东盟储能市场 - 增长、趋势、COVID-19 影响和预测(2022 - 2027 年)

市场按类型(抽水蓄能、电池储能系统等)、应用(住宅、商业和工业)和地理(印度尼西亚、越南、菲律宾、马来西亚和东盟其他地区)进行细分

市场快照

ASEAN Energy Storage - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 6.78 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

市场概况

东盟储能市场在 2020 年价值 24.9 亿美元,预计到 2027 年将达到 42.4 亿美元,在 2022-2027 年的预测期内复合年增长率为 6.78%。2020 年,由于 COVID-19 大流行,柬埔寨、印度尼西亚、缅甸、菲律宾和越南的许多电力项目因大流行而停止,这可能导致未来几年的产能增加落后于计划。市场的主要驱动力包括住宅、商业和工业部门对不间断电源不断增长的需求。然而,在东盟地区建立大型储能设施的高资本要求预计将成为预测期内研究市场的主要制约因素。

  • 随着电动汽车市场的扩大以及住宅和商业领域对不间断电源的需求不断增长,电池在预测期内可能会见证市场的显着增长。
  • 根据《巴黎协定》,全球各国正在努力增加可再生能源在其能源结构中的份额。例如,印度尼西亚设定了到 2050 年将其可再生能源份额提高到 31% 的目标。太阳能光伏等可再生能源的增加为国家电网无法接入的农村孤立电网供电,可能会为能源创造机会近期的仓储设施。
  • 菲律宾在 2021 年占据了最大的市场份额,预计在预测期内将继续保持同样的趋势。

报告范围

东盟储能市场报告包括:

Type
Pumped-Hydro Storage
Battery Energy Storage Systems
Others
Application
Residential
Commercial and Industrial
Geography
Indonesia
Vietnam
Phillipines
Malaysia
Rest of ASEAN

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

主要市场趋势

电池储能领域有望实现显着增长

  • 电池储能系统(BESS)是东盟国家迅速崛起的细分市场。在预测期内,可再生能源消费的增长预计将显着提振 BESS 需求。然而,尽管锂离子电池和 BESS 技术的成本下降,但人为降低关税水平和化石燃料补贴预计将降低 BESS 技术在东盟市场的竞争力。​
  • 尽管到 2025 年可再生能源发电量的 23% 的目标是,东盟国家仍在扩大燃煤发电能力,在印度尼西亚、越南和菲律宾有近 20GW 在建。然而,由于过度污染,这些计划正在审查中,重点正在转向天然气和可再生能源。 
  • 该地区正在对可再生能源和 BESS 项目进行大量投资,以帮助东南亚的能源转型。BESS项目特别适合新加坡、文莱等地理范围有限、人口密度高的国家。其他处于东盟地区 BESS 技术前沿的国家是菲律宾和泰国。​​​
  • 然而,尽管对可再生能源有利好政策,但大多数国家并没有为大型 BESS 项目提供足够的激励或支持。突出的例子包括马来西亚和越南。尽管越南在过去几年中见证了创纪录的可再生能源产能增长,但没有一个公用事业规模的太阳能和风能发电厂与 BESS 相结合。在越南最新的上网电价 (FiT) 计划中,缺少对太阳能加储能的激励措施被认为是严重的缺陷。同样,大型太阳能(LSS)拍卖在马来西亚产生了几项低成本的太阳能关税,但没有一家太阳能发电厂包括 BESS。
  • 2021 年 6 月,2018 年第一家在菲律宾建设电池储能系统的公司 SMC Global Power Holdings 宣布,将投资约 10 亿美元,在 31 个站点建设近 1 吉瓦的电池储能容量。​ABB 还宣布计划在 2021 年为 SMC 投产两台 20MW 和一台 40MW 的预封装 BESS 系统,随后在次年投产其他系统。此前,瓦锡兰宣布已在菲律宾委托两个 BESS 项目,总装机容量为 60MW/60MWh,作为与 SMC 签订的 100MW 合同的一部分。2021年6月,富朗世为SMC完成了两个20MW/20MWh BESS项目的调试。
  • 因此,由于上述几点,预计电池储能领域在预测期内将出现显着增长。
ASEAN Energy Storage Market - Market Share by Type

