT exports from India may exceed USD 330 billion by 2019-20. This accounts for nearly 14% of the projected worldwide spend if India maintains its current share of the global offshore IT market.
  • The estimates by various sources suggest that the data center accounts for 2% to 5% of the global Green House Gas (GHG) emissions. The cooling systems are responsible for almost 40% of the power consumption in a data center. Companies are trying to tackle this issue by setting up Green data centers which use Free air cooling systems instead of traditional Air conditioners. The growing trends toward the deployment of green data centers for storing, managing, and distributing information helped many software companies reduce energy consumption and the total energy cost.
  • As the hyperscale providers roll out their services more widely across the Europe region, the rate of hyperscale procurement of data center capacity in many other European cities would increase rapidly. Hence, markets, such as Madrid, Milan, Warsaw, and Zurich would witness a substantial increase in colocation activity. Equinix announced a new joint venture with GIC to develop and operate hyperscale data centers in the Europe region. For the past many years, an important trend has been the expansion of large-scale facilities to support the growth of hyperscale companies, including the largest cloud service providers.
  • However, adaptability requirements and power outages are challenging the market to grow.A typical data center cooling system must be pre-engineered, standardized, and modular. It is required to be scalable and flexible to meet the needs of the data center. This is very difficult in today’s world with companies looking to cut costs and not willing to spend much on the high-end customized cooling systems.

Scope of the Report

The data center cooling refers to the collective equipment, tools, techniques and processes that ensure an ideal operating temperature within a data center facility. With increasing capacity and higher density, there is an increasing need for energy-efficient cooling of the IT equipment. Furthermore, benefits offered by the technology and support from the government by imposing efficiency regulations on data centers are expected to help the growth of the data center cooling market directly in various application such as IT, BFSI, Telecommunication, etc.

Type
Air cooled
Liquid cooled
Chillers
Economizer Systems
Row/Rack/Door/Overhead Cooling Systems
Service
Installation and Deployment
Consulting, Support, and Maintenance Services
End-user Vertical
Information Technology
BFSI
Telecommunication
Healthcare
Government
Other End-user Verticals
Geography
North America
United States
Canada
Europe
United Kingdom
Germany
Norway
Russia
Rest of Europe
Asia-Pacific
China
Australia
Japan
India
Rest of Asia-Pacific
Latin America
Middle East and Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Information Technology Industry to Witness Highest Growth

  • The IT industry needs on-premise private data storage centers and hyperscale data centers for its operations according to the size of the organization. Additionally, the adoption of cloud storage has increased over the years due to growth in SaaS providers, which is enabling cloud storage providers to expand their capacities and is expected to increase the demand for data center cooling systems.
  • Cloud storage providers, like Microsoft, AWS, and Google, are expanding their storage capabilities to offer more efficient work-flow on the cloud. These companies are making investments in hyperscale deals. In May 2018, Google announced that it was adopting liquid cooling systems for AI data crunching, as the heat generated its new tensor processing units (TPUs) exceeded the limits of its previous data center cooling solutions.
  • Moreover, CloudHQ stated that, by 2022, the industry is expected to get the 350-megawatt storage campuses. In 2018, the company signed a 72-megawatt lease in Ashbum, which is the largest in the data center history.
  • In February 2018, the second-largest grocery chain in America, Albertsons Companies, announced the adoption of cloud storage service from Microsoft to improve the retail experience. With this, the company planned to leverage the cognitive analytics, AI, and data science capabilities from Microsoft. Such advancements among top retailers are expected to launch new data center establishments which will drive the demand of data center cooling market.
Data Center Cooling Market Key Trends

Asia-Pacific to Register a Significant Growth

  • Asia-Pacific to witness high market growth in the future. China is one of the major markets for data center cooling solutions, owing to the exponential growth in the number of data centers in the country, along with the government’s policies to support more energy-efficient infrastructure in the country.
  • According to the report on Energy Consumption of Data Centers in China, the current numbers of small- and medium-sized data centers in China exceeded 400,000, and the annual total power demand reached 100 billion kWh, i.e., around 250,000 kWh for each data center, annually. Also, the rising trend of data localization in the country may further promote the development of data centers.
  • Furthermore, the healthcare industry in Asia was expected to increase by 11.1% in 2018. This significant growth is driven by the increasing adoption of digital technologies, innovative healthcare access programs, and the delivery of care outside of traditional hospital settings. In June 2018, China’s Guizhou Province launched a healthcare data center. Its plan to set up a national healthcare data network is approaching a major milestone, with the first of the five specialist data centers coming online.
  • The growing demand for liquid cooling systems for data centers in the domestic market is also fueling foreign players to invest in the Japanese data center cooling market. For instance, a distributed data center company, Cloud&Heat Technologies, has shipped a container-based system to a Japanese vendor who plans to sell the German firm’s liquid-cooled offerings in the local market.
  • Moreover, in July 2019, Equinix, Inc. announced the opening of its eleventh IBX data center TY11 in Japan. It has deployed energy-efficient lighting systems, adaptive control systems that reduce power consumption and increases cooling capacity through active airflow management, and cold aisle containment that reduces energy consumption and enhances cooling.
  • Enterprises in the market are concerned about water consumption and efficiency, in terms of cooling and energy consumption, of the chillers. However, vendors are focusing on upgrading their offerings, in order to overcome such hurdles. For example, Prasa deployed intelligent chiller boosters in the cooling systems of data centers, primarily for supercomputers in the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India. This system decreased electricity consumption by nearly 38% and increased cooling efficiency by 43%.
Data Center Cooling Market Growth Rate