菲律宾有望主导市场

  • 菲律宾被认为是可再生能源的区域领导者之一,因为它拥有丰富的可再生能源,例如太阳能、风能、生物质能、海洋、小水电和地热。根据能源部的数据,2020 年,可再生能源总量菲律宾的能源容量约为 7617 兆瓦,比上一年增加了 218 兆瓦。​​​
  • 该国是 2015 年《巴黎气候协定》的签署国,其主要目标是通过将全球气温上升限制在工业化前水平以上 1.5 度以下来减少气候变化的威胁。菲律宾已制定雄心勃勃的计划,以成为东南亚领先的清洁能源国家,因此,预计可再生能源份额的增加将在预测期内推动该国的储能市场。​​​
  • 此外,在预测期内,可再生能源容量增长的主要原因可归因于菲律宾 2017-2040 年能源计划,该计划旨在改善该国的电网,以便能够应对额外的 43 GW的能源需求,预计到2040年需要。​​​
  • 根据该计划,该国旨在确保能源安全,扩大能源供应,到 2022 年在所有三个主要岛屿实现 100% 电气化,到 2020 年将棉兰老岛电网与相互连接的米沙鄢和吕宋岛电网连接起来,以提高供电可靠性和弹力。​因此,政府的此类举措可能会在预测期内增加对储能系统的需求。​
  • 菲律宾政府预计到 2030 年底,太阳能累计安装量将达到 8.7 吉瓦,其中太阳能屋顶将占总安装量的近 35%。菲律宾政府给予了足够的监管支持,以降低太阳能光伏组件价格的形式促进太阳能光伏的适应,政策,例如根据 2008 年可再生能源法案引入的净计量系统,因此,这些举措在预测期内,增加对屋顶太阳能光伏的需求可能会增加该国对住宅电池存储系统的需求。
  • 2021 年 6 月,Fluence 在菲律宾调试了其首个 470 兆瓦组合的电池储能系统。该公司已在 Kabankalan 调试了两个基于电池的 20 兆瓦储能系统。该投资组合的项目规模从 20 兆瓦到 60 兆瓦不等,预计将于 2022 年 7 月推出。这反过来又有望推动预测期内研究的市场。
  • 因此,由于上述几点,预计菲律宾将在预测期内主导东盟储能市场。
ASEAN Energy Storage Market - Renewable Energy Installed Capacity

竞争格局

东盟储能市场适度分散。市场上的一些主要参与者包括 GS Yuasa Corporation、Wartsila Oyj Abp、BYD Co. Ltd、SEC Battery Company 和 NGK Insulators Ltd。

竞争格局

东盟储能市场适度分散。市场上的一些主要参与者包括 GS Yuasa Corporation、Wartsila Oyj Abp、BYD Co. Ltd、SEC Battery Company 和 NGK Insulators Ltd。

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Pumped-Hydro Storage

      2. 5.1.2 Battery Energy Storage Systems

      3. 5.1.3 Others

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Residential

      2. 5.2.2 Commercial and Industrial

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Indonesia

      2. 5.3.2 Vietnam

      3. 5.3.3 Phillipines

      4. 5.3.4 Malaysia

      5. 5.3.5 Rest of ASEAN

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 GS Yuasa Corporation

      2. 6.3.2 Wartsila Oyj Abp

      3. 6.3.3 BYD Co. Ltd

      4. 6.3.4 SEC Battery Company

      5. 6.3.5 Contemporary Amperex Technology Co. Ltd (CATL)

      6. 6.3.6 NGK Insulators Ltd

      7. 6.3.7 LG Chem Ltd

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market market is studied from 2019 - 2027.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.78% over the next 5 years.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is valued at 2 Billion USD in 2019.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is valued at 4 Billion USD in 2027.

GS Yuasa Corporation, Wartsila Oyj Abp, BYD Co. Ltd, SEC Battery Company, NGK Insulators Ltd are the major companies operating in ASEAN Energy Storage Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!

ASEAN Energy Storage Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2023 - 2028)

The market is segmented by Type (Pumped-Hydro Storage, Battery Energy Storage Systems, and Others), Application (Residential, and Commercial and Industrial), and Geography (Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia, and Rest of ASEAN)

ASEAN Energy Storage Industry Overview

ASEAN Energy Storage - Market Summary
Study Period: 2019 - 2028
CAGR: 6.78 %

Major Players

rd-img

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

setting-icon

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Analysis

The ASEAN energy storage market was valued at USD 2.49 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 4.24 billion by 2027, registering a CAGR of 6.78% during the forecast period of 2022-2027. In 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many power projects were halted because of pandemic, namely in Cambodia, Indonesia, Myanmar, Philippines, and Vietnam, which is likely to cause the capacity additions to fall behind schedule in the coming years. The primary driver for the market includes the rising demand for uninterrupted power supply in both residential, and commercial and industrial sectors. However, the requirement of high capital to set up a large-scale energy storage facility in ASEAN region is expected to act as a major restraint for the market studied during the forecast period..

  • With the expansion of the electric vehicle market and growing demand for uninterrupted power supply, both in the residential and commercial sectors, batteries are likely to witness significant growth in the market during the forecast period.
  • In line with the Paris agreement, countries around the globe are putting effort to increase renewable energy share in its energy mix. For instance, Indonesia has set a target to increase its renewable share to 31% by 2050. An increase in renewable energy like solar PV to power isolated grids in rural villages, inaccessible to the national grid, is likely to create an opportunity for the energy storage facilities in the near future.
  • Philippines held the largest market share in 2021 and is expected to continue the same trend during the forecast period.

ASEAN Energy Storage Industry Segments

The ASEAN energy storage market report includes:

Type
Pumped-Hydro Storage
Battery Energy Storage Systems
Others
Application
Residential
Commercial and Industrial
Geography
Indonesia
Vietnam
Phillipines
Malaysia
Rest of ASEAN

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Trends

This section covers the major market trends shaping the ASEAN Energy Storage Market according to our research experts:

Battery Energy Storage Segment Expected to Witness Significant Growth

  • Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) is a rapidly emerging market segment in ASEAN countries. The rise in renewable energy consumption is expected to significantly boost BESS demand during the forecast period. However, despite the falling costs of lithium-ion batteries and BESS technology, artificially low tariff levels and fossil fuel subsidies are expected to reduce the competitiveness of BESS technologies in the ASEAN market.​
  • Despite targets of generating 23% of electricity generation from renewables by 2025, ASEAN countries are still expanding coal-fired generation capacities, with nearly 20GW under construction in Indonesia, Vietnam, and the Philippines. However, these plans are being reviewed due to excessive pollution, and the focus is shifting towards natural gas and renewables. 
  • Significant investments are being made in renewable energy and BESS projects across the region to aid Southeast Asia's energy transition. BESS projects are especially suitable for countries like Singapore and Brunei with limited geographical extent and high population densities. Other nations at the forefront of the BESS technology in the ASEAN region are the Philippines and Thailand. ​
  • However, despite favourable policies for renewable energy, most countries do not provide sufficient incentives or support for large-scale BESS projects. Prominent examples include Malaysia and Vietnam. Though Vietnam has witnessed record-breaking renewable capacity increase over the past few years, none of the utility-scale solar and wind plants is coupled with BESS. The missing incentives for solar-plus-storage are noted as severe shortcomings in the latest feed-in-tariff (FiT) programme in Vietnam. Similarly, the Large-Scale Solar (LSS) auction has resulted in several low-cost solar tariffs in Malaysia, but none of the solar plants include BESS.​
  • In June 2021, SMC Global Power Holdings, the first company to build a battery storage system in the Philippines in 2018, announced that it was building nearly 1 GW battery storage capacity across 31 sites at an investment of roughly USD 1 billion.​ ABB also announced that it planned to commission two 20MW and one 40 MW pre-packaged BESS systems for SMC in 2021, followed by other systems in the following year. This announcement followed Wartsila's announcement that it had commissioned two BESS projects totaling 60MW/60MWh in the Philippines as part of a 100MW contract with SMC. In June 2021, Fluence completed the commissioning of two 20MW / 20MWh BESS projects for SMC.​
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, battery energy storage segment is expected to witness a significant growth during the forecast period.
ASEAN Energy Storage Market - Market Share by Type

Philippines Expected to Dominate the Market

  • Philippines is considered as one of the regional leaders in renewable sources, owing to its abundant renewable energy sources, such as solar, wind, biomass, ocean, small hydro, and geothermal.​ According to Department of Energy, in 2020, the total renewable energy capacity  in the Philippines was approximately 7617 MW, representing an increase of 218 megawatts as compared to previous year. ​
  • The country is a signatory of the Paris Climate Agreement 2015, where the primary objective is to reduce the threat of climate change, by limiting increasing global temperatures to below 1.5 degrees above pre-industrial levels. Philippines has set ambitious plans to become a leading clean energy nation in Southeast Asia, Thus, the increasing share of renewables is expected to drive the energy storage market in the country during the forecast period. ​
  • Furthermore, the primary reason for the growth in renewable energy capacity, during the forecast period, can be attributed to the Philippines Energy Plan 2017-2040, which aims to improve the country’s electricity grid, in order to be able to cope with the additional 43 GW of energy demand, which is estimated to be required by 2040. ​​
  • Under the plan, the country aims to ensure energy security, expand energy access to achieve 100% electrification in all three major islands by 2022, and to connect the Mindanao grid with the interconnected Visaya and Luzon grids by 2020, to increase power supply reliability and resilience. ​Thus, such initiatives by the government is likely to increase demand for energy storage systems during the forecast period.​
  • Philippines’ government expects the cumulative solar installation to reach 8.7 GW by the end of 2030, with solar rooftops constituting nearly 35% of the total installations. The government of Philippines has given enough regulatory support to promote the adaption of solar PV in the form of  decreasing solar PV modules price, policies, such as net-metering system, which was introduced under the Renewable Energy Act of 2008, Thus, such initiatives to increase the demand for roof top solar PV are likely to increase the demand for residential battery storage systems in the country during the forecast period.​
  • In June 2021, Fluence commissioned its first battery energy storage system of 470-MW portfolio in the Philippines. The company has commissioned two 20-MW battery-based energy storage systems in Kabankalan. The portfolio, with projects ranging from 20 MW to 60 MW in size, are expected to be rolled out by July 2022. This, in turn, is expected to drive the market studied during the forecast period.​
  • Therefore, owing to the above points, Philippines is expected to dominate the ASEAN energy storage market, during the forecast period.
ASEAN Energy Storage Market - Renewable Energy Installed Capacity