Competitive Landscape

The data center cooling market is fragmented as the benefits offered by the technology and support from the government by imposing efficiency regulations on data centers are expected to directly help the growth of the data center cooling market. Market penetration is growing with a strong presence of major players in established markets and with the increasing focus on innovation, the demand for new technologies is growing, which, in turn, is driving investments for further developments. Key players are Vertiv Co., Schneider Electric SE, STULZ GMBH, etc. Some of the key developments in the market are -

  • June 2020 - Asetek announced a collaboration with Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) to deliver its premium data center liquid cooling solutions in HPE Apollo Systems, which are high-performing and density-optimized to target high-performance computing (HPC) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) needs. The integration enables the deployment of high wattage processors in high-density configurations to support compute-intense workloads.
  • May 2020 - EcoData Center in Falun, the world's first climate-positive data center deployed a new method for liquid-based cooling, developed in a collaboration between Schneider Electric, Iceotope and Avnet. The plant in Falun is entirely powered by renewable energy sources attributable to the integration with Falu Energi & Vatten all waste heat is led back to the heating plant. To further reduce energy consumption, a completely new, chassis-based liquid cooling method is now being installed. The method has been developed in a collaboration between the energy specialist Schneider Electric, the cooling technology company Iceotope and the consulting company Avnet, which works with technical integration. Implementation is estimated to reduce energy consumption for rack cooling by up to 90 %and for the entire data center by about 14%.

Recent Developments

June 2020 - Asetek announced a collaboration with Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) to deliver its premium data center liquid cooling solutions in HPE Apollo Systems, which are high-performing and density-optimized to target high-performance computing (HPC) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) needs. The integration enables the deployment of high wattage processors in high-density configurations to support compute-intense workloads.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Deliverables

    2. 1.2 Study Assumptions

    3. 1.3 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Industry Value Chain Analysis

    3. 4.3 Industry Attractiveness - Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.3.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.3.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.3.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.3.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.3.5 Competitive Rivalry Within the Industry

    4. 4.4 Market Drivers

      1. 4.4.1 Increasing Volume of Digital Data

      2. 4.4.2 Emergence of Green Data Centers

    5. 4.5 Market Restraints

      1. 4.5.1 Adaptability Requirements and Power Outages

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Air cooled

      2. 5.1.2 Liquid cooled

      3. 5.1.3 Chillers

      4. 5.1.4 Economizer Systems

      5. 5.1.5 Row/Rack/Door/Overhead Cooling Systems

    2. 5.2 Service

      1. 5.2.1 Installation and Deployment

      2. 5.2.2 Consulting, Support, and Maintenance Services

    3. 5.3 End-user Vertical

      1. 5.3.1 Information Technology

      2. 5.3.2 BFSI

      3. 5.3.3 Telecommunication

      4. 5.3.4 Healthcare

      5. 5.3.5 Government

      6. 5.3.6 Other End-user Verticals

    4. 5.4 Geography

      1. 5.4.1 North America

        1. 5.4.1.1 United States

        2. 5.4.1.2 Canada

      2. 5.4.2 Europe

        1. 5.4.2.1 United Kingdom

        2. 5.4.2.2 Germany

        3. 5.4.2.3 Norway

        4. 5.4.2.4 Russia

        5. 5.4.2.5 Rest of Europe

      3. 5.4.3 Asia-Pacific

        1. 5.4.3.1 China

        2. 5.4.3.2 Australia

        3. 5.4.3.3 Japan

        4. 5.4.3.4 India

        5. 5.4.3.5 Rest of Asia-Pacific

      4. 5.4.4 Latin America

      5. 5.4.5 Middle East and Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Company Profiles

      1. 6.1.1 Major Vendors

        1. 6.1.1.1 Daikin Industries, Ltd. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        2. 6.1.1.2 Schneider Electric S.E. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        3. 6.1.1.3 Mitsubishi Electric Corporation (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        4. 6.1.1.4 Johnson Controls International plc (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

        5. 6.1.1.5 Asetek, Inc. (Global Revenue in 2016, 2017, 2018 |Business overview and Strategies| Global Customers and Competitors | Product Overview | Revenue Breakdown| SWOT Analysis | Strategies & Innovations | Recent Developments)

      2. 6.1.2 Other Vendors

        1. 6.1.2.1 STULZ GMBH

        2. 6.1.2.2 Rittal GmbH & Co. KG

        3. 6.1.2.3 Nortek Air Solutions

        4. 6.1.2.4 Vertiv Co.

        5. 6.1.2.5 Munters Group AB

    2. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. INVESTMENT ANALYSIS

  8. 8. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Data Center Cooling Market market is studied from 2018 - 2026.

The Data Center Cooling Market is growing at a CAGR of 3.76% over the next 5 years.

Asia Pacific is growing at the highest CAGR over 2021- 2026.

North America holds highest share in 2020.

Daikin Industries Ltd., Schneider Electric S.E., Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Johnson Controls International plc, Asetek, Inc. are the major companies operating in Data Center Cooling Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!