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Competitor Analysis

The ASEAN energy storage market is moderately fragmented. Some of the key players in the market include GS Yuasa Corporation, Wartsila Oyj Abp, BYD Co. Ltd, SEC Battery Company, and NGK Insulators Ltd.

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Top Players

  1. GS Yuasa Corporation

  2. Wartsila Oyj Abp

  3. BYD Co. Ltd

  4. SEC Battery Company

  5. NGK Insulators Ltd

*Disclaimer: Major Players sorted in no particular order

Market Concentration.png

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Recent Developments

  • In September 2021, the World Bank approved a USD 380 million loan to develop Indonesia’s first pumped-storage hydropower plant.​ The financing is expected to support the construction of the Upper Cisokan pumped storage hydropower plant, located between Jakarta and Bandung, with an expected capacity of 1,040 MW.​
  • In June 2021, to help improve grid performance in the country, SMC Global Power Holdings Corp. has partnered with ABB Ltd. to install battery energy storage system (BESS) facilities as a part of its nationwide BESS Project, which is one of the largest projects in the region. The contract won in 2019 is expected to support two 20-MW sites and a further 40-MW site, to be fully commissioned in 2022. ​

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Report - Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Scope of the Study

    2. 1.2 Market Definition

    3. 1.3 Study Assumptions

  2. 2. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  3. 3. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  4. 4. MARKET OVERVIEW

    1. 4.1 Introduction

    2. 4.2 Market Size and Demand Forecast in USD billion, till 2027

    3. 4.3 Recent Trends and Developments

    4. 4.4 Government Policies and Regulations

    5. 4.5 Market Dynamics

      1. 4.5.1 Drivers

      2. 4.5.2 Restraints

    6. 4.6 Supply Chain Analysis

    7. 4.7 Porter's Five Forces Analysis

      1. 4.7.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.7.2 Bargaining Power of Consumers

      3. 4.7.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.7.4 Threat of Substitute Products and Services

      5. 4.7.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Pumped-Hydro Storage

      2. 5.1.2 Battery Energy Storage Systems

      3. 5.1.3 Others

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Residential

      2. 5.2.2 Commercial and Industrial

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 Indonesia

      2. 5.3.2 Vietnam

      3. 5.3.3 Phillipines

      4. 5.3.4 Malaysia

      5. 5.3.5 Rest of ASEAN

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Collaborations, and Agreements

    2. 6.2 Strategies Adopted by Leading Players

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 GS Yuasa Corporation

      2. 6.3.2 Wartsila Oyj Abp

      3. 6.3.3 BYD Co. Ltd

      4. 6.3.4 SEC Battery Company

      5. 6.3.5 Contemporary Amperex Technology Co. Ltd (CATL)

      6. 6.3.6 NGK Insulators Ltd

      7. 6.3.7 LG Chem Ltd

    4. *List Not Exhaustive
  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

**Subject to Availability
You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

ASEAN Energy Storage Market Research FAQs

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is studied from 2019 - 2028.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is growing at a CAGR of 6.78% over the next 5 years.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is valued at 2 Billion USD in 2019.

The ASEAN Energy Storage Market is valued at 4 Billion USD in 2028.

GS Yuasa Corporation, Wartsila Oyj Abp, BYD Co. Ltd, SEC Battery Company, NGK Insulators Ltd are the major companies operating in ASEAN Energy Storage Market.

ASEAN Energy Storage Industry Reports

In-depth industry statistics and market share insights of the ASEAN Energy Storage sector for 2020, 2021, and 2022. The ASEAN Energy Storage research report provides a comprehensive outlook of the market size and an industry growth forecast for 2023 to 2028. Available to download is a free sample file of the ASEAN Energy Storage report PDF.

close-icon
80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